The Canon EOS 350D/400D Thread, Digital Rebel XT/XTi/KISS Territory~

R a D ! c 4 L
post Dec 13 2007, 04:05 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

If u have the budget and want a better brand than HOYA, go for B+W filters, works better than HOYA filters. Cost a lot more too, but i think its worth it

Added on December 13, 2007, 4:09 pmYEsh, better not charge them before thay are depleted, the same theory applies to laptop batteries and stuff. wink.gif

This post has been edited by R a D ! c 4 L: Dec 13 2007, 04:09 PM
morph
post Dec 13 2007, 04:27 PM

2,657 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Dec 13 2007, 04:05 PM)
If u have the budget and want a better brand than HOYA, go for B+W filters, works better than HOYA filters. Cost a lot more too, but i think its worth it

Added on December 13, 2007, 4:09 pmYEsh, better not charge them before thay are depleted, the same theory applies to laptop batteries and stuff. wink.gif
I guess same goes to my Speedlite's 2AA batts?
Then i'll have to buy another set for each of them.

charging them and not using them, how long could they last? rough estimate la i mean tongue.gif

This post has been edited by morph: Dec 13 2007, 04:29 PM
TSfcbarcelona-my
post Dec 13 2007, 04:36 PM

1,109 posts

batt grip now on my wishlist. but no need at this moment coz my hand are grip well with my 350D. but i'm till need this stuff..especially when playin' with speedlite. smile.gif
mizie
post Dec 13 2007, 04:39 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(morph @ Dec 13 2007, 04:04 PM)
If I'm not wrong, I saw the battery price is RM2xx at J-One yesterday when I bought my lens.

Just wondering,
I'm using a Batt grip, therefore using 2 batteries.
Each time before a major event, I'll charge them up although it's full bar. Will this affect the battery life span?
Cos a friend of mine said before, it would be better to have extra batteries, don't charge them before it's finish.
Charging before it's finish will shorten its life span.

Advise please  icon_rolleyes.gif  thumbup.gif  biggrin.gif
thats true, because the battery that we use is what they call memory cell, they will tend to remember where si the full charge and minimal charge, so it will reduced the length of the battery operation that why you need to use the battery until it is finished and recharge again to full and use it.
TSfcbarcelona-my
post Dec 13 2007, 04:44 PM

1,109 posts

owh. i don't know bout that. sumtime when i wanna go outing..i'm charge my batt even its till half of the capacity. izzit ok with that?
valho
post Dec 13 2007, 04:50 PM

4,967 posts

sometimes have no choice but to charge it because not everytime can use until depleted until next event or something. by the way this article is an interesting read on batter charger - go here
R a D ! c 4 L
post Dec 13 2007, 05:56 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(morph @ Dec 13 2007, 04:27 PM)
I guess same goes to my Speedlite's 2AA batts?
Then i'll have to buy another set for each of them.

charging them and not using them, how long could they last? rough estimate la i mean tongue.gif
Yeah, i think the same goes to all rechargeable batteries. Hmmm.... im not too sure about that, word is they can last for around a week before they discharge itself. Some are worst, 1 or 2 days then it'll discharge XD

QUOTE(valho @ Dec 13 2007, 04:50 PM)
sometimes have no choice but to charge it because not everytime can use until depleted until next event or something. by the way this article is an interesting read on batter charger - go here
yeah true indeed, like what i did just now tongue.gif Just hoped that my battery can tahan hehe... btw today is very fine day for portrait shooting. Later ill post a photo biggrin.gif

And thanks for the article! good read biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by R a D ! c 4 L: Dec 13 2007, 05:56 PM
valho
post Dec 13 2007, 06:00 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Dec 13 2007, 05:56 PM)
Yeah, i think the same goes to all rechargeable batteries. Hmmm.... im not too sure about that, word is they can last for around a week before they discharge itself. Some are worst, 1 or 2 days then it'll discharge XD
yeah true indeed, like what i did just now tongue.gif Just hoped that my battery can tahan hehe... btw today is very fine day for portrait shooting. Later ill post a photo biggrin.gif

And thanks for the article! good read biggrin.gif
i remember reading that battery nowadays last longer even if you dun fully use it before charging
surprisingly good weather today smile.gif so next time you can teach us portrait shooting hehe. looking forward to your photos
R a D ! c 4 L
post Dec 13 2007, 07:08 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(valho @ Dec 13 2007, 06:00 PM)
i remember reading that battery nowadays last longer even if you dun fully use it before charging
surprisingly good weather today smile.gif so next time you can teach us portrait shooting hehe. looking forward to your photos

yes it is, the sun light was subtle enough for the shot, using just the camera flash(not the 580EX) can get good results liao.

