University -=UNITEN =-, DIscUss ABout evrything..
dlwl
Jun 7 2008, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Jun 7 2008, 08:48 PM) Next sem 4th year degree 1st sem.  Gradding soon.  Time flies. No > < It's still hard.. Got Final Year Project.  Don't worry. You don't need timeslots to get good timetable.  I got good way to camp for slots for the class you want.. But I don't want to reveal it yet. Scared UNITEN ban. LOL! Maybe wait until my final sem. I also JPA scholar.  Hope they release me and don't ask me to work for the Gov.  yeah. i also feel time flies super fast here. dunno why.  i wanna know how you camp for slots!  will be starting degree next sem This post has been edited by dlwl: Jun 7 2008, 09:04 PM
dlwl
Jun 7 2008, 09:46 PM
timeslot is a certain time period given to you, to register for classes or apartments. no need to worry la. haha. the IT college is darn nice and quite high tech coz it's just build few years ago. during the orientation you will have some sessions there. wish COE could be like that, haha. once you come here and settle down everything will be fine.
dlwl
Jun 7 2008, 11:17 PM
QUOTE(miszcha @ Jun 7 2008, 10:29 PM) staying at the hostel is a must for foundation student or not?? coz i'm thinking want to stay at home bcoz uniten only 15 mins from my house... already preset our timetable??erm.. 8 am class??duuhh...  no it's not a must. i have many friends staying outside of uniten. but for the orientation week i think you are required to stay in the hostel. nice la you have house near uniten. like my friend, everyday parents send, just like going school only..haha. can save on petrol timetable already preset, but luckily for me not all 8am classes. the most also 1 day only got 8am class. the rest all 9am, some days 10am.  btw, when enter 1st year degree 1st sem, our timetable already preset or we choose ourself?
dlwl
Jun 7 2008, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(ShadoW_ChaseR @ Jun 7 2008, 11:27 PM) hey u alredy know your timetable??  nope, i think it's given when we come back after sem break. maybe on the 1st day perhaps? syun's right. my housemates all doing the same course, same class. so everyday go class go together, go everywhere also together.  can help each other also, whether studies or assignments. hopefully degree we get same class again
dlwl
Jun 9 2008, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(skinnydude @ Jun 9 2008, 10:47 AM) call uniten and ask them. maybe something went wrong somewhere. dont wait till the final moment.  yeah, better call them. last time my friend had his intake application lost in post. luckily he called them and ask, and the case was settled. if not then dunno how d. guess he wouldn't be here now.
dlwl
Jun 10 2008, 05:30 PM
i got a different race roomate for my 1st sem, at first i was worried. but after 1-2 weeks ok d, he seems quite a nice person afterall. so even though you get different race roomate it should be ok. maybe depends on your roomate character also la. hopefully you can get a nice roomate. hehe. dun worry about knowing new friends, you will get to know some new people during orientation. sometimes during all those speeches, can chit-chat then make friends lo.  i heard the pahang campus quite far from the nearest town/city. hope you'll find it easily. This post has been edited by dlwl: Jun 10 2008, 05:32 PM
dlwl
Jun 10 2008, 05:54 PM
for 1st sem i dont think can le. coz they give you the room already. 2nd sem onwards you can choose your own room. maybe you can try discuss with your roomate, ask him to smoke in the hall, or outside, but not in the room. if your roomate is considerate enough, i'm sure he'll know what to do.
dlwl
Jun 10 2008, 07:08 PM
can, can stay outside. haha. take your time. survey around 1st to see where's the most suitable place for you. meanwhile try to get transport to move around too. then easier when the time comes for you to really move out.
dlwl
Jun 10 2008, 10:58 PM
although they never said anything i think it's better to wear long pants whenever doing any business with the admin, be it payment or academic stuff. you respect the rules then people also feel good to help you. so far i never seen people 'kena' scolding for indecent clothing, but i've seen students get warning for some fancy hairstyle. not to scare the new students, actually nothing one la..maybe the guy was really unlucky... as long as your clothing is decent then it's ok..
dlwl
Jun 10 2008, 11:08 PM
student
dlwl
Jun 10 2008, 11:12 PM
i see. mechi degree or foundation? i baru foundation. start degree this coming july.
dlwl
Jun 10 2008, 11:18 PM
as said earlier in previous posts, i dont think you can skip the orientation. coz you'll be in groups always. and they have your leaders to check on your attendance. so it's a bit hard la if you plan to skip.
dlwl
Jun 10 2008, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(kayden @ Jun 10 2008, 11:24 PM) The orientation sux big time. I didnt get the notification letter bout the neccesity to stay for 1 week for orientation and suddenly on the day of application they tell me i can't leave the compound i was like wtfbbq... then they tell me latest by 5pm will have to report in to the facilitators. Then i rush home to get my pillow, towel and other daily stuffs. During that 1 week they will keep ur car keys with them to prevent u from sneaking home. =.= Sleep at 1~2am and there will be morning siren at 5~6am. That week was like..living in hell... haha. exactly. that was the hell part. reminds me of some army camp. and when siren on, the facilitators will come knocking at your room door. about the notification i dunno la. last time they gathered us all at dinner, and then give a short briefing of what and when the orientation really starts.
dlwl
Jun 10 2008, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(kayden @ Jun 10 2008, 11:32 PM) But the good thing bout orientation is that u get to know new friends which are definitely gonna help thru out the years in Uniten. At least there are ppl who can accompany u for lunch  yeah. agreed. but i considered lucky la got schoolmates come with me, same course. so not so lonely the first few days when i still dunno people around.
dlwl
Jun 10 2008, 11:45 PM
here dont need to worry. like kayden said, they are very friendly, and they are willing to guide you throughout your orientation. just dont try to do any stupid stuff that cause trouble for them.
dlwl
Jun 11 2008, 10:04 PM
yes you'll be staying in the same room for the whole of the semester. unless thery decide to make some changes, or if got people move in/out.
dlwl
Jun 11 2008, 10:12 PM
can. but i'm not sure of the procedures. have to ask other seniors here. hehe.
dlwl
Jun 11 2008, 10:42 PM
oh..can change room wan ar...i din know about that...haha
dlwl
Jun 12 2008, 03:00 PM
mara dun hav loan/schlarship for foundie edy? AFAIK got le..some of my friends taking mara. i also take ptptn for this year, but not full loan.
dlwl
Jun 12 2008, 09:37 PM
during orientation yes you must. dress codes are stated in the previous posts.