Xbox 360 Fall Update 2007, DIVX and XVID now supported!

hikaru_x
post Dec 1 2007, 04:21 AM

161 posts

Video Playback FAQ
hikaru_x
post Dec 4 2007, 06:25 PM

161 posts

just got the new update.... nothing happened when i kept restarting my box, but it prompted when i start NFS ProStreet

EDIT: divx/xvid preview

first time i tried to play an xvid video, it required an optional media update (which i already have), re-downloaded the update, and xvid/divx works! rclxms.gif AC3 audio is supported. 720p & 1080p file playback is smooth. most xvid i have played fine, except for one particular 720p xvid file.

too bad MKV files are not supported yet sad.gif

EDIT2: unless my eyes are playing tricks on me, i think xvid/divx playback quality is not as good as XBMC. i have both 360 and XBMC @ 720p via component. anyone with XBMC@720p can confirm this?

This post has been edited by hikaru_x: Dec 4 2007, 07:37 PM
hikaru_x
post Dec 4 2007, 10:28 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Dec 4 2007, 10:09 PM)
alamak how come when use media center extender cannot view divx?
Media Extender only does MPEG2 and WMV, check the video playback FAQ for more info.
hikaru_x
post Dec 4 2007, 11:24 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ Dec 4 2007, 11:22 PM)
Watching Dumb & Dumber using USB...yeay to update!!!!

Cool fade out/in also....

YEAY TO UPDATE!!!!
i was testing with "dumb & dumberer: when harry met llyod" after the update just now... what a weird coincidence laugh.gif
hikaru_x
post Dec 5 2007, 07:55 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(quackers @ Dec 5 2007, 06:20 PM)
can the 360 oso play .mkv files, you know the 1100MB epsiodes????
nope, no MKV files... technically the 360 support the codecs for those 720p episodes, but it just doesnt recognize the MKV container, so no luck there..
hikaru_x
post Dec 5 2007, 11:35 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(tencheenian @ Dec 5 2007, 10:32 PM)
Tested, but the quality is suck if you play it in 1920 x 1200 compare to my desktop PC. FYI. I test 720p avi files. it better on my PC!

yes, noticed that too. im using component@720p for both XB360 and XBMC, seems to me that XBMC has better divx/xvid playback quality... well i was comparing 540p files, the few 720p files i hv are MKVs. too bad the quality is not that good, im looking forward for the 360 to playback 720p/1080p files, my XBMC chokes on 720p files.

QUOTE(Gurdian @ Dec 5 2007, 10:36 PM)
wtf ler,

i was looking forward to buying Fahrenheit/Indigo Prophecy, but it's region locked?

ntsc/j console confirmed can't d/l? demmit

would it help if we buy from an NTSC/J region account, like Singapore or Japan?

This post has been edited by hikaru_x: Dec 5 2007, 11:40 PM
hikaru_x
post Dec 6 2007, 12:55 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Dec 5 2007, 11:46 PM)
I can't seem to play apple lossless format songs (*.m4a) even though i downloaded the AAC codec from XBL. can anyone advise me? thanks.
apple lossless files use the same .m4a extension as AAC files, but actually it's not a variant of the AAC format. it's another format: ALAC (apple lossless audio codec), so i dont think the 360 could play it.

0.0170sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:43 AM