RM500k penalty for internet downloading!, No more movies/tv/songs?

TScrazyconsumer
post Dec 5 2007, 08:40 PM, updated 18y ago

Big Spender
673 posts

Oh oh .... here comes the crap which Singapore has been trying to enforce. Will it happen? Will there be a scapegoat? Is that the end of broadband?

THE STAR - Nation
Wednesday December 5, 2007

Download at your own risk

KUALA LUMPUR: If you download material illegally from the Internet, be prepared to fork out a minimum fine of RM250,000.

This is the warning from the Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Ministry to Malaysians who continue to illegally download songs, videos and the like.

Although this penalty was legislated more than 10 years ago under the Copyright Act, it has yet to be fully enforced.

This was because the Government was still focusing on "physical enforcement", encompassing continuous efforts to weed out pirated DVDs, VCDs and CDs sold on the streets and their operators.

Deputy Minister Datuk S. Veerasingam said yesterday that while this remains their main priority, cracking down on Internet download offenders was also gaining momentum.

"For the past three years, we have seen a significant reduction in copyright pirates. This is due to the continuous efforts of our enforcement officers.

"We will also very soon make Internet download offenders our priority," he said.

Veerasingam was speaking to reporters after opening the Wipo Asia-Pacific Regional Seminar on the Issues and Recent Developments of the Wipo Copyright Treaty and the Wipo Performances and Phonograms Treaty on behalf of the minister.

More than 75 participants from 11 countries are taking part in the three-day seminar.

Veerasingam said that the maximum fine for downloading material illegally from the Internet was a whopping RM500,000. 
nate_nightroad
post Dec 5 2007, 08:42 PM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

there is already a thread at kopitiam
mono_demon
post Dec 5 2007, 08:43 PM

Cibo
1,458 posts

if im not mistaken, this is the fifth thread on the same topic.. sleep.gif
nate_nightroad
post Dec 5 2007, 08:45 PM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

wooops....close tis pls
beck_ken
post Dec 5 2007, 09:13 PM

4,716 posts

in before close
-= Virgil =-
post Dec 5 2007, 10:02 PM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

Yea for stoppage of internet illegal downloading!
Aeon_Clock
post Dec 6 2007, 02:35 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

title also wrong...from 250k become 500k...typical of people to exaggerate things laugh.gif
Neiji
post Dec 6 2007, 04:14 PM

183 posts

Later 500k become 750k...lolx, close it la...so many threads d
cyc85
post Dec 6 2007, 04:52 PM

sob~sob~
1,202 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Dec 6 2007, 02:35 PM)
title also wrong...from 250k become 500k...typical of people to exaggerate things laugh.gif
where got wrong...maximum fine really 500K...don play play....
Go read news update urself pls....don say typical ppl before check the news....
RM250k fine for illegal downloads

KUALA LUMPUR: If you download material illegally from the Internet, be prepared to fork out a minimum fine of RM250,000.

This is the warning from the Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Ministry to Malaysians who continue to illegally download songs, videos and the like.

Although this penalty was legislated more than 10 years ago under the Copyright Act 1987, it has yet to be fully enforced.

This was because the Government was still focusing on "physical enforcement", encompassing continuous efforts to weed out pirated DVDs, VCDs and CDs sold on the streets and their operators.

Deputy Minister Datuk S. Veerasingam said that while this remains their main priority, cracking down on Internet download offenders was also gaining momentum.

"For the past three years, we have seen a significant reduction in copyright pirates.

"This is due to the continuous efforts of four enforcement officers. "We will also very soon make Internet download offenders our priority. The law has been there for the past 10 years," he said Tuesday.

Veerasingam was speaking to reporters after opening the WIPO Asia-Pacific Regional Seminar on the Issues and Recent Developments of the WIPO Copyright Treaty and the WIPO Performances and Phonograms Treaty on behalf of Minister Datuk Shafie Apdal.

More than 75 participants from 11 countries are taking part in the three-day seminar.

Veerasingam added that the maximum fine for downloading material illegally from the Internet was as high as a whopping RM500,000.

The reality of it, Veerasingam said, was that as long as there were buyers, there would always be sellers.

"It doesn't matter whether it's buying a CD from the street or illegally downloading songs from the Internet. It's still the same," he said.

He thus urged Malaysians to be responsible consumers and realise the damage they caused to the various industries that painstakingly produced music, videos and movies only to find their work being used for free.

On the other hand, he also urged that products be reasonably priced so consumers would not consider cheaper alternatives, such as pirated or illegally downloaded products.

On advancements made by the country in this area, Veerasingam said various amendments to the law and the instalment of an Intellectual Property Court recently was testament to this.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...1805&sec=nation

This post has been edited by cyc85: Dec 6 2007, 04:54 PM
Aeon_Clock
post Dec 6 2007, 05:14 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

wah, need or not ar...post here and PM me in inbox doh.gif
either way you are right...partially. The maximum penalty is RM500k...but not all defendants will definitely get RM500k penalty. The only definite thing when you're found guilty is a penalty of at least RM250k.

P/S: dun PM me again or I'm gonna report you...

This post has been edited by Aeon_Clock: Dec 6 2007, 05:14 PM
EroS
post Dec 6 2007, 05:41 PM

2,902 posts

in b4 close.. YsY.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Christopher_LKL
post Dec 6 2007, 05:43 PM

Kairi Kawaii ^^
1,399 posts

wow nice income ...
cyc85
post Dec 6 2007, 07:22 PM

sob~sob~
1,202 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Dec 6 2007, 05:14 PM)
wah, need or not ar...post here and PM me in inbox doh.gif
either way you are right...partially. The maximum penalty is RM500k...but not all defendants will definitely get RM500k penalty. The only definite thing when you're found guilty is a penalty of at least RM250k.

P/S: dun PM me again or I'm gonna report you...
Nola, juz wanna remind you to check the news b4 blame ppl....don juz read the bold title on the news, read those details.....
The fines is depends on how many things you download....if you download alot then sure kena RM500K....
Don report me cry.gif

This post has been edited by cyc85: Dec 6 2007, 07:24 PM
TScrazyconsumer
post Dec 6 2007, 08:28 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

Dun believe in maximum fine? Why not be the first scapegoat to kena... you'll be public example.
g5sim
post Dec 6 2007, 08:37 PM

5,750 posts

whops good luck Telekom malaysia n malaysia's broadband penetration in general wink.gif

0.0126sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:01 PM