post Dec 1 2007, 12:08 PM

PSN : bulibulizaimon
4,667 posts

never ending war....... shakehead.gif
arjuna_mfna
post Dec 1 2007, 12:13 PM

**Towards Justice World**
1,496 posts

if the ati can make it come true, the next gen r700 will come with multicore for vga, even midrange hv 2 graphic core... hope nvidia will do the same...
Kidicarus
post Dec 1 2007, 12:48 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(bulibulizaimon @ Dec 1 2007, 12:08 PM)
never ending war.......  shakehead.gif
What war? It seems that it's been nvidia all the way this year - at least from looking at the steam hardware survey http://www.steampowered.com/status/survey.html

It's only a war if there is some fight.

From this, there's absolutely no reason for nvidia to release their next part out as early as February. The only reason nvidia would release a new part would be to spoil the launch of another amd/ati part.
johnkor
post Dec 1 2007, 12:49 PM

Level 2 Mainboard Repair Specialist
4,237 posts

Wah sei i change too many stuff now new one ! HAIZ headec liao ! and tooth pain !
ikanayam
post Dec 1 2007, 03:54 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Nov 30 2007, 11:48 PM)
What war? It seems that it's been nvidia all the way this year - at least from looking at the steam hardware survey http://www.steampowered.com/status/survey.html

It's only a war if there is some fight.

From this, there's absolutely no reason for nvidia to release their next part out as early as February.  The only reason nvidia would release a new part would be to spoil the launch of another amd/ati part.
Why not. They beat AMD by being way early. They beat 3dfx by being early. Waiting for your competitor to catch up or surprise you is not a good idea in this game.
Kidicarus
post Dec 1 2007, 04:06 PM

727 posts

There are no surprises here. Everyone has a roadmap to follow. If i recall just recently we all know that the 8800gt was launched to counter the HD 3850 and HD 3870. It's about market dominance. The more dominant nvidia are in this the less incentive they have to release new products, it's the same with any other monopolists.

edit: I also thought nvidia beat 3dfx by buying them out?

This post has been edited by Kidicarus: Dec 1 2007, 04:08 PM
speedguy10
post Dec 1 2007, 04:07 PM

~Do not look at my avatar~
1,828 posts

sweat.gif sweat.gif

Just start planning to buy 8800GT card, and hear this news. Aiks, what should i do ?
anggajaya
post Dec 1 2007, 04:55 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(speedguy10 @ Dec 1 2007, 04:07 PM)
sweat.gif sweat.gif

Just start planning to buy 8800GT card, and hear this news. Aiks, what should i do ?
jus get it bro, It's not gonna end if U just wait and see what the technology produces, aihhhh, I am also getting confused... technology has been growing rapidly
stanley85
post Dec 1 2007, 05:23 PM

704 posts

sweat.gif sweat.gif

if your current card still statisfy your need, then don't need to upgrade. but if you feel your card is already somewhat out of your test..then just grab 8800gt. always only buy when you need it. tech is changing fast blink.gif

btw..good to have war between them..if not..we will suffer from overpriced hardware... rolleyes.gif
nelienuxe_sara
post Dec 1 2007, 05:30 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

6 to 9...
haha
if 8 wait to 10 lar?
my tips for upgrading gc
u got the money go for it
why bother wait
plus if u use 8 change to 9
the 8 ppl still want it in garage sales
6/7 outdated edi
haha
sotong168
post Dec 1 2007, 05:32 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

sweat.gif sweat.gif

if your current gc could cope your needs and u r happy with it then just keep it, if upgrade is needed indeed then no point for waiting, hard to always keep up the new thingy unless really loaded
Discrucio Anima
post Dec 1 2007, 05:37 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Dec 1 2007, 05:30 PM)
6 to 9...
haha
if 8 wait to 10 lar?
my tips for upgrading gc
u got the money go for it
why bother wait
plus if u use 8 change to 9
the 8 ppl still want it in garage sales
6/7 outdated edi
haha
Last time I jump 4 and 5 to 7. Hehe thumbup.gif
ikanayam
post Dec 1 2007, 05:38 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Dec 1 2007, 03:06 AM)
There are no surprises here.  Everyone has a roadmap to follow.  If i recall just recently we all know that the 8800gt was launched to counter the HD 3850 and HD 3870.  It's about market dominance.  The more dominant nvidia are in this the less incentive they have to release new products, it's the same with any other monopolists.

edit:  I also thought nvidia beat 3dfx by buying them out?
They owned 3dfx before buying them out (oh the pun). There is no monopoly in the GPU market, plus nvidia have bigger problems to worry about than AMD in the long term, namely intel. It would not do them any good to pull their punches.
Breaktru
post Dec 1 2007, 05:47 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Seriously u cant always wait . Like what they said , the hardware is already outdated once you bought it , just waiting for it to be obsolete .
speedguy10
post Dec 1 2007, 05:58 PM

~Do not look at my avatar~
1,828 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Dec 1 2007, 05:32 PM)
if your current gc could cope your needs and u r happy with it then just keep it, if upgrade is needed indeed then no point for waiting, hard to always keep up the new thingy unless really loaded
Yeah, i get what u meant, Moore's Law wink.gif .

However, I do hope that by the time i get a new card, it will in the right timing which will be a long way before the price starts to depreciate.
rainingzero
post Dec 1 2007, 06:16 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Dec 1 2007, 04:06 PM)
There are no surprises here.  Everyone has a roadmap to follow.  If i recall just recently we all know that the 8800gt was launched to counter the HD 3850 and HD 3870.  It's about market dominance.  The more dominant nvidia are in this the less incentive they have to release new products, it's the same with any other monopolists.

edit:  I also thought nvidia beat 3dfx by buying them out?
the 3870 and 3850 launched to counter 8800gt actually...
intothefantasy
post Dec 1 2007, 07:14 PM

1,561 posts

so..this news is confirm? btw the new cards will be pci 2.0 rite? high end card 65nm and mid will be 55nm? isit 55nm more oc ability than 65nm?
X.E.D
post Dec 1 2007, 07:24 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Dec 1 2007, 06:16 PM)
the 3870 and 3850 launched to counter 8800gt actually...
You got it wrong.

8800GT was mid-nov originally, later than 3800s.

They made an "emergancy" launch and you could count it as one of the rather poor launches nV has made. Performance is there, but you get literally no stock at MSRP, DOA cards, and some people actually got the 3800s instead.

If they launched after, people would've waited, and there wouldn't be so many issues anyway.
nagflar
post Dec 1 2007, 07:55 PM

1,813 posts

total money i spend to my pc . can buy a kancil liao sad.gif

89 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0308sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:19 PM