◙The New PROTON PERSONA◙ V3, Official Thread
caviars
Feb 10 2008, 09:01 PM
Finally had the chance to test drive the persona last week. I was given a M-Line auto version. Overall I think it is a good car for the money and I'm thinking of getting it or BLM.
One thing i like to ask the owners here is on the braking system. I feel like the car didn't have enough braking power and driving an auto one make it feel worse.
Could it be because I was driving a test drive car and that car was "tested" so many time that the brake worn out. I know the M and B line only have drum rear brake so it good enough for you guys out there. I'm planning to get the auto one so I think having a good braking system is quite important.
caviars
Feb 13 2008, 09:08 PM
QUOTE(Ultima @ Feb 13 2008, 01:46 PM) gen2... iianm, first waja cps, then gen2 cps, after tht neo cps(i dunno when), n then persona cps.... Waja CPS = launched already Gen2 CPS = launched in Thailand Neo CPS = ?? Persona CPS = ???? I hope P1 will release the Persona CPS this year  . Maybe a IAFM or VIM is good enough if they want to avoid competiton with Gen2 or Waja.
caviars
Feb 14 2008, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(whoopa @ Feb 14 2008, 10:36 PM) i nearly got solid white but i dunwan lol .. i still waiting ..  .. got blueberry tea .. light gold ... solid white ... got black ... haihzzzz .... I actually want to buy the Persona until i saw the CPS waja. The red CPS engine is really tempting  . Then the SA said maybe persona will have a CPS / VIM later this year. This make me more
caviars
Feb 23 2008, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(Lim Ling Yang @ Feb 21 2008, 03:45 PM) Wow.That looks sweet on a metalic black car. 1 point for proton. Anyone still remember the original proton emblem? The new logo looks much better  . Is it possible to remove the metal line on the back or the logo attached to it. It will become even better when they add a CPS word next to the 1.6
caviars
Feb 25 2008, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(sackeen @ Feb 25 2008, 03:41 PM) dunno yet, but probarbly a 2nd hand jap car. btw, that day the sa told me that persona will have IAFM next month or 2. This could be true since there is a white persona driving around doing the IAFM endurance test.
caviars
Feb 27 2008, 07:41 AM
QUOTE(bluswhitehat @ Feb 26 2008, 11:27 PM) my fren booked persona.. then he told me SA said must wait a lil longer cos all persona now they installing the IAFM thingy.. how true is that? Great news. Ppl don't mind paying extra 1k if the thing can improve the FC. Fuel price will increase for sure and adding IAFM may help owner save money in the long run. Hope the new batch will come with other improvement as well
caviars
Feb 27 2008, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(VandreadX @ Feb 27 2008, 09:38 PM) Yups...hopefully next month will get the car Is there any other new features in the IAFM Persona. Any difference from the current Persona? Is the IAFM will be fitted to all Persona model or just the H-Line?
caviars
Feb 27 2008, 10:30 PM
[quote=VandreadX,Feb 27 2008, 10:26 PM] Features..more or less the same..different in the IAFM only... At least they should put a IAFM word next to the 1.6 at the rear  to indicate the difference. Is the extra 1K showed inside the price list and where did u book ur car?
caviars
Mar 1 2008, 10:47 PM
The IAFM persona are available for booking. According to SA it will cost 1K more and there is no changes except for the IAFM module. Official price list is not available yet.
I read that some forumer said there extra price is RM500 only. Anyone here can confirm on the extra price for IAFM?
caviars
Mar 2 2008, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(Jeffery @ Mar 2 2008, 12:21 PM) guys! wat is IAFM? i'm suck in short forms ^^ IAFM = Intake Air Fuel Module Its a viariable air intake that suppose to improve FC and acceleration. By how much we don't now yet. Some info on IAFM Link. Credit to Limta8 from MTM forum
caviars
Mar 2 2008, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(gotbandwith @ Mar 2 2008, 04:28 PM) Hi All..... after 2months still waiting for my B-line ... i think maybe its true ... B-line model kinda high demand nowdays. guess just have to wait lor..... erkk the IAFM thing is only for m/h line aje ke ? B-line ??? how abt the cps story ???? anyone knows ?? AIFM should be available for all lines. Since there is no offiial release need to wait for it. CPS already available in Waja and Gen2 export model. Maybe not in Persona beause it will create competition between Waja and Persona.
caviars
Mar 2 2008, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(hi--520 @ Mar 2 2008, 05:02 PM) hi, persona h-line still have CAPTOR installed?? Current Persona HL don't have CAPTOR anymore. It was replaced by GPS system (mynavi).
caviars
Mar 3 2008, 08:13 PM
Good news guys. Gen2 CPS and IAFM is already here  . News available on MTM website and Paultan. The new IAFM should improve the torque dip on the normal campro. MTM Web
caviars
Mar 3 2008, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Mar 3 2008, 09:43 PM) Will persona have the same features like gen2? m-line IAFM and h-line CPS. Maybe just IAFM for all lines but who knows One thing I don't understand is why there is a IAFM for Gen2. 56K for M-Line Gen2 (A) IAFM almost the same as Persona HL (A) 55K + 1K for IAFM. Better buy Persona since you can get Airbag, ABS and EBD.
caviars
Mar 3 2008, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(horphi @ Mar 3 2008, 09:56 PM) so as im just book my persona. will i get IAFM or normal campro engine im having B-line Better ask your SA which one you will get. Maybe need to add more RM for IAFM.
caviars
Mar 4 2008, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(john_jenin @ Mar 4 2008, 01:01 AM) i don't think h-line will have cps...but maybe for special edition one in the future?  Persona don't have a Manual HL version. Maybe a CPS Persona HL is somehing to look foward to According to MTM article "This engine, designated Campro CPS, also has a variable intake manifold (VIM) which works like IAFM but is more sophisticated in that it also interfaces with the Engine Control Unit (ECU), thereby having more precise operation." So IAFM not connected to ECU? If so then can put into normal campro with no problem
caviars
Mar 5 2008, 08:49 PM
Maybe all new engine will be equiped with either IAFM or CPS. Maybe it is more efficient to reduce the amount of engine variant.
As for production stop I don't think it is true (and not wise). In manufacturing stoping the production is a complete no no because no production = no output = no sales. They still need to pay the workers (and other cost) even with the line stop. I could be the production is slower since they in transitionng period.
caviars
Mar 9 2008, 05:40 PM
Proton Edar website already advertise the Persona IAFM.
PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) A/T H-LINE (M) RM 56,800.00 PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) A/T H-LINE (S) RM 56,350.00
PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) A/T M-LINE (M) RM 53,300.00 PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) A/T M-LINE (S) RM 52,850.00 PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) M/T M-LINE (M) RM 50,300.00 PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) M/T M-LINE (S) RM 49,850.00
PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) A/T BASE-LINE (M) RM 48,949.00 PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) A/T BASE-LINE (S) RM 48,499.00 PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) M/T BASE-LINE (M) RM 45,949.00 PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) M/T BASE-LINE (S) RM 45,499.00
So it is confirmed extra 1K for HL and 500 for ML and BL. Maybe some extra stuff for Persona HL since it cost 500 more
caviars
Mar 10 2008, 11:49 AM
According to the website the BL now offered in all color. If you click to book the baseline it does show all the colors.
caviars
Mar 13 2008, 09:36 PM
The meter look nice but the FC is ...  . Is the FC calculator really accurate?