tested out the Tokina AF 100mm Macro lens as well, but prefer the Canon one, the Tokina uses a clutch system to change from AF to MF, not really use to that haha.

The Canon EOS 350D/400D Thread, Digital Rebel XT/XTi/KISS Territory~
Jan 12 2008, 07:06 PM
4,967 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: somewhere, far far away |
This is what I got from YL today, a BG-E3 and a EF 100mm Macro lens (used)
tested out the Tokina AF 100mm Macro lens as well, but prefer the Canon one, the Tokina uses a clutch system to change from AF to MF, not really use to that haha. ![]() » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Jan 13 2008, 12:59 AM
QUOTE(wjie20 @ Jan 12 2008, 11:30 PM) I have yet another question. For those who uses 350D, whats the brightness setting set for the preview screen? Cause my pictures turn out underexposed or overexposed on the computer. LCD is never accurate btw, so reading the histogram is the best way to see if it's over exposed or underexposed.try reading about histogram here |
Jan 13 2008, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(sherren @ Jan 13 2008, 02:04 AM) Planning to get Speedlite 430ex do you think i should get 2nd hand or Brand new it's a decent lens for a cheap price, can read the review herebtw what do you guys think about this lens with 350D >Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG might wanna get after CNY |
Jan 13 2008, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(wjie20 @ Jan 13 2008, 12:01 PM) valho i asked before this question, how much did you have to pay for that? opps must have miss that, the grip is RM480, and the lens is RM1350, both from YL, they charge 2% is using CC on purchase RM800 and more. I ask him about bulk but doesn't seems to be willing to give more discount on the pricing. Grip for Rm480 seems to be the normal price, coz I think Bintang Maju the same price also. The 50mm f1.8 is still the cheapest at Photo Selangor it seems.and its kinda hard to understand this histogram. As for the histogram, a general guide is if it peaks to the left than is underexpose, if peak to the right then it's overexpose, i read from some where it said it's better to underexpose since if you overexpose you'll lose more details. try shooting the same scene using different exposure and look at each of the histogram, you'll understand better how to read it this way. |
Jan 13 2008, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(HKNP @ Jan 13 2008, 04:42 PM) not much tips to share a hahahha previously using Lumix Fz7 .. fed up with the DOF and the Aperture... hahah decide to join the Rebels... Rebelious soul maybe hahhahaha welcome, we have an outing on the 19th to KL Bird Park, you can register hereAny outing .. do invite hahha i wan to learn from all sifu here. |
Jan 13 2008, 04:55 PM
Jan 13 2008, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(wjie20 @ Jan 13 2008, 04:58 PM) not sure about RM460, coz another guy got it at lowyat also Rm480, but can do survey a bit for it.the lens, nice and sharp, but quite heavy though hahha, you can see the test shots at my lyn gallery |
Jan 13 2008, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(myjunk @ Jan 13 2008, 10:46 PM) I asked from Foto Edar previously, it was RM470. RM470 eh, guess it hovers around there.BTW, I so very itchy and went ahead and gotten a new lens. (plus a couple of extras) I'm not a happy camper of the new Canon 55-250mm IS lens which I got for Rm850 From Pertama Complex, International Camera Center IIRC is the name. (Foto Selangor was willing to sell at RM840, but after I asked him for the price of a UV filter, I balked, he was asking for RM75 for Hoya UV) End up I bought from the shop above which gave me better pricing on the filter. (and I ended up buying a better UV filter as well) 55-250 RM 850 Hoya +4 Close Up RM38 Hoya Pro1 UV Filter - RM100 (this may be a stupid decision though) Being the 1st time playing with the IS feature, I'm already liking it a lot. so how's the Canon 55-250mm IS ? |
Jan 13 2008, 11:35 PM
Cool gonna be another poison session this weekend hahha
Jan 14 2008, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(yikyeou @ Jan 13 2008, 11:33 PM) ahh! any penang kaki here? looking for sifu to teach me some skill outdoor. =D if you are using a true macro lens you won't be able to zoom and how close you need to get to the subject depends on the focal length of your lens. a 60mm macro means you need to get closer, and a 100mm you can be a bit further away and so on.1 thing, when shooting macro, is it the camera must go close the the object? or zoom ? Macro lens have different magnification marking on the focus ring, so if you want a 1:1 magnification, you just turn all the way to 1:1, and move closer to the subject until it become sharp in the view finder. looks like the outing this weekend we will get to see some new gears |
