Can we share experience about football skills?, Well, I mean like....

TSImanAzlan
post Nov 20 2007, 11:57 PM, updated 18y ago

957 posts

Well, I mean like the right way to hit he ball, how to do good tackles or whatsoever... Its like an online coaching... you guys got me?
shah_ho_nam2
post Nov 21 2007, 12:17 AM

らき☆すた
4,242 posts

QUOTE(ImanAzlan @ Nov 21 2007, 12:57 AM)
Well, I mean like the right way to hit he ball, how to do good tackles or whatsoever... Its like an online coaching... you guys got me?
it's all about talents. hardworking can but it took time
pandazhun
post Nov 21 2007, 12:20 AM

PANDARLING DAR ZHUNINHO
830 posts

natural talent?
i tink more about the correct technique.
I bought a book that taught all that...manage to benifits alot...
Doctor Who?
post Nov 21 2007, 12:21 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(shah_ho_nam2 @ Nov 21 2007, 12:17 AM)
it's all about talents. hardworking can but it took time
nah,look at Gattuso,he's not really full of tricks but he's a hardworking and passionate player which still makes him one of the best defensive midfielder in the world biggrin.gif
shah_ho_nam2
post Nov 21 2007, 12:50 AM

らき☆すた
4,242 posts

QUOTE(pandazhun @ Nov 21 2007, 01:20 AM)
natural talent?
quoted

QUOTE(Doctor Who? @ Nov 21 2007, 01:21 AM)
nah,look at Gattuso,he's not really full of tricks but he's a hardworking and passionate player which still makes him one of the best defensive midfielder in the world biggrin.gif
quoted

ok...for those who can't play well (like me) i am blaming on my talent
NasiLemakMan
post Nov 21 2007, 04:52 AM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

Make sure you got a lot of fitness first. Not much match fitness, with all those talents sure gone to waste as you can't defend or run for space later in the game.

From what I know in defense watch the opponents waist rather than his feet. This why it's harder for him to trick you where his gonna go.
Belphegor
post Nov 21 2007, 05:58 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(pandazhun @ Nov 21 2007, 12:20 AM)
natural talent?
Mind to share? smile.gif
TSImanAzlan
post Nov 21 2007, 10:25 AM

957 posts

For me, a good way to challenge aerial ball is to push the opponent a bit so he wont get the ball. But remember, push him using your shoulder/body, don't use hands, its a foul.

So, any tips on crossing while running?
spikeee
post Nov 21 2007, 10:32 AM

2,924 posts

I play week in , week out futsal and field football.

This is my defending strategy (when the attacker is pushing the ball towards you) :

1) Make sure the attacker is at least one arms-length away

- you don't want to be so close to him / her (for the gals) because you aren't able to give buffer space for his / her movement against yours

2) Keep your eyes on the ball, not the player.

- Looking at the waist is not the best way because your focus on the ball will be lost!
- looking at the ball is the most crucial part in defending because you want to win the ball, not the player!
- if you look at the player, you'll probably be deceived by their body movement (dummy movements) and thus be easily dribbled past by them

3) Learn to run at pace backwards

- practice running backwards at pace
- whilst pressing an opponent, always be ready to turn either way to sprint when the ball is pushed past you

4) FINALLY, the MOST IMPORTANT RULE OF DEFENDING!!

- don't attempt to tackle the ball (by tackle, i don't mean sliding, i mean sticking your foot in . aka COMMIT)
- always wait for the offender to commit his movement before you move
- ONLY TACKLE when you're 110% sure that you have read his movement, and are able to win the ball

Defenders who don't follow this four strategies can't get far in the game.
IMHO.
TSImanAzlan
post Nov 21 2007, 10:35 AM

957 posts

@spikee
if he's too far, he'll have much space for long distance shooting... am I right?
spikeee
post Nov 21 2007, 10:35 AM

2,924 posts

QUOTE(ImanAzlan @ Nov 21 2007, 10:25 AM)
For me, a good way to challenge aerial ball is to push the opponent a bit so he wont get the ball. But remember, push him using your shoulder/body, don't use hands, its a foul.

So, any tips on crossing while running?
Actually, to put it correctly, the best way to win an aerial challenge is all about positioning and reading of the game.

If you're in the right place, stand your ground. The opponent may try to jockey for position (push you) but you'll definitely win the ball if you stand your ground in your position and of course JUMP! haha

TSImanAzlan
post Nov 21 2007, 10:58 AM

957 posts

@spikee
so, how to find the right place?
chypher
post Nov 21 2007, 11:17 AM

859 posts

i agree on hardwork and training..

