Recommendation (Electric Guitar)

TSzeropulse
post Dec 2 2007, 04:43 PM, updated 19y ago

238 posts

Hi Everyone.

I need a recommendation on electric guitar

I've never played one before, i've been playing the acoustic for a few years now, still sucked at it. I wanna try to go electric.

Which brand is suitable for a newbie like me ? DO i need to by with amps ?

I find squire quite good as my friend bought one too.

I have a budget of below RM500

And also whic place is recommended for me to get guitars ? Am now in KL.

Thanks a lot notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by zeropulse: Dec 2 2007, 04:48 PM
blacktrix
post Dec 2 2007, 05:12 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

RM500 is a little low, because you'll have to get a small amplifier, which alone can cost around Rm450.....

You're looking for a budget of at least RM800 for a decent guitar, amplifier and some accessories.
limjix
post Dec 2 2007, 06:03 PM

224 posts

yeah totally agree with blacktrix RM500 is too low.

A decent electric guitar would cost u around RM400-500 already, a good small practise amp would cost u around RM300-400

RM800-900 would help. Trust me, i also got my electric guitar this year smile.gif

I got a Squier Strat and a Roland Micro Cube for about RM900 i think. Plus a bag and some free stuff.

Best place to get is Woh Fatt KL. Thats where i got mine, and best place to get bargains. Ask for a guy name Alex, he can help.

Squier Strat: Around RM500 or SX Strat ( never tried but seems to be lowyat recommendation ) RM400+

Roland Micro Cube: RM380 (need to pre order from Woh Fatt) or maybe if u want something cheaper, Marshall 10 Watt amp, around RM200-300 but it lacks the effects that the Cube has.

Try bargain-bargain abit with that guy, u can get a very good discount plus some free items

btw, if u want a bag, ask Alex for a CNB guitar bag (softcase), Cost around RM80.

This post has been edited by limjix: Dec 2 2007, 06:05 PM
blacktrix
post Dec 2 2007, 06:20 PM

13,063 posts

Here you go man........ Used Amp, Distortion and Yamaha Guitar.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/581310/+0#entry14435638
limjix
post Dec 2 2007, 06:23 PM

224 posts

wah the guitar looks very antique lol
liew90kw
post Dec 2 2007, 06:30 PM

239 posts

well you really cant complain with a budget of 500 right?
Although i personally loathe SX, but i'm forced to recommend it becasue of your budget.
quarantined
post Dec 2 2007, 07:27 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

QUOTE(liew90kw @ Dec 2 2007, 06:30 PM)
Although i personally loathe SX, but i'm forced to recommend it becasue of your budget.
Why is that?
limjix
post Dec 2 2007, 07:40 PM

224 posts

i think the SX is a standard recommendation here at Lowyat.net
William7
post Dec 2 2007, 07:44 PM

92 posts

Well if you are interested i have Dean's China mades but a lil more expensive. I can bundle up with a 10 watt Rockton amp. But it will definitely wont fit your budget..but its a good guitar and amp.
liew90kw
post Dec 2 2007, 08:04 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Dec 2 2007, 07:27 PM)
Why is that?
I hate the tone and feel of them, just dead honest.
If you asked me to change pickups on an SX, i'd much rather save up and buy another guitar with that money.
Sure, it's a good beginner's guitar, but just IMO, your first guitar should last you quite awhile, instead of being some bottom-of-the-bottom line guitar. I mean, it's already like 300++ right? just save up another 100 or 200 and buy a yamaha pacifica at least for crying out loud.

Yes, I know, i'm a very fussy person when it comes to gear.
quarantined
post Dec 2 2007, 08:55 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Agreed that the Pacificas are great. I still love my SX Tele though.

I guess, with your budget you have a choice between two popular shapes: Strat and Telecaster.

For Strat, try: Yamaha Pacificas (Rm550+), Samick Strat(RM410), or SX Strat (RM440+).

