Closing thread.

theWeird_Weird
post Oct 9 2010, 01:25 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Sep 23 2010, 06:48 PM)
Science Stream will be better. Better Result = better understanding.
You need Science and Add Math basic to enter this course too its not easy.
A person who only know how to cook but dont know how to manage is not a Chef but a Cook.

Personally im a Science Stream Student.
Just like Your Brother i inspire to be a Chef when i grow up wearing a tall hat.
But once you enter the hotel industry there is no turning back.
Call your brother think twice, and for better feel and experience go to Kitchen and work for 1-3 months let him feel how was it.

I am abit regretting why i took this course. Some of my friend stop the course after 1 year taking of the course( 1 year to Industry training)

Edit.
Well as far as i can see, He likes cooking, there is passion about cooking there is why we all in this course my friend and I.
1 thing we all dont like " Working Life In Hotel" Seriously there is no life in Hotel.
So ask your brother again, Do you want to be a Chef your whole life?
If Yes, Then he really likes cooking.

FYI, Those Chef appear in TV they been through lots of hardwork. Check Gordon Ramsey history.
Check Chef Micheal Smith, Chef Wan, and other chef.

To be a chef is easy , to be a Master chef is like swimming upstream waterfall.
hey im interested to know how is the working life in hotel ?
how no life? hmm.gif

my parents are non stop blocking me to go for the the culinary art course as they say the job is very tough. ohmy.gif
theWeird_Weird
post Oct 12 2010, 05:39 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Oct 12 2010, 12:06 AM)
Yup its actually true, Hotel line let you progress very fast. Eg: u start off as Commis 2( 2nd lowest rank) in the kitchen every 6 month u get promoted cause u got degree. until Sous Chef maximum One department chef.
Then if u have the potential u join those big big hotel. u are selected to transfer and become executive chef in newly open hotel or so.

But the turn down point are?
only 1 day off ( never got to happen in Weekend)
Split Shift( employee hate this the most) work start at 9am end at 2pm continue work at 6pm to 10pm.
Holiday, You are Chinese or Malay ,Chinese New year u are entitle to go back home on the 2nd or 4th of the Chinese new year same goes to Raya.
Sometimes, Hotel Busy, call u work 1 week straight without rest.

Well that's about it. Foreign Country has their Union means law or policy protect the staff. but in Malaysia no.

But if u got the passionate to become a Chef, There is no one to stop you. ^^

Good Luck
omg 1 day work 9hours. lol. but if only got diploma also same can promote so fast?
wa means first day of chinese new year need work? blink.gif
walao work 1 week straight got extra $$ ? whistling.gif

anyway how is the salary for this job when first started to work like u say commis 2. biggrin.gif
theWeird_Weird
post Oct 13 2010, 01:53 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(Seriously @ Oct 13 2010, 12:12 AM)
Haha yeah I totally agree with munak.. its hard work all the way, pay or no pay (face saving purposes most of the time)  shakehead.gif split shifts are normal is hotels/resorts/restaurants.

I've trained in CM cherating, a restaurant in KL and a restaurant in France, and everywhere is the same.. split shifts. The culinary line requires lots of physical stamina and of course mental stability ( chefs tend to vent their frustration in 'colourful' languages, much like Gordon Ramsay ). Most importantly like what munak said, passion for cooking keeps you going.

There are other options as well to be doing office work but yet related to food industry, e.g. stock taking/ordering, advisor, HACCP agent etc. The food industry has lots to offer, just find which one you're comfortable and confident in then start working hard and climb up the ranks. Nothing in life is easy eh  smile.gif
laugh.gif agree. nothing in life is easy

QUOTE(munak991 @ Oct 13 2010, 01:10 AM)
Not to mention.
70% of student graduated dont stuck with hotel lines
too tough d really? shocking.gif
theWeird_Weird
post Oct 13 2010, 10:49 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Oct 13 2010, 10:35 PM)
Not tough is just, cant take the suffer anymore.
Chef,Doctor, Nurse, all those practical ppl are the same
wa i scare i cannot tahan oso. cry.gif
theWeird_Weird
post Oct 13 2010, 11:46 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(Seriously @ Oct 13 2010, 11:07 PM)
Maybe you can try working part time first, scout around haha.. it will definately give you an idea or two bout this line of work. For all you know you may end up liking it.  nod.gif
but the part time like kinda hard find.
those part time u mean is waiter or working in the kitchen ? lol.
if working in kitchen without cert or what those restaurant will employ kah? brows.gif

anyway how is the salary ah? tongue.gif
theWeird_Weird
post Oct 14 2010, 05:47 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(Seriously @ Oct 14 2010, 12:14 AM)
part time waiter is easier to find jobs. However I think most hotels requires you to have the Typhoid jab taken, and a certificate as proof you've taken it. Cuz you're handling food, so to reduce bacterial transmission etc, Typhoid is like part of the requirement for you to work in the kitchen and maybe now, in the restaurant as a server.

salary wise, depends on your qualification, experience and performance. Hotels/resort usually use the point/star system.. a base salary and if you have more points..then they'll add additional income to your base salary. European countries pay better but also have to consider the high standard of living there. Well i guess if you have a good relationship with the head chef/manager/owner then its easier to get a pay rise..of course hard work does most of the talking.
lol it is like an injection one ?
last time my cousin told me she work in kfc also need take the injection. lol.
but now i still a form5 student tongue.gif dont hav any experience laugh.gif

QUOTE(munak991 @ Oct 14 2010, 02:58 AM)
Try before u enter this course.
That's what our parent tell us and we are passing to u all
my parent tell me the same thing as well nod.gif
theWeird_Weird
post Oct 15 2010, 03:35 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Oct 14 2010, 11:05 PM)
Soooo, Ya try before u enter. If u really passionate about it, Why not? Go for it!
lol. will try to look for job about it after spm. lol.
wonder what restaurant offer not bad salary for waiter laugh.gif
theWeird_Weird
post Feb 17 2011, 10:55 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Jan 7 2011, 10:05 PM)
Not so sure yet, cause you are nothing different than those come out from Form 5, it is because ur experience level is that stage.

But... What support us is our Training Program. so far i had trained for 8 months, and another 4-6 months training when i reach Degree.

What make you different from Form 5 ppl and you are the paper and u can be promote faster than those form 5 ppl,Diploma highest u can go maybe sous chef( Kitchen Chef) Degree Highest is Executive(Highest)

=)
oh my god is this true ? blink.gif
theWeird_Weird
post Feb 17 2011, 11:24 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Feb 17 2011, 07:44 PM)
just my 2 cent.
But i still saw some without cert went to executive.
Cuase they earn through experience.

With Paper work u promote faster than others than those without paperwork.

But what i couldn't think is what if all also got paperwork?
but with a diploma cert maximum only become a sous chef ? blink.gif

0.1199sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:33 AM