46 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

HELP University College, Anyone studying here?

SFX
post Oct 21 2008, 06:46 AM

236 posts

About HELP's A-Levels program:
Good generally.

Got Mrs. Teoh for Maths and Further Maths. One of the best lecturer for Maths but sadly she retired already. cry.gif Therefore, I'm lucky to have her to teach me as I'm in one of the last batch that she taught. smile.gif Her notes are comprenhensive. Thickness of the notes, about 10cm thick (could be thicker tongue.gif ). All handwritten. Even bring it to UK for my further studies.

Ms. Ng for Chemistry. Also, a very good lecturer. Manage to boost up my Chemistry score for paper 1 and 2 as I failed the first time I attempt it to 77/90 (which is an A) with her help.

Another fantastic lecturer for Physics is Mr. Ling. Came to class with nothing but attendance list and a marker pen. Wrote the notes on the board without any book or reference at all. Give us questions out of nowhere, the next day, ask for the questions again from us and straight away give the answer.

Ms. Aw and Mr. Phillip for Statistics. Both of them are good lecturer. Also, Mr. Anuar. The only Mechanics lecturer for the entire A-Levels. Poor him but good in teaching.

Last but not least, Mr. Noel. A relative newbie in HELP. Still not very good in lecturing Maths but it is due to inexperience (and coming from Physics background). But very friendly and easy going with the students.

Not quite sure with other lecturers but should be good in general.

About the environment of study:
Expect to get a lot of change of venue frequently. If you are in a small group, expect to be thrown into a classroom that doesn't deserved to be called classroom (more of like a janitor's room) but the good side is less change of venue.

Library isn't a library between 10am - 5pm during weekdays and during exam period. Just too noisy. Virtually, there is no people on Saturdays.

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 21 2008, 02:02 AM)
nowadays u guys got long bus.. which is good and bad. good in the sense that each bus got more capacity; bad loading/unloading times due to too many ppl

last time a fleet of mini buses oni ar.. 20min wait time at 4pm was the norm.. some of us had to champion a car-driver who dun have class later to bring his car around to provide additional transport smile.gif
Haha, about the shuttle bus. Very pack during peak hours (aroud 8am and 4pm weekdays). The big bus can cramp up to around 60-70 people inside (those standing are packed like sardines in can)blink.gif. When unloading, I was like WTF, as if there are infinite number of people in the bus.

This post has been edited by SFX: Oct 21 2008, 07:03 AM
yakumo626
post Nov 15 2008, 11:26 PM

18 posts

hi everyone, i m new here, i wan to ask about the undergraduate program, Bachelor of Economics..
is it a transfer program? from website i saw tat got mention credit transfer to Queensland university....
so, some pro plz tell me the details...
especially economic students..
maxtek
post Nov 16 2008, 02:04 AM

TH3 P3RF3C7!0N!5T
876 posts

QUOTE(yakumo626 @ Nov 15 2008, 11:26 PM)
hi everyone, i m new here, i wan to ask about the undergraduate program, Bachelor of Economics..
is it a transfer program? from website i saw tat got mention credit transfer to Queensland university....
so, some pro plz tell me the details...
especially economic students..
Think of it as a twinning sorta program.

Hey, about Mrs.Teoh's career, it isn't over yet. She's giving my friends Further Maths tuition, I'm from Taylors by the way. wink.gif
yakumo626
post Nov 16 2008, 01:44 PM

18 posts

thx...er....
so i can get a cert from UQ or just complete my final year at there only?
everyone can go QU or just some students?

This post has been edited by yakumo626: Nov 16 2008, 01:45 PM
Hevrn
post Nov 16 2008, 02:14 PM

4,017 posts

As far as I know the bach of Economics is a 1+2 programme. You'll get a UQ cert for completing ur final 2 years there. Needa meet the requirements though.
yakumo626
post Nov 16 2008, 02:21 PM

18 posts

thx for helping, i try to email ur school education advisor...
hope to meet u all there..
maxtek
post Nov 16 2008, 03:01 PM

TH3 P3RF3C7!0N!5T
876 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Nov 16 2008, 02:14 PM)
As far as I know the bach of Economics is a 1+2 programme. You'll get a UQ cert for completing ur final 2 years there. Needa meet the requirements though.
What are the requirements???
pandacid
post Nov 17 2008, 11:33 AM

63 posts

IT in Help??? omg
By look at their computers and facilities. I personally think that it will not be a good choice to pick up IT there.. no offence..
cherriedpie
post Dec 1 2008, 12:20 AM

307 posts

If HELP's A-levels is so good why isn't anybody talking a lot about it? In fact, I keep hearing about how Taylor's is better. But that's because they advertise a lot right? Why isn't HELP doing the same? I registered in HELP already and now I'm feeling quite insecure about it. =( Can anybody assist me?

