Model kits, not toys!, Grr...

TSjhcj
post Nov 29 2007, 11:15 AM, updated 19y ago

TK 20682
2,357 posts

I get annoyed when I tell people that I collect and build model kits, and people go "Wah...so big already still play toys ar..."

Hello....it's a MODEL KIT...not toys laaaaa

>_>

/ranting
Rusty Nail
post Nov 29 2007, 11:17 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

At least they call your kits toys.
Try having people calling 1/6 military action figures, dolls.
nicholas84
post Nov 29 2007, 11:21 AM

328 posts

i have plenty of friends, uncle aunties come into my room ask me, "wah, you how old already wor, still play with toys?" i shoot them "since when u see me play with them? u will never understand art, go play with ur car"

lol

This post has been edited by nicholas84: Nov 29 2007, 11:23 AM
Duke Beard
post Nov 29 2007, 11:24 AM

WWE Champion
1,305 posts

I usually point to the small print in my Revoltech boxes

"Collectable, not a toy" or something like that...
Fatimus
post Nov 29 2007, 11:31 AM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
634 posts

No one tell me off yet, for now.
Vanquish
post Nov 29 2007, 11:35 AM

F.U.B.A.R.
2,115 posts

I haven't received a comment about me still playing with "toys"... Maybe those people do talk about it behind my back but I'll never know...
VincC454
post Nov 29 2007, 11:36 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

this is our local mentality...

even playing video games also sometimes they will come and tell you old already also still wanna play this thing ar...

duke_hunt
post Nov 29 2007, 11:43 AM

259 posts

everything with the box written "for ages 5 and up", its meant for kids...
collectibles or toys, the disclaimer really puts you off whenever ppl commented about your hobby...
unless u build planes or ships, its like its another league of enthusiasts.
car, bikes, mechs, bots, whatever that falls in this category, it'll be considered as toys..
unless its a ferrari or F1 die-casts collectibles,its a league of its own to most ppl..
mentality is the cause of this...
sad.gif sweat.gif doh.gif
hitsugayat10
post Nov 29 2007, 11:49 AM

407 posts

Dun give a damn bout wat ppl said tongue.gif
Models kits r hobby not limited to toys.....

Ppl used to say, wah...u r so old already n still playing with toy robots ah?i was like?yeah so wat coz i loved robots n now i can smash them with these facts!!

Gundam model kits = toys?
1st; Yeah right, Japan's Ministry of Defence is planning to build Gundam, so wat r v doing?Japan government r building BIG YOYS rclxm9.gif

2nd for car fanatics; d latest Skyline R35 GT-R's design was also based on Gundam's air duct designs k/

This post has been edited by hitsugayat10: Nov 29 2007, 11:55 AM
Exiled_Gundam
post Nov 29 2007, 11:49 AM

550 posts

Hmm, my fren have his MG Strike Freedom broken by his cousin. Know what his mom said? "It's just a toy. No need to ask his (cousin) parents to ganti it". Well, if other things that have same value as the MG SF, broken by the relatives (for example, vase), I'm pretty sure the relative's parent will ganti it
Fatimus
post Nov 29 2007, 11:50 AM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
634 posts

I wonder table top figures are toys too. They are no joking matter when it comes to painting.
samus_ng
post Nov 29 2007, 11:53 AM

258 posts

We are in bolehland, luckily I'm not as big as you guys, people don't complain much cos kids do play toys after all. My parents are always nagging that i should stop collecting toys ahem collectibles, they will never understand that toys have high resell value and is an art. So my vote i YES kao kao.
VincC454
post Nov 29 2007, 11:55 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

QUOTE(hitsugayat10 @ Nov 29 2007, 11:49 AM)
Dun give a damn bout wat ppl said tongue.gif
Models kits r hobby not limited to toys.....

Ppl used to say, wah...u r so old already n still playing with toy robots ah?i was like?yeah so wat coz i loved robots n now i can smash them with these facts!!

Gundam model kits = toys?
1st; Yeah right, Japan's Ministry of Defence is planning to build Gundam, so wat r v doing?

2nd for car fanatics; d latest Skyline R35 GT-R's design was also based on Gundam's air duct designs k/

if they do think like that...then they wont come and say those things to you lo
that is why we call this mentality...
dont care what...toys or whatever they can categorize as a toys are belongs to a kids...yea i know some box written there for adult collectible keep away from children...but still people will say it...it just another toys.
beckzaidan
post Nov 29 2007, 11:56 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Nov 29 2007, 11:17 AM)
yea yea, i once got some stupid frens come over and said,
"Now barbie got male dolls ke?"
stupid...
Rusty Nail
post Nov 29 2007, 12:04 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(Fatimus @ Nov 29 2007, 11:50 AM)
I wonder table top figures are toys too. They are no joking matter when it comes to painting.
OT just started on 40K TT with a SM Attack Bike. All thanks to my brother's poison.

