See it for yourself: http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/xbox-360/xbox-3...ther-330916.php
Xbox 360 DVD & HDVD Player Sucks, According to this article
Dec 7 2007, 03:47 PM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
815 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Petaling Jaya |
See it for yourself: http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/xbox-360/xbox-3...ther-330916.php
Dec 7 2007, 03:49 PM
Store Representative
7,931 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ, Malaysia |
so anyway,
is still the same anyway. |
Dec 7 2007, 04:09 PM
1,393 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Dust |
... and im still getting it anyways
Dec 7 2007, 04:13 PM
293 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Kuantan |
what? anyway i just bought my 360 for gaming.
Dec 7 2007, 04:25 PM
161 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: New Caprica |
IMO the dvd playback quality for 360 is so so only, and i'm stuck with 480p only. i know the vga cable bypasses this 480p problem but i'm stuck with region 2 DVDs only, so i didn't bother. xvid/divx playback is nothing to shout about either...
but the HD DVD playback, to me, is superb, even on my 720p tv, the details are amazing. the report says the HV DVD player is having trouble deinterlacing; i thought HD DVD content are in 1080 progressive? what more there is to deinterlace? i dunno the technical mumbo jumbo behind all this, im just a normal user and this is my 2 cents: the HD DVD playback is fine This post has been edited by hikaru_x: Dec 7 2007, 04:26 PM |
Dec 7 2007, 04:44 PM
Hmm .. now u guys make me having 2nd thoughts on wether i wanna buy the HD-DVD external player or not.
I wanted to buy it end of this month from GH cuz they still have stock currently, and I also already ordered the Transformers HD-DVD from Amazon liao. I will only be running it on my 19" widescreen LCD monitor before I get my 42" AQUAS next year. This post has been edited by XenoFr3ak: Dec 7 2007, 04:45 PM |
Dec 7 2007, 04:52 PM
4,896 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kg Sg Penchala, KL |
QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Dec 7 2007, 04:44 PM) Hmm .. now u guys make me having 2nd thoughts on wether i wanna buy the HD-DVD external player or not. The HD DVD add-on isn't the best player around but it's still a big improvement over normal DVD in terms of picture quality. You get what you pay for and at RM650 the HD DVD add-on is definitely a good buy. A standalone player will cost you several times more.I wanted to buy it end of this month from GH cuz they still have stock currently, and I also already ordered the Transformers HD-DVD from Amazon liao. I will only be running it on my 19" widescreen LCD monitor before I get my 42" AQUAS next year. |
Dec 7 2007, 05:21 PM
374 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
it is probably just software issues.. it will settled sooner or later anyway..
furthermore, hardly anyone uses their xbox to play dvd.. either already have a dvd player or scared to 'overwork' their precious xbox like what arj says, what do you expect from that price? Any upgrade from dvd with that price is considerably good. if you have an elite or premium with hdmi, wah la! movie magic |
Dec 8 2007, 05:06 AM
1,846 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: City^of^Anggerik |
hmmmm...if it is suck...why I spend more of my "movie" times watching hd-dvd through that "so-called sucked" hd-dvd add on then dvd movie through one of the highest rated "dvd upconventer" oppo DV-981HD..bottom line..."DVD pictures...suck big times...
