Prepaid Cards BigPay (with Mobile Application) V1, Prepaid MasterCard - CashBack & BigPoint

touristking
post Jul 12 2018, 07:44 PM

5,830 posts

Hi. Got a few questions.

1. Is there anyway to back up my card transaction records etc? I may want to factory reset my apps, hence asking.

2. Transferring money. Can I transfer money to other people's card that is not Bigpay card?

touristking
post Jul 12 2018, 08:31 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Jul 12 2018, 12:46 PM)
1. its stored in bigbay's system, no on your phone.
If you reset the phone, can u still download past transaction records? Or are they gone for good?

And if it's stored in bigpay's system, is there any storage size limit?

touristking
post Jul 12 2018, 09:23 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(lalaland.< @ Jul 12 2018, 01:37 PM)
No problem to download previous record after reset. Tried before.
That's great. Reckon this is the best card for overseas spending purposes. I noticed, once you landed in a new country, you get to see that country's exchange rate, even after you returned from that country.

touristking
post Jul 15 2018, 11:41 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(yujin86 @ Jul 15 2018, 03:45 PM)
just bought a BKK to JHB one way flight, notice that if using big the exchange rate is quite good.

For example if pay in rm roughly rm601, but if change to pay in thai bath 4711, big pay only charge me rm571.53, there is a big different if u choose to pay in RM.

according to the XE rate today BIG only charge a mere 0.25%. WOW.
Some time the rate is bit lower than XE rate. Some time a bit more.

touristking
post Jul 16 2018, 04:35 PM

5,830 posts

Using BigPay on Lazada. Sometimes it will work but sometimes it wouldn't. Don't have such problem with any other credit cards.
touristking
post Jul 16 2018, 04:37 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Jul 16 2018, 06:55 AM)
My experience with BigPrepaid. My balance is always less than RM100. Only when I need to buy flight tickets then I top up.
Same for my CIMB Lazada Prepaid.
You might experience problem with Top Up from other credit card while overseas. For some unknown reason, the SMS verification code never got through for me.

So for overseas use, you might have to top up sufficiently prior to departure.

touristking
post Jul 16 2018, 04:47 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Jul 16 2018, 09:38 AM)
Only to purchase AA, the rest seems like nothing benefit at all except you gain the Big Point..
AFAIK, it's the best card for oversea spending because of the exchange rate it gives.

touristking
post Jul 16 2018, 05:21 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Jul 16 2018, 09:53 AM)
The problem is the exchange rate need to refer which rate? From bank exchange rate?
For example, I purchase the products from SG dollar $10. If I use this Bigpay card, then convert to RM Ringgit Malaysia is how much?
XE.com
touristking
post Jul 16 2018, 05:23 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Jul 16 2018, 10:11 AM)
Not too sure abt the max withdrawal. I think it shoukd be the same equivalent of RM3k
Need cash for other purposes as well. I landed in SG with 0 cash.
I think it's either 5K or 10K.

touristking
post Jul 17 2018, 11:37 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(stranger88 @ Jul 17 2018, 04:01 AM)
it's really depends on merchant payment gateway, don't think this is related to BigPay card. Most of merchants in Malaysia (if they using malaysia based payment gateway) are still required 3d secure code verification.
Same while overseas. Using Bigpay, some merchant requires you to enter PIN. Some requires you to sign on the paper slip. all sorts.

touristking
post Jul 17 2018, 11:44 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(bbhing98 @ Jul 17 2018, 04:05 AM)
Would like to know that if for example I withdraw cash in an ATM in US, would there be any currency conversion fee or cross border fee incurred? If I'm not mistaken, normal ATM card charges those fees for ATM cash withdrawal overseas right? Correct me if I'm wrong, will be staying overseas for a few months hence carrying cash for the whole period of time is not a good idea, would like to save every pennies if possible.
I noticed using ATM overseas withdrawal, the currency conversion rate would still be just under 2% higher than xe.com rates.

If your ATM charges you withdrawal fee, then the cost went up further.

