University -=UNITEN =-, DIscUss ABout evrything..

nick_myself
post Apr 14 2009, 03:31 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(exentric_nova @ Apr 14 2009, 10:57 AM)
Well UNITEN in term of classes, lecturer, apartment, by itself is fine. quite good in fact. What's bad about UNITEN is their management. Can be quite a headache. But if you're like, just go there, go to class, hang out with frens, pay my tuition fees, finish my studies, then probably less headache. But do make sure you have a loan ready. The fees are expensive. RM1200 per credit hour for IT and RM1400 I think for Engineering course. That's core subjects of course. And once you have your loan, study well. Once you flunk, loaner like PTPTN and YTN will cut off your loan until you pass again. Once they cut off, a lot of money will be coming out of your own pocket. Though 2 times flunk, you're out of UNITEN.

Lifestyle is probably not much or happening like MMU. Students tends to just stay with their own circle of frens. And there's just not that much of crazy events because of the management.
Lifestyle would kinda depend on what kind of person you are. If you're talking bout in uni, how many events you have it still won't be as happening; I mean lets face the facts, local private universities are bound to follow Malaysian rules, ethics and culture.

QUOTE(any1else87 @ Apr 14 2009, 02:07 PM)
It may be selfish to say this but it is more viable to stay with ur own frens, same batch and same course. Because, when it comes to studies , you can always refer to one another. When it comes to projects, all of you can work together/discuss. It will be helpful to say the least. Random choosing will cause unnecessary problem. (hygiene, attitude prob and so on)
Well, I have to say after some time of staying together for too long you get bored of them... tongue.gif
nick_myself
post Apr 14 2009, 05:01 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(exentric_nova @ Apr 14 2009, 03:43 PM)
yeah and thats the sad part of it. Well I don't know about other Uni, but I've been to meeting with the HEP regarding karnival mahasiswa (which didn't manage to be held), and I'm a part of the event for LAN party. Labs can't be used since its not study related (coit labs), then we try bringing outside people (other uni and surrounding) but rejected since they just don't allow it.

I guess thats just how private unis are but that by itself makes it less interesting.
I think using the labs for gaming would not just be because it's not study related but also due to the fact that they have to use original software.

Just my 2 cents biggrin.gif
nick_myself
post Apr 16 2009, 10:23 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(imran424 @ Apr 15 2009, 04:35 PM)
is it hard to get 3.00+ in ME?
Well, I would have to say it doesn't depend on what course you take. Would depend on each individual person and what he or she likes.

So far I find ME to be okay; but then again I have some friends who are struggling.
nick_myself
post Apr 22 2009, 10:04 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(bombx @ Apr 22 2009, 01:28 AM)
jz wanna ask,will uniten give pengecualian for final exam for student who take part in any national or state sport event? i mean do the final earlier or later.....
You should be able to sit for a make up exam (earlier or before not too sure) if you have a valid reason; I'd say taking part in a national or state sport event is pretty valid. However, I think it depends on your lecturer as well. Last time ymy friend missed one of the final papers (well he reached too late and they didn't let him in the exam hall); he went and see the lecturer told her he missed the exam because he was involved in an accident; of course she asked for proof like police report or something like that. In the end, he got to sit for the make up exam.
nick_myself
post Apr 24 2009, 05:09 PM

174 posts

Sungai Chua cheap cheap only...most of my friends' rent are about 500-600 for double story terrace house...mine's 550...

Don't go to Serdang/Minlon side...it's kinda pricey...
nick_myself
post Apr 27 2009, 11:02 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(phat_mcjack @ Apr 26 2009, 02:01 PM)
@sujend

i think you mean some senior...haha...nowaday very hard to get accomodation in-campus la...they intaking alot of new students i guess...
they want money oni....they never really care about students...
yeap yeap, I didn't get on-campus accommodation after my 1st year. Since 2nd year shifted out till now.

