Closing thread.

TSmunak991
post Jan 23 2012, 02:46 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Jan 23 2012, 02:04 AM)
tried it. not my thing. plus they usually wanna put girls in pastry kitchen which I'm not interested in.

You still studying? where?
Finished studied, now undergo training..
yet to be decide what am i going to do.. haizz
TSmunak991
post Jan 23 2012, 07:17 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Jan 23 2012, 05:01 PM)
Omg man are you serious? So my friend really must collect his shit and take it to medical lab? Why a normal blood test or urine test won't be able to read???
jap and can just take like that which 1 u prefer?
TSmunak991
post May 4 2012, 09:57 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Apr 24 2012, 09:26 PM)
Will someone please be kind enough to tell me a kitchen organization chart together with the salary each post will get, and also how many years will you be a each post. I know this is a lot to ask, but i really like to know this b4 i jump into this.
Hokatsu is ur best shot btw.

Students get 30% or less discount.

so i everytime go there haha
TSmunak991
post Jun 8 2012, 11:11 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

I have updated the front page, Please anyone taking Culinary Art can drop me a PM
TSmunak991
post Jun 14 2012, 10:05 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Cinta Laura @ Jun 13 2012, 10:21 PM)
just a quick question, if i have certificate and diploma in culinary, how much average salary? i mean working at the hotel or any restaurant. and culinary have alot of employment opportunities? thanks.
Diploma i believe is 1.5k or below.
Degree is 1.8k and above i believe.

Its almost the same like every place.
best if u can get current market rate 2k+ notworthy.gif
TSmunak991
post Jun 22 2012, 08:05 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(iamjulietanna @ Jun 22 2012, 06:44 PM)
Hye, I don't know if this is the right place for me to ask this. But I just want to know. My friend want to further his study in Bachelor Degree of Culinary Art. Which uni in Malaysia is the best in this course yea? Some option between KDU, Taylor's uni or MSU. Can you guys give me some suggestion. And I want to know about the environment, the uni management, student lifestyle, etc.
If u got the $$ go oversea.
If not stay in local, Sunway, Taylors, KDU
TSmunak991
post Jan 2 2013, 08:23 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(shaunsai215 @ Jan 1 2013, 10:52 PM)
Hello guys, I'm SPM leaver, I planning to study diploma culinary arts , but I don't which university is better? I don't wan choose the wrong one !

I planning to go either Sunway University or taylor University .. Which is better? education way, teaching way, facilities in campus and more. I wan know more feedback from this 2 university students!!

Sunway University : can get 2 ceft - one from Le Cordon Bleu and one form Sunway University!

Taylor University : can get 2 ceft - one form University of Toulouse(UOT) and one from Taylor University

I'm going to both school open day this coming Saturday 5/1/2013 to register! but before that I wish to get more information or any comment from you guy or students from sunway and taylor ! HELP ! URGENT !

JUST 4 MORE DAY TO GO ONLY !!! HELP ! =( TQ very much ! =D

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2650374
Dont be so rush, a course decides your future.
Ask yourself.

Have you research this course properlly?
Have you conducted background research of this course?
Have you entered F&B line before? Do you like it?

My recommend is try this field in any restaurant and see whether you like it or not?

If you have research and tried F&B line before, what i will suggest is try and see the facilities by your own. Remember you are paying > RM 10k for these courses be sure to check properly .

Personally i have screen SUNWAY and Taylors my self, i felt Taylors is more well furnish than SUNWAY. You can check out KDU also, they are 1 of the top in Culinary too.

Cheers

This post has been edited by munak991: Jan 2 2013, 08:23 AM
TSmunak991
post Jan 2 2013, 02:07 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(shaunsai215 @ Jan 2 2013, 12:16 PM)
so in your view everything in Taylors is better then Sunway? But I izzit cordon bleu is more famous? If compare with this 3 skul , which will you choose? Taylors , Sunway , KDU ?  Thank for your information =D
The last time i visited Sunway is 5 years ago, i think for facilities wise They should have improve, because 5 years back they have not tie with LCB, so now LCB came in their facilities should improve better.