For Telecaster though I only know of SX Tele copies(RM440+) within the price range.

There're also Squires (Strats and Teles) at min RM550++ but I rather get the Yammys if I were you.

limjix
post Dec 2 2007, 09:07 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Dec 2 2007, 08:55 PM)
Agreed that the Pacificas are great. I still love my SX Tele though.

I guess, with your budget you have a choice between two popular shapes: Strat and Telecaster.

For Strat, try: Yamaha Pacificas (Rm550+), Samick Strat(RM410), or SX Strat (RM440+).

For Telecaster though I only know of SX Tele copies(RM440+) within the price range.

There're also Squires (Strats and Teles) at min RM550++ but I rather get the Yammys if I were you.
Are u sure Pacificas are 500 bucks? i think not. Last time i checked, it was around 600-700
If it was so cheap, everyone would be buying it instead of Squiers and SXs tongue.gif

Btw, i got my Squier Strat for i think RM500 bucks plus free items

EDIT: I have really good news for the TS

http://ckmusic.com.my/promo.htm

check there. look at the 5th one

Craftsmen strat with a Vox Pathfinder 10, KORG GA40 tuner , and alot of good accessories for RM550!!

This post has been edited by limjix: Dec 2 2007, 09:10 PM
quarantined
post Dec 2 2007, 09:40 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

So the price increase that much eh? I quote it from one of the older threads so it might be wrong.

If it was so cheap, everyone would be buying it instead of Squiers and SXs

You make it sounds like Squiers and SXs are a bunch of crap. biggrin.gif Which isn't true la.
hanhanhan
post Dec 2 2007, 09:43 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,205 posts

pacifica 012 model = RM 630
pacifica 112 model = RM 890 (alder body)
limjix
post Dec 2 2007, 09:53 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Dec 2 2007, 09:40 PM)
So the price increase that much eh? I quote it from one of the older threads so it might be wrong.
You make it sounds like Squiers and SXs are a bunch of crap. biggrin.gif Which isn't true la.
lol, im still loving my Squier Strat biggrin.gif

I think the best for the TS is the promo at CK Music. RM550 with all the stuff included, including a korg tuner
gapnap
post Dec 2 2007, 10:43 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(liew90kw @ Dec 2 2007, 08:04 PM)
I hate the tone and feel of them, just dead honest.
If you asked me to change pickups on an SX, i'd much rather save up and buy another guitar with that money.
Sure, it's a good beginner's guitar, but just IMO, your first guitar should last you quite awhile, instead of being some bottom-of-the-bottom line guitar. I mean, it's already like 300++ right? just save up another 100 or 200 and buy a yamaha pacifica at least for crying out loud.

Yes, I know, i'm a very fussy person when it comes to gear.
to be honest ..i fvcking agree with you ..
i was quite a SX fan ..back then ...4 years ago ? when they just entered the market and sujesh was promoting it like crazy..
later when the new series came out (2 years ago?) ..i just feel SX is wrong..

but i may be wrong , cause the ones i tried was in harmony , technics 1utama , mighty music ..havent go to Woh fatt to look for a SX
one of the SX that made me wanna puke was the Natural Color les paul with Maple fingerboard...oh wait..Plastic yellow looking color fingerboard..

i tried the Washburn X10 that day ..wasn't too bad either..their tuners are probably the most Solid among all the low range..

my beginner's choice

1.Ibanez GSZ / GSA
2.Yamaha Pacifica
3.Washburn X10

anyway ...Yamaha(kelana jaya) having December sale ..25% off or something..
my student just bought his pacifica at 4++

This post has been edited by gapnap: Dec 2 2007, 10:45 PM
limjix
post Dec 2 2007, 10:54 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Dec 2 2007, 10:43 PM)
to be honest ..i fvcking agree with you ..
i was quite a SX fan ..back then ...4 years ago ? when they just entered the market and sujesh was promoting it like crazy..
later when the new series came out (2 years ago?)  ..i just feel SX is wrong..