The more you train the better you will be.

as for crossing while running with the ball.. all you need to do is to kick the ball and balance the ball and aim and concentrate..

Remember.. balance the ball.. not your body.. you may fall down when you deliver the cross.. but don't care... Fall down with style... lol
shah_ho_nam2
post Nov 21 2007, 12:11 PM

らき☆すた
4,242 posts

i would say. it's stamina that comes 1st. i usually put skills 2nd as i didn't do that well in skills
-Adrian-
post Nov 21 2007, 12:21 PM

826 posts

yea its true stamina counts
if u lack it half the time ure chasing shadows

use the force
to find better position XD

This post has been edited by -Adrian-: Nov 21 2007, 12:23 PM
shah_ho_nam2
post Nov 21 2007, 12:37 PM

らき☆すた
4,242 posts

QUOTE(-Adrian- @ Nov 21 2007, 01:21 PM)
yea its true stamina counts
if u lack it half the time ure chasing shadows

use the force
to find better position XD
when playing football i always use strategy. i'll pick the fastest player for half time, they'll do the scoring. the method are easy. always use long pass where u have to force your opponent runs alot and that would required lots of energy to begin with. since the have used lotsa energy at 1st half normally they will become slower at 2nd half and that's the time when skillful one also lost thier pace. then it comes for me to score. the stamina one rules
JonC
post Nov 21 2007, 12:42 PM

Forever Silenced But The Truth Will Be Told - JFT96
1,612 posts

spikeee's tips for defending is spot on. Also remember not to open your legs to wide as smart opposing strikers will notice u looking at the ball and cheekily try to slot it between your legs if they can't out turn you as you're covering their angles, close enough to block their movement towards goal but not overly committed to give them space .
vreis
post Nov 21 2007, 02:05 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(JonC @ Nov 21 2007, 12:42 PM)
spikeee's tips for defending is spot on. Also remember not to open your legs to wide as smart opposing strikers will notice u looking at the ball and cheekily try to slot it between your legs if they can't out turn you as you're covering their angles, close enough to block their movement towards goal but not overly committed to give them space .
As they said "Ole" rclxm9.gif Thats the beauty of football laugh.gif
fun_feng
post Nov 21 2007, 02:57 PM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

Stamina is the no1 thing for amateurs.

Boundless of stamina and a good solid base skill is a must when playing in full field.

Good base skill like receiving the ball. A lot of poor player fail on their first touch and see the ball bounce away.

Another is passing the ball, Adui a lot of ppl like to pass at full speed or lob to u instead of on the ground. On the ground is always easier.
spikeee
post Nov 21 2007, 03:18 PM

2,924 posts

QUOTE(ImanAzlan @ Nov 21 2007, 10:35 AM)
@spikee
if he's too far, he'll have much space for long distance shooting... am I right?
Yups that's why the technique is called pressing .

Pressing = Staying at approximately one arms length away from the attacker.

That way, when you see that he's going for a shot, you can close him down instantly.
Or another scenario would be the space will give you time to adjust your body to shift directions if he's going to use pace to beat you.

QUOTE(ImanAzlan @ Nov 21 2007, 10:58 AM)
@spikee
so, how to find the right place?
well that depends on your vision of play. you've got to learn to estimate where the ball will reach when it's in the air. that takes practice, and lots of practice at that too!

Thanks JonC! smile.gif i love attacking, but i usually play as a central defender because of my annoyingly loud voice, and physique! haha

TSImanAzlan
post Nov 21 2007, 03:46 PM

957 posts

@JonC
I've been ole'd too many times lol...
JonC
post Nov 21 2007, 03:52 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(spikeee @ Nov 21 2007, 03:18 PM)
Thanks JonC! smile.gif i love attacking, but i usually play as a central defender because of my annoyingly loud voice, and physique! haha
I'm not skillful enough and do not have enough goal scoring instinct to play anywhere else but in defense - right or left back. The only thing i have is to be at the right place at the right time to breakup an attack. brows.gif

Added on November 21, 2007, 3:53 pm
QUOTE(ImanAzlan @ Nov 21 2007, 03:46 PM)
@JonC
I've been ole'd too many times lol...
That's how i managed to learn... after i also got ole'd a lot especially in futsal matches!!! brows.gif

This post has been edited by JonC: Nov 21 2007, 03:53 PM
TSImanAzlan
post Nov 21 2007, 05:42 PM

957 posts

alright, new question:

how do I lob the ball without damaging my studs?
easypeasy
post Nov 21 2007, 07:27 PM

