The Canon EOS 350D/400D Thread, Digital Rebel XT/XTi/KISS Territory~

yikyeou
post Dec 18 2007, 10:44 AM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

Hi guys, I just got myself a 400D and I am kinda new to photography and DSLR. =) Hope to learn from you guys.
yikyeou
post Dec 18 2007, 11:55 AM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

i dont understand about the lens. what is the 18-55mm on my kit lens means?

how do i know whether a lens is a macro lens, telephoto lens or a portrait lens?
yikyeou
post Dec 18 2007, 12:10 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

QUOTE([ - i l l u s i o n s - ] @ Dec 18 2007, 12:01 PM)
the 18-55mm is the focal range..
A macro lens has a very short minimum focus range?
A telephoto lens are lenses are those lens that can zoom into the action from far.
Potrait lens .. I would say are those lens that can take the subject while having the background blurred out. Lenses like the 50mm f1.8 =)

Do correct me if I got my facts wrong
OH. i see, what's a focal range?
yikyeou
post Dec 18 2007, 07:13 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

why the flashes got different price one? what's the difference between 430ex and 580exII ?
yikyeou
post Dec 23 2007, 02:41 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

Yourself didn't go shoot out meh? I'm underage to go in ruums i guess. xD

btw,IS lens is more expensive than non IS one right?

This post has been edited by yikyeou: Dec 23 2007, 02:43 PM
yikyeou
post Dec 23 2007, 05:52 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

oh, though i am new to dslr, can't afford a over 1k lens right now. have to play with my kit lens first. i believe kit lens can do a lot of thing.
yikyeou
post Dec 23 2007, 07:11 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

wanna ask, how long should I charge the battery?
yikyeou
post Dec 24 2007, 01:14 AM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 23 2007, 11:22 PM)
your charger no indicator wan ah?

anyway RM 1k could get you 50mm f1.8 and 70-300mm already.
the light always on, cannot go off one. ah i see. RM300 f1.8 w/ filter cheap?
yikyeou
post Dec 26 2007, 01:49 AM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

Any idea which white balance should I set for taking photos in a light box? I got a white table lamp on top.

This turn out to be blueish as I set the white balance to Tungsten.

and this, the white balance is at Auto.

Which is better?
yikyeou
post Dec 26 2007, 02:27 AM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

QUOTE([ - i l l u s i o n s - )
,Dec 26 2007, 01:57 AM]The apple is originally red?
Of course you want "real" colours when you take the subject la.. hehe
apple is green . =D

use custom white balance by using a white or 18% gray card as reference. take a photo of the card (any white balance will do), until you get the correct color on the photo, then go to menu CustomWB and select the photo for you custom white balance

how to set custom white balance? i choose custom white balance setting, then?

This post has been edited by yikyeou: Dec 26 2007, 02:29 AM
yikyeou
post Dec 26 2007, 12:41 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

QUOTE(valho @ Dec 26 2007, 02:32 AM)
yeah, but you need a picture of a 18% gray or white card as reference for the custom white balance. the photo need to be taken in the same lighting condition as the object you want to shoot

it's hard obtaining a full white background. i get either grayish or blueish.

my exposure is on 0 though.
yikyeou
post Dec 26 2007, 07:30 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

any improvement guys? set to custom balance .
yikyeou
post Dec 27 2007, 01:22 AM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

QUOTE(vincent_audio @ Dec 26 2007, 10:38 PM)
i see it bluish, i suggest u shoot in RAW and adjust the setting using DPP

Added on December 26, 2007, 10:42 pm
hahha, how about a big mac as grand prize smile.gif serious ! hehehe
any tutorial on editing raw? im noob in editing.

btw, can i bounce build in flash so that the flash wont just flash on 1 area?
yikyeou
post Dec 29 2007, 09:41 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

QUOTE(matt2001 @ Dec 29 2007, 08:52 PM)
hey tmr tat cosplay competition in sg wang, 8pm...

Added on December 29, 2007, 9:30 pmuser posted image

any comment for this pic??
nice shot brother . did u pp the photo? i like the color of the sky. but a bit dark ?

This post has been edited by yikyeou: Dec 29 2007, 09:41 PM
yikyeou
post Jan 2 2008, 11:07 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

hey guys, I kinda confuse about the focal length and the type of lens. my kit lens is 18mm-55mm . then when i google about wide angle lens some is 24mm, some 35mm.

then isn't my kit lens at 18mm are wider than those wide angle lens?

and here got another 2 lens :
35mm f2.0 wide angle lens .
35mm f1.4 usm II lens.

the first one f2.0 is a wide angle lens, then is the 2nd one also wide angle lens?
yikyeou
post Jan 8 2008, 12:28 AM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

yo guys.

i tried HDR this afternoon, but cannot work. how to do HDR image? I took few images of the same scene at diff exposure and merge all with photoshop.
turn out like this,

and any comment on below pict?
f3.5 / 1.3sec exposure time.

and this below is taken under long exposure. low fstop, but it seems dark. why har?

nite everyone.

my flickr - http://www.flickr.com/photos/nicholas-chan/

yikyeou
post Jan 8 2008, 05:12 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Jan 8 2008, 08:32 AM)

looking at the picture...it seems the lake look so tenang..like mirror/crystal clear. so..i think he use CPL filter. how bout if he use ND filter??? izzit will produce the same result?
i just can say cantik! use filter one? or the lake WAS tenang?

and 1 thing, how to do bracketing exposure?

This post has been edited by yikyeou: Jan 8 2008, 05:17 PM
yikyeou
post Jan 13 2008, 11:33 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

ahh! any penang kaki here? looking for sifu to teach me some skill outdoor. =D

1 thing, when shooting macro, is it the camera must go close the the object? or zoom ?

yikyeou
post Jan 14 2008, 03:36 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

anybody here use flash gun not from canon?

should i get a flashgun or lens first (f1.8 50mm / sigma 70-300mm )?

i only got kit lens with me.

This post has been edited by yikyeou: Jan 14 2008, 03:50 PM
yikyeou
post Jan 14 2008, 09:00 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

QUOTE(ysyeo @ Jan 14 2008, 07:24 PM)
just get my EF 50mm F1.8 II yesterday at sungai wang plaza Bintang Electronic Sdn Berhad

EF 50mm F1.8 II + 52mm Hoya Fillter = RM 330

Nice lense

I also want to join the fun, just got mine too for RM310 with Kenko Filter.

0.0590sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:17 PM