but i may be wrong , cause the ones i tried was in harmony , technics 1utama , mighty music ..havent go to Woh fatt to look for a SX
one of the SX that made me wanna puke was the Natural Color les paul with Maple fingerboard...oh wait..Plastic yellow looking color fingerboard..
i tried the Washburn X10 that day ..wasn't too bad either..their tuners are probably the most Solid among all the low range..

my beginner's choice

1.Ibanez GSZ / GSA
2.Yamaha Pacifica
3.Washburn X10
lol yeah, i tried the SX Strat at Woh Fatt, and i hated the weird colored fingerboard, it felt weird.

Well, with his budget i think he cant get those guitars + an amp.
blacktrix
post Dec 2 2007, 10:59 PM

13,063 posts

Yeah, For a RM500 and below budget, it's pretty small.
Like every said, you'll need at least RM800 for a good setup.
gapnap
post Dec 2 2007, 11:01 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Dec 2 2007, 10:59 PM)
Yeah, For a RM500 and below budget, it's pretty small.
Like every said, you'll need at least RM800 for a good setup.
yea man i agree..

there's an ibanez GSZ for sale at RM450..

i would get that lor ...then probably download those SOFTWARE tube simulator ..

plug my GSZ to computer and practice ..
hiam0314
post Dec 2 2007, 11:02 PM

20 posts

yamaha pacifica for 400++...?in this dec?can someone tell me how to go kelana jaya yamaha??
liew90kw
post Dec 2 2007, 11:04 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(limjix @ Dec 2 2007, 09:07 PM)
Are u sure Pacificas are 500 bucks? i think not. Last time i checked, it was around 600-700
If it was so cheap, everyone would be buying it instead of Squiers and SXs  tongue.gif

Btw, i got my Squier Strat for i think RM500 bucks plus free items

EDIT: I have really good news for the TS

http://ckmusic.com.my/promo.htm

check there. look at the 5th one

Craftsmen strat with a Vox Pathfinder 10, KORG GA40 tuner , and alot of good accessories for RM550!!
Umm, the Yamaha Sale just ended today, december 2nd. I didnt need anything so i didnt bother going rolleyes.gif
And dude, how'd you get a new squire for 500+? All the ones i see are 6++ and above. Probably going to the wrong stores, but still.

QUOTE(gapnap @ Dec 2 2007, 10:43 PM)

I never really considered washburn, but i think i'll go try them out sometime tongue.gif Which stores carry them?
gapnap
post Dec 2 2007, 11:05 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(hiam0314 @ Dec 2 2007, 11:02 PM)
yamaha pacifica for 400++...?in this dec?can someone tell me how to go kelana jaya yamaha??
its along LDP ...

anyway...Everdying just posted a Picture ..and it sooooo happens to be ..

THIS SX SUCKS ...its not even cheap MAPLE ...heck..its not even WOOD ...
hiam0314
post Dec 2 2007, 11:06 PM

20 posts

arrr...bad! ended today...i shud exposed to all this promotion...miss it..
limjix
post Dec 2 2007, 11:11 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(liew90kw @ Dec 2 2007, 11:04 PM)
Umm, the Yamaha Sale just ended today, december 2nd. I didnt need anything so i didnt bother going  rolleyes.gif
And dude, how'd you get a new squire for 500+? All the ones i see are 6++ and above. Probably going to the wrong stores, but still.
I never really considered washburn, but i think i'll go try them out sometime  tongue.gif  Which stores carry them?
uhhhhh,i dint promote the Yamaha sale, i gave the CK Music sale. Its this whole month.

Go to Woh Fatt. Got my Squier Strat there RM 500+. U can bargain more and also ask for free stuff smile.gif

This post has been edited by limjix: Dec 2 2007, 11:15 PM
TSzeropulse
post Dec 2 2007, 11:11 PM

238 posts

Can plug into PC ?? LOL, Like how? if that i can save on an amp.

