31 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Official foobar2000 Guide & Tips, the alternative audio player

hyyam85
post Mar 8 2006, 07:17 PM

510 posts

i hav a problem with my album art. sometimes i may hav 2 jpeg image in my album folder (front n back cover). how can i configure album art so tat it always show the front cover?
fx_53_xt
post Mar 9 2006, 05:29 PM

2,048 posts

fully converted from iTunes to FooBar2k two days ago but still cant dump iTunes cuz the song organizing in iTunes is juz perfect.

here's a few of my noob question :

1) i'm using Audigy2 ZS soundcard. and i have no idea why ASIO 24/96 cannot works. so between
a) ASIO 48 / 16bit or
b) kernel streaming 96/24bit

works better? i've read somewhere else that Kernel streaming works the same as ASIO.

2) Most of my MP3 is encoded from CD (16bit). so does playing them in 24bit makes difference since the original source is just 16bit? honestly in kernel streaming 16bit and 24bit i hardly notice any difference.

3) what is dithering (noise sharpening) ? i've google it and found some answer in wiki but the answer is too technical which i cant understand. anyone mind to explain in simple english?

4) i've notice that music played though foobar is obviously a lot more cleaner than iTunes but it lack of bass unlike what i tunes have. is tuning the EQ recommended?
almostthere
post Mar 9 2006, 05:43 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Mar 9 2006, 05:29 PM)
fully converted from iTunes to FooBar2k two days ago but still cant dump iTunes cuz the song organizing in iTunes is juz perfect.

here's a few of my noob question :

1) i'm using Audigy2 ZS soundcard. and i have no idea why ASIO 24/96 cannot works. so between
a) ASIO 48 / 16bit or
b) kernel streaming 96/24bit

works better? i've read somewhere else that Kernel streaming works the same as ASIO.

2) Most of my MP3 is encoded from CD (16bit). so does playing them in 24bit makes difference since the original source is just 16bit? honestly in kernel streaming 16bit and 24bit i hardly notice any difference.

3) what is dithering (noise sharpening) ? i've google it and found some answer in wiki but the answer is too technical which i cant understand. anyone mind to explain in simple english?

4) i've notice that music played though foobar is obviously a lot more cleaner than iTunes but it lack of bass unlike what i tunes have. is tuning the EQ recommended?
For all the answers to your questions, I'm sure this guide here would be very useful in answering it all

http://www.techspot.com/tweaks/foobar/foobar-2.shtml
fx_53_xt
post Mar 9 2006, 11:56 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Mar 9 2006, 05:43 PM)
For all the answers to your questions, I'm sure this guide here would be very useful in answering it all

http://www.techspot.com/tweaks/foobar/foobar-2.shtml
thanks for the link. but other than question 3, they didn't really have answer for the rest of my question
almostthere
post Mar 10 2006, 09:22 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

For question #1, ASIO is better then kernel streaming. and how to enable ASIO using ur Audigy, go to page 4 of the guide. You need to check ur allowable sampling rate.

For question #2, no it doesn't as the source itself has to be originally in 24 bit format then one can tell the difference.

For question #4. Try following the sequence of DSP arrangement recommended in the guide to see any difference or not. Mine does. And I prefer to leave the EQ of Foobar alone and tweak my sound cards.
TSfariz
post Mar 10 2006, 12:32 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

Have you read the section in the FAQ about which output to use?
hyyam85
post Mar 10 2006, 07:25 PM

510 posts

how to use replay gain scanner?
TSfariz
post Mar 11 2006, 11:51 AM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

for album:
select all files > replaygain > scan selection as album

for single:
scan per-file track gain

in pref > playback > replaygain > use album gain

I use -3dB for both preamp

you should read this: what is replaygain?

you dont have to use it if you dont want to. it's optional.
fx_53_xt
post Mar 12 2006, 01:28 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Mar 10 2006, 09:22 AM)
For question #1, ASIO is better then kernel streaming. and how to enable ASIO using ur Audigy, go to page 4 of the guide. You need to check ur  allowable sampling rate.

For question #2, no it doesn't as the source itself has to be originally in 24 bit format then one can tell the difference.

For question #4. Try following the sequence of DSP arrangement recommended in the guide to see any difference or not. Mine does. And I prefer to leave the EQ of Foobar alone and tweak my sound cards.
thanks a lot sifu.
i CAN enable ASIO. but it cant work in 24bit resolution on A2ZS

QUOTE(fariz @ Mar 10 2006, 12:32 PM)
Have you read the section in the FAQ about which output to use?
i've read that again and again a few times before i post here.
they mentioned nothing about ASIO since ASIO is 3rd party plugin.

almostthere
post Mar 13 2006, 09:35 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Mar 12 2006, 01:28 AM)
thanks a lot sifu.
i CAN enable ASIO. but it cant work in 24bit resolution on A2ZS
i've read that again and again a few times before i post here.
they mentioned nothing about ASIO since ASIO is 3rd party plugin.
Read again and understand "Outputs and ASIO" of the link I gave you. Did you use the ASIO caps utillity to find out what's the max bitrate? Use the one in the folder x86 unless you're running on XP 64 bit

Attached File  ASIO_caps_009.zip ( 70.3k ) Number of downloads: 10

And under "playback" drop the bitrate to 16-bit fixed 1st to find out what's the problem.

That said, both can be rather tricky to get functioning at times and you may need to adjust certain other options (such as Output data format) to get them to work, e.g. using an Audigy 2 ZS, Kernel Streaming functioned fine with 48000, 96000Hz resampling and 24bit fixed-point padded to 32-bit output. Conversely, ASIO output only functioned with 48000 resampling and 16bit fixed-point output. Otherwise the console displayed the following error message:

This post has been edited by almostthere: Mar 13 2006, 09:39 AM
TSfariz
post Mar 19 2006, 10:15 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

foobar2000 v0.9 released!

http://www.foobar2000.org/
maianeh
post Mar 27 2006, 08:20 AM

141 posts

I updated to 0.9 and now I am sad sad.gif

Lost KS - componentised and I can't seem to get it from the site

Lost Set volume to x db settings - I use that a lot!

Lost all my plugins sad.gif - Now I have to scour the net for them again

Lost all my shortcut settings - Have to redo them, the shortcut-adding interface is slightly different too.

Any kind souls out there would like to provide me with some plugins if you have them? I still need crossfeed, KS, and ah can't remember what else I need.

edit: and most plugins don't work on the new version..... sad.gif Please show me the way to the nearest suicide booth

This post has been edited by maianeh: Mar 27 2006, 08:27 AM
TSfariz
post Mar 27 2006, 08:34 AM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(maianeh @ Mar 27 2006, 08:20 AM)
I updated to 0.9 and now I am sad sad.gif
Lost KS - componentised and I can't seem to get it from the site
Lost Set volume to x db settings  - I use that a lot!
Lost all my plugins sad.gif - Now I have to scour the net for them again
Lost all my shortcut settings - Have to redo them, the shortcut-adding interface is slightly different to.
Any kind souls out there would like to provide me with some plugins if you have them? I still need crossfeed, KS, and ah can't remember what else I need.
edit: and most plugins don't work on the new version..... sad.gif Please show me the way to the nearest suicide booth
nearest suicide booth.

gstoh
post Mar 27 2006, 11:12 AM

INTJ
1,282 posts

what is the advanced limiter for?
Sky.Live
post Mar 27 2006, 06:37 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

any1 can explain wht is crossfeed for..... and .... also support for lossless format in foobar has yet?
maianeh
post Mar 27 2006, 07:39 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(fariz @ Mar 27 2006, 08:34 AM)
Whoa...deja vu...Thanks
It will still be a bit of a wait for everything I want to be updated smile.gif

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Mar 27 2006, 06:37 PM)
any1 can explain wht is crossfeed for..... and .... also support for lossless format in foobar has yet?
crossfeed = simulating speakers on headphones by a delayed left output to the right driver and vice versa, like how you would hear both speakers on any side of your head.

I thought lossless formats have been supported since 0.83? I'm not sure though because I don't have any files encoded losslessly.
giasens
post Mar 27 2006, 09:10 PM

625 posts

haih.
i can view japanese and chinese in foobar 0.83
then i open in 0.9
it's not showing properly.

why would these encoding so headache?

now i wonder want to put tag on id3v1 or id3v2
arghh..
Sky.Live
post Mar 27 2006, 11:14 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(giasens @ Mar 27 2006, 09:10 PM)
haih.
i can view japanese and chinese in foobar 0.83
then i open in 0.9
it's not showing properly.

why would these encoding so headache?

now i wonder want to put tag on id3v1 or id3v2
arghh..
i have exactly the opposite situation as you, i refuse to use foobar 0.83 becoz it display all my properly tag mp3 weiredly, and 0.90 really solve all of them..

wht i mean is 0.90 has not support lossless in defaut (0.83 is installed using a special installer)
TSfariz
post Mar 28 2006, 08:14 AM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Mar 27 2006, 11:14 PM)
wht i mean is 0.90 has not support lossless in defaut (0.83 is installed using a special installer)
FLAC / Ogg FLAC, WavPack are supported natively

APE needs a plugin
Sky.Live
post Mar 28 2006, 06:41 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(fariz @ Mar 28 2006, 08:14 AM)
FLAC / Ogg FLAC, WavPack are supported natively

APE needs a plugin
This component has known unresolved stability issues. ?? anyone expereince this stability issues stuff b4?

31 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0219sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:46 AM