4,967 posts

Merry Christmas too all rebel, just came back from Muar, smile.gif
valho
post Dec 26 2007, 02:08 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ Dec 26 2007, 01:49 AM)
Any idea which white balance should I set for taking photos in a light box? I got a white table lamp on top.

This turn out to be blueish as I set the white balance to Tungsten.

and this, the white balance is at Auto.

Which is better?
use custom white balance by using a white or 18% gray card as reference. take a photo of the card (any white balance will do), until you get the correct color on the photo, then go to menu CustomWB and select the photo for you custom white balance
valho
post Dec 26 2007, 02:32 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ Dec 26 2007, 02:27 AM)
apple is green . =D
how to set custom white balance? i choose custom white balance setting, then?
yeah, but you need a picture of a 18% gray or white card as reference for the custom white balance. the photo need to be taken in the same lighting condition as the object you want to shoot

valho
post Dec 26 2007, 12:56 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(vincent_audio @ Dec 26 2007, 12:22 PM)
I vote. 5/Jan

Let's go Zoo. We can hang around at the McD near the Zoo. How about that ?
saturday will be better I think, hmmm problem for me is transportation, hmm.gif

QUOTE(yikyeou @ Dec 26 2007, 12:41 PM)

it's hard obtaining a full white background. i get either grayish or blueish.

my exposure is on 0 though.
adjust your exposure accordingly until you get it to be white, you histogram should all peak on the right.
also if you want you background to be fully white you actually need at least 3 light, from the left, right and top, but it's not necessary if you just want a reference photo for custom white balance
valho
post Dec 26 2007, 03:50 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Dec 26 2007, 03:14 PM)
5/1 seems ok. i vote 5/1. hehe. err..any public transport can go there? LRT?

btw..there's oso event/outing organise by photomalaysia.

29.12.07 = street photo around kl. gather at car park near masjid jamek. this open for everybody especially newbie. outing start at the morning. last outing of the year smile.gif

6.1.07 = putrajaya. shooting at building/skycrapers at night. gather around 6.00pm at dataran putra. this outing is onli for 350D/400D and learn how to take night photo from sifu's2 there.  smile.gif
I vote for 5/1 also, I also not sure got public transport go there or not, probably got bus or something

hmm interesting can take lrt to masjid jamek for the 29/12 outing
putrajaya one a bit problematic if no transport going home though
valho
post Dec 27 2007, 09:44 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE([ - i l l u s i o n s - ] @ Dec 27 2007, 02:21 AM)
I'm thinking of the Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5..
Any comments??
my dream lens biggrin.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 27 2007, 09:42 AM)
aiyah don't worry wan la. some of us here are like more than double your age. no big deal, we're all here to learn.
yup yup like me haha biggrin.gif
valho
post Dec 27 2007, 11:17 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(weileongz @ Dec 27 2007, 10:40 AM)
not yet to get a filter for this lens... ohmy.gif

about the date , i choose 5/1/08 (SAT)....no problem to use kit lens ?
i also dont have a good lens
should be ok, I only have the 17-85 kit lens, been using it for everything haha

anyway here's how to get here by lrt or bus

By Light Rail Transit System (LRT) :

- Alight at Wangsa Maju Station, Kelana Jaya Line
- Board a taxi to Zoo Negara

By Bus :

- Metrobus number 16 from Central Market, KL
- Rapid KL number U34 from Putra LRT Station, Wangsamaju, KL

and here's the rate

Rates

Adult RM15.00
Children (3yrs old-12yrs old) RM 6.00
Senior Citizen (60 years above) RM 6.00

Free entry if it is your birthday!
(Please bring along I/C or birth certificate as proof)

Group discount (Malaysian Citizen Only)
15 and above RM1 off normal ticket rate
30 and above RM2 off normal ticket rate
valho
post Dec 27 2007, 11:48 AM

4,967 posts

aiks, dun have telephoto, only 17-85, hmmm probably quite limited what I can shoot at the zoo
valho
post Dec 27 2007, 11:59 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(wjie20 @ Dec 27 2007, 11:47 AM)
I think we should gather around 1st then go buy the tickets, if we get a big group its cheaper.. that would be nice.