QUOTE(beckzaidan @ Nov 29 2007, 11:56 AM)
yea yea, i once got some stupid frens come over and said,
"Now barbie got male dolls ke?"
stupid...
LOL, at least my friends are more open. It's my aunt and uncle that bugs me the most.
hmm.. reminds me once a niece of mine wanted to play with one of my CY-girl converted to SEAL CQB Commander. When i told her mom (my aunt) the value of it, they got a shock and dare not touch it.
Fatimus
post Nov 29 2007, 12:07 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
634 posts

I am quite open when I let others touch my TFs, as I trust the safety and durability of the toys biggrin.gif.

But some collectibles and kits are different story, only for those who pro at building it.
king_kong
post Nov 29 2007, 12:08 PM

371 posts

you know, you could tell them things like this: at least i can afford to play, can you?

then again, it sort tells you how rich you are so might as well not.

when i tell people how much my toys cost they just shuddup. hehe.
VincC454
post Nov 29 2007, 12:10 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

transformer i will people touch one...as transformer do meant for kids...rich kids...hehe

but then...for those 1/6 figure...then ur ultra-expensive pvc, then ur hard-job painted gundam...i wont let people near it
UNDICI
post Nov 29 2007, 12:14 PM

i lock em all in cabinet.. can see.. no touch tongue.gif
hitsugayat10
post Nov 29 2007, 12:19 PM

407 posts

Haha, agree that TFs r durable so they can do watever they want to it....
My cousin broke my gundam last time n i was so mad but my mom n his said, aiyo, only a toy mah....no big deal right furthermore it's not that expensive...

Damn!
TSjhcj
post Nov 29 2007, 12:28 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

Few months back, my mum came to clean my room...and she accidentally knocked down my MG Freedom which was on display on top of my TV.

The V-fin broke, and I dont have a spare.

T_T_T_T_T_T_T_T_T_T_T_T_T_T_T

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Nov 29 2007, 11:17 AM)
That would seriously suck just as much. >_>

This post has been edited by jhcj: Nov 29 2007, 12:29 PM
UNDICI
post Nov 29 2007, 12:32 PM

mine's lagi ..terukk.. ZOids Gojulas... fall off coz of my mom

tail section destroyed in an instant cant connect to d main body anymore

T_T think wanna buang already

This post has been edited by UNDICI: Nov 29 2007, 12:33 PM
erh_teo
post Nov 29 2007, 03:25 PM

toys are toys..

no matter how we try to call it differently, the fact won't change.

the only frustation is.. what's the problem of having them?
i mean, the are toys, i can't argue, and they can be pretty damn expensive. even we are getting them from shops labelled as "toy shop"

but what's the problem with them?
i mean, to those who use to say "wah.. how old are u? stil play with this thing"

is it becoz all toys are the same, and is it becoz "they" must associated model kits with those toys meant for small kits?

well.. they don't have the passion for it, they won't understand.
so we try to understand that they simply can't understand us:)

UNDICI
post Nov 29 2007, 03:35 PM

Hottoys.. medicom.. SOC, . tec

aint for kids ..

which shows toys arent for kids anymore

will you buy yer kid a Marvel/DC premium Statue?.. XD
Rusty Nail
post Nov 29 2007, 03:47 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(UNDICI @ Nov 29 2007, 12:14 PM)
i lock em all in cabinet.. can see.. no touch tongue.gif
Ikea glass case is still selling for RM200 if I'm not mistaken tongue.gif
Ah WanG
post Nov 29 2007, 03:55 PM

Banned
6,515 posts

most of my fren n relatives will say like tat... just tell them this is a collectibles and a toy

and ask back them then what is consider matured? they can't answer laugh.gif
duke_hunt
post Nov 29 2007, 04:34 PM

259 posts

sometimes i would just say, would you buy an MG Gundam kit to give to your kids?
i would get this back, how much is it...
i'd say, well, almost RM150...
they would ask, ready to play?
my reply, nope, have to pasang bits and pieces to get this(showing my boxes of MG)..
after showing the manuals, they just kept quiet and move along..
my mom nags sometimes, my dad, its his salary, its his money, let him manage himself...
no money and hungry, let him eat his kits...
out of respect, no money, dont buy..
if buy also, tanggung sendiri...
never ask for money...
StarGhazzer
post Nov 29 2007, 04:57 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Nov 29 2007, 12:28 PM)
Few months back, my mum came to clean my room...and she accidentally knocked down my MG Freedom which was on display on top of my TV.

