Long Exposure

TSNasiLemakMan
post Nov 28 2007, 03:45 AM, updated 19y ago

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

Does exposing your digital camera's sensor to frequent long exposure will spoils it? I'm just curios cause somehow my digicam had noises at lower ISOs that usually doesn't have noises.
kenlui
post Nov 28 2007, 03:54 AM

2,380 posts

If exposing to bright light ie the sun, yes, the sensor might be damaged due to long exposure. But in normal/low light situation I dont think it won't cause any problem.
skyther
post Nov 28 2007, 06:48 AM

498 posts

Is the photo underexposed?
kelvinyam
post Nov 28 2007, 07:55 AM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

QUOTE(NasiLemakMan @ Nov 28 2007, 03:45 AM)
Does exposing your digital camera's sensor to frequent long exposure will spoils it? I'm just curios cause somehow my digicam had noises at lower ISOs that usually doesn't have noises.
Long exposure will create noise even at the lowest ISO setting. Same applies to DSLR's sensor.
TSNasiLemakMan
post Nov 28 2007, 12:31 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

QUOTE(skyther @ Nov 28 2007, 06:48 AM)
Is the photo underexposed?
No, not at all. Sometimes I like to take long exposed night shots. It's just I'm worried that keeping the sensor open long too frequently will damage it.

Added on November 28, 2007, 12:31 pm
QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Nov 28 2007, 07:55 AM)
Long exposure will create noise even at the lowest ISO setting. Same applies to DSLR's sensor.
Oh, OK. I'll take note of that.

Added on November 28, 2007, 12:33 pm
QUOTE(kenlui @ Nov 28 2007, 03:54 AM)
If exposing to bright light ie the sun, yes, the sensor might be damaged due to long exposure. But in normal/low light situation I dont think it won't cause any problem.
The sun would burnt the sensor. You didn't have any problems due too frequent long exposure?

This post has been edited by NasiLemakMan: Nov 28 2007, 12:33 PM
kenlui
post Nov 28 2007, 02:45 PM

2,380 posts

Dude,

Perhaps you should read what i typed again. Why would anyone want to do a long exposure shot towards the sun anyway?
R a D ! c 4 L
post Nov 28 2007, 05:34 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

nah its not going to be a problem smile.gif just do it, but dont expose it directly to sun light, you'll burn the sensor biggrin.gif

try expose for 2-5 mins in a dark place where the moon is the only light, you'll be pleased with the results biggrin.gif
TSNasiLemakMan
post Nov 28 2007, 05:45 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Nov 28 2007, 05:34 PM)
nah its not going to be a problem smile.gif just do it, but dont expose it directly to sun light, you'll burn the sensor biggrin.gif

try expose for 2-5 mins in a dark place where the moon is the only light, you'll be pleased with the results biggrin.gif
Thanks for the answer radical. I needed that. Gonna go shoot some more night exposure brows.gif.
skyther
post Nov 28 2007, 05:48 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(NasiLemakMan @ Nov 28 2007, 12:31 PM)
No, not at all. Sometimes I like to take long exposed night shots. It's just I'm worried that keeping the sensor open long too frequently will damage it.
No no, if you look at the histogram where do the highest points lie? In the middle 2 segments? If your highlights are in the leftmost segment then you underexposed your shot and you'll find that noise becomes a lot more apparent in the dark tones.

R a D ! c 4 L
post Nov 28 2007, 07:31 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(NasiLemakMan @ Nov 28 2007, 05:45 PM)
Thanks for the answer radical. I needed that. Gonna go shoot some more night exposure brows.gif.
no problem man smile.gif

only 1 word can describe it, its fun brows.gif

Did some experiment myself, but needed to do more, now that im in my holidays, there's plenty of time brows.gif going to get my remote shutter only biggrin.gif
derek87
post Nov 28 2007, 09:33 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Nov 28 2007, 07:31 PM)
no problem man smile.gif

only 1 word can describe it, its fun brows.gif

Did some experiment myself, but needed to do more, now that im in my holidays, there's plenty of time brows.gif going to get my remote shutter only biggrin.gif
haha... 2 - 5 mins is long man... u can even go take a drink first. or a pee.. LOL.... u can do long exposures on anything except for the sun... =)
R a D ! c 4 L
post Nov 29 2007, 12:34 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(derek87 @ Nov 28 2007, 09:33 PM)
haha... 2 - 5 mins is long man... u can even go take a drink first. or a pee.. LOL.... u can do long exposures on anything except for the sun... =)
for the sun you need something different. Like a 13stops ND filter brows.gif
pac1
post Nov 29 2007, 08:59 AM

1,012 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Nov 29 2007, 12:34 AM)
for the sun you need something different. Like a 13stops ND filter brows.gif
Get several ND filters and stack them all up! icon_rolleyes.gif
R a D ! c 4 L
post Nov 29 2007, 09:15 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

^it depends. If you use cokin filters then its not advisable to do so, you end up getting purple'ish images. biggrin.gif
soulfly
post Nov 29 2007, 10:26 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,904 posts

Cokin filter very ugly ler with the adapter summore, I wish they had simple screw type solution.
R a D ! c 4 L
post Nov 29 2007, 12:08 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

Haha, ugly meh? screw type very limted(im refering to those grads).

But i really think they should develop those screw type for ND filters sleep.gif"
Mavik
post Nov 29 2007, 02:28 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

And why would point at the sun burn the sensor? Basically the sensor has a range electrical range whereby each pixel emits a max range of volts. This range of volts will basically clip (when you have an overexposed picture) or overexposed section of the picture.

What a CCD/CMOS does is that they convert light into electrical signals and the range of the volts it produces for each pixel is limited by the sensor itself.
TSNasiLemakMan
post Nov 29 2007, 04:21 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

What about solar eclipse brows.gif? Pretty nice good picture if could get some. Could post on Reuters. So for solar eclipse 16 stops?
porkchop
post Nov 29 2007, 05:52 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

wah if can get solar eclipse would be great.........best if can get this shot

"fish eye - bottom of the photo is the earth and the top there is the eclipse" great shopts
Joseph Hahn
post Nov 29 2007, 10:35 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

How can one get a 5 minutes exposure when the camera only have 30 seconds max ?
http://www.flickr.com/photos/burnblue/2072812963/
Do have a look.

0.0203sec    0.90    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:38 PM