7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

ACCA (v3), our future chartered accountants :)

kelvinlee1983
post Feb 7 2008, 09:10 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(HBK-reloaded @ Feb 6 2008, 11:53 PM)
this is bogus lor...NOw i have to re-set my brain 'balance sheet' will become 'statement of financial position'.
'Cash flow statement' will be 'statement of cash flows...aiyoo..now have to adopt this significant changes although the format still remains.. why the changes???still good what using Balance sheet and p&l statement.. rclxub.gif
Actually we learn this at P2 ,under chapter current issue

This also one of a past year question,

Actually that is not much different from P2 current issue.

P/S 11.5days left

kelvinlee1983
post Feb 7 2008, 11:34 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Feb 7 2008, 11:29 PM)
P2 is a big difficult paper! A lot of student b4 study P2 make a big mistake to think P2 not difficult, the reason was F7 consider not difficult for them.
No matter easy or hard
P2 is a compulsory paper

who said P2 is easy?
kelvinlee1983
post Feb 8 2008, 07:52 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Feb 8 2008, 12:17 AM)
A lot of my friend get very high marks in 2.5 last time, before they actually go for P2, they always thinking P2 is not difficult and not a problem. They more worry about P1 and P3. Ha Ha Ha, when they actually study P2, then they only know how difficult for this paper.

For me, P2 is a most difficult as compare to P1 and P3.
I agree with you.
P2 answer is more to specific
However P1 P3 answer as long as logic, the examiner will give the marks.

For me, I never think that any papers of ACCA is easy tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

P/S:10.3days left

This post has been edited by kelvinlee1983: Feb 8 2008, 08:34 AM
kelvinlee1983
post Feb 11 2008, 11:41 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Feb 11 2008, 10:09 AM)
i thought is lack of Auditor... tongue.gif
both also same.

kelvinlee1983
post Feb 11 2008, 06:12 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(VpIc @ Feb 11 2008, 05:18 PM)
oic... were you in phillip's class last year?
he is philip woo FANS.

i heard that philip is one of the marker of F8

P/S: 7 days left
kelvinlee1983
post Feb 13 2008, 10:29 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(crazyguuy @ Feb 13 2008, 09:17 PM)
THANKS . notworthy.gif  Seems that ALL Papers are very tough  smile.gif

So, how to build up logic for P3 papers ?
P3 papers will be a lot of strategic questions ?

Actually, I was forced to SELF STUDY. I am already FULL TIME working.
Everyday, I at least work untill 8 pm sad.gif .

I WONDER, EVEN I study well the WHOLE TEXT BOOK, is still insufficient to PASS ?
  sweat.gif
If u work for full time , then u dont need to take all 3 papers
u can choose to take one paper only.
Then u see and evaluate whether u can handle well or not if u take one paper
kelvinlee1983
post Feb 14 2008, 08:46 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(crazyguuy @ Feb 14 2008, 07:21 PM)
Thanks guys for all the ADVICE !!  notworthy.gif

Yesterday, I have spend a few hours went through Paper P3 (Foulklynch) ....
wow, the syllabus so wide blink.gif , got IT, Human resource, Strategic decision, Ethics etc. Its like 4 paper in ONE !!

I know ACCA is tough ! sad.gif  However, I wish to complete ACCA in the shortest time (I got my own reason)

What I felt that is even the lecturers are just guessing what the examiner wan. They may or may not actually know the KEY TOPIC.
Unless the class is conduct by the examiner  , ONLY the examiner know what will came out !:P

So, anyone can do an anaysis of current P1 , P2, P3 examiners ?
P1
100% theory,only got pilot paper and one past year question. the requirement of examiner not so clear yet.

P2
>60 % theory

Current Issue is the most difficult part, and also is the most easy parts
Environment and professional ethic issue also very important.

The consolidate is one of the compulsory question

IAS39 is not so easy to understand

P3

New examiner , new style.
IT, quality ,project management is important.

ALL 3 papers have professional marks.

kelvinlee1983
post Feb 15 2008, 10:49 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Feb 15 2008, 10:05 AM)
Actually, we can't said the prof paper is more difficult or more easy. Just for new syllabus, ACCA put more theory into practical. They want the student know more on application than study theory by hard.