Im a Taylorian, facilities wise, they have decent facilities, What you want is there, Combi Oven, Salamander , Blast Chiller, Blast Freezer, Vacuum Pack Machine, Big Scale Mixer, Pastry Roller ( for Croissant). Basically they have everything for you. It also depends on you la to have the time/courage to stood up and use the facilities.

Go and review every college dont just sit infront of PC get opinion from ppl, feel it your self. which is the best Uni you want to go in.

Personally 5 years back i took Taylors is because i saw the facilities, equipments, and etc is well available. but of course the $$$$ is far more than other colleges
TSmunak991
post Jan 2 2013, 05:00 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(shaunsai215 @ Jan 2 2013, 02:45 PM)
Okay Okay =D thank a lot for your information .. xD i going to visit them this Saturday =D
No problem, been busy working so no time to reply this thread. xD
TSmunak991
post Mar 12 2013, 10:57 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(andrewou95 @ Mar 12 2013, 10:52 PM)
hey hi,I'm look for some advice which one is better either taylor's or le cordon bleu I was told that le cordon bleu is in malaysia.
Yuu Le cordon Blue is in Malaysia, They tied with Sunway College.
If u want totally just Le Cordon Bleu Institution, go Thailand
TSmunak991
post Jul 19 2013, 04:55 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(bandit94822 @ Jun 22 2013, 01:13 PM)
i nt sure weather this post is dead or not? coz last reply was at april 3 2013

Well, to begin, i am currently taking Mechanical Engineering degree at UTAR and trust me, its hard and stressfull and prepare for tons of reports and assignment.

So i was planning to quit, and apart from that i am also interested in cooking stuffs so i found out there is this culinary arts degree

but not sure what graduates of this degree do? any ideas?

If i take this degree i will go to Berjaya Uni COll take? any students or graduates from there>? reali need ur advise
Well Hospitality field is even more stress, better go experience in a kitchen first before you go in
TSmunak991
post Aug 1 2013, 05:50 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(michealelsie @ Jul 28 2013, 06:43 PM)
I am interested with Le Cordon Bleu but seems like Sunway offering different syllabus compare with other campus eg: Paris, Japan

Can anyone provide some details on this, or anyone enrolling can share the experience?

Thank you so much
LDG is very famous with its Culinary Courses. They have very good background on Hospitality & Culinary.

Why not you take tour for few University and you decide =)

Taylors
LDG Sunway
KDU
BerJaya
TSmunak991
post Aug 1 2013, 07:45 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(bandit94822 @ Aug 1 2013, 07:40 PM)
but what do grads from there do? working in restaurant? i think not standard 9~5 5 days per week routine right  hmm.gif
Okay, restaurant/hotel industry will never have 9~5 working hours nor 5 working days per week.

Normal scenario if you r lucky

6 working days (unflexi day off)
8 hour working ( straight shift if you are lucky)
Work during public holiday (very normal)
Work during peak, (eg Hari Raya, CNY, Deepvali, Christmas)

So what benefits you'll get if u grad as a Culinary Art Diploma/Degree

You get Promoted faster
You get hired easily
Your pay higher (slightly...)
TSmunak991
post Aug 3 2013, 07:25 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(bandit94822 @ Aug 3 2013, 02:48 PM)
what does ur promote means? pay higher? compared to ?
Promotion, u start as Commis(aka Kitchen Helper) no matter what u fresh grade, come out from SPm u start as Commis
TSmunak991
post Aug 6 2013, 01:17 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(michealelsie @ Aug 6 2013, 12:21 PM)
I am planning to take a tour in Sunway LCB campus to see how is it actually inside.

Is there anyone studying inside would like to share your experience?

