14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Bottom

Closing thread.

TSmunak991
post Feb 17 2011, 07:44 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(theWeird_Weird @ Feb 17 2011, 10:55 AM)
oh my god is this true ?  blink.gif
just my 2 cent.
But i still saw some without cert went to executive.
Cuase they earn through experience.

With Paper work u promote faster than others than those without paperwork.

But what i couldn't think is what if all also got paperwork?
TSmunak991
post Feb 27 2011, 11:03 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(x889539 @ Feb 22 2011, 08:54 PM)
hello to the sifu in here,
i wan to ask a culinary student need a laptop or desktop???
Yup, U need to learn marketing accounting Economics, English, Math, Science and need presentation.

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Feb 24 2011, 02:32 AM)
yeah..when you are about 50 years old
Totally true.
1 more way to do it.
Be a boss

QUOTE(rockasd @ Feb 25 2011, 10:40 PM)
anyone know where any institute conduct Italian cuisine course. local and international school also can.
No idea... But u could try google it.
TSmunak991
post Mar 4 2011, 11:41 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(rockasd @ Feb 28 2011, 09:53 PM)
i have a question. i have a degree in hospitality management, and currently consider in dipl in culinary.
want to know, what is the salary look like when i enter the kitchen. cause by that time i have degree n dip but 1 in hospitality management and another is culinary.
Go work in Front office la,
why want to work back of the house?
Front of the house > back of the house.
TSmunak991
post Mar 17 2011, 09:07 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(yongling @ Mar 14 2011, 09:01 PM)
hi there,I wanna take food science course at Rahman College,but it only offers until diploma.So where can I continue my studies to degree level and what's the estimated cost? thank you..
U can consider oversea, or alot of college offer food science (it may be knows as Nutritionist)
Taylors offers food science too, but i have no idea about the fees, u may refer to taylors page or forum in the education thread,
There is taylors staff there who may assist you
TSmunak991
post Mar 19 2011, 06:31 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(dorama_fan @ Mar 17 2011, 03:52 PM)
Hi i just wanna know is it possible to become a chef just by being a kitchen helper in a restaurant?I know it'll take years but approximately how long?

Nowadays wanna study Diploma in Culinary Arts also costs RM40k.. ==
Hi Dorama,

Chef = With the knowledge of handling kitchen, cook, hadling staffing, Acoounting, Manging Hygeien and etc.
Cook = Purely know on Cooking.

Anyway, Just learn in kitchen is sufficient for u to become Chef. If u want faster, use the 40k to invest and open ur own restaurant no need study.
TSmunak991
post Mar 23 2011, 09:55 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(dorama_fan @ Mar 21 2011, 01:11 AM)
Ok,noted.Thanks! laugh.gif

I know this is kinda random but, I went to a Thai Cooking Class that day and it was really fun. Can learn so many things in just a few hours!Aint sure whether its gonna be as fun in the real kitchen though ==
In real kitchen, it is full of stress, the heat, the chef shouting and etc.
lots of people after study dont want to work in Hotel.
Im not discouraging but it is true.
restaurant is fine
TSmunak991
post Apr 3 2011, 01:55 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(ace.princess @ Mar 30 2011, 02:15 AM)
Currently I have a business idea in the works, and would like to ask... Where do I go if I'd like to hire chefs? Not talking about general corporate job sites like Jobstreet. Since culinary arts is quite a specialized skill, would like to have more candidate choices. What kinda network should I be looking into if I wanna hire?

Any contact person or info?

Thanks biggrin.gif
Im not sure, but Jobstreet and those recruiment site would be the most efficient, But im not sure out there has chef association.
Taylors got Industrial Training department, u could request them for adding database for ur company.

Added on April 3, 2011, 1:56 am
QUOTE(leeshermaine @ Mar 31 2011, 06:21 PM)
GUYS. I find this really really cool. I was at KDU University College, Damansara Jaya Campus.
It is the first time I saw a cooking with DRY ICE. It uses liquid nitrogen .
I cant explain it.its called molecular cooking. REALLY really cool and it tastes delicious.
It is the ONLY college that offers this cool cooking course
Yup, but the trend is going down soon.
KDU offers Molecular Gastronomy, which is awesome, but the cost of it is very high.
imagine liquid nitrogen going to cost?

This post has been edited by munak991: Apr 3 2011, 01:56 AM
TSmunak991
post Apr 8 2011, 03:04 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Apr 4 2011, 10:59 PM)
Is it possible to take up food science or nutrition with a diploma in culinary arts?
+1 on this. It's really damn stressful. Just try working in as a kitchen helper and suffer!  tongue.gif
To ans ur 1st question, actually this come into my mind during mid of my Degree.
i want to start Food Science after Higher Dip, asked my lecturer , he say u could skip the basic level, which means u jump to 2nd year straight.
But u are studying Pre U again. what for?