Jan 14 2008, 10:46 AM
Jan 14 2008, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jan 14 2008, 10:51 AM) sure they have or not, later i ask them for thirsty hippo they tell me to go to the zoo haha, alternative is to get from shashinkiQUOTE(Rapala @ Jan 14 2008, 10:58 AM) Any outdoor shotting coming soon this weekend? Really need to learn something from u all. My 'baby' is only 1 month old, and i'm totaly new in this field. we are going to KL Bird Park this weekend, you can see the pin thread for more details@rogerwee~for me PP is done mostly in Lightroom and watermark in Photoshop, sometimes will PP a bit in Photoshop |
Jan 14 2008, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jan 14 2008, 11:12 AM) Tell them you are looking for "badak air dahaga" actually anything that can absorb moisture and keep lens and bag from growing fungus and stuff is ok for me I suppose you can get it from Carrefour? Why don't you get Silica Gel? will go hunt around if i am not lazy hahha if lazy just get online |
Jan 14 2008, 01:02 PM
QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Jan 14 2008, 12:11 PM) hey fellas, I've come across with some magazine about Photography and would like to share a question here. A reader asked, Lightroom vs Photoshop CS3Ex, which one is your pick? *because he/she didn't wish to spend that much on software, like getting both* I prefer Lightroom for the reason that Photoshop CS3 is more memory intensive. Lightroon is pretty much very easy to use to and more towards photo editing, Photoshop is a graphic design tool, you can do more but might get overly complicatedAdded on January 14, 2008, 12:12 pm additional info: some girl asked me out for a shooting session QUOTE(myjunk @ Jan 14 2008, 12:32 PM) I think I have lots of stock on that one as well. I went to S'pore and bought like 5/6 bottles of Silica GEL from one of the camera shops and brought home with the aim of using it to dehumify my closets and such. (Previously I only bought 2 bottles.) I found one at Shashinki that can be use for a year, it's called Hakuba Ultra Strong Anti-Fungus, RM35 comes in two pack, at the moment I'll just put it in my camera bag and put my cam and lens inside until I get a proper storage box. I don't really have a lot of equipment so drybox is a bit too much at the moment hahaAlso, I was shown one using Electricity to remove the water (instead of drying in the sun) from International Camera. Then I also realised that I also have 2 of those (bigger sized ones) which I got from a DIY shop in S'pore as well. Forgot the price already. Hmm.. Seems like I don't really need a "dry" box per se. (RM 299) |
Jan 14 2008, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Jan 14 2008, 01:19 PM) i think so, but put some Silica GEL or thirsty hippo inside to keep i dry then it should be ok. I don't have any box so this is the only way I can store my gear, currently i just put them on my table |
Jan 14 2008, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(yikyeou @ Jan 14 2008, 03:36 PM) anybody here use flash gun not from canon? for your second question, do you need a flash gun, it depends a lot on what your are trying to shootshould i get a flashgun or lens first (f1.8 50mm / sigma 70-300mm )? i only got kit lens with me. QUOTE(Rapala @ Jan 14 2008, 05:46 PM) it starts at 8.30am, more info here |
Jan 14 2008, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(sherren @ Jan 14 2008, 09:49 PM) there's no EF-S for 50mm, there's EF 50mm f1.8 and EF 50mm F1.8 II, if you can find the older version (without numeral II) grab it, the built quality is much better than the new one, image quality and the rest is the same i thinkQUOTE(ysyeo @ Jan 14 2008, 09:51 PM) nice price woh, hmm looks like must survey lyp for CF cardsQUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Jan 14 2008, 09:58 PM) hmm good idea also, but i need to get the 50mm first |
Jan 15 2008, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(weileongz @ Jan 15 2008, 12:58 PM) and it's gonna be molested by many people QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jan 15 2008, 01:23 PM) i was thinking of bringing one but realise my chaplang tripod can't really support the weight of my camera now haha |
Jan 16 2008, 02:30 PM
Jan 17 2008, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(shockk @ Jan 17 2008, 12:54 PM) haha. i guess it is really hard to find. they should have bundle with the kitlense. well Canon never bundle lens hood for cheaper lens, actually some of those that cost a bit also never bundle hahaahh. cool. should look for that. 3rd party should be enough. any idea what's the price they selling? you can try this thread I found at ShutterAsia here, cheap 3rd party lens hood |
| Change to: | 0.0394sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:28 AM |