kevin613
post Dec 3 2007, 10:25 PM

2,236 posts

350D user here..
BG-E3, 50mm f1.8, Tamron 17-50 F2.8, Sigma 70-300 APO DG, 430EX

my shots are in my gallery, click on my siggy.. tongue.gif

Added on December 3, 2007, 10:32 pm
QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 3 2007, 03:45 PM)
regarding aperture and sharpness - remember that lenses aren't at their sharpest when at their highest aperture. so if the lens is f3.5 - 5.6, then set it to a few stops below f3.5

regarding modes - i use M all the way, then only one day someone taught me Aperture / Shutter priority modes tongue.gif yes i admit, i didn't read the manual and neither did i use it when i was on prosumer either, i'm full M all the way. hehe, even then on prosumer I didn't quite understand (didn't like Fuji's interface) but after that M helped me grasp the thing.

as for shutter count, AFAIK 350D / 400D is not the camera that you can check for shutter count.

should always consider priority modes cos sometimes you just need it.
i seldom go on M, most of the time i'm on P and Av.
M is only used when i'm shooting static objects or when the surrounding is very restrictive and i needed a constant exposure, or when P/Av couldnt give me the settings that i wanted.. anyway, 350D/400D arent really convenient to use in M mode, cause u need to use combo to adjust the aperture, which slow things down..

This post has been edited by kevin613: Dec 3 2007, 10:32 PM
kevin613
post Dec 3 2007, 11:31 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(./Hack-Fusion @ Dec 3 2007, 11:00 PM)
i always use Av mode...easy for me to adjust the DOF and the exposure. use M mode when want create certain effect
kevin613~~
how ur tamron 17-50mm f/2.8?? is the focus speed fast enough compare kitlens??
the tammy focussing is slightly faster compared to the kitlens, but it's extremely noisy.. if u dun mind the zipping sound, then it's perfect for the money u pay..
kevin613
post Dec 4 2007, 08:45 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Dec 4 2007, 07:26 AM)
R a D ! c 4 L  : where u shoot the bulding pic? seems like a movie. very nice
use smaller aperture to get deeper DOF..
kevin613
post Dec 4 2007, 05:17 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(chucky @ Dec 4 2007, 11:49 AM)
But don't forget, you need to factor in the cost of AA rechargeable batteries into the setup as well. The cheapest ones are around RM80? maybe (those flashes take 4 AA batteries) Alkalines are fine, but don't last as long as rechargeable ones biggrin.gif
4pcs of Uniross hybrio (sanyo eneloop equiv) can be bought for only RM48. bought mine at jalan pasar, total 12 pcs.. tongue.gif
kevin613
post Dec 4 2007, 07:22 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Dec 4 2007, 05:21 PM)
hehe. GP Battery la. quite expensive. 4 piece around rm70 sumthing. err...wait until PIKOM PC Fair. maybe can be mo cheaper.
haha.. i would stay away from GP if i were u.. they're underrated and over priced.. for that price, i rather get sanyo eneloop loh..
kevin613
post Dec 5 2007, 04:04 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(vincent_audio @ Dec 5 2007, 02:16 PM)
RM 310 - got it during the 'stock shortage' time few months back...
i think they can be had for around RM270-280 nowadays..
kevin613
post Dec 5 2007, 05:44 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Dec 5 2007, 05:25 PM)
izzit ok if we combine 50mm lens + macro filter to get at least 1/2 than what macro lens can do? coz i'm till out of budget to grat macro lens.  and for lanscaping...are 50mm good enough? coz i'm oso interested with lanscape snapshot.
the 50mm is not wide enough for landscaping, u're better off using your kit lens if u wanna do landscape.
kevin613
post Dec 5 2007, 07:11 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Dec 5 2007, 06:47 PM)
can but you wont get the magnification of the raynox lor smile.gif just a more close up view of the subject, unless you manage to get a +10 closeup filter. I think that'll help alot.

IMO, The 50mm is good for everything, its really up to you on how you use it smile.gif the f1.8 is really a bonus you can play around with them bokeh and stuffs for impact and creativity.

And btw, i just went to sg wang to get myself the RS-60E3 Remote Control for my rebel, now long exposures are not a problem d smile.gif wub.gif

the remote cost me RM90. Bought it at Bo Eing. smile.gif
u can actually DIY the remote cable bro.. total cost, less than RM10.. smile.gif

check the attachment.. i DIY that for my 350D.. tongue.gif

kevin613
post Dec 5 2007, 10:24 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(matt2001 @ Dec 5 2007, 09:48 PM)
how didt u do tat??
can teach ar??
i did mine based on this

http://lonewolf-online.net/photography/diy...hutter_release/

but i used different type of switch, and i replaced the grip with a manchester united pen cap(ORIGINAL!! tongue.gif )
kevin613
post Dec 5 2007, 11:13 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Dec 5 2007, 11:07 PM)
i'm till playin with my rebel, is it ok to put it into the bag all the time  when i'm not using it?
get an airtight plastic container, put in some desiccants(silica gel), and put your camera body and lens in it when u're not using it..
that's the cheapest "dry box" that u can get for yourself, prevent dust and fungus attack.

