Squire Telecaster?, any experience?

TSdennishew2004
post Dec 9 2007, 08:09 PM, updated 19y ago

141 posts

Could anybody tell me experience about Squire Telecaster??i cant afford to buy Fender's Tele, considering Squire's instead..
anything bad about this model??

hanhanhan
post Dec 9 2007, 08:34 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,205 posts

suddenly i find myself attracted to teles now..
first it was lespauls..
then ESP forest..
then ESP reindeer
then tele.. =((((
Snipe_EX`
post Dec 9 2007, 10:20 PM

128 posts

own a fender tele, played the squire version(standard). truthfully, if you dont have a good amp system or something like that, its actually hard to differentiate the tones from the 2 guitars. but of course if youre good, u can actually hear the difference. play wise, it is still a Tele so the feel is about the same although i do say that the fender has a 'smoother' neck or someting. one thing though, if you have the money, try to get the standard version. affinitys are not really that good. and of course, having a fender makes you fell good!
liew90kw
post Dec 9 2007, 10:52 PM

239 posts

Obviously, be warned that your single coils will constantly pick up that annoying hum.
SUSbman
post Dec 10 2007, 03:35 AM

503 posts

Some say, if you want to get a squier, get one that is an original squier design.

Maybe you could try checking out the Squier 51 ?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Squier_'51
sean392
post Dec 10 2007, 04:10 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

the 51 is pretty good from what i've read
but i don't think it shares the tele twang iirc
quarantined
post Dec 10 2007, 09:11 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

I gotta say the '51 looks pretty darn cool. Especially this:

This post has been edited by quarantined: Dec 10 2007, 09:29 AM
jejari7
post Dec 10 2007, 12:03 PM

385 posts

i like my squire tele .. the sounds, the twang are pretty similar to the fenders one... and just like snipe_ex said, avoid affinity series and MIC squires...
liew90kw
post Dec 10 2007, 05:37 PM

239 posts

wth a squire '51 with zakk wylde stripes?
blacktrix
post Dec 10 2007, 05:40 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Clearly photoshoped image lah

quarantined
post Dec 10 2007, 08:52 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

laugh.gif Anyway the teles are the bomb. But you better save enough for a good ones cause the lower ends has the looks but not the sounds.
Everdying
post Dec 10 2007, 08:54 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

this is a tele tongue.gif

took a pic from a book i got, cant seem to find a actual full shot of it online anywhere yet.

SUSbman
post Dec 10 2007, 09:01 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Dec 10 2007, 08:52 PM)
laugh.gif Anyway the teles are the bomb. But you better save enough for a good ones cause the lower ends has the looks but not the sounds.
Frank Zappa once told Steve Vai..

The tone is in your hands/fingers, not your gears.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dPvvTJ0ySPw

This post has been edited by bman: Dec 10 2007, 09:01 PM
quarantined
post Dec 10 2007, 10:18 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

^I heard this a lot lately, and it's getting really dull tongue.gif Well it's partly true but the thing is I don't think you'll ever get the tele twang playing a stock Squire Cali with a lame ass pvssy sounding amp. Unless you got some magical fingers.. lol

This post has been edited by quarantined: Dec 10 2007, 10:19 PM
led_zep_freak
post Dec 10 2007, 11:16 PM

5,231 posts

Actually the cliche is true. Throw Eric Johnson a pair of Squier and Marshall MG and I reckon he would still sound like Eric Johnson. But on the other hand, throw a newbie guitarist Eric Johnson's gear, he or she would still sound like a newbie. It makes sense.

Btw, I love the Squier '51, but that bullseye is a no-no. biggrin.gif
quarantined
post Dec 11 2007, 01:36 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Dec 10 2007, 08:54 PM)
this is a tele tongue.gif

took a pic from a book i got, cant seem to find a actual full shot of it online anywhere yet.
if im not mistaken schecter has something like that too. Very cool.
liew90kw
post Dec 12 2007, 12:43 AM

239 posts

the idea of buying a tele or at least a tele copy is for the vintage single coil sound...? Having the triple humbuckers on that ibanez copy kinda kills the whole concept doesnt it.
quarantined
post Dec 12 2007, 09:18 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Not necessary I think.There're a lot of people favour the Telecaster Deluxe with dual humbuckers. They have a unique sound to it as well.
Everdying
post Dec 12 2007, 09:27 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(liew90kw @ Dec 12 2007, 12:43 AM)
the idea of buying a tele or at least a tele copy is for the vintage single coil sound...? Having the triple humbuckers on that ibanez copy kinda kills the whole concept doesnt it.
since u say that...then its obvious body shape doesnt matter on vintage single coil sound rite.

one day someone will put vintage single coils into a warlock tongue.gif
crazychris
post Dec 12 2007, 11:38 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

we'l see...vintage tone from a hardcore guitar!!!
feels abit weird haha

espesciali with at a party with uncles and aunties for old-skul songs
WARLOCK!!!! haha
liew90kw
post Dec 13 2007, 01:42 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Dec 12 2007, 09:27 AM)
since u say that...then its obvious body shape doesnt matter on vintage single coil sound rite.

one day someone will put vintage single coils into a warlock tongue.gif
I was actually thinking of buying another warlock just to do that. laugh.gif
But ran outta cash doh.gif
iamzacky
post Jun 6 2008, 10:52 PM

300 posts

old topic back up!

anybody saw tele deluxe selling here in malaysia?

ya'know...the one with the strat headstock
x_far_x
post Jun 8 2008, 05:00 PM

370 posts

How about those vintage series squier? Are they worth getting?

-FaR
affizzul
post Jul 15 2008, 12:15 PM

96 posts

i heard that recently they will stop producing the squire tele california series that is cheaper previously about rm4xx instead they will only sell squire tele that will cost around rm7xx-rm1+++...try survey at any local music stores nowadays and it's quite hardly to find the cheap california series..
satchman
post Jul 17 2008, 10:33 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(affizzul @ Jul 15 2008, 12:15 PM)
i heard that recently they will stop producing the squire tele california series that is cheaper previously about rm4xx instead they will only sell squire tele that will cost around rm7xx-rm1+++...try survey at any local music stores nowadays and it's quite hardly to find the cheap california series..
I saw a 2nd hand Mexican one - quite good condition for RM1500 or so. I think a mexican one is way better in terms of build, electronics, etc compared to the Squire. You'll appreciate the difference, espcially if you are an intermediate player...

apique
post Aug 30 2008, 01:59 AM

71 posts

i agree with bman..

0.0254sec    1.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:06 AM