@ munak, what are you currently working? In gastronomy sector?
I working in Food Industry FMCG goods, some how related to Culinary.
Not Hospitality indsutry
TSmunak991
post Sep 12 2013, 11:44 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Aug 22 2013, 07:24 PM)
those are like basic things where u don need to study hospitality in order to know ... financial accounting ??? like credit debit ? the course teach u economics.. marketing too right... but all oso basics... not in depth

its like saying you study KOREAN language... after the course doesnt make u expert in korean language... just the basic hi bye stuffs

i taught few new staff to use OPERA .. they don have  backgrounds.. no cert nothing....fresh from high school... and they are doing good now... the opera they teach u in hospitality are again... basics... u learn more by working 1 month than studying 1 sem to "learn" opera
QUOTE(kenneths88 @ Aug 22 2013, 07:43 PM)
Support u.
If you think having a cert for Hotel Management is useless, then you are wrong.
Like what PS3 says, those cert are preparing us for Managerial position.

Which means, without a cert, stay urself with low level position for another 10 years (Front Office Assistant or if you are lucky - Assistant Manager) & looking at your juniors, getting promoted to manager.

Like what you say, we may only learn basic in financial accounting. But, did you forget? Why do we study financial accounting? It is totally unrelated to our work. Let me tell you, when we are managers, we need to know every bit n pieces of things that happen in your department. It's not like, if I'm a Front Office Manager, i don't need to give a f  to those accounting work. With basics, we could absorb faster.

Yes, in terms of promotion, still depends on experience or seniority.
I believe both of you dont know who is kueks?
He is one of my early senior. working in hospitality industry for few years

Honestly, due to Hospitality require lots of technical and skill, learning processes doesnt take long and constantly performing it you will get it, as it OPERA system it is crafted by people it is mean for user-friendly not complication.

You learn finances, Accounting, Economy, Marketing. What is the purpose? Those knowledge is basic, School teach you in order for you to get ready for the real world outside.

You all forgot, getting certification is a stepping stone to the outside world. It is that, and that is no other value once you jump onto few organization, they are looking at personality and experience. Organization review your certification and do comparison with others. In reality, you are nothing but the same as the those without cert once you just joined any organization. What make you special is you can progress faster then them depending on performance. We are talking real world. dont expect high salary when you got your ceritfication

This post has been edited by munak991: Sep 12 2013, 11:46 AM
TSmunak991
post Sep 12 2013, 01:08 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(kenneths88 @ Sep 12 2013, 12:59 PM)
Ok. Let me share you an experience.

My nephew, currently around 40 years old, and a front office manager of xx hotel.

Previously when he is an assistant manager, his highest education is only SPM.
Company doesn't allow him to get promoted with that education level. That's where he took some part time studies for those certificates.
**He jump from hotel to hotel as an Assistant Manager.

You get what I mean? If you just want to stay on A.Manager level for another 40 years, you can just stay where you are. But if you are aiming higher, you need higher education.

Even if there is a few Front Office Managers out there with SPM education level, only a few, and it won't be international companies(hotel) or those big companies.
I didn't say its useless. Didn't u read my post? I said it is to aid u for promotion. If u aint performing u still the same than other non certificate employee got what I mean hmm?
TSmunak991
post Sep 12 2013, 01:13 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

I think what kuek trying to say is cost effective. Investing money into this cost and the return of it investment is not as good as other courses?
TSmunak991
post Oct 2 2014, 12:06 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(shaunsai215 @ Aug 10 2014, 09:05 PM)
Anyone know where selling marsala wine ( Sweet Marsala Superiore)? I went a lot of wine shop inside tesco, jusco,  jaya grocer, gaint, aeon big and cold storage cant even look for it. Help !
Marsala wine, u want to do tiramisu?

Just add Kahlua can de

Been looking for it too, saw it available in France but not here
TSmunak991
post Apr 3 2015, 04:56 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(gugukrez @ Apr 3 2015, 12:20 PM)
Does anyone know any type of training others than HACCP which they provide cert to boast my working career?

Has i already have HACCP cert but keen to get more type of cert for my career
Hmmm there's HACCP cert?
if you got HACCP cert, but your premise( Kitchen) is not HACCP certified no use also right?

Theres more... if you said Kitchen

HACCP
Halal
ISO 22000 Food safety management systems

14 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0391sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:26 PM