Guys im goina go and get the BG-E3 battery grip at sungei wang, any1 recommanded shop? And at what price i could get it for that recommanded shop. I was wondering if i should get an additional battery together with it?
should be around 500 or less, if don't want to buy additional battery can always use AA first

QUOTE([ - i l l u s i o n s - ] @ Dec 27 2007, 11:50 AM)
Try Tarita. =)
As far as I'm concerned, I have no need of an extra bettery. I'm using only one.
Ambil gambar orang yang tengah mengambil gambar!!
Or take pix of girls also can  rclxm9.gif
*** A Photography tip... when taking animals in a cage.. use a wide aperture (LOW f) so that the metal mesh of the cage will be out of focus, hence making it "Invisible".  thumbup.gif
haha yeah taking photo of people taking photo is not a bad idea biggrin.gif
if got leng lui around than can take also loh, as long as they don't see me shooting them biggrin.gif
valho
post Dec 27 2007, 01:16 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(./Hack-Fusion @ Dec 27 2007, 11:59 AM)
why dun u just walk it and shoot it?? haha just kidding~~

i hv 5 battery  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif

valho : buy 2.0x extend tube lo haha~~
hmmm that's a good idea if it's not too pricy haha

QUOTE(matt2001 @ Dec 27 2007, 12:56 PM)
ok ok...
any1 going to zoo by train?
any1 can giv car pool??
i probably will go by train, maybe those going by train can share a cab
valho
post Dec 27 2007, 02:19 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(weileongz @ Dec 27 2007, 02:04 PM)
is it the man with i-phone ? ....the student are rich nowdays...
that day when i went to my friend's house to get the 50mm
he show me the his gear(canon 40d+580ex+grip)+3 lens (more then rm10k)....its totally crazy.....also a student from rahman !!
i am working with quite decent salary and I can't afford to buy that much haha, how I wish my company will give us bonus, but the the money probably will go to something of higher priority than my dslr doh.gif

being a student is much better than working nowdays tongue.gif

This post has been edited by valho: Dec 27 2007, 02:20 PM
valho
post Dec 27 2007, 03:12 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(mykomputer @ Dec 27 2007, 03:00 PM)
Yalor, working people have so many things to pay. Buying stuff also need approval from "Minister of Finance"  sweat.gif
haha good thing i am myself is the minister of finance

QUOTE(matt2001 @ Dec 27 2007, 03:06 PM)
faster confirm lo...
5/1/08 (saturday)
zoo negara
fee Rm15 (remember to bring!)
meet at
: for coming by train, meet at lrt station
: for those driving, oso meet at lrt station, to offer car pool tongue.gif
: others, meet at zoo negara...

wear LYN t shirt or Black t shirt ( we gonna be Team in Black... Black shirt with Black Gun brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif )
ready ur own name tag, so we know who is who... thumbup.gif

try to be friendly n talk more...
although i m not a talkative guy...
you forgot to put the time biggrin.gif, 9.30am should be ok i think.
uh must black kah dun have leh, later someone comes with white bazooka heheh tongue.gif
valho
post Dec 27 2007, 04:08 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(matt2001 @ Dec 27 2007, 03:49 PM)
is on a saturday...

Added on December 27, 2007, 4:00 pm
reserve 1 place for me icon_rolleyes.gif
reserve 1 for me too biggrin.gif,

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Dec 27 2007, 04:06 PM)
oh yeah guys, to make sure there's no confusion. Pls tag your lens and cameras and other accessories on that day smile.gif
good idea

valho
post Dec 28 2007, 09:24 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(wjie20 @ Dec 28 2007, 03:07 AM)
I need to hitch a ride from LRT? but thats if i could go, not sure yet. and is that the same LRT from bangsar? Where do i stop?
suppose to stop at wangsa maju station and it's the putra line lrt, vincent_audio still have one more seat in his car, maybe can tumpang him

QUOTE(matt2001 @ Dec 28 2007, 04:20 AM)
the KFC inside tutup long time ago....
inside oso got sell food...
no need worry about lunch, we can hav it inside...
1 set is about Rm10-15 like tat...
if we call other ppl, nikon, oly, pantex....
we cant diz about lens, speedlite or other acc edi...

so do u all still wanna open for all?
if wan, we open a new topic to invite thm...

any comment??
better to keep to rebel for now loh, keep it small first smile.gif
valho
post Dec 28 2007, 10:24 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(vincent_audio @ Dec 28 2007, 10:09 AM)
i'll be picking u guys from melawati LRT rite ?