I can give u a example also, my friend go to do P6 last sitting. B4 he actually enter for exam, he feel that problem is not much to handle this paper cos he get 48 marks in June 07. And also his lecturer Chow Chee Yan told student P6 cut down a lot of specialise industries, so sholud be easier than old 3.2. That day after he go for exam, he was very disappointed cos the question very practical until he don't know how to advise. But look like the question so hard, I really don't understand how can Chow Chee Yan go to tell student P6 should be easier than old 3.2?

As you can see from the Pilot paper and Dec 07 PYQ, the question was very practical as compare to old syllabus. Even you are very strong in theory, not means that you can do very well in P1 and P3, cos study theory and answer question is difference story. And also for those strong in calculation, not means that they can done well in P2, cos consol part for P2 can be very confuse until they do a lot of mistake in the qusetion.
I also have friends that get 49% in audit paper.
After that study very hard and did a lot of revision
Next time she able to score 49% again cry.gif

After that ,she went to attend the full time class again and studied advance audit.
In that sitting,the question is easy for her,
after the result out , she get 44%

And she took this audit paper at last sitting, and she said is very difficult.
We will know the result at 18tfeb.
I think she will pass at this sitting ,because she said it is difficult.
kelvinlee1983
post Feb 15 2008, 12:02 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Feb 15 2008, 11:27 AM)
Which paper? 2.6/F8 or 3.1/P7?

But as I told u b4, 2.6/F8 passing rate very low. A lot of student feel that done well during the exam, but when result out fail! cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Hope you can pass in 1 sitting lah!
She took paper 2.6.(3 times with 49,49,44)
last sitting re-sit again and take F8

I also afraid i will fail , cause u told me before , the ppl that feel confident, normally will fail.
The person who didnt do well in the exam, but always pass .
kelvinlee1983
post Feb 15 2008, 04:01 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(crazyguuy @ Feb 15 2008, 01:44 PM)
Those that Worried the most always PASS & managed to Score ! tongue.gif

I got one friend, age of 20 only, sat the last 3 core papers & win overall prize.
The night b4 the result is out, she sms me, said she worried that she will failed Paper 3.6, but her marks for this paper is 70+.  rclxub.gif

THANKS guys for giving FEEDBACK to P1 to P3 papers  rclxms.gif
Maybe for her standard , fail is below 70.
SO that she afraid cant get more than 70,
so that she worried rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

3days left, how about your (all acca students)feeling now?
kelvinlee1983
post Feb 15 2008, 04:50 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(schuen @ Feb 15 2008, 04:34 PM)
Wonder whether got problem receive the result late or not by using Hotmail for tis time as las sitting, hv to log in to ACCA web to c result 1st as very late using Hotmail
I received my result at the after 2 days.(that means is the 3rd day)

I wait until midnight 12am.

After that , i log in to ACCA website ,but busy server.

wait until 1 am , then i can log in and view my result
kelvinlee1983
post Feb 15 2008, 05:35 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(Tan19860201 @ Feb 15 2008, 05:04 PM)
I have all CAT past year paper, contact me at tan19860201@yahoo.com, i send to u.

Let me know which paper u wan.

Added on February 15, 2008, 5:11 pm
No. You should read properly, (Rule No. 8), 2nd change only charge. 1st time change FOC!
IRC SEAT ALLOCATION NOTICE for the following subjects:
F6 by Ms Wong Paik Wan
F7 (Group 1 & 2); P2 (Group 1 & 2) by Mr Haneef
F8 (Group 1 & 2); P1 (Group 1 & 2) by Ms Sheila John
P3 Special Group by Mr Michael Mainwaring

Please be advised that the intensive revision courses (IRC) for the above subjects are following
seat allocation. It is therefore important for you to know the term of reference pertaining to our
seat allocation arrangement.