564 posts

Can you not damage your studs when playing football? I doubt so. Football boots undergo wear and tear. The studs will get thinner eventually. Back to the Q, I think the technique to lob the ball is to kick chop the bottom of the ball, like Beckham or like the goalkeepers kicking their goalkicks. Add more power to make the lob further.(hopefully you understand what I'm talking about tongue.gif )

On defensive headers, try to target the bottom half of the ball with your forehead; jump and head it upwards so that the ball will go far away from your goal. And channel your heading to the flanks so you'll give no chance for the opposition to make a 20-30 yarder Gerrard style. Another thing is jockeying, where you stood on your ground and didn't commit, like mentioned in the 1st page. Try to follow your opponent's movement and when you're certainly confident you tackle him. That's what I do when playing real and virtual football(winning eleven/pro evo biggrin.gif ) and so far it's quite successful.

There's a site on BBC regarding football skills and techniques but I'm not sure whether people outside the UK will be able to watch it. BBC Football Skills. Also it might be useful to know a little bit of other techniques, such as the Cruyff Turn. It might come handy when you're stuck in the corner. And there are also many skills like the Zico's, Adriano's and Rai's flick to learn which I found quite interesting.

Anyway I made a thread on football coaching(now a few pages back) regarding issues of coaching etc. I'm wondering if anybody's into coaching, or planning to get into coaching?

This post has been edited by easypeasy: Nov 21 2007, 07:32 PM
popsoul
post Nov 21 2007, 07:30 PM

不死鳥
2,358 posts

Quit smoking everyone to get better skills and stamina. biggrin.gif
jackanory
post Nov 21 2007, 07:35 PM

349 posts

always be 100% commited when u tackle.
eyes on d ball.
always have a ball at your feet, play around wit it.. when possible.. trust me it makes a difference. ( im not saying take d ball along when u got to d loo & sleeping).. try juggling a lot.

This post has been edited by jackanory: Nov 21 2007, 07:35 PM
-Adrian-
post Nov 21 2007, 08:05 PM

826 posts

anybody know how to juggle?
im pretty decent at playing but my balance with ball is rather.... unbalanced lol

as a defender
top class matches u must your head to clear

but its ok to use your knee too (like i do lol but i know its wrong)
guess its my own technique
just as long as your friend can receive it (rather effective i might say XD)

must mark the striker who usually is the target for passes

pyroboy1911
post Nov 21 2007, 08:10 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

sometimes it depends on your confidence too. If you know sometimes u can do it but sometimes dont, then always make urself think that you can do it. Over a period of time, the success rate will be a lot higher.

Another thing is, always have the "miracle" thinking. always anticipate something will happen. I always have this mentality, and i had scored many last-minute-and-important goals.
pandazhun
post Nov 21 2007, 08:22 PM

PANDARLING DAR ZHUNINHO
830 posts

QUOTE(easypeasy @ Nov 21 2007, 07:27 PM)
Anyway I made a thread on football coaching(now a few pages back) regarding issues of coaching etc. I'm wondering if anybody's into coaching, or planning to get into coaching?
how bout u forming a team and be the coach and try to get sponsor?
I would be glad be join ur team as a player... tongue.gif
nowadays at KL seldom have chance to play football other than follow datuk Jonno to play futsal and with some other friends...
would b good if i can join some team and have regular football... biggrin.gif

Added on November 21, 2007, 8:24 pm
QUOTE(-Adrian- @ Nov 21 2007, 08:05 PM)
im pretty decent at playing but my balance with ball is rather.... unbalanced lol

as a defender

focus and eyes on the ball....

as I juggle for some time...i notice that my body is getting tired and that stops me from keep on juggling...
any1 mind to tunjuk ajar a bit?

This post has been edited by pandazhun: Nov 21 2007, 08:24 PM
Doctor Who?
post Nov 21 2007, 09:16 PM

339 posts

how long do you usually juggle?4 hours?hahaha
pandazhun
post Nov 21 2007, 10:26 PM

PANDARLING DAR ZHUNINHO
830 posts

QUOTE(Doctor Who? @ Nov 21 2007, 09:16 PM)
how long do you usually juggle?4 hours?hahaha
blush.gif blush.gif
less than half an hour then get tired d....
tongue.gif
Imdarren
post Nov 21 2007, 11:00 PM

370 posts

Actually what is important is you develop your own technique. Eg, the way u kick, the way u hit the ball. I doubt anyone can teach how to kick a ball through online or videos effectively.

but what is recommended is try to spend more time learning the basics of the game rather than learning how to do 'skills'. Basics as in tactically or positioning. Also, train what you think is most beneficial to your style of playing in your position.