QUOTE(skinnydude @ Apr 26 2009, 06:18 PM)
i am currently staying at taman seri emas, sg chuah, kajang (before hj samuri sate) with a few of my friends. quite many UNITEN students are staying there as well..

if u all want a place stay, spare a day and look around...  rclxms.gif
Spare a day look around or if you already have friends staying off campus ask them to keep an eye out for houses up for rent.
nick_myself
post Apr 27 2009, 04:11 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(any1else87 @ Apr 27 2009, 03:21 PM)
The best is to mix around with seniors so tat they can spare you their rented house when they've graduated. I stay near skinnydude. I must say that the place is pretty convenient. Everywhr is nearby. (McD, KFc, Pizzahut, dominos, giant, tesco, tmpoint, all the banks, market and etc)  smile.gif
Convenient of course if you have a car, or in my case my dear beloved housemates have cars.
nick_myself
post Apr 28 2009, 09:46 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(skinnydude @ Apr 27 2009, 06:33 PM)
we are from one big happy family..  rclxms.gif

the only sad thing is that, we always main pedang only.. hahahhaa
QUOTE(phat_mcjack @ Apr 28 2009, 03:02 AM)
lol skinnydude....i also wanna go check out near sg.chua la...by d way i heard got 1 dahsyat accident 2day there...isit true??
The one big happy family skinnydude is talking about is currently not big and happy at the moment as we are not there at the moment due to our industrial training. So we wouldn't know about the dashyat accident. Must ask my housemates who are still there. haha.

If you ever do shift to Taman Seri Emas, the noisiest house would be skinnydude's house. haha.
nick_myself
post Apr 28 2009, 03:28 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(exentric_nova @ Apr 28 2009, 01:41 PM)
All subject taught in English except for Islamic and BM subjects
Everything is in English. Even writing thesis in BM must have special permission from Dean.
Malaysian studies is in BM and other few non technical electives are in BM.
A little advice, when taking non technical electives, if you can get Sports and Recreational Management at Workplace (SPRB113). There's only one lecturer for now, Malay lady; can't remember her name. Quite easy to get A. thumbup.gif
nick_myself
post Apr 28 2009, 04:29 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(exentric_nova @ Apr 28 2009, 03:40 PM)
Pn Mastura. I took her class last semester. Got an A-
Quite reasonable. I did missed the only quiz for the whole semester.

Actually I believe she taught co-curriculum subjects previously. Before SPRB was introduced. I took her Fitness class. As any co-co classes, it's very easy to get an A and I think she brought that over to the SPRB classes although SPRB is an IKAL subject or Liberal Studies Elective as the course outline says. IKAL classes is just like any other class and it's not as easy to get an A. But since she did brought the same concept of the easy-going co-co classes, it is rather easy to score. Just come, do your quiz/test/assignment/group project, you're good to go.

Group project is where this class shines. Last semester we held a Paintball tourney. A whole lot of fun I'd say. Previously I heard students went to Langkawi, Pangkor, camping. Just attend and free 20 marks.

By the way, SPRB is taught in English. What other IKAL subjects anyway is taught in BM?
Yeah, Pn Mastura.
I was in your class. biggrin.gif .Got A and I only went for like 5 classes that sem. rclxm9.gif

Below subjects are in BM
Kempipinan dan Keusahawanan (KDKB113 I think)
Pemikiran Kreatif

If you take Moral under Pak Arif quite easy to score as well.
nick_myself
post Apr 28 2009, 04:49 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(hsienhsien @ Apr 28 2009, 04:35 PM)
lolx, they speak in english oso rite while they teaching?
by right the language for 90% of the subjects are in english. But then it depends on the lecturer as well. When I took Mechanics of Fluids I, I got a new lecturer and he sort of lectured in english and malay because he wasn't very confident in speaking english. But then, from my 4 years in Uniten so far only one lecture was like that. I heard that lecturer now speaks much better English already. You can always ask seniors which lecturers can teach well for which subject then you can plan your timetable accordingly.
nick_myself
post Apr 29 2009, 01:24 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(hsienhsien @ Apr 28 2009, 05:00 PM)
u r civil student oso?
I'm studying mechanical. Civil engineering course is quite small in Uniten; good thing about it is that most of the civil students are quite close, unlike mechanical and e&e where there are cliques here and there.