2nd Q.
Erm.. what i can really tell you guys is try 1st before start this course.
I feel that this course we dont learn much but, we learn lots about hardmanship and everything.
TSmunak991
post Apr 9 2011, 09:28 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(bluescreamer @ Apr 8 2011, 11:51 PM)
Sien la hospitality mgmt. I feel like quitting d after my first year in taylors... The course is quite fun la but I dont think that I've learned anything 'useful'
u must apply what u learn not just people spoon feeding you.
TSmunak991
post May 26 2011, 07:50 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(diners @ Apr 26 2011, 07:17 PM)
bonjour tout le monde!
je suis etudient en BTH a l'université taylors~
DH33
je tres deteste francais.
je veux une vacances!!! maintenent!
TSmunak991
post Jun 15 2011, 11:05 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(bluescreamer @ Jun 5 2011, 11:07 PM)
Do u guys think it'll be wise/alright if I were to take on a new course after I finish my diploma in hospitality. I'm really interested in pastry and I thought that the le cordon bleu patisserie program would be one of the best (the one in sydney, not paris  tongue.gif ). Don't ask me why I didnt take that course instead in the first place  sweat.gif
Hmmmmm imma pastry guy too, i am really want to learn pastry
I found theres few option
So far in malaysia, there is no good insitution for pastry

1 go oversea
2 come out work with people go tose good bulagerie shop
3 complete ur degree and seek ur oppoturnity oversea

QUOTE(unmaskedclown @ Jun 6 2011, 03:09 PM)
@munak991 Hi I would probably enroll in this coming July intake in CA course at Taylor's but i'd like to know how they usually arrange a timetable for per semester? as to match the time with my transportation.  icon_question.gif
There is rail and bus,
But now due to shift to lake side, if u r taking rail, u need to take the train and then take bus from setia jaya to lake side

Majority of the student drove there, cause of the inconvinient highway

Dont worry, earliest class is 8am and latest class end is 11pm which is kitchen or restaurant services claases

Time table is not flexible like other courses, it is like straight all the way u must attend all classes
TSmunak991
post Sep 6 2011, 11:01 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(alexander.ch_1992 @ Aug 2 2011, 08:52 PM)
Hello there everyone! Food Science student reporting in!

Studying BSc (Hons) Nutrition in University of Nottingham Malaysia.

Hope to see this thread continue expanding. biggrin.gif
Welcome Welcome =D
Here are more to food, but food science student are welcome too =)

QUOTE(hahuss @ Aug 7 2011, 11:32 AM)
hi guys!

taking medicine, but just for hobby i'm learning culinology on my own.

this thread is also about molecular gastronomy right? hope we could share ideas  biggrin.gif
Molecular gastronomy, what i can say the trend is going down right now u can see Farrain Adria close his shop too.
due to high manpower require

QUOTE(irmond @ Sep 4 2011, 05:12 PM)
haha. found my club.

I'm currently bachelor in foodservice and culinary arts at Taylor's university.

add me on the list brows.gif
Ooo Batch? im Batch 32
TSmunak991
post Dec 4 2011, 09:56 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(JoBigShow @ Dec 4 2011, 04:20 PM)
I have the textbook: Professional Cooking by Wayne Gisslen (7th Edition)
Selling it very cheap, I think this is the latest edition.

Culinary Arts student, don't miss out on this.
Great condition as well, owned it less than half a year  nod.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=215&t=2133913
OOOooo
dont miss out Wayne Gisslen Book, his book is the best.
I love his Pastry and baking book taught me lots of things
TSmunak991
post Dec 19 2011, 03:41 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Dec 17 2011, 07:23 PM)
Hi guys hope its ok i ask this here bcs i see they no thread dedicated to the Hospitality Management side. Any of your did your industrial working in hotel like Hilton? Want to ask the waiter just simply set and clear the table like any untrained restaurant waiter or must they apply the service sequence like what they learn in university???
Yep they do, basically all hotel does.

Is either u learn from Hotel
or u learn from School

but Hotel is more fast pace so setting 100 set of table, they would apply simple setting instead of fancy fancy thing unless is fine fining.