Here's a shot. My choice of portraits are really different. happy.gif so I hope its nice for you guys smile.gif
Sorry for the small image, still in the stage of editing happy.gif
TSfcbarcelona-my
post Dec 13 2007, 07:10 PM

1,109 posts

cool smile.gif dramatic background
mizie
post Dec 13 2007, 07:21 PM

83 posts

good background color
[ - i l l u s i o n s - ]
post Dec 13 2007, 08:19 PM

Photography Addict
744 posts

Shot in RAW? xD
goldfries
post Dec 13 2007, 08:40 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Dec 13 2007, 03:49 PM)
for polarizer filer...sumtime it depens on what brand do u want. like me...i'm using HOYA barnd. ppl said that this brand was a branded stuff..so the price a bit higher. but i'm get the 2nd hand stuff..so its a bit cheap.

price depends on size too. i bought a Raydawn 72mm CPL for about RM 170.

Just wondering,
Each time before a major event, I'll charge them up although it's full bar. Will this affect the battery life span?
Cos a friend of mine said before, it would be better to have extra batteries, don't charge them before it's finish.

try understanding Li-Ion batteries.

http://batteryuniversity.com/parttwo-34.htm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lithium_ion_battery

QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Dec 13 2007, 04:36 PM)
batt grip now on my wishlist. but no need at this moment coz my hand are grip well with my 350D. but i'm till need this stuff..especially when playin' with speedlite. smile.gif
to me, the reason for a battery grip is to hold the camera better for portrait shots. that's it.

next reason is for added weight. tongue.gif

seriously, before i bought my grip i went to a fashion show and did like nearly 1k shots on portrait and it was a nightmare. try holding 350D + 70-300mm at head level most of the time. smile.gif
valho
post Dec 13 2007, 08:55 PM

4,967 posts

@R a D ! c 4 L~nice dramatic background
@goldfries~yeah doing portrait without a grip is killer, planning to invest on a grip before other stuff smile.gif
goldfries
post Dec 13 2007, 08:57 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

hehe. doing portrait with a few shots without grip is still ok. doing 700 - 1000. it's like sheesh. look at how the wrist bends and holding the camera to focus and shoot.

do a little chimping. then shoot again. tongue.gif

anyway the grip also helps in making portrait shots better aligned.
TSfcbarcelona-my
post Dec 13 2007, 08:59 PM

1,109 posts

err... canon 70-300mm lens..how much the price?
vikingw2k
post Dec 13 2007, 09:01 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

If I'm not wrong, I saw the battery price is RM2xx at J-One yesterday when I bought my lens.

Just wondering,

Advise please  icon_rolleyes.gif  thumbup.gif  biggrin.gif
IINM this only applies to those old batteries that's using NIMH. Nowadays those batteries are using Li-ion and it's advisable to charge them frequently instead of only charge them when they almost kong.

goldfries
post Dec 13 2007, 09:03 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Dec 13 2007, 09:01 PM)
IINM this only applies to those old batteries that's using NIMH. Nowadays those batteries are using Li-ion and it's advisable to charge them frequently instead of only charge them when they almost kong.
yup. which is why.....

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 13 2007, 08:40 PM)

biggrin.gif for me, as long as important event / outing - FULL CHARGE on both batts.

i don't charge again until another important outing or the charge wears off, either way.

Added on December 13, 2007, 9:13 pm
QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Dec 13 2007, 08:59 PM)
err... canon 70-300mm lens..how much the price?
new or used? used unit is about RM 700 or less. so new unit, add a hundred or 2. smile.gif

you should consider the Sigma 70-300 and Tamron 70-300 too. They're good lenses.

I have the Tamron 70-300.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Dec 13 2007, 09:13 PM
TSfcbarcelona-my
post Dec 13 2007, 09:45 PM

1,109 posts

how bout Canon EF 70-210mm f4 lens? i've heard its an old generation AF lens.
[ - i l l u s i o n s - ]
post Dec 13 2007, 09:50 PM

Photography Addict
744 posts

QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Dec 13 2007, 09:45 PM)
how bout Canon EF 70-210mm f4 lens? i've heard its an old generation AF lens.
You mean the 70-200mm f4L USM?
It's quite affordable.. RM 2.7k or so.

This post has been edited by [ - i l l u s i o n s - ]: Dec 13 2007, 09:51 PM

125 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0329sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:04 PM