Closing thread.

ExG
post Nov 28 2008, 11:36 AM

14 posts

Hi there, I am X-Taylor's student. Finish my Degree in hospitality and tourism management last year. Need any advise about this course due pm me. Help to guide junior. biggrin.gif
ExG
post Nov 30 2008, 06:39 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Nov 29 2008, 04:00 PM)
i need advise for my 2nd IT training.
where would u suggest?
3 months training in Kitchen.
Hotel seem to be nice but doesnt learn more...
Hi there, so you are a culinary student. Your second training would be only 2 months if i not mistaken. I will advise you to try training in restaurant such as dome, Chili's Grill and bar, La Bodega, Victoria Station Steakhouse,Shrooms, Little Havana,Eden restaurant and etc, Don't go for fast food restaurant, they are only good for management not culinary experience . Is ok to train in Hotel, do find hotel with fine dining concept restaurant. I reckon Rossini’s, Ritz-Carlton Hotel, but there are others good one to beside this. If you like french cuisine, try this http://www.lebouchonrestaurant.com/. Not guarantee some of this restaurants accept trainee. Well, all the best in finding your desire training placement.
ExG
post Dec 1 2008, 10:31 AM

14 posts

hmm.. not very cear on that. Taylor's keep on changing concept. I heard now there isn't higher diploma. Student who finish their diploma want to continue further would have to seat degree for 2 years. The new system make student don't have cert for higher diploma. Old batch study utill degree got 3 cert, new batch study until degree got 2 cert.
ExG
post Dec 1 2008, 10:46 PM

14 posts

During my time don't have diploma in culinary art. During my time as Batch 15, Only got 3 group the most. Now i think more than 8 or 10. Lecturer now very lenient not like last time, Chef Bala will throw pot at you. Yucks.... The learning environment very stress in kitchen that time. I think lecturer had hard time controlling the group. Even the dress code very strict. Cannot dye your hair even for girls. But now, I see so many of them come to college very colorful.
ExG
post Dec 2 2008, 11:20 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Dec 1 2008, 10:59 PM)
yup
my batch will be the last higher diploma batch

having trial now sad.gif

next week finals

omg hmcs is killing me lolx

Added on December 1, 2008, 11:01 pm

whoa
so long long time ago

were u in the miharja campus???
HMCS sure is a killer. You can do account and financial than is ok. The rest 3 parts most often is theoretical. Anyway, All the best Kuek. Batch 15 is a LCS. Miharja shift to LCS year 2002. I join this course at year 2003. Can consider LCS is still new. I heard the new campus going to be great with lakeview campus and the middle of the lake have the training restaurant.
ExG
post Dec 2 2008, 07:57 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Dec 2 2008, 05:12 PM)
lol the final for last batch is the trial for ours =.=

got 4 parts only wo

hr...sales marketing.. budgeting/ finance,... cost accounting  / principles of acc
fixed or can change change? As i know sometimes got 5 parts or 4 parts. My time got 5 parts. Trial is ur final? LOL, Trial is good cause it gives out hint on what will come out during Final.
ExG
post Dec 2 2008, 10:09 PM

14 posts

i think the concept change again. hint ar. What come in trial 60% to 70% will come out during final.
ExG
post Dec 3 2008, 09:39 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(planetshaker @ Dec 3 2008, 02:57 AM)
choose fine dining restaurant like 3rd floor,casablanca...or else better go hotel like westin,meredien,shagrila or traders...
chili don really learn anything but bar's should be ok.i think shrooms close down d
Anything would be fine if you learn something out from it. Since some people don't like the norm of training in hotel, other like restaurant, airlines, event company and etc can be alternative. Shrooms close down? Didn't know that.
ExG
post Dec 3 2008, 08:16 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Dec 3 2008, 05:27 PM)
sure anot =.="

ur from batch 15 wo

im in 26 dy
haha

same goes with fnb workshops? tongue.gif

ur cert is from toulouse right ???
Ya, long way. Most of the lecturer are the same, only some new faces. Fnb workshop can say 70% will be the same. The question just change abit. It happen to me when i was sitting for higher diploma. I got question on pro and con wine selection (something like that, dont really remember in detail) during trial. Than on Final, my friend got my question and i got her question. Conclusion, 8 question to pick on trial, 5 or 6 question on final will be the same and only change the wording and most of the times is exactly the same. But don't take thing for granted.