So if your ATM does charge you withdrawal fee, you will be better off using Bigpay to withdraw money overseas via ATM.

touristking
post Jul 17 2018, 11:48 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Jul 17 2018, 04:16 AM)
waived.
refer to official fees and charges inside the app for more info.
I know there is almost no exchange rate mark up. But isn't there a RM 10 withdrawal fees?

The withdrawal limit is 10K (I think). Withdraw larger sum will more than make up for the RM 10 withdrawal fees.

touristking
post Jul 17 2018, 07:42 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Jul 17 2018, 10:37 AM)
My friend buying online from US website.. key in details n charge through without OTP.. status show pending, next day, the order cancelled n BigPay refunded.. so, not sure is it something which rejected due to no OTP key in
While overseas and buying stuff online like tickets etc, some doesn't need OTP or anything and it went through sweat.gif
touristking
post Jul 18 2018, 07:03 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(sendohz @ Jul 18 2018, 08:49 AM)
Not most of the case.
For my withdraw case in edinburgh i got charged additional 9.5% from base rate.
And fyi i don;t have any option to select local currency or home currency, all i did was input the value in pound sterling and i was charged additional 9.5% not including RM10 withdrawal fees from BP.
Which bank's ATM did you use? Or was it a non-bank's ATM?

touristking
post Jul 18 2018, 10:58 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(sendohz @ Jul 18 2018, 01:57 PM)
Not sure if it's an official bank but the name on the slip stated 'Raphael's Bank'
On other normal purchases, Bigpay's currency conversions were excellent.

May be you allowed Raphael's to do the conversion which was bad instead of letting Bigpay doing it?

Any way the general advise is to always use the local currency, in this case sterling, when overseas. Especially merchants.

From their website:
A: Raphaels Bank offers a service known as Dynamic Currency Conversion (DCC). This means that when an eligible card is identified as coming from outside the UK, we will offer to carry out conversion of the transaction value into the currency associated with the card. You will be presented with the applicable exchange rate and the total amount to be debited from your account. If you choose not to allow Raphaels Bank to carry out the conversion, the transaction will proceed in sterling and the conversion will be carried out by your card issuer.

This post has been edited by touristking: Jul 18 2018, 11:03 PM
touristking
post Jul 19 2018, 12:03 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(sendohz @ Jul 19 2018, 02:03 AM)
Wow thanks for extra insight for my case.
Yes there is no option for me to choose or whatsoever.
Therefore bigpay CS mentioned some bank do trick customer with their info print page to accept the DCC.
Anyway i learnt my lesson. I will withdraw money from a more common bank when i'm in oversea rather than withdraw from airport.
Look around and I think there are also proper bank's ATM machine in airports. Well, at least some have.

What I do is, if I arrive in a totally foreign country and see an ATM machine with unfamiliar names, I will Google to make sure it's a proper bank. When on the streets, I will always try to draw money from an ATM machine located inside a bank premises. Just in case anything happens like card being withheld or ATM being tampered with etc. Can't be too careful.

touristking
post Jul 20 2018, 10:16 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(wyen @ Jul 20 2018, 02:37 AM)
Just received the card. Few things i would like to clarify
The pin code is the 6 digit passcode unlock apps?
So this card i can use it to pay any retail transaction grocery, restaurant etc so long it acceptmastercard?
I originally thought you can. But I have encounter at least one major outlet saying it can't be used. Beside that, been using it everywhere, local and overseas. But for overseas that requires OTP, I did have problem receiving SMS for unknown reason.

touristking
post Jul 20 2018, 10:52 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Jul 20 2018, 03:30 PM)
Some info for you... these are my refund, after 3 weeks due to fraud cases..
Care to clarify how the fraud occurs?

touristking
post Jul 21 2018, 11:59 AM

5,830 posts

when spending overseas I do get instant updates on currency conversion in the apps. But I noticed, those instant updates don't seem to be the final definitive conversion rates. It seems after some days, they will change the figure to a more definitive ones.

0.1038sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:03 PM