Added on December 5, 2007, 11:48 pmanyway, here's my gallery in lowyat.net..

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=520727

feel free to leave your comments..

This post has been edited by kevin613: Dec 5 2007, 11:48 PM
kevin613
post Dec 6 2007, 08:19 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(spid3rx @ Dec 6 2007, 01:54 AM)
Awesome ! thanks for sharing. I think I can make one for myself...Still wondering how to make the auto focusing available
on the connector .... can advise ? thanks thanks for the link
the camera will AF 1st before it snap, or if u want, u can add another switch just for the AF.
alternatively, u can consider adding a slide switch if u wanna use the cable for bulb mode, so u dont have to hold on to the switch for too long..
it's all up to your creativity, that's the best part of DIYing.. biggrin.gif
kevin613
post Dec 6 2007, 11:26 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 6 2007, 04:52 PM)
just to share, i got my BRAND NEW battery grip for around RM 350 only. 2nd hand but brand new! biggrin.gif Just need to wait / hunt for such opportunity.
paid RM299 for my brand new grip.. japan set.. comes with the international warranty card, which i think is useless.. blush.gif
kevin613
post Dec 9 2007, 07:02 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(CutieLynette @ Dec 9 2007, 05:24 PM)
A TT sounds great!

Any other girls here? Don't tell me I'm the only girl here! *Panic*
buaya alert..!!
haha.. tongue.gif
kevin613
post Dec 9 2007, 10:41 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(CutieLynette @ Dec 9 2007, 07:51 PM)
Me, buaya? LOL
no.. not u..
i can smell buayas coming.. haha..

count me in if there's a TT..
i'm @ wangsa maju..

This post has been edited by kevin613: Dec 9 2007, 10:44 PM
kevin613
post Dec 10 2007, 01:08 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(CutieLynette @ Dec 10 2007, 01:01 AM)
I'm fine with anywhere within KL/PJ area. I'm working on Saturdays so 11am is out for me. I'm only free on weekend nights. sad.gif

Let's look at the majority la.
16th dec is a sunday, no?
but during daytime, sounds more like a meet-up than TT... tongue.gif
zoo negara/bird park would be good for a day shooting trip..

This post has been edited by kevin613: Dec 10 2007, 01:09 AM
kevin613
post Dec 10 2007, 11:30 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE([ - i l l u s i o n s - ] @ Dec 10 2007, 10:16 AM)
With IS lenses you can even take sharp pictures at 1/10.
not entirely true..
it depends on the focal length as well.. if u're shooting @ 300mm with IS lens @ 1/10s, chances are it'll still be blur..
slight motions or instability of the camera will be greatly amplified @ longer focal lengths.

the general rule of thumb is if u shoot at 'X'mm, then use 1/'x' shutter..
but most of the time, at short range, u can very well go below the 1/x, or go above the 1/x..
like for example, when shooting at 55mm, hand held shooting @ 1/30s is very much possible, while shooting @ 10mm with 1/10s might have higher chance of blurring..
so it all depends on your hands.. most people can shoot @ 1/60s without blurring, so canon uses that as a general guide smile.gif
kevin613
post Dec 10 2007, 02:30 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE([ - i l l u s i o n s - ] @ Dec 10 2007, 02:13 PM)
Let's say I'm at 300mm, then the shutter speed should be at 1/300?
general guideline.. depends on your other settings / equipment used also..
u can also try to use a slower shutter to see if your hands are stable enough.. depends on individual..
kevin613
post Dec 11 2007, 12:55 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(CutieLynette @ Dec 11 2007, 12:50 AM)
Erm, guys, sorry but I got a noob question here...

What exactly is the functions of a battery grip? Store extra battery and have the dial and shutter vertically? Does adding the grip adds more weight to the person holding the cam? Or does it just help the photographer have more steady shots, since camera is heavier?

It is really necessary?
double up the batteries, allow u to shoot vertically better, these 2 are confirmed.
as to whether it'll give u steady shots or not, i think it's subjective, i personally got better shots(better grip) because i had large hands, and the 350D is a little too small. if the 350D feels heavy to u without the grip, then chances are u will not get steady shots after adding the weight, your hands will tremble tongue.gif
kevin613
post Dec 11 2007, 05:58 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Dec 11 2007, 05:52 PM)
YL if i'm not mistaken..oso sold 2ndhand camera.. . so..up to u. i'm bought at fotokem. smile.gif
yes, YL is dealing with 2nd hand body and lenses as well, those who are interested, can pay the shop a visit, u'll drool over their collection of 2nd hand lens @ affordable price with short warranty.
kevin613
post Dec 11 2007, 06:48 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE([ - i l l u s i o n s - ] @ Dec 11 2007, 06:46 PM)
Eh, 250mm at f5.6 is quite small ler..
I normally shoot events which have low lights =\
Don't think I'll be buying this lens  tongue.gif
u want wider aperture @ 250mm?
prepare to burn a big hole in your pocket loh...

0.0482sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:11 AM