Dont la you play center defender and then waste time learning how to kick free kicks or curl a ball. Try to emphasize more on the technical areas after you truly understand what the position you currently playing needs. peace
Belphegor
post Nov 21 2007, 11:07 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

I heard someone mentioned about forming a team. Count me in as well. I can be RB and CB. biggrin.gif
-Adrian-
post Nov 21 2007, 11:39 PM

826 posts

i wouldn't mind partnering u in CB too lol
pandazhun
post Nov 21 2007, 11:47 PM

PANDARLING DAR ZHUNINHO
830 posts

let's form a team!
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/558626
spikeee
post Nov 22 2007, 02:11 PM

2,924 posts

haha i play every week in a full field. if one or two of you interested, you can always join my team. we usually have a full 11 vs 11 side every week
shahiwan
post Nov 22 2007, 08:26 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(Adrian @ Nov 21 2007, 08:05 PM)

as a defender

there is no other way to master juggling technique if you
don't practice every day.this technique is crucial for striker
cause striker need to learn how to receive and balance the ball.
i think juggling technique was a part of important technique
to playing better football.

defender also need to use any part of his body to receive the ball
if u are one on one with opponent whose has a ball,lower your body
and dont take off your eyes on ball.(if u see how basketball player
defend,then u will know) nod.gif .this will make sure that u have enough time to react
according to opponent movement. thumbup.gif

FauxHawk
post Nov 23 2007, 02:25 PM

<3
1,340 posts

QUOTE(Imdarren @ Nov 21 2007, 11:00 PM)
Actually what is important is you develop your own technique. Eg, the way u kick, the way u hit the ball. I doubt anyone can teach how to kick a ball through online or videos effectively.

but what is recommended is try to spend more time learning the basics of the game rather than learning how to do 'skills'. Basics as in tactically or positioning. Also, train what you think is most beneficial to your style of playing in your position.

Dont la you play center defender and then waste time learning how to kick free kicks or curl a ball. Try to emphasize more on the technical areas after you truly understand what the position you currently playing needs. peace
True, play using ur own style, coz diff ppl haf diff body physique and haf diff body balance.. wat may work for another may screw u up...
shahiwan
post Nov 24 2007, 10:42 AM

46 posts

if u want get quicker,or quick feet go this site...
courtesy of nike rclxms.gif

nike zoom training
spikeee
post Nov 24 2007, 11:59 AM

2,924 posts

let's discuss. which positions require the following attributes the most and why?

1. pace
2. stamina
3. agility
4. aggression
5. composure

Doctor Who?
post Nov 24 2007, 08:36 PM

339 posts

thats more of a striker's attribute cause as we all know pace is really important for strikers to run through defenders and they do need alot of stamina cause of their constant running around the penalty box and for long balls passed to them,as for agility u need to be quick with your respond to put the ball into the net,strikers also need to be aggressive to out-muscle stronger defenders and finally composure,thats to stay calm and score! biggrin.gif
lauwy
post Nov 24 2007, 10:50 PM

134 posts

i always ply CB ... and wat i like is to get the ball n start running... do a Counter Atk ? lol... it's quite fun.. wen all the people are attacking u suddenly push them back.. i don't do it often tho.. quite dangerous as im not so gud in passing thru the defenders... onli works wen the other teams defends slack off ..
Belphegor
post Nov 25 2007, 12:33 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

I'm more to Terry type of defender. I only go up when there's corner. tongue.gif
shah_ho_nam
post Nov 25 2007, 01:02 AM

らき☆すた
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Nov 25 2007, 12:33 AM)
I'm more to Terry type of defender. I only go up when there's corner. tongue.gif
u stay tall as teryy also i guess???
Doctor Who?
post Nov 25 2007, 09:21 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(lauwy @ Nov 24 2007, 10:50 PM)
i always ply CB ... and wat i like is to get the ball n start running... do a Counter Atk ? lol... it's quite fun.. wen all the people are attacking u suddenly push them back.. i don't do it often tho.. quite dangerous as im not so gud in passing thru the defenders... onli works wen the other teams defends slack off ..
haha,me too!i play as CB too and i love it whenever i get the ball in my own half and run up towards the opposition's half! biggrin.gif
Belphegor
post Nov 25 2007, 09:33 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(shah_ho_nam @ Nov 25 2007, 01:02 AM)
u stay tall as teryy also i guess???
Nah, only 176cm. sad.gif How I wish I can be 180cm. cry.gif But I'm stable.. cause i'm *cough*fat*cough*.. tongue.gif
Doctor Who?
post Nov 25 2007, 08:36 PM