QUOTE(phat_mcjack @ Apr 28 2009, 06:00 PM)
lol...if i know pn.mastura easy to get A surely i take her subject..
missed an A..sad.gif
What subject did you take for the non technical elective?
nick_myself
post Apr 29 2009, 04:15 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(phat_mcjack @ Apr 29 2009, 03:51 PM)
golf...
golf is 3 credit hours also?
Engineering students don't have to take those subjects like golf, swimming and all. But we must take one non technical elective like comparative religion, kdkb, sports, etc.
nick_myself
post May 5 2009, 02:23 PM

174 posts

PTPTN banks in the money to the university straight away and if there's excess to be paid I'll pay by cash. Withdraw money in COE/Library then head to Admin to pay. biggrin.gif
nick_myself
post May 6 2009, 04:40 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(tineagle @ May 6 2009, 10:40 AM)
my ptptn loan money was banked in to my CIMB account.  same goes to my peers.

we all had to either bank transfer the money online to uniten or withdraw and go pay at the finance department.
QUOTE(exentric_nova @ May 6 2009, 12:08 PM)
http://www.uniten.edu.my/newhome/content_l...?ContentID=1016
As nick_myself says, PTPTN now changed their method. They don't pay to students directly anymore. They pay directly to UNITEN. This is because from what I head, students misusing their loan money for their own usage instead like buying motorcycles and such.

But I think they've changed it for quite some time already. Why yours still bank in directly into your CIMB account?
Yeap yeap, last time was like that. Strange that you still get yours transferred into your bank account.

A lot of students take PTPTN money buy things first. Then when fees due you can browse trade zone and find a lot of people selling stuff. Reason for sale: Need money to pay tuition fees. whistling.gif
nick_myself
post May 7 2009, 03:17 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(joe_89 @ May 7 2009, 02:07 PM)
So the uni will help the students who got in through normal process to get loans, such as ptptn, and other tajaan?
But won't help those students who got in through appeal?
Not really. They will put up posters on the notice board if there is a scholarship or loan application open. Just watch out for it and apply for it yourself.
nick_myself
post May 11 2009, 02:36 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(hsienhsien @ May 11 2009, 02:17 PM)
the putrajaya campus is at kajang there right? beside kliuc campus rite? btw, anyone know how to get full loan? wat salary i shud put in?
if for scholarship less than 3k better. I remember a friend told me he went for scholarship interview said parents' income is 3k they still say too high.
nick_myself
post May 11 2009, 03:16 PM

174 posts

the lower you put the more money you get...
nick_myself
post May 12 2009, 01:49 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(hsienhsien @ May 12 2009, 12:58 AM)
stpm 2.58 can get scholarship or not? how bout if get loan? rm2k? 3k still high? omg, nowadays, rm3k for 5members expenditure is totally not enuf tats wat i can say.. i have 6 family members including me.
Don't know bout stpm but spm last time 8A1s and I think if from foundation to degree CGPA 3.

QUOTE(hsienhsien @ May 12 2009, 01:01 AM)
okok... anyone got scholarship in uniten for engineering degree courses?
im coming in july intake for civil.. wanna know the lowest mark to get scholarship@_@
I have friends on scholarship from Powertek, YTL, Genting Power, etc.
But mostly entered from SPM. Actually I just realised I have a friend from STPM who is under scholarship. Checked with my friend she said her STPM was 3.33.

QUOTE(simplicity1224 @ May 12 2009, 01:18 AM)
Anyone here taking Mechanical Engineering besides ysh_kobe??
What do you think of that course?
I'm a mechanical student. biggrin.gif . The 1st year and 2nd year chilling only. 3rd year the amount of projects can be a little hectic. But it's do-able. The projects can be quite fun actually although it's hectic. I think important thing is who are your group mates. Final year can't tell yet. Going into final year in July. TS also mechanical student. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by nick_myself: May 12 2009, 01:52 PM
nick_myself
post May 13 2009, 12:21 PM

174 posts

foundation syllabus changes quite frequently, degree not too often but new editions come out.

0.0482sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:44 PM