*erm, think think, how to go to melawati LRT*
uh not wangsa maju ?
valho
post Dec 28 2007, 04:56 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(wjie20 @ Dec 28 2007, 04:43 PM)
Hey, from bangsar 1 i stop at wangsa maju? Who is driving from there? how long would that LRT take from bangsar? around?
vincent_audio will be meeting us there, not sure about R a D ! c 4 L. from Bangar to Wangsa Maju uh, 20-30 minutes, haven't go there for quite sometimes so not sure of the duration

@azmihamzah~yeah since FESEM is joining as well, we'll make a rebel out of you tongue.gif

Date: 5/1/08 (saturday)
Time: 9am
Venue: zoo negara
Details:
fee Rm15 (remember to bring!)
meet at
: for coming by train, meet at lrt station (wangsa maju station)
: for those driving, oso meet at lrt station, to offer car pool tongue.gif
: others, meet at zoo negara...

we going in at 9.30am... who is late can giv me a call [pm me for my number, confirm u r going 1st!!] to let us know or go in urself n ask whoever saw a bunch of man in black with guns walking around...

Who's Coming
1.matt2001
2.vincent_audio
3.valho
4.wjie20 [confirm??]
5.R a D ! c 4 L
6.weileongz [tbc]
7.FESEM

CAR #1 (driver - vincent_audio)
- matt2001
- valho
- ---

CAR #2 (driver - R a D ! c 4 L) - route
- ---
- ---
- ---
valho
post Dec 28 2007, 08:02 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(spoil_ @ Dec 28 2007, 07:24 PM)
just bought 350D 10 days ago before raya haji~  icon_rolleyes.gif
welcome smile.gif

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Dec 28 2007, 07:35 PM)
But black shirt in a hot sunny day, isnt that killing yourself slowly? XD
haha yeah wear white better

QUOTE(./Hack-Fusion @ Dec 28 2007, 07:36 PM)
er...u all hv lowyat t-shirt ar?? i duno hv o haha~~
i also dun have lyn t-shirt loh biggrin.gif
valho
post Dec 28 2007, 11:05 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(matt2001 @ Dec 28 2007, 08:50 PM)
30th DEC - 8.00pm
got cosplay Final Competition
if not mistaken, is in sg wang...

i think i going brows.gif
any1 wanna join?
will be joining photomalaysia street shoot that day hehe

QUOTE(CutieLynette @ Dec 28 2007, 10:01 PM)
I was flipping through my stuff and found last month's issue of Digital Camera. It's got tips on shooting animals in a zoo. Very informative. If you guys want some last minute brush up or just to get equipped with a little info, it's good stuff la.

Hope you guys have fun. Remember to share your photos ah. smile.gif
i got that issue also, hmmm need to read that part again for the tips biggrin.gif

QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Dec 28 2007, 10:06 PM)
maybe i'm not. morning at the same day.there are outing session by photomalaysia. i'm join them. but nite seems not free coz on the next day...i've meeting.  nod.gif

try poison other rebel  thumbup.gif

Added on December 28, 2007, 10:08 pm

welcome to White Majestic Rebel clan.  tongue.gif
see you at the photomalaysia outing heheh biggrin.gif

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Dec 28 2007, 10:22 PM)
But I'm noob only wor sad.gif
Any sifus around giving some lectures? brows.gif
we learn learn together loh, hmmm who's gonna be the sifu that day ah hmm.gif

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Dec 28 2007, 10:33 PM)
Yeah, next year, 24th of Jan. cool2.gif
izzit confirm, coz I thought it's only rumours

QUOTE(matt2001 @ Dec 28 2007, 10:56 PM)
monkey oso like to drink softdrink...
the way it drink very yeng tim!
hahahha that's funny and cute
valho
post Dec 29 2007, 12:13 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(matt2001 @ Dec 29 2007, 12:08 AM)
when is it?
tat GACC??
there got wat to see??
1-2 March 2008, lots of cosplayer like Comic Fiesta, I want to go also, but in Melaka, so have to see first
valho
post Dec 30 2007, 12:14 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(matt2001 @ Dec 29 2007, 08:52 PM)
hey tmr tat cosplay competition in sg wang, 8pm...

Added on December 29, 2007, 9:30 pm

any comment for this pic??
nice, the sky looks great

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Dec 29 2007, 10:55 PM)
Okay guys, I just did a walk around SgWang & Plaza LowYat to scout for 400D. Guess what, it's hard for me to choose now.

1. (sgwang) Tarita offers me standard kit, 55-200mm, bag, tripod, uv filter, cf mem card 2GB = RM3k
2. (plaza lowyat) 3C Cyberworld was straight forward, RM2.4k for standard kit, tripod, bag, 2GB ultra. 55-200mm = RM950 (Price yet to confirm)
3. (sgwang) Boeing Photo Sdn. Bhd. offer me the same kit as the first one but RM3.35k
4. (plaza lowyat) Canon shop offer me RM2.6k with extra batt.

So... which one? doh.gif
seems like tarita is the better deal doesn't it. how much they selling just the lens alone anyway

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:14 PM