339 posts

well height doesn't really matter does it?i mean there are a few good centre-backs that are not really tall like Roberto Ayala,he's 175 cm and Fabio Cannavaro's 176 cm but as far as i know they can jump very high smile.gif
Belphegor
post Nov 25 2007, 08:51 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Yeah height wasn't really a matter but weight is.. cry.gif
jason18689
post Nov 25 2007, 08:56 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

football skills ?
sometimes i see players doing skills on youtube...and then, just bring a ball and go to an empty ground....then, starts to practice it....
sometimes, runs with the ball, and you will discover some new skills....HAH..

anyone can tell me, who is good in acceleration and pace ?
izzit really a gift or you gain it from training ?
Belphegor
post Nov 25 2007, 09:03 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

You need to run around with the ball control. Basically the players with pace are usually makes the defender looks stupid. The ball are like stick with the boots..
SephiRave
post Nov 25 2007, 09:22 PM

456 posts

I don't have pace (Not too heavy but having 190 cm height makes it difficult to sprint for me), I suck at defending...All I do is always sticking with the opposition backline, and poach for "unglorious" tap-in goals....

How am I gonna improve as a CF?
Any suggestions?

P/S: Always being booed for running slow....Always benched even though scoring...

ervinliew86
post Nov 25 2007, 09:39 PM

Ibra Kadabra!
2,338 posts

SephiRave, u're a peter Crouch. haha... seriously. U'r 190cm? damn, dat's tall. I'm only 180cm & i love playing CM or DM. I prefer to stay in the centre field rather than making run at the side.

Hey man, take ur height as a blessing. If u hav a good crosser in ur team, then u'r height is one big advantage. Learn how to chest down the ball & control it. U can make a darting run till the far end, & someone might crossed it to u. Jump (because u're tall, when u jump, u will definately win the ball if u applied the right tactic) & chest the ball down, or head it to ur team mates around. Heading will be a HUGE advantage. When comes to set pieces, with such height, u dominate the air, man. Learn to time ur jump correctly & make contact on the ball with ur forehead. Master ur heading, eg direction of ur header, then u, my friend will be the every defenders' nightmare.... biggrin.gif
Belphegor
post Nov 25 2007, 09:42 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Hardly any.. cause this says it all..

You might as well train your header and chest. Maybe shooting skills? and accuracy?

Added on November 25, 2007, 9:46 pm
QUOTE(ervinliew86 @ Nov 25 2007, 09:39 PM)
SephiRave, u're a peter Crouch. haha... seriously. U'r 190cm? damn, dat's tall. I'm only 180cm & i love playing CM or DM. I prefer to stay in the centre field rather than making run at the side.

Hey man, take ur height as a blessing. If u hav a good crosser in ur team, then u'r height is one big advantage. Learn how to chest down the ball & control it. U can make a darting run till the far end, & someone might crossed it to u. Jump (because u're tall, when u jump, u will definately win the ball if u applied the right tactic) & chest the ball down, or head it to ur team mates around. Heading will be a HUGE advantage. When comes to set pieces, with such height, u dominate the air, man. Learn to time ur jump correctly & make contact on the ball with ur forehead. Master ur heading, eg direction of ur header, then u, my friend will be the every defenders' nightmare.... biggrin.gif
I am a good crosser.. nod.gif ... blink.gif Well at least my crossing will definitely not to make people run like crazy. I got good accuracy. tongue.gif

Added on November 25, 2007, 9:47 pm
QUOTE(SephiRave @ Nov 25 2007, 09:22 PM)
I don't have pace (Not too heavy but having 190 cm height makes it difficult to sprint for me), I suck at defending...All I do is always sticking with the opposition backline, and poach for "unglorious" tap-in goals....

How am I gonna improve as a CF?
Any suggestions?