What's the difference between the strat and the telecaster, for Squires only rite ?. I'm quite new to electric guitars. I only know that it's a guitar. Lol. I personally own a Santa Cruz acoustic.

RM800 - RM900 eh. I see. What kind of base to find for, i see there's plastic ? maple ?

1.Ibanez GSZ / GSA
2.Yamaha Pacifica
3.Washburn X10

How much are for this ?

I guess i have to feel the guitar to see whether it suits me a not.

Where is WohFat ? I'm actually from Penang, i'm studying In KL.

gapnap you teach ?

Anyway thanks guys for all the info. Really appreciate it.

This post has been edited by zeropulse: Dec 2 2007, 11:17 PM
limjix
post Dec 2 2007, 11:14 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(zeropulse @ Dec 2 2007, 11:11 PM)
Can plug into PC ?? LOL, Like how? if that i can save on an amp.

What's the difference between the strat and the telecaster. I'm quite new to electric guitars. I only know that it's a guitar. Lol. I personally own a Santa Cruz acoustic.

RM800 - RM900 eh. I see.

1.Ibanez GSZ / GSA
2.Yamaha Pacifica
3.Washburn X10

How much are for this ?

I guess i have to feel the guitar to see whether it suits me a not.

Where is WohFat ? I'm actually from Penang, i'm studying In KL.

gapnap you teach ?

Anyway thanks guys for all the info. Really appreciate it.
Woh Fatt Music House
No. 37, Jalan Silang, Kuala Lumpur Wilayah Persekutuan 50050
Tel : 03-2070-5968
Fax : 03-2070-2145

theres the add and contact number

btw, if u want to plug into ur computer, http://guitarpraise.blogspot.com/2007/02/m...recordings.html
there the instructions are, but bear in mind, the sound wouldnt be very nice. Best would be to get your own amp.
or
If u want the sound too be much better, u need a sound card or effects pedal which would be way over ur budget.

For your reading pleasure on some guitars,
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stratocaster
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fender_Telecaster

I think Strats are nicer for beginners, cause its a all-rounder.
Never really tried teles before

This post has been edited by limjix: Dec 2 2007, 11:19 PM
TSzeropulse
post Dec 2 2007, 11:22 PM

238 posts

where is Jalan Silang? I'm currently over at Setapak. How do i get there?

limjix
post Dec 2 2007, 11:29 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(zeropulse @ Dec 2 2007, 11:22 PM)
I got simple solution, call taxi rclxms.gif biggrin.gif

Im not sure about how to get there from Setapak. So taxi best option, srry
gapnap
post Dec 2 2007, 11:48 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(zeropulse @ Dec 2 2007, 11:22 PM)
take LRT to masjid jamek ...........ask around for MYDIN ..

when you see Mcdonalds / MYDIN / BUSSES / expensive as fark carpark ...means you reach wohh fatt
TSzeropulse
post Dec 3 2007, 12:01 AM

238 posts

Ohhh..pasar seni there ?? i see i see.. will drop by there in a while..Once you are using a particular brand, is it difficult to change to another brand ?

limjix
post Dec 3 2007, 09:44 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(zeropulse @ Dec 3 2007, 12:01 AM)
Ohhh..pasar seni there ?? i see i see.. will drop by there in a while..Once you are using a particular brand, is it difficult to change to another brand ?
wat u mean? u mean u used to one brand hard to change??
to me i think not so much la. Just have to get used to another guitar if u get one.
TSzeropulse
post Dec 3 2007, 03:36 PM

238 posts

I asked my friend about Tele and strat, he said he don't use fender, he using ibanez. Then he said hard to switch to fender. Dunno why.