But still there is Table setting applied

example folding napkins, setting of table glassware alignment, cutleries alignment, plates alignment, Table cloth setting. etc etc
is better for u to know the simple setting than people train u from scratch.
TSmunak991
post Jan 2 2012, 08:39 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Dec 21 2011, 11:29 PM)
Hi guys from the first page i see some of your are in Taylors doing culinary arts. I would like to ask any of your would like to sell me your notes like the recipe that your learn from class like what need for maripua, how to cut batonei stuff like that. Did anyone take down notes? Bcs after spending my first semester with Taylors kinda dissapointed for the important practical classes no notes at all from my chef, just watch him do it then you go and do it yourself if wrong then he will scold you nicely.WTH man i pay so much money this? It just like watching AFC channel and at least AFC channel say you can get the recipe if you go to their web site... So anyone here don't want your notes or willing to fotocopy it for me? I will pay for the fotocopy and also will pay some commision for your work.. icon_question.gif
Term 1 notes ah?
i throw until dont know where de. but i got 1 very good books. can give u the name if u interest, go and borrow from Library then

Added on January 2, 2012, 8:41 pm
QUOTE(youloong118 @ Dec 24 2011, 05:48 PM)
Hi there guys ! I just graduated from high school and just finished SPM .
I like cooking , but I never tried a job in a kitchen . I only cooks at home whenever I am free . I had a thought of studying DIPLOMA in CULINARY ARTS .
But after reading previous posts in this forum , I fear that I may not be able to cope with the pressure of being a chef .
What does it really takes to excel in this field ? and should I get a job in a kitchen during my free time while waiting for my SPM result ?
My dad said chef is a hard pathway
Youloong u should really go and have a part time in kitchen as Kitchen helper to guide you or let you feel hows life work in kithen then u will know.

i can say 90% of people wont end up doing in kitchen line.

This post has been edited by munak991: Jan 2 2012, 08:41 PM
TSmunak991
post Jan 6 2012, 01:55 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Jan 6 2012, 01:29 PM)
Hi bro can give me the name of this very good book please... drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
Practical Kitchen Work : The Basic Arts of Cooking

Edition B.P.I
5,rue Duc - 75018 Paris

btw the book cover is like this, but in English, and it got French version too

im not calling u to see the cutting method or etc. but imply the cooking method.

FYI Taylors Lecturer use this as basic recipe huhuhuh

This post has been edited by munak991: Jan 6 2012, 01:56 PM
TSmunak991
post Jan 11 2012, 02:44 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(tcchuin @ Jan 10 2012, 07:52 PM)
what do you all think about culinology offered in taylors?
is it good ? I'm interested in it...but I don't know if it's good enough..
before u go for it,
its a whole new course

This course its a mixture of Culinary Art + Food Science/Tech
Soooo when u come out, you are most probably working in R&D dep in Nestle or any food industry
TSmunak991
post Jan 21 2012, 01:22 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Jan 19 2012, 05:38 PM)
Hey wta is this true. My friend today went for internship interview at a hotel and the hotel told him to go get a shit test first? That's right a shit test, he has to take some sample of his poo & take it to a medical lab to see if he has any bacterial?? All chef must go through this????

Added on January 19, 2012, 5:39 pmHey wta is this true. My friend today went for internship interview at a hotel and the hotel told him to go get a shit test first? That's right a shit test, he has to take some sample of his poo & take it to a medical lab to see if he has any bacterial?? All chef must go through this????
oh yes, this is implemented by some of the hotel, typhoid is the disease they trying to prevent.

even we student have to jab every 2 years. Even u need a cert or a medical care card to let hotel verify before u can enter there to work

Added on January 21, 2012, 1:23 am
QUOTE(melvin91motorola @ Jan 16 2012, 11:41 PM)
today i made chocolate mousse cake~~it was simple and easy smile.gif although patience is a key to made this baby

Nice mousse cake, it seem like u have good presentation skill, u can touch it up and practices more to make a wonderful cake =)

Added on January 21, 2012, 1:24 am
QUOTE(Shizuru @ Jan 20 2012, 11:44 PM)
Wah which hotel is that. Got very strict rules. Went internship before never asked for such test. They just gave uniform and start working already sweat.gif

Added on January 21, 2012, 12:04 am
depends on which restaurant you are stationed at. if just coffee house, no skill needed for clearing table. If you're working at a fine dining restaurant now that's a different story. they usually expect more and proper ethics are usually required.

Added on January 21, 2012, 12:09 am
I would say, choose DCA ONLY if you LOVE it and have a true passion for it. If not, you are better off studying anything else but DCA smile.gif
Hey Shizuru, may i know which batch r u from??

DCA student too? xD
btw checked ur blog seems like u r chef john fan too lol

This post has been edited by munak991: Jan 21 2012, 01:24 AM
TSmunak991
post Jan 22 2012, 11:27 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Jan 22 2012, 08:46 PM)
DCA and BCA 3rd batch UiTM biggrin.gif Graduated October 2009 biggrin.gif

and a BIG fan of chef john thumbup.gif
Ooo senior, what u currently working as?

This post has been edited by munak991: Jan 22 2012, 11:28 PM
TSmunak991
post Jan 23 2012, 01:45 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Jan 22 2012, 11:47 PM)
self employed. currently supplying frozen roti jala smile.gif
Ic... dont like working in Hospitality life right?

14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0265sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:27 PM