P/S: Always being booed for running slow....Always benched even though scoring...
Btw bro, wanna play some football? Join the team! smile.gif Click on the thread under my siggy. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Belphegor: Nov 25 2007, 09:47 PM
SephiRave
post Nov 25 2007, 09:49 PM

456 posts

One thing is that....The crossers in my team does not gel well with me...
One thing is because I tend to chest the ball than heading...(My heading sucks)
And their cross is like shooting, once kena the head sure headache, even kena the chest also a bit pain.
In the box I normally use my body to outmuscle the defenders to find some space...
ervinliew86
post Nov 25 2007, 09:55 PM

Ibra Kadabra!
2,338 posts

QUOTE(SephiRave @ Nov 25 2007, 09:49 PM)
And their cross is like shooting, once kena the head sure headache, even kena the chest also a bit pain.
In the box I normally use my body to outmuscle the defenders to find some space...
Bro, practice makes perfect. No one was born a good header. Try to get one of ur fren who's able to cross the ball & practice with him. It benefits both side, u can practice header, while ur fren can practice crossings. Try to talk to them & make everything clear lo. They wan to play football, & so do u, rite? smile.gif

Added on November 25, 2007, 9:58 pm
QUOTE(Belphegor @ Nov 25 2007, 09:42 PM)

Added on November 25, 2007, 9:46 pm
I am a good crosser..  nod.gif ... blink.gif  Well at least my crossing will definitely not to make people run like crazy. I got good accuracy. tongue.gif
hehe. quite confident ar, kawan. haha. I'm not good in crossing, but i love making through pass, finding gap between oppsition & make the killer pass. That's the kind of player I am. haha...

This post has been edited by ervinliew86: Nov 25 2007, 09:58 PM
Doctor Who?
post Nov 25 2007, 10:04 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Nov 25 2007, 08:51 PM)
Yeah height wasn't really a matter but weight is.. cry.gif
haha,how heavy are you? ohmy.gif
FauxHawk
post Nov 25 2007, 10:12 PM

<3
1,340 posts

Do like Crouch, bicycle kick it in.. scare all the defenders away by jumping high in the air and smashin in ball into the the back of the net XD
SephiRave
post Nov 25 2007, 10:14 PM

456 posts

My weight is 78kg
Doctor Who?
post Nov 25 2007, 11:33 PM

339 posts

well,i practice heading like this,i throw the ball towards the wall and header it,trying not to let the ball touch the ground haha
pandazhun
post Nov 25 2007, 11:53 PM

PANDARLING DAR ZHUNINHO
830 posts

QUOTE(Doctor Who? @ Nov 25 2007, 11:33 PM)
well,i practice heading like this,i throw the ball towards the wall and header it,trying not to let the ball touch the ground haha
so that u can repeatly head the ball against the post during matches? shakehead.gif
good way to practise directing the ball with ur head though nod.gif

This post has been edited by pandazhun: Nov 25 2007, 11:54 PM
hoilok
post Nov 26 2007, 12:04 AM

1,165 posts

glancing header..........will not be so pain
-Adrian-
post Nov 26 2007, 12:13 AM

826 posts

the prob is many ppl cant cross properly
too low or too high difficult to anticipate and go into position

but shuldnt be an excuse if pro already XD

glancing will be the rite way
as long as in rite direction lol
Doctor Who?
post Nov 26 2007, 01:56 AM

339 posts

yea but keep your eyes open when you glance,remember get to the ball,don't let the ball gets you! smile.gif
spikeee
post Nov 26 2007, 08:49 AM

2,924 posts

Yeah most people who hit headers close their headers. mistake no 1
Doctor Who?
post Nov 26 2007, 09:21 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(spikeee @ Nov 26 2007, 08:49 AM)
Yeah most people who hit headers close their headers. mistake no 1
you mean close their eyes? tongue.gif
TSImanAzlan
post Nov 26 2007, 10:50 AM

957 posts

lol, my eyes will blind if got hit by the new adidas teamgeist lol...
chypher
post Nov 26 2007, 03:12 PM

859 posts

trust me.. heading the ball is not that painful if u head it with ur forehead.
Belphegor
post Nov 26 2007, 07:27 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Doctor Who? @ Nov 25 2007, 10:04 PM)
haha,how heavy are you? ohmy.gif
Very heavy. But that makes me a steady central defender.. So, yeah. tongue.gif I was previously play right midfield, defensive midfield.. and now central defender.. cry.gif sounds like downgrading.. dry.gif But I'm still okay with crossing.. So SephiRave, come with me.. I'll cross the ball for you. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Belphegor: Nov 26 2007, 07:28 PM
SephiRave
post Nov 26 2007, 07:46 PM

456 posts

Haha, I would love to...(If got chance in the future)
Now only finished SPM
Belphegor
post Nov 26 2007, 07:49 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Then can la.. Where you stay? tongue.gif PJ KL?
spikeee
post Nov 27 2007, 04:08 PM