The V-fin broke, and I dont have a spare.

T_T_T_T_T_T_T_T_T_T_T_T_T_T_T
That would seriously suck just as much. >_>
That's why you have to clean your own room instead of letting your mum clean it laugh.gif rclxm9.gif

If you really want to replace the V-fin, try finding a 1/100 Bendi and use it as a spare tongue.gif

QUOTE(duke_hunt @ Nov 29 2007, 04:34 PM)

they would ask, ready to play?
my reply, nope, have to pasang bits and pieces to get this(showing my boxes of MG)..
after showing the manuals, they just kept quiet and move along..

Same as my dad's reaction when I showed him the skeleton and sliding pistons of my MG MKII. He actually thought that Gundams are like remote controlled cars when we can control its movement or make it transform on its own.

When I told him I had to assemble it from little parts, he was like "cheh so mahfan, thought it came ready made..."

To think that he was the one who bought me an inexpensive model Porsche which had to be assembled too when I was 8 sweat.gif Too bad that model was thrashed now.
UNDICI
post Nov 29 2007, 04:59 PM

parents still think dat toys is d 1 you find at Sg Wang XD

Big remote control vehicles lol
jim18992
post Nov 29 2007, 05:19 PM

727 posts

Lol, I always get that. When small children come to my house, I always place my Gunpla somewhere and lock the room, if not, it be nightmare, their so call 'toy' cost more then RM100, some even cost more than RM200, so it always make me laugh when I think of the money part.
TSjhcj
post Nov 29 2007, 05:23 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Nov 29 2007, 04:57 PM)
That's why you have to clean your own room instead of letting your mum clean it laugh.gif rclxm9.gif

If you really want to replace the V-fin, try finding a 1/100 Bendi and use it as a spare tongue.gif
Same as my dad's reaction when I showed him the skeleton and sliding pistons of my MG MKII. He actually thought that Gundams are like remote controlled cars when we can control its movement or make it transform on its own.

I do clean my own room! It's just that on that day, my mum had this sudden revelation to clean the house...hence the incident. T_T

Not that the v-fin snapped in two. It's more like one end of the V-fin is now shorter than the other. Not so noticeable by other people from far, but it hurts me everytime I look at it...cause of the amount of time I spent building the kit.

T_T
Exiled_Gundam
post Nov 29 2007, 05:51 PM

550 posts

Huhu, actually the V-fin is kind of fragile. My MG Freedom v-fin right now almost broke into two, but not due to the kit falling etc, but the plastic kind of "rot", i touch it, it "koyak". Luckily didn't snap into two yet.
Regarding little children, my uncles and aunts already know how much a model kit cost, so when they come to my house, they will forbid their children from touching my kits
madmoz
post Nov 29 2007, 05:57 PM

4,250 posts

It's just a word, and if we take offence to that, the like what the naysayers say, we haven't grown up!
SUSblackorange
post Nov 29 2007, 06:01 PM

186 posts

one of my friend at first call the model kits as toys. that was when he saw the completed kits.

but when he see me building the model kit, suddenly he become interested to it and start collecting it.

so, who play toys now?
Demon_Eyes_Kyo
post Nov 29 2007, 06:01 PM

682 posts

Models /= Toys, simple math equation.
edan1979
post Nov 29 2007, 06:13 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

whatever... touch my time spending gundam kit... I'll shout... GET OUT OF MY ROOM....
Doomsday
post Nov 29 2007, 06:34 PM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

I was chatting with LYN member (a girl and don't ask me the ID). I said that I usually go supermarket to scout at toys sections for Gundam(s), Transformers, Hot Wheels and etc...

Guest what she reply?
Same as other people reply, "You so big already still play toys?" doh.gif

I just LOLWUT and get annoyed for few minutes tongue.gif
erh_teo
post Nov 29 2007, 06:41 PM

at least mine doesn't mind i go check out model kits when we going kai-kai..

even if i go check-out lego or power ranger at JJ, is not that she cares..

no harm what?

sometimes somebody around us prob say out something to stop us from buying more.. u know.. buying is addictive and can becomes compulsive :0
zefflodo
post Nov 29 2007, 06:49 PM

101 posts

same here....wherever my cousin and uncle auntie came to my hoese and ter-visit my room.....their eye like gonna popping out.....by that time .....i was like" oh yeah wats the big deal if i collect toys" dry.gif dry.gif dry.gif dry.gif sleep.gif
Doomsday
post Nov 29 2007, 06:58 PM

2,491 posts

One thing I must stress...

