University The importance of Final Year Project, Would it affect our careers' opportunity

TSprivacy
post Nov 21 2007, 11:16 AM, updated 19y ago

Hi fellow LYNians I need your advice or two here, I am now in 3rd year out of 4, doing EE degree in MMU. I am very wondering about FYP and don't have very clear ideas of it. My seniors has said that it is the most important subject, Internship being the other in university. Employers or interviewers will almost always concern on your FYP title than the degree CGPA. This has worried me as the time I will be doing FYP will be a tough semester because I have 2 or 3 subjects need to be retaken at the same time, because of failing before.

I need your advice on the FYP, is it that important until companies only look at it rather the overall degree CGPA ? If it really is, I will have to extend the degree duration, maybe allocate the whole sem just for FYP.
Mightypc
post Nov 21 2007, 12:27 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(privacy @ Nov 21 2007, 11:16 AM)
Hi fellow LYNians I need your advice or two here, I am now in 3rd year out of 4, doing EE degree in MMU. I am very wondering about FYP and don't have very clear ideas of it. My seniors has said that it is the most important subject, Internship being the other in university. Employers or interviewers will almost always concern on your FYP title than the degree CGPA. This has worried me as the time I will be doing FYP will be a tough semester because I have 2 or 3 subjects need to be retaken at the same time, because of failing before.

I need your advice on the FYP, is it that important until companies only look at it rather the overall degree CGPA ? If it really is, I will have to extend the degree duration, maybe allocate the whole sem just for FYP.
It very very depending, it could be useful for your future career or useless. If your FYP is related to your job in the future, it is useful.
What kind of questions will be asked in interview is depend on the job that your are applying. For example, you are applying a R&D engineer, of course they will ask you about your FYP. But if you are planning to work for contractor, consultant, sales engineers and bla bla bla... the question would be different.
kennykck
post Nov 21 2007, 03:56 PM

!!!~~<((Bankai))>~~!!!
1,711 posts

Even if ur FYP project very much related to ur applying job, u still have to train from the ground up when working in the company. The things in the long run u should care are communication skill, team work, etc
youngkies
post Nov 21 2007, 04:08 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

it is advantageous esp. if you have a research topic highly relevant to what field you are going to (e.g. microcontroller related topic in electronic field, or power supply in power field). even better if you get high mark that you can proudly mention when you are interviewed why they should get you because you are exposed to these area in your project. it gives the opportunity for employer to have the reason why they should employ you rather than other ee graduates, because you have done /exposed something very related to that field, you got high mark in that project which shows your capability.

else, it is just a very important area for self-development. fyp is totally a different experience compare to all previous years, where you are taught and sit for exam. with fyp, you are independent, self-motivated to carry out research and come out with a thesis. a good thesis do have some advantageous to talk about during the interview, and a good interview is an important process to secure a job, not to mention you can include them in your c.v.

fiqir
post Nov 21 2007, 05:31 PM

BE YOURSELF
3,810 posts

it important because got high CGPA doesn't meant u had secure a job smile.gif
lala01
post Nov 23 2007, 11:37 PM

176 posts

FYP is might be a long term research which is very helpful for yur future undertakings.. especially wen u r doing research type of FYP.. u will learn a lot not only focusing to yur topic, but some other info related to yur topic..

it will be an advantage for yur interview later on.. some might ask u about ideas n opinions.. u can share with them

choose a topic u really understand n interested.. it is a subject/project tat summarized yur 4 or 5 years studies.. smile.gif
azarimy
post Nov 24 2007, 12:25 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

having a practical and realistic FYP will be advantageous for u as it could increase ur value in the eyes of prospective employers. however, it doesnt mean that those who didnt have a good FYP have lesser of a chance. it simply means that if an employer is looking at a bunch of people and looking for a sign that stands out, ur FYP might be the differentiating distinction.

in addition to that, a good FYP is also important at securing a place for masters and eventually PhD. remember that post-grad studies will definitely look into what u've studied and done academically in the past, so a good FYP will stand out like spotlight.
Savor_Savvy
post Nov 24 2007, 09:54 PM

2,776 posts

IMO, practical training is more important as company will hire you base on your experiences during your practical. FYP is also important, but it come after practical and CGPA as some companies will see your CGPA 1st and not your FYP.

If you're pursuing masters or phD, FYP is more important than job experiences.

This post has been edited by Savor_Savvy: Nov 24 2007, 09:55 PM
highwind85
post Nov 30 2007, 03:00 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

Employers tend to look for all-rounders....they wan the best eg. good CGPA, good communications skills...if u dun have gd CGPA then u must have sumthing to compensate it...So a good FYP title and the quality of it would b an advantage for u...That's what my lecturer told me( she's the head of international relations office...)

0.2232sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:27 AM