2,924 posts

yeah too many ppl keep their eyes closed when heading. that's not good technique
prelude23
post Nov 28 2007, 09:51 PM

fYeah!!
2,497 posts

I think I'm an all rounder but my weakness should be I cant dribble. But this is not important. Another weakness is when I come to play against player who are bigger size than me, I can really win headers and shield the ball from them. How to make myself tougher bit?
TSImanAzlan
post Nov 28 2007, 10:14 PM

957 posts

@prelude
for me, I do push ups 2 times a day, 100 every session... So far so good, playing versus form 5 guys that has 170/180++ height... no probs, wins almost every time...huhu...
prelude23
post Nov 28 2007, 10:26 PM

fYeah!!
2,497 posts

QUOTE(ImanAzlan @ Nov 28 2007, 10:14 PM)
@prelude
for me, I do push ups 2 times a day, 100 every session... So far so good, playing versus form 5 guys that has 170/180++ height... no probs, wins almost every time...huhu...
I really hope I do have a determination like you. Goodjob mate.
TSImanAzlan
post Nov 28 2007, 10:29 PM

957 posts

yeah, but after raya, all of that had stopped, banyak makan kuih raya..lol...
Belphegor
post Nov 28 2007, 10:49 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(prelude23 @ Nov 28 2007, 09:51 PM)
I think I'm an all rounder but my weakness should be I cant dribble. But this is not important. Another weakness is when I come to play against player who are bigger size than me, I can really win headers and shield the ball from them. How to make myself tougher bit?
Use the speed. Bigger size are mostly can't move that fast. But if you facing an experience defender then is another story.
Doctor Who?
post Nov 29 2007, 09:17 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Nov 28 2007, 10:49 PM)
Use the speed. Bigger size are mostly can't move that fast. But if you facing an experience defender then is another story.
i had a friend in my school who's 175 cm,75 kg and he can run like a pitbull tongue.gif
Belphegor
post Nov 29 2007, 09:33 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

I'm 176cm and obesity but I got explosion speed. Just that no stamina. laugh.gif Plus, I'm a defender nowadays. So is okay for me I guess. rolleyes.gif
blinky
post Nov 29 2007, 10:22 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

I used to play in the Selangor League, now I just play social futsal twice a week.

I'm a natural striker and occasional winger.

Anything I can help?smile.gif
TSImanAzlan
post Nov 29 2007, 11:07 AM

957 posts

yeah, I would like to know if there's any training that can make myself balanced while dribbling...
Doctor Who?
post Nov 29 2007, 11:15 AM

339 posts

how do you really strike the ball with accuracy?i mean as in shooting,i am okay with my long and short passes but shooting seems to be my biggest problem blush.gif

This post has been edited by Doctor Who?: Nov 29 2007, 11:16 AM
Belphegor
post Nov 29 2007, 12:49 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Nov 29 2007, 10:22 AM)
I used to play in the Selangor League, now I just play social futsal twice a week.

I'm a natural striker and occasional winger.

Anything I can help?smile.gif
Join the football thread? tongue.gif

QUOTE(Doctor Who? @ Nov 29 2007, 11:15 AM)
how do you really strike the ball with accuracy?i mean as in shooting,i am okay with my long and short passes but shooting seems to be my biggest problem blush.gif
Same here. I always having that problem when I'm a midfielder. But now I'm defender so doesn't make any big difference as I only need to clear the ball up up.. laugh.gif
TSImanAzlan
post Nov 29 2007, 09:29 PM

957 posts

agreed! lol, but hey, for me, I do finesse shot like in FIFA 07/08 but heck, I'm lack of goal scoring instinct so, never score larhh...
MADReaLJL
post Nov 29 2007, 10:19 PM

4,050 posts

i used to play as striker when playing futsal, usually scores every game smile.gif
and leftback in field football because not enough stamina, but i have good acceleration
Doctor Who?
post Nov 29 2007, 11:40 PM

339 posts

so anyone care to enlighten us? biggrin.gif
Belphegor
post Nov 29 2007, 11:45 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

enlighten what? O.o
Doctor Who?
post Nov 29 2007, 11:47 PM

339 posts

erm,how to strike the ball with swift accuracy? smile.gif
TSImanAzlan
post Nov 29 2007, 11:55 PM

957 posts

lol
I thought I replied already? lol
spikeee
post Nov 30 2007, 10:44 AM

2,924 posts

It really depends on WHAT type of shot you want to strike. Do you want to strike it with power? Do you want to strike it for positioning? Do you want to chip it?

1. Power - The best manner to strike it with power is to strike it with the inner front part of your foot. The positioning of your non-striking foot is very important too for you to gain balance.