An update from the same article: "Update: We spoke to an HD DVD professional, and he told us there were problems with this review. Apparently, the HQV discs are making players (even top of the line players) fail de-interlacing tests, which is pretty much all the disc does. What the reviewer should have done is test image quality, which would have made the Xbox 360 HD DVD player just about as good as the other standalone HD and BD players. The man we talked to didn't say much about DVD, however." By the way....kudos to one of the comment made :" BY KFAST AT 02:59 PM Been using the HD-DVD player with my Xbox 360 for months. The picture is great on my 110" screen and Sharp XV10000 projector. Score 0 out of 100? Your test is flawed/misleading big time. Maybe it sucks at playing old school DVD but why would I use it for that? You can put lipstick on a pig but its still a pig. Throw all of your old DVDs in the garbage and buy new HD or Blueray disks as they become available. Do the same with your old televisions. Quit living in the past and quit complaining that new hardware doesnt support your old crap. If you are dissing the built in DVD player, your own text says that the disk is not flagged correctly. That is not 360's fault." 'NUFF SAID This post has been edited by silencer: Dec 8 2007, 05:09 AM |
Dec 8 2007, 05:12 AM
10,544 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: GMT +8:00 |
QUOTE(arj @ Dec 7 2007, 03:52 AM) The HD DVD add-on isn't the best player around but it's still a big improvement over normal DVD in terms of picture quality. You get what you pay for and at RM650 the HD DVD add-on is definitely a good buy. A standalone player will cost you several times more. It's not the add-on that's at fault though. It's the decoding software side. They can fix this if they worked at it, and they probably will. |
Dec 8 2007, 08:43 PM
595 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Some lady's bush |
To me the HD-DVD player shouldn't be at fault here. true what arj said, you get for what you pay, but for RM 600 ++, this is the best you can ever get in terms of quality/price ratio.
i may not be as eagle-eyed as some people are, but to me the quality is awesome. of course you don't compare it to blu-ray. blu-ray is definitely better, and for those who have the greens to get either a 4k player or a 2k PS3 and a 30k full HD bravia, please go ahead and do so as that's the best setup (i think) i've seen so far that produces m'f'n quality movies (witnessed at best denki KLCC). but for me, the average paid joe, hd-dvd beats anything out there at my price range. i had the chance to try it with my old kaput x360 with component, and it was great. now i'm using it with HDMI, and it's sharper, colors are way brighter and just fantastic. why piss and moan about dvd quality on the hd-dvd player? i mean..it's called a hd-dvd player for a reason. if u whine about paying a load for the hd-dvd player and getting crappy results when playing your dvd...wow...u got issues. so what i can say to those future buyers (like Xeno), u have either: a) get / stick with a PS3 as a blu-ray player b) buy the hd-dvd add on c) if u have more money to spend, i'd say just spend it on a RM 4k blu-ray player (provided u have a nice TV to handle it) movie freaks like myself, arj, silencer and others ain't complaining. so why should you? P.S: i find it cool that ezy video is now an 'official distributor' of hd-dvd and blu-rays. only thing is u have to wait a bit. don't mind cos, transformers? only RM 150. still, amazon bulk is the way to go for us impatient ones. P.S.S: arj, any new worthy HD-DVDs to buy and tumpang? |
Dec 9 2007, 08:32 AM
Well .. no doubt about it .. i will surely buy it. Wanted to buy from Zio, but so damn fast sold it liao
Dec 9 2007, 12:40 PM
595 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Some lady's bush |
QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Dec 9 2007, 08:32 AM) Well .. no doubt about it .. i will surely buy it. Wanted to buy from Zio, but so damn fast sold it liao djinn no more stock izzit? nvm xeno..it's worth the wait!oh yea xeno..long time never play halo 3 since the first time met u online..haha could only get online by this week hopefully, and still haven't tried COD 4 online. P.S: does the x360 add-on have online capability to access web exclusive content from the dvd (e.g. transformers). i mean i find the options for cookies in the network settings, but how do u actually access content online? me dum-dum abt this.. |
Dec 9 2007, 01:59 PM
4,896 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kg Sg Penchala, KL |
QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Dec 8 2007, 08:43 PM) I'm getting The Buorne Trilogy and The Kingdom next Thinking about Stardust, Harry Potter boxset and Blade Runner as well QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Dec 9 2007, 12:40 PM) P.S: does the x360 add-on have online capability to access web exclusive content from the dvd (e.g. transformers). i mean i find the options for cookies in the network settings, but how do u actually access content online? me dum-dum abt this.. Yes you can. Just access them through the main menu I'm going to close this thread now. Please continue the discussion in the existing pinned HD DVD thread. This post has been edited by arj: Dec 9 2007, 02:00 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0156sec
5 queries
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:41 AM |