Eg, you can tell me the teachers, environment, facilities, etc. I know SFX explained a bunch already but I need more~ Btw, is there any shuttle from BU to HELP?
PetroToxin
post Dec 1 2008, 01:26 AM

1,179 posts

Signing up for A-levels at HELP next week.
No regrets. smile.gif

Taylors Subang is not for me, I cannot imagine studying at a place which is surrounded by snooker centres, cyber cafes and other entertainments.
Kaycie
post Dec 1 2008, 02:42 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(cherriedpie @ Dec 1 2008, 12:20 AM)
If HELP's A-levels is so good why isn't anybody talking a lot about it? In fact, I keep hearing about how Taylor's is better. But that's because they advertise a lot right? Why isn't HELP doing the same? I registered in HELP already and now I'm feeling quite insecure about it. =( Can anybody assist me?

Eg, you can tell me the teachers, environment, facilities, etc.  I know SFX explained a bunch already but I need more~ Btw, is there any shuttle from BU to HELP?
there is rapid KL from BU to HELP...
U 82....
i think HELP quite focus on their A levels..
coz they juz renovated a block for the A Levels students...
got small libarary..and coming soon computer labs...in the Block itself...

HELP have lots of different blocks...
so facilities are separated..
main library in Wisma HELP, small library at BLock E
main computers lab in Mainblock , some in Wisma HELP, block A and coming soon Block E...
Got Department of students affair...where students get to hang out...got TV, pool, fusbal, and others...

This post has been edited by Kaycie: Dec 1 2008, 02:45 AM
CuteDay
post Dec 1 2008, 03:36 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(PetroToxin @ Dec 1 2008, 01:26 AM)
Signing up for A-levels at HELP next week.
No regrets. smile.gif

Taylors Subang is not for me, I cannot imagine studying at a place which is surrounded by snooker centres, cyber cafes and other entertainments.
there was 1 guy from my class transferred from Taylors to HELP, he failed alot in Taylors -.-" thats y come to HELP. According to wat he said, there are really alot of distractions there. Not a good environment. Anyway, it still depends on student him/herself isn't it ?
gajah91
post Dec 1 2008, 04:30 PM

416 posts

im might going to take foundation in science in HELP
onimusha_m16
post Dec 1 2008, 05:03 PM

Mr Bean
1,239 posts

how much is A-levels in HELP? any scholarship ?
reengurl
post Dec 1 2008, 05:55 PM

199 posts

I'm currently studying at HELP tongue.gif Taking Bachelor of Business, majoring in Marketing ^^ I like the place...no distractions, good for you who wants to study xD The only bad thing about it is that the college is all over the place..
chuakz
post Dec 1 2008, 08:09 PM

1,192 posts

how is studying biotech in HELP? my dad suggested that it'll be better to study biotech at monash.....any advice?
imran424
post Dec 1 2008, 08:57 PM

377 posts

Found this:

http://www2.help.edu.my/helpuni/alevels/in...ubcat=79&id=318

Is the the tuition fees the current one??
Aztec
post Dec 1 2008, 10:22 PM

Disregard females,Acquire aesthetics..u mirin'?
2,363 posts

QUOTE(imran424 @ Dec 1 2008, 08:57 PM)
Found this:

http://www2.help.edu.my/helpuni/alevels/in...ubcat=79&id=318

Is the the tuition fees the current one??
i think that was last years fees..i did my a-levels at HELP and now going taylors..lecturers are good i guess(i got most of the senior lecturers tongue.gif )..some complains

1.library too darn small(try getting a seat during exam period and u will know what i mean)
2.hate taking the bus back to main block(rather walk)
3.parking damn hard to find especially during nov-march?
cherriedpie
post Dec 2 2008, 10:43 PM

307 posts

okay that's not so bad. i'm quite lonely next year. all my friends are ditching me and going to Taylor's. =(

2009's a-levels fees is RM25k for one-shot payment (4 subjects), and RM26k if you choose to pay by instalment.

This post has been edited by cherriedpie: Dec 2 2008, 10:45 PM
PetroToxin
post Dec 3 2008, 12:12 AM

1,179 posts

QUOTE(cherriedpie @ Dec 2 2008, 10:43 PM)
okay that's not so bad. i'm quite lonely next year. all my friends are ditching me and going to Taylor's. =(

2009's a-levels fees is RM25k for one-shot payment (4 subjects), and RM26k if you choose to pay by instalment.
Depends on what subjects you take. If you are taking sciences, it will be more expensive.
And there is a RM1550 registration+admin fee and LAN subjects payments to be made.

The total will come to about 30k+

46 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:36 AM