Yup, my cert is Toulouse cert. Bilingual cert, french and english and is direct from the university. 100% overseas cert. It put there complete in toulouse le mirail uni. So you can say you took ur degree in France. LOL. Cause i went to interview, the interviewer straight ask me about my study life in France. But in act i did all the studies in Malaysia. Interviewer dont know u study local or oversea cause the cert is 100% french cert. The cert dont mention about student complete it at Malaysia unlike like other local university like Monash, new south wales and etc that mention your completion of studies locally or oversea and ur registration is at Toulouse uni. The student bio all at main server of toulouse uni and u will be given a toulouse university student card when u complete ur studies.
ExG
post Dec 4 2008, 11:45 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Dec 4 2008, 11:34 AM)
oh
icicic

later evening will have kitchen trial

and patrick siao will be the chief examiner
sooooo damn scary ~~~~~ laugh.gif

last time wat menu u had for trial and final ?
lamb rack ? tongue.gif
Kitchen trial... interesting. I got poulet grilled a l'americane and final i got lamb rack, carre, dag.... something something .. don't the lecturer tell what the menu before u take the examination? U need spy. hahahaha c the misen place.
ExG
post Dec 4 2008, 12:04 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Dec 4 2008, 11:53 AM)
lolx
yea already asked my fren to see in the commisiary kitchen
see got wat meat they put there

tongue.gif
hopefully it wont be that difficult

wat if i dono to do one of the compulsory technique ??
can substitute wit others?? lolx
btw u got pm... reply me please biggrin.gif
It wont be that difficult, lecturer will give hint biggrin.gif about the compulsory technique, is just to show only. but the end result must be the same. i also did that, what i wrote in the preparation sheet and what i do is different. LOL Got alot junior to help u out. make sure u give the right order only. Chief examiner cannot check all the times. got so many other student. Patrick Siao is ok one, u kam ching with him a lot he treat you good. He also ex-taylor lol. I reply ur pm dy biggrin.gif
ExG
post Dec 4 2008, 12:17 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Dec 4 2008, 12:06 PM)
lolx

he taught me for 3 terms

and now whenever i see him
i become stunned or extremely nervous
cos of the way he taught us last time =.="
He changed a lot. He also taught me when i was in diploma term 1. Imagine, I am a new student and he is a new lecturer. Conflict, very stressful and he also not use to it and we all very blur. He treat us like his colleague he work in restaurant.. we don't even master our basic also. Last time got a lot case of uproar between him and students where student complaint to the board of lecturer because of his method of teaching. Than the college send him for student management courses and teaching method courses. LOL. Serious, this happen during my time. Than he change, now he very much better than last time. He is a good chef now.
ExG
post Dec 5 2008, 08:09 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Dec 5 2008, 12:43 AM)
whoa he started teaching at such young age??
since ur from 2003 .... that means he joined when hes 27 ???

got so much experience meh
where he work b4 that???

lolx student management course
now better??

how u know tongue.gif
Yup. ya he that old dy.. come Taylor teach got better pay.
I am not sure which restaurant he work before but he work for almost 5 years. He better open restaurant than teaching if i would be him.

That what some students my time said even my close lecturer told me too(Secret). He got some kind of problem with student that i some how know abit of it.

ExG
post Dec 5 2008, 10:45 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Dec 5 2008, 10:07 AM)
wat kinda problem? tell me please tongue.gif pm la tongue.gif
ok ler. pm pm biggrin.gif

0.0421sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:54 AM