Be careful not to dig TOO deep under the ball or else you'll end up like the old Kanu - Missing sitters right in frnt of Goal.

2. Positioning - Depending on whether you're going for near post or far post and with which leg (natural sided leg or non natural sided leg) you are going to strike it with.

Scenario :

Natural Side Leg - Right Footed
Attacking from - Left of Midfield
Aimed Position - Far Post

You want to slice the ball from inside to outside with your INSOLE. Almost like a pass, but far greater slice involved.

3. Chip Shot

You just want to dig a bit into the ball and lift it into the air. Requires lots of practice, of course haha

TSImanAzlan
post Nov 30 2007, 11:28 AM

957 posts

Chip shot will destroy your studs...haha... unless you play in old trafford lol...
Doctor Who?
post Nov 30 2007, 11:33 AM

339 posts

oh,i see!thanks for the info! biggrin.gif
TSImanAzlan
post Nov 30 2007, 12:19 PM

957 posts

err...guys~ please help me, i dunno how to balance my body...
chypher
post Nov 30 2007, 04:14 PM

859 posts

just try to learn to fall down with style...

lol..
PrinceOfPersia
post Nov 30 2007, 04:19 PM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

my ronaldo skills in WE2008 (PS3) tongue.gif

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
JonC
post Nov 30 2007, 04:30 PM

1,612 posts

To follow-up on spikee's tips on kicking / striking the ball:

Make sure your standing leg - ie your left leg if you're a right footer, is parallel to the ball so your kicking leg and foot position will give you more balance, accuracy and power. Lean your body forward to keep your shots lower and hard. If you open up your body or lean back slightly, your foot and body position will make you curl the ball and lift the ball high.

Hope this helps! smile.gif
TSImanAzlan
post Nov 30 2007, 06:40 PM

957 posts

@JonC
thanks, just tried... really cool, the ball traveling forward hastily smile.gif
Belphegor
post Dec 1 2007, 07:15 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

How to curl the ball then? Curl like Beckham. tongue.gif
Joshiet
post Dec 1 2007, 07:41 PM

383 posts

Curling is not big deal can kick a ball then the curl will come
akRia
post Dec 1 2007, 07:50 PM

...~+noob+~...
1,998 posts

QUOTE(Joshiet @ Dec 1 2007, 07:41 PM)
very big difference between us layman curl and their better curl. have u ever see before a corner kick, that it's curling speed and angle managed to keep the ball curl into the net. biggrin.gif bechkam didnt bend it like beckham for nothing

ps: when comes to freekick/deadball taker,beckham is always the best in my mind wakakaka
Belphegor
post Dec 1 2007, 09:50 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Joshiet @ Dec 1 2007, 07:41 PM)
The curl was not good enough. If can curl more than intentional curl would be better.
pandazhun
post Dec 1 2007, 10:06 PM

PANDARLING DAR ZHUNINHO
830 posts

QUOTE(akRia @ Dec 1 2007, 07:50 PM)
very big difference between us layman curl and their better curl. have u ever see before a corner kick, that it's curling speed and angle managed to keep the ball curl into the net. biggrin.gif bechkam didnt bend it like beckham for nothing
ps: when comes to freekick/deadball taker,beckham is always the best in my mind wakakaka
beckham fan ya...
curling ball is good enuf to score from corner...
Quick`
post Dec 1 2007, 10:19 PM

735 posts

this sports involves physical body movement..its kinda difficult if you ask me to coach or advice through online
as much as we type all the advice we have here
its different when we actually do or perform it on the field...
different angles,positions...its hard

TSImanAzlan
post Dec 1 2007, 10:49 PM

957 posts

@quick
yeah but hey, at least there are something that need theory smile.gif
Belphegor
post Dec 1 2007, 10:52 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Maybe I should buy the book.. Football for dummies. tongue.gif
TSImanAzlan
post Dec 1 2007, 10:58 PM

957 posts

lol... you're not a dummy, even though you can make the DUMMY MOVES, right?
Belphegor
post Dec 1 2007, 11:55 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Learn more ma.. Maybe there's something I don't know in the dummies book. biggrin.gif
spikeee
post Dec 2 2007, 12:30 AM

2,924 posts

there probably usually is! Basic Techniques, etc!

For Agility (Balance) :

1. Dribble a ball through many cones. Keep increasing the speed

2. Run in zig zag positions. Keep shifting your weight and direction

For acceleration :

1. Put 3 balls around 5 feet apart from each other.
SPRINT to ball 1, touch the ground with your palm, turn around and SPRINT back to starting line.

Then SPRINT to ