Closing thread.

fcfreak
post Apr 3 2009, 02:34 AM

102 posts

Hei? guys?

I got a few question, to those who took culinary arts.

1.Is it fun?

2.How much will ptptn loan cover the fee? I heard it grant you only 20k lol

3.Can anyone start working after culinary art diploma? or you need to go into higher diploma and then degree before working..

4.There are no degree for this course in malaysia, am I stuck to overseas or degree in hosp?

5.If I enter degree in hosp. management without culinary art(diploma) and kitchen knowledge can I still be a chef or I go straight to bellboy??

Added on April 4, 2009, 1:42 amBUMP?
anyone ever visit this thread? lol..it almost look like a graveyard

This post has been edited by fcfreak: Apr 4 2009, 01:42 AM
julnoel
post Apr 4 2009, 11:57 PM

739 posts

QUOTE(Vintage @ Apr 1 2009, 08:17 PM)
Hey guys, I'm 17 now and I have a big interest in culinary arts. But I have some questions that is bugging me recently.

a) Do you guys who are taking/took culinary arts course undergo Pre-U courses before getting the diploma/degree?

b) I'm pretty sure I'll be going to Taylor's as it's much easier to get a scholarship at there. So, do we undergo this course in the main campus or what? And do we go to France?

c) I have next to zero experience in the kitchen (don't even know how to hold a knife properly). Will the lecturer teach you the basic stuff during the first few weeks?
Answers

a) Nope, no PRE-U necessary. 3 credits in your SPM are the minimum requirements to take a diploma in culinary arts/hotel management/tourism management. To continue on to degree, you'd need either STPM or your diploma which you have taken smile.gif

b) Taylor's College school of Hospitality and Tourism operates in the PJ campus, namely the Bali building or Kurnia. Its located in Setia Jaya and is accessible by KTM via the Setia Jaya station. You go to France for a 2 week residency program at the end of your degree year, which is your fourth year smile.gif However you can opt to go for industrial trainings in France provided you are really really good at what you do.

c) Yes, the basics are covered but if you have zero experience/knowledge what makes you think this is the course for you? Trust me, just liking to cook is not necessarily good for you. But they will teach you anyways. smile.gif

Added on April 5, 2009, 12:00 am
QUOTE(fcfreak @ Apr 3 2009, 02:34 AM)
Hei? guys?

1.Is it fun?

3.Can anyone start working after culinary art diploma? or you need to go into higher diploma and then degree before working..

4.There are no degree for this course in malaysia, am I stuck to overseas or degree in hosp?

5.If I enter degree in hosp. management without culinary art(diploma) and kitchen knowledge can I still be a chef or I go straight to bellboy??

1) yes its quite fun if you enjoy these kind of things. however, if you think its just pure cooking then you're wrong because they actually teach you many other things like food science and business math so you turn out to be an all rounder who can not only cook but do a lot more.

2) um this one im not sure smile.gif sorry

3) yes you can opt to work with a diploma smile.gif

4) degree in culinary arts has not yet been introduced yet but the degree that the college offers has 2 options for you to pick. If you graduate with a diploma in Culinary Arts, you are usually allowed to choose between option A and B, and B is the food part of this degree. Option A is more for the rooms division etc students smile.gif

5) Uh i dont understand your question

This post has been edited by julnoel: Apr 5 2009, 12:00 AM
fcfreak
post Apr 5 2009, 02:29 AM

102 posts

For question 5, I'm stpm student so it's possible to skip diploma and head straight to degree level but without diploma(basic skills of kitchen) can i still opt to be a chef?

I was told that going this route would lead me to a 3 year degree program in Taylor, instead of 2 year. the option of A or B is supposed to be in year 2 tho
TSmunak991
post Apr 5 2009, 02:28 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Vintage @ Apr 1 2009, 08:17 PM)
Hey guys, I'm 17 now and I have a big interest in culinary arts. But I have some questions that is bugging me recently.

a) Do you guys who are taking/took culinary arts course undergo Pre-U courses before getting the diploma/degree?

b) I'm pretty sure I'll be going to Taylor's as it's much easier to get a scholarship at there. So, do we undergo this course in the main campus or what? And do we go to France?

c) I have next to zero experience in the kitchen (don't even know how to hold a knife properly). Will the lecturer teach you the basic stuff during the first few weeks?
1)Nope, straight forward 2 years diploma program. If u had Pre-u/STPM u could skip Diploma and take Higher Dip 3 years to finish Degree.

2) Its on Setia Jaya near Mentari Court there. not the main campus. France it just a tour to there have a experience on France, how the Toulouse Student life there experience the life over there. and its just like a vacation of course.

3)yes, step by step basic. Advance baking and pastry learn by ur self. i learn all the stuff by myself. trough books and experience. i have less interest on hot cooking but then i still like it so much. because i loveee Cooking.

QUOTE(fcfreak @ Apr 3 2009, 02:34 AM)
Hei? guys?

1.Is it fun?

1) it depends, 1st u feel the fun by then u feel the suffer. it could be ur hobby? or will u be it a job for u? hmmm? think about it. Dont take hobby and job together its big different.

2)it depends on ur result SPM/O level/ STPM / A-level. Most of my friends get scholarship o loan.

3) yes u can, but then if just DIploma u cant get to Exec Chef which is the highest rank in kitchen. but then if u got experience to open ur own shop why still need degree? hmm?

4)yup, taylors trying to get Degree in CA what i hear the rumors talking about it.

5)plz state ur question clearly, but then if u got Degree u sure got the knowledge about cooking. and depends if u take Taylors Degree program they got 2 choices, OPtion a/b. which is Management or Engineering F&B

QUOTE(julnoel @ Apr 4 2009, 11:57 PM)
Answers

a) Nope, no PRE-U necessary. 3 credits in your SPM are the minimum requirements to take a diploma in culinary arts/hotel management/tourism management. To continue on to degree, you'd need either STPM or your diploma which you have taken smile.gif

b) Taylor's College school of Hospitality and Tourism operates in the PJ campus, namely the Bali building or Kurnia. Its located in Setia Jaya and is accessible by KTM via the Setia Jaya station. You go to France for a 2 week residency program at the end of your degree year, which is your fourth year smile.gif However you can opt to go for industrial trainings in France provided you are really really good at what you do.

c) Yes, the basics are covered but if you have zero experience/knowledge what makes you think this is the course for you? Trust me, just liking to cook is not necessarily good for you. But they will teach you anyways. smile.gif

Added on April 5, 2009, 12:00 am

1) yes its quite fun if you enjoy these kind of things. however, if you think its just pure cooking then you're wrong because they actually teach you many other things like food science and business math so you turn out to be an all rounder who can not only cook but do a lot more.

2) um this one im not sure smile.gif sorry

3) yes you can opt to work with a diploma smile.gif

4) degree in culinary arts has not yet been introduced yet but the degree that the college offers has 2 options for you to pick. If you graduate with a diploma in Culinary Arts, you are usually allowed to choose between option A and B, and B is the food part of this degree. Option A is more for the rooms division etc students smile.gif

5) Uh i dont understand your question
Thx Julian, Going to term 6 tmr Good Luck.

QUOTE(fcfreak @ Apr 5 2009, 02:29 AM)
For question 5, I'm stpm student so it's possible to skip diploma and head straight to degree level but without diploma(basic skills of kitchen) can i still opt to be a chef?

I was told that going this route would lead me to a 3 year degree program in Taylor, instead of 2 year. the option of A or B is supposed to be in year 2 tho

As i said Taylors offered Degree program Op A/B they will cover cooking teaching from basic to the end. NO ned to worried. Cheers

fookie
post Apr 5 2009, 07:02 PM

What?
622 posts

1question, are there any buses from puchong to TCPJ in the morning?
guess19
post Apr 5 2009, 08:13 PM

206 posts

i am officially kdu pct-7 student . culinary
leeo_rifleman
post Apr 6 2009, 02:54 PM

35 posts

how many foreign student from outside malaysia study in culinary in taylor college?
how many percentage of malay student study in this course at taylor college?
TSmunak991
post Apr 6 2009, 05:18 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(guess19 @ Apr 5 2009, 08:13 PM)
i am officially kdu pct-7 student . culinary
great ill add u on main screen

QUOTE(leeo_rifleman @ Apr 6 2009, 02:54 PM)
how many foreign student from outside malaysia study in culinary in taylor college?
how many percentage of malay student study in this course at taylor college?
Alot of foreigners, mainly China, indo, Korea.

Malays? alot of of malays. dont be racist la.
Vintage
post Apr 6 2009, 07:22 PM

229 posts

So if I studied Pre-U, I can jump straight to getting a degree in culinary arts?
leeo_rifleman
post Apr 6 2009, 09:42 PM

35 posts

okay dont be racist,PEACE malaysia!
eh,is being a chef stress like a doctor?
TSmunak991
post Apr 7 2009, 12:11 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Vintage @ Apr 6 2009, 07:22 PM)
So if I studied Pre-U, I can jump straight to getting a degree in culinary arts?
yep.

QUOTE(leeo_rifleman @ Apr 6 2009, 09:42 PM)
okay dont be racist,PEACE malaysia!
eh,is being a chef stress like a doctor?
almost, but doctor suffers more.
guess19
post Apr 7 2009, 12:42 AM

206 posts

ok now i suffer from the pack timetable for the march intake OH NOES
TSmunak991
post Apr 7 2009, 12:44 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

1st sem already stress?
wait until u see LAN subject introduce to u.
guess19
post Apr 7 2009, 12:56 AM

206 posts

no lah in mid of saturday got 1 stupid subject that is malaysian studies. sat and sun is like the best day to hang out and i have to attend class right in the mid of sat .
TSmunak991
post Apr 7 2009, 01:03 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

ow,ic.
hopefully ur school LAN subject is together. i believe.
mine was 1 sememster 1 subject only. sem 2=Moral sem 3= Bm, sem 4=MAS
leeo_rifleman
post Apr 7 2009, 09:17 AM

35 posts

what is the study of malaysian studies? wow i see the fee of kdu got rm45k,more expensive than taylor! why taylor dont want to tell the fee?
TSmunak991
post Apr 7 2009, 06:34 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(leeo_rifleman @ Apr 7 2009, 09:17 AM)
what is the study of malaysian studies? wow i see the fee of kdu got rm45k,more expensive than taylor! why taylor dont want to tell the fee?
RM 45k!?
leeo_rifleman
post Apr 7 2009, 07:03 PM

35 posts

check it out the fee of kdu culinary : http://htca.kdu.edu.my/culinary_arts.html

how much fee of taylor french diploma anyway to confirm?
guess19
post Apr 7 2009, 07:46 PM

206 posts

YES . SAT CLASS IS POSTPONE TO MAY . oh yea and the fees is 45k yeap ..... expensive than the taylors .... if u wanna join kdu tell me k ? =D
TSmunak991
post Apr 7 2009, 07:55 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

hahaha.
almost finishing my Diploma lo

59 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:57 AM