Not all Model Kits and Collectibles are considered as Toys. But those item could be categorized as Toys. doh.gif
Depends on the individual perception thou.
UNDICI
post Nov 29 2007, 07:03 PM

is it a crime to collect them?.. XD
Fatimus
post Nov 29 2007, 07:26 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
634 posts

It's a crime against humanity.
StarGhazzer
post Nov 29 2007, 07:39 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Demon_Eyes_Kyo @ Nov 29 2007, 06:01 PM)
Models /= Toys, simple math equation.
user posted image /= user posted image

rclxm9.gif

icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(erh_teo @ Nov 29 2007, 06:41 PM)
at least mine doesn't mind i go check out model kits when we going kai-kai..

even if i go check-out lego or power ranger at JJ, is not that she cares..

no harm what?

sometimes somebody around us prob say out something to stop us from buying more.. u know.. buying is addictive and can becomes compulsive :0
Hehe.. I often visit the toy section whenever I go shopping too. Not to buy toys, but to check out what new ideas the toy manufacturers incorporate into action figures nowadays.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Nov 29 2007, 07:40 PM
Ah WanG
post Nov 29 2007, 07:53 PM

Banned
6,515 posts

toys or collectibles doesn't matter to me.. as long as i enjoy n love to collect n play them is enough for me smile.gif
laica
post Nov 29 2007, 07:56 PM

grown up child
801 posts

my dad once ask me recently y my room have a sudden bloom of figures and he ask me whether im still a kid playing with toys and i just told my father that this is investment tongue.gif
Doomsday
post Nov 29 2007, 08:00 PM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(laica @ Nov 29 2007, 07:56 PM)
my dad once ask me recently y my room have a sudden bloom of figures and he ask me whether im still a kid playing with toys and i just told my father that this is investment tongue.gif
No, u tell your dad.. "Dad, you going to become grandpa!! " sweat.gif
UNDICI
post Nov 29 2007, 08:02 PM

same here.. i just tell em it's investment... my parents dont really mind with it

as long as i take care of em well
zefflodo
post Nov 29 2007, 08:23 PM

101 posts

erm my mom doesn't mind.....juz saying " wah today u bought new toys again!!" tongue.gif tongue.gif and my father recently like stated to sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif unsure.gif unsure.gif unsure.gif ....i buat tak tau aje rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif tongue.gif
UNDICI
post Nov 29 2007, 08:27 PM

well.. coz they think toys dont have value/d $$$ on em...

maybe they think d price cam kat yg Sg wang XD
zefflodo
post Nov 29 2007, 08:29 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(UNDICI @ Nov 29 2007, 08:27 PM)
well.. coz they think toys dont have value/d $$$ on em...

maybe they think d price cam kat yg Sg wang XD
yeah wherever my auntie/cousin came to my house sure will said waite money mad.gif vmad.gif panas ....at least i dunt follow my fren go clubbing or karaoke.... rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif well whos wasting money brows.gif brows.gif toys still can pass from gen to next gen.... tongue.gif biggrin.gif rclxms.gif antique brows.gif
UNDICI
post Nov 29 2007, 08:31 PM

huh ahah.. betol to.. clubbing/karaoke mana de value.. no refund for dat 1 lol
CooLeRthings
post Nov 29 2007, 08:33 PM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

i always like to show them those MP or BT TF box

"年龄对象15岁以上"

they straight diam smile.gif
laica
post Nov 29 2007, 08:36 PM

grown up child
801 posts

thats y my gf dun mind if i buy toys coz im not wasting it in drinking and smoking laugh.gif
Doomsday
post Nov 29 2007, 09:24 PM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(CooLeRthings @ Nov 29 2007, 08:33 PM)
i always like to show them those MP or BT TF box

"年龄对象15岁以上"

they straight diam smile.gif
Errm, anyone mind to explain what is the meaning tongue.gif
Fatimus
post Nov 29 2007, 09:27 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
634 posts

Age 15 and above
edan1979
post Nov 29 2007, 10:53 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

we make like hotel and list all the price of kits we have in the room...
Demon_Eyes_Kyo
post Nov 29 2007, 10:56 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Nov 29 2007, 07:39 PM)
user posted image /=  user posted image

rclxm9.gif

icon_idea.gif
Hehe..  I often visit the toy section whenever I go shopping too. Not to buy toys, but to check out what new ideas the toy manufacturers incorporate into action figures nowadays.
LOL, nice one there rclxms.gif tongue.gif
I usually go around TRU and toy sections to look for TF, gundam and some car models. Heck, everytime I go to TRU I see more grownups than kids. Nothing wrong there.
daniel_lai96
post Nov 30 2007, 08:48 AM

50 posts

hello toy for kid ok we get a kid n' a model kit see the kid can built it o not then if can then is toy if cannot is hobbies n' collectible.
erh_teo
post Nov 30 2007, 10:36 AM

doesn't matter whether model kits are for kits or not..
never undermind the ability of a kid..

even a 5 year old can play piano..
so what's so hard with model kits blush.gif

even if a MG kit (or HG) falls into a hand of a 10 year old kit.. so it is a toys or model kit?
it's both smile.gif
it doesn't matter whether it's for toys or model kits.

but sometimes i jus hate it when people use that word "ma-sak" (in cantonese for toys) to describe the collections we bought..

why.. becoz we sometimes oso associated "ma-sak" with toys for small kids.. and may not like it.
if we can understands that toys or model kits, or "ma-sak" as it is.. be it for kids or adults..
we know it's for fun.. so rili.. it doesn't matter.. toys or model kits.. blush.gif

we just can't teach a monkey to tell a difference between a gundam and transformer bcoz they JUST don bother.. laugh.gif

alanyuppie
post Nov 30 2007, 10:41 AM

2,834 posts

my room floors r sprinkled with lego parts (lazy to cleanup/pickup when I'm on a building frenzy till midnite). my mom is having a great time doing her foot reflexology when she's in my room.

anyway, who cares whether others think its a toy or not. as long as we're having fun, toys or models.. its just a word. rite?

on the other way round, its like advising people not to buy toto... as to most of us, its "dump $$ into sea". but to them... in lucky occasions.. they kena big big. and they are selamba oni, wont rant about how others keep bugging them not to gamble.

same to us.. they might think we "dump $$ into sea".. but then again.. we knows in the future, some of our collection might worth some $$.

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Nov 30 2007, 10:45 AM
VincC454
post Nov 30 2007, 02:01 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Nov 29 2007, 10:53 PM)
we make like hotel and list all the price of kits we have in the room...
if we list the price like that...we will get into trouble even more...
imagine if your gf saw how much money u waste on those toys...she will dulan with you even more after that...and might as you to stop buying them...

tell me something...if your parent/gf do mind about what you are buying...will you dare if one day you bring back one toys and tell them its RM300...sure kena sleep outside one
erh_teo
post Nov 30 2007, 03:41 PM

i everytime will under declare watever i bought.. sure will.. this one very cheap one.. big big discount oni i buy one.. less than hundred.. cheap cheap.. sell back oso won't rugi one..

padahal it's all big fat lie..
i feel remorseful.. sad.gif
riskbreaker
post Dec 21 2007, 01:55 AM

241 posts

Haha...funny topic.

When Chinese new year or any events like birthday, visiting, BBQ at my house. I will Lock my study room and bedroom. No one can MASUK. I clean up my room also. No one can MASUK. When I am in my room. Also no one can MASUK. Knock the door please. rclxms.gif

When the kits wan to play PS2 or any console, I will set up in the living-room rather allow then to come to my room.

rclxm9.gif
richard0304
post Dec 25 2007, 03:09 PM

193 posts

my parents are also like this. Everytime i buy gundam home they say the same thing. "you have grown up and should stop playing with tpys already".. really pisses me off. some more, one day my mother's friend visit my house and meanwhile i was watching anime. She ask my mum, "how old is your boy? still watching cartoons?". blink.gif

This post has been edited by richard0304: Dec 31 2007, 12:55 PM
MyKy44
post Jan 22 2008, 09:49 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

Yeah! Totally man, i guess it's the template for everyone who's outside the world of gundams. "So old ady still play wit toys ar?"
Usually i just smile (and snickered actually.... wat do they know?), "It's a hobby."

For me i still watch cartoons as well, Cartoon Networks! WTF spongebob squarepants is hilarious as well la.

ken811
post Jan 22 2008, 10:02 PM

overall i guess its inside toys family.
but specifically its called Model Kits.

is something like games where you have a sub-genre like action can be sub into action adv., hack 'n' slash, etc.
ShinAsakura
post Jan 22 2008, 10:20 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

jz make sure ur family member doesnt watch youtube or past nona segment bout modelling. if not.....we are doom!

not me, my mom knows the gunpla prices laugh.gif

0.0513sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:57 AM