I think it's all about the guitar la. How you feel and perform when u play it.
Everdying
post Dec 3 2007, 03:41 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

cos the strat fretboard is more curved.
i also dont like it, prefer it much flatter.
Banzai_san
post Dec 3 2007, 03:55 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(zeropulse @ Dec 3 2007, 03:36 PM)
I asked my friend about Tele and strat, he said he don't use fender, he using ibanez. Then he said hard to switch to fender. Dunno why.

Ive been a Washburn person since my first guitar (washburn G2V white). Now I own the N2 Nuno Battencourt.

Why I stick to washburn? Really dont know hmm.gif . I think its more of a psychological thing than a technical one. Personal satisfaction (as you've said) in term of feel. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Dec 3 2007, 03:58 PM
skindred
post Dec 3 2007, 04:57 PM

283 posts

[quote"zeropulse"]What kind of base to find for, i see there's plastic ? maple ?[/quote]

It really depends what kind of sound you are looking for.. Different guitar wood has their own sound..
liew90kw
post Dec 3 2007, 09:49 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(zeropulse @ Dec 3 2007, 03:36 PM)

Like everdying, each brand has specs unique to itself. Transition is possible between brands, but it will take some getting used to. Once you're used to it then theres really no problem.
Hardest switch I ever did was from BC Rich to a yamaha doh.gif That's the last time i'll ever forget to bring my bass anywhere.
Unfortunately for me, it's very ahrd for me to transition to "beginner" brand and specced instruments because I was spoiled as a noob player. I got to mess with a rickenbacker 4001 and an epi SG bass during my first 3 months tongue.gif
azzaim92
post Oct 8 2008, 07:02 PM

375 posts

dude are washburn x11 any good? Someone selling for Rm600 ...worth it?
sarcast
post Oct 8 2008, 07:40 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(limjix @ Dec 2 2007, 11:29 PM)
I got simple solution, call taxi  rclxms.gif  biggrin.gif

Im not sure about how to get there from Setapak. So taxi best option, srry
Better not take taxi if u dun know the place.. they might con u by going a big round before reach your destination to get more $$ from u

anyhow,
1.Ibanez GSZ / GSA
2.Yamaha Pacifica
3.Washburn X10

How about the Samick? hmm.. so does it mean Yamaha are the best between those 3? are there anyshop sells all these 3 models so i can try it out ?? tongue.gif
mushimushi88
post Oct 8 2008, 07:57 PM

293 posts

its best you try 1st b4 buying any, theres some good unpolished gem in low line guitar =)

i know a fren who her dad owns a music studio and she got like 4 electric guitar in her collection (lucky her!)

Epi/Fender/Gibby and guess what? a Samick! hahaha! its from a low line guitar but manage to be 1 of her favorite among the others exp guitar she got.

reason?
she said she just like the feels(?) it the guitar thrown at her ( heck i wish i know what she means by that )

This post has been edited by mushimushi88: Oct 8 2008, 08:02 PM
pitinn
post Oct 21 2008, 03:45 PM

261 posts

I dunno about you.....My budget is RM650.....
I can get this .....
Roland micro cube = RM330(new)Lowyat selling
SX strat copy Guitar(with tuner,bag,cable,picks....) = RM300
Burgercis is selling cheap in lowyat.

This post has been edited by pitinn: Oct 21 2008, 03:47 PM
fantasycts
post Oct 21 2008, 04:01 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(pitinn @ Oct 21 2008, 03:45 PM)
I dunno about you.....My budget is RM650.....
I can get this .....
Roland micro cube = RM330(new)Lowyat selling
SX strat copy Guitar(with tuner,bag,cable,picks....) = RM300
Burgercis is selling cheap in lowyat.
heck...SX strat so cheap?? rm300 only? what about sx bass?? can get it so cheap?

pitinn
post Oct 21 2008, 04:22 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(fantasycts @ Oct 21 2008, 05:01 PM)
heck...SX strat so cheap?? rm300 only? what about sx bass?? can get it so cheap?
I not sure about SX bass....BUt Sx guitar is RM300 only....I am in JB....I can get the price loh.....
I guess SX BASS is around RM400+ loh...
Amigos
post Dec 16 2008, 01:56 PM

20 posts

Dude's, which do you choose better between Yamaha ERG 121 & Sx Strat.
Reason... hmm.gif
neildesouza
post Dec 16 2008, 11:15 PM

45 posts

not best place....
best person....buy from shop slightly overpriced....
by from dealers better....
dealers like dead eye etc.etc
crysania
post Dec 17 2008, 10:15 PM

130 posts

Agreed.Gud pricing. thumbup.gif
Anyway do ur homework b4 u buy.

Cheers...

ghoster
post Dec 19 2008, 12:54 AM

I got 4 stars
641 posts

QUOTE(zeropulse @ Dec 2 2007, 04:43 PM)
Hi Everyone.

I need a recommendation on electric guitar

I've never played one before, i've been playing the acoustic for a few years now, still sucked at it. I wanna try to go electric.

Which brand is suitable for a newbie like me ? DO i need to by with amps ?

I find squire quite good as my friend bought one too.

I have a budget of below RM500

And also whic place is recommended for me to get guitars ? Am now in KL.

Thanks a lot notworthy.gif
if u're sit infront of ur computer a lot, then just look for a used guitar, rm500 can get a decent used guitar. then plug in ur computer and just use guitar rig or something for sound biggrin.gif
azrinarizz
post Dec 19 2008, 06:23 PM

Made in Malaysia!
2,448 posts

Go to Ck music, kl. You can get the whole set. Craftsman brand. for 800 including amp. Line 5 btw. tongue.gif
vassili
post Dec 19 2008, 06:30 PM

I don't care about what you think.
600 posts

pacifica?
Siege
post Dec 19 2008, 07:26 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(azrinarizz @ Dec 19 2008, 06:23 PM)
Go to Ck music, kl. You can get the whole set. Craftsman brand. for 800 including amp. Line 5 btw. tongue.gif
ehehehe...Line 5...hohoho
i bought my guitar there.....kinda okay.....
but the amp -Line 6 Spider III 15-.....damm nice^.^

vassili
post Dec 20 2008, 02:04 AM

I don't care about what you think.
600 posts

line 6 how much?
tataxi
post May 25 2009, 09:34 PM

pitinn...
u sure there is sx stratocaster at rm300 range ?!
where can i get it? xD
and is it possible to get an amplifier along with the sx strat in RM500 budget??
i dont require good amps as i only practise in my room.. trying not to disturb my family and neighbourhood
thanks a lot

This post has been edited by tataxi: May 25 2009, 09:35 PM
intel_centrino
post Sep 1 2010, 12:08 AM

GuiTaR_MaN
718 posts

bro..sx stratocaster...i see the cheapest in WohFatt probably is RM370 (guitar only)...roland microcube..where can get RM330 (brand new)...dun mislead ppl oh...i've seen the cheapest microcube ever i saw is RM360 when yamaha super sales at bukit tinggi but can't remember when...and then i saw at lowyat forum at once..sell for RM380, RM390....tats super cheap edi
SUSTham
post Sep 1 2010, 05:04 AM

1,576 posts

Westone Spectrum FX, their flagship at that time.

Superb finishing.

Superb MMK-45 pickups.

http://www.westone.info/cats/86spectrum/05.html

http://www.westone.info/spectrumfx.html

http://www.rivercityamps.com/electrapage/i...ry080123-130035

http://reviews.harmony-central.com/reviews...pectrum+FX/10/1

If you are going for rock/metal, get hold of one of
Westone's Pantera models, if you can still find them
on Ebay or elsewhere.

Westone Pantera X390.

Used by Trevor Rabin of Yes.

http://www.westone.info/cats/86pantera/03.html