Term of Reference:

1.    Seat allocation will be open for booking from 18 February 2008 9am.
2.    Mc Orange Institute's full term students (who have signed up both Term 1 & Term 2 by 17 February) will be granted the priority to book                their seat from 18 February to 24 February 2008 (McO Student Week).
3.    During the McO Student Week, full term students will be allow to book your seat (personally at the ACCA counter by presenting your Official  Receipts, phone booking will not be entertained, no booking for friends) and transfer of groups (eg, Gp 1 to Gp 2 or vice versa).
4.    For students who only signed up for Term 1, if returning during McO Student Week to sign up for Term 2, will be enjoying the same benefit as full term students as described in Note 3 above.
5.    Students who signed up for February 2008 intake and IRC only, seat allocation will be starting from 25 February 2008. Seat booking need to be done personally by presenting your official receipts, no phone booking, and no booking for friends.
6.    If you are full term student but did not come forward to book your seat during the McO Student Week, you will be allocated with the balance of seats which we have reserved for you.
7.    If you are Term 1 student but only sign up Term 2 after 24 February, you will be booking your seats together with students described in Note 5  above.
8.    We only accept ONE application for transferring of group with no charge. Administrative Charges of RM20 will be applied to any subsequent transfer and transfer is subject to seat availability.
9.    Please present your Identity card on first day of IRC to collect your IRC notes.
10.  Please always check to the latest timetable for the IRC dates from the ACCA Counter. Please refer to the ACCA counter should you        need further clarification.

Added on February 15, 2008, 5:24 pm
P3 Michael Mainwaring (MCO) is very good, he will come for Revision Course. Tham (MCO) teaching the normal course, he is good also...

I heard that this class is seat allocated. 1st come 1st serve.

Added on February 15, 2008, 5:32 pm
out date already!
3.2/3.6 (replaced by P6/P2) follow the change of the current issue and change of account standards.
3.5 (replaced by P3) P3 is combination of 3.4 & 3.5, update/change of syllabus
3.7 (replaced by P1) no longer in ACCA syllabus, P1 is a new subject!

ur opinion is not 100% correct.

give you 1 day to find the mistake and correct it notworthy.gif

kelvinlee1983
post Feb 15 2008, 09:22 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(pedestrian @ Feb 15 2008, 08:59 PM)
According to ACCA, from coming September onward, students need to
complete the "Professional Ethics" module before allowed to take OBU degree...

I'm curious to know more about the module and how the experience,
have anyone here completed it? mind sharing?  thanks.....    rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

the professional ethic module , i already complete last year,

just question and answer,nothing special.
kelvinlee1983
post Feb 17 2008, 11:43 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(soul_project @ Feb 17 2008, 10:15 AM)
they never ask us to confirm email this year and i see the accaglobal.com website say results will be published on site tommorow

maybe this year they don't send results via email already ?
is that possible ?
you can log in to ur acca account to see ur result
or wait they post ur result to u
kelvinlee1983
post Feb 17 2008, 02:38 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Feb 17 2008, 02:37 PM)
Ya lo, but if more student email to him, I think he will be back to teach.
I always e mail and call him to teach
but he said ,save money to go other, cause he not free to teach at this june08 cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
kelvinlee1983
post Feb 18 2008, 01:26 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(crazyguuy @ Feb 18 2008, 12:16 AM)
Guys , I just wonder, like on 18 FEB 2008, after u receive the result, assume u pass !

When u can get the ORIGINAL CERTIFICATE ?
Assume u pass level 3 !
After 1 month or 2 months after result released ?
u need to ask coolly, she already pass rclxms.gif notworthy.gif

kelvinlee1983
post Feb 18 2008, 08:10 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(aliftaufiq @ Feb 18 2008, 07:57 AM)
Good luck guyz n gurlz smile.gif

Added on February 18, 2008, 7:59 am
I got the result around 8pm for last examniantion using yahoo sweat.gif
good luck

i think i ll get the result at 10am - 2pm.

this is last sitting exp

kelvinlee1983
post Feb 18 2008, 05:00 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Feb 18 2008, 04:49 PM)
congras........

look like a lot of student pass P1 - P3, but me............go back home only watch lah!
my result is poor cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

kelvinlee1983
post Feb 18 2008, 05:13 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Feb 18 2008, 05:04 PM)
How, pass all paper with 50?

Added on February 18, 2008, 5:05 pm

Now still in office, dun want to be sad until can't work. rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
no la
pass p2 with 54 only,

other just normal only

nothing special
kelvinlee1983
post Feb 18 2008, 05:31 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(Xyn @ Feb 18 2008, 05:21 PM)
congratulation. you are oso graduating!
not yet

i stil left 2 core papers