diy repainting a bass, does it work or just send it to a pro?

TSShawnzz
post Nov 28 2007, 02:28 AM, updated 19y ago

1,911 posts

my 6 string bass has a massive chip and i am getting very irritated of it. so i wanna ask to those who dose this diy projects b4 can give some tips brows.gif .

This post has been edited by Shawnzz: Nov 28 2007, 02:29 AM
Bassix
post Nov 28 2007, 03:09 AM

-----
1,171 posts

is it solid colour or one of those transparent finishes?

I read from some restoring freak that if you want to get rid of a dent, water and a hot iron works. But I don't know how far it will go with a chip. But with a dent all you do is sand paper the area lightly (don't take away too much wood) so that the water can soak into the affected area of the dent. Then run the iron on top of it and the expanding steam will sort of inflate the dent. You can try it, but if it doesnt work then the only other solution is wood putty. The paint job i would get a pro to do unless you don't mind it being an obvious patch.

Or you could just sell it off and buy a new one, or bash it up more to give it a vintage look.
TSShawnzz
post Nov 28 2007, 01:07 PM

1,911 posts

THe chip near the pickup its very annoying. i wanna get a full repaint. should i get 1 ?
liew90kw
post Nov 28 2007, 11:45 PM

239 posts

i dont see a chip anywhere man, unless its that big triangle under the neck joint.
If it is, leave it. It gives the bass more character xD
TSShawnzz
post Nov 29 2007, 03:03 AM

1,911 posts

yah, its the big triangle near the neck join...
very annoying when i run on the last string=(
lordie
post Nov 29 2007, 03:50 PM

942 posts

send to a luthier to get it done better that way.
freakfingers12
post Nov 29 2007, 05:45 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

blink.gif That's a chip?How come so smooth wan?If it's a cheap bass,then you might wanna diy.Kinda fun
TSShawnzz
post Nov 29 2007, 11:00 PM

1,911 posts

Not cheap leh, 6 string samick =)
Bassix
post Nov 30 2007, 05:14 AM

-----
1,171 posts

i would just sand the sharp edges and leave the chip there. Looks pretty nice
crazychris
post Nov 30 2007, 12:08 PM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

it looks seasoned with the scar
more personality keke
lordie
post May 2 2008, 12:14 PM

942 posts

crazy qns. does the local luthier can remove the clear coat/varnish and than wax the basses? i found the wax finish gives it a better sound
[vogue]angel
post May 2 2008, 08:38 PM

107 posts

send it to GG in Gombak. He does a very good paint job
crazychris
post May 3 2008, 12:40 PM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

pickguard is the way!!!
skindred
post May 3 2008, 04:11 PM

283 posts

Fooish.. Is that a chip? I actually thought it was a design on the bass.. Looks nice weih. If i were u i'd keep it .. But yeah I can understand you not liking it when you play, and looking at the chip .. Sure tak syok.

So.. Get it done man!

0.0208sec    1.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:54 AM