i`m noob about camera/photography
i want to start learn about it..
nywy.. how to know how to judge camera?
let say brand A and brand B is 7.0mp.. & price at the same..
so.. how could differentiate them?
how to judge cam, ~ super noob
Nov 24 2007, 10:51 PM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
322 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Bangi |
i`m noob about camera/photography
i want to start learn about it.. nywy.. how to know how to judge camera? let say brand A and brand B is 7.0mp.. & price at the same.. so.. how could differentiate them? |
Nov 24 2007, 11:17 PM
900 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: lalaland |
im noob in photography...
but... to judge a camera is not by judging its max pixel... durability, warranty, life span, battery consumption rate, memory, processing speed, etc etc etc etc.............................. |
Nov 24 2007, 11:20 PM
erk.. can explain more about it?
Nov 24 2007, 11:34 PM
6,657 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
the easiest entry to know about camera/photography is to go to the book shop like MPH to take a peep at the photography books, very easy to understand coz it shows u all the features n how to read the specs on the brochure....
Nov 25 2007, 04:41 PM
1,835 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
if for normal use,i think 6MP enuff oledi....no need so high mega pixel...higher MP,lesser photos u can take....i think easiest way is ask those promoter or go to the photo lab ask them...they can explain to u very detail
Nov 25 2007, 08:11 PM
244 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i think digi cam is like your clothes.
you have to try them on to know which is suitable for you. whether its comfortable for you or the cutting suits you. if you get a super bombastic camera but never use all the features or you are not comfortable with it also wasted. |
Nov 25 2007, 09:39 PM
962 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: KL |
To TS, surf the net around. There's a lot of discussion going on. There's no perfect cam, different people needs different cams. While one cam good in one direction, it's weak at the other. It got to suit your stail if you want to pick. Some of the basic consideration (this mostly applied to PnS):-
1) Battery consumption, and whether you want rechargeables or AA 2) Lenses length -in PnS most of the given length starts from 35 mm equivalent in 35 mm film camera. 3) Lenses Optical zoom 4) Lenses quality - look for chromatic abberations or purple fringes 5) Image quality particularly at the noises or image details 6) Size for portability 7) Controls whether full manual (PASM mode) or auto 8) Brand name - it'll gives you higher resale value later on because of the demand (just like cars) 9) Image Stabilization - unless you go for F31s you'll mostly want this I hope this helps for TS. |
Nov 27 2007, 08:55 PM
1,131 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: K.L. |
for me i will straight judge the camera with the photo which taken by those camera by different setting.
Nov 27 2007, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(NasiLemakMan @ Nov 25 2007, 09:39 PM) To TS, surf the net around. There's a lot of discussion going on. There's no perfect cam, different people needs different cams. While one cam good in one direction, it's weak at the other. It got to suit your stail if you want to pick. Some of the basic consideration (this mostly applied to PnS):- can u explain to dis super noob here? if possible.. wif example.. really dun understand..1) Battery consumption, and whether you want rechargeables or AA 2) Lenses length -in PnS most of the given length starts from 35 mm equivalent in 35 mm film camera. 3) Lenses Optical zoom 4) Lenses quality - look for chromatic abberations or purple fringes 5) Image quality particularly at the noises or image details 6) Size for portability 7) Controls whether full manual (PASM mode) or auto 8) Brand name - it'll gives you higher resale value later on because of the demand (just like cars) 9) Image Stabilization - unless you go for F31s you'll mostly want this I hope this helps for TS. |
Nov 27 2007, 11:16 PM
744 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Brisbane, Australia |
Hei, I think you should take more time to understan/comprehend what NasiLemakMan posted. If you're at doubt, you can always look at www.google.com =)
Nov 28 2007, 09:58 AM
ok then..
1) Battery consumption - which one is better? AA? rechargeable? or built in? 2) Lenses length -mostly i found 35mm (low end) 3) Lenses Optical zoom - 3x @ 4x is enuf for me.. (as beginner) 4) Lenses quality - chromatic abberations /purple fringes.. found but not much 5) Image quality - how to judge? 6) Size for portability - memory card is it? 7) Controls whether full manual (PASM mode) or auto - which is better? 8) Brand name - your recommendation? 9) Image Stabilization - understood... |
Nov 28 2007, 10:11 AM
6,633 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: www.kelvinchiew.com |
iso also an important factor, for low lighting photography without flash
Nov 28 2007, 11:44 AM
744 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Brisbane, Australia |
QUOTE(bornd @ Nov 28 2007, 09:58 AM) ok then.. Okay, I'll try to give you the best answers I can.1) Battery consumption - which one is better? AA? rechargeable? or built in? 2) Lenses length -mostly i found 35mm (low end) 3) Lenses Optical zoom - 3x @ 4x is enuf for me.. (as beginner) 4) Lenses quality - chromatic abberations /purple fringes.. found but not much 5) Image quality - how to judge? 6) Size for portability - memory card is it? 7) Controls whether full manual (PASM mode) or auto - which is better? 8) Brand name - your recommendation? 9) Image Stabilization - understood... 1) Battery consumption I would prefer Li-ion battery. Anyway what ws meant by battery consumption is how much power will the camera use. Yet again, I don't find this a major issue unless you're in a remote area with no access to electricity or batteries. 2) Lenses Length Depends on what photographs you like to take. Usually all digital cameras nowadays sport wide angles with a zoom feature. Again, it's just a matter of preference. 3) Optical Zoom Matter of preference I guess. The Canon S5 IS has 12X zoom. heh Do bear in mind that digital zoom is also present, but I would advise against it. 4) Lens Quality Do some googling. If you really want to judge it for yourself, go find a friend who has the camera and take a picture. IMO a good lens has good sharpness both at the center and corners, little chromatic abbreation, distortion etc etc. 6) Size for portability I think what is meant here is the camera size. Perhaps you want a camera small enough to fit snuggly into your pocket? 7) Controls whether full manual (PASM mode) or auto I would say full manual is the best. Most digital cameras sport the PAS mode but left out the M mode. I'm speaking based on my IXUS 60. M mode gives you full control over the camera. **CORRECTION : My IXUS 60 only sports the P mode. 8) Brand name User preference, therefore I'd say Canon. As porkchop mentioned, ISO is also an important factor. However, you have to look at the noise the camera produces at such ISO. **NOTE : If any part of my post is invalid, do correct me. Thanks This post has been edited by [ - i l l u s i o n s - ]: Nov 28 2007, 12:28 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0164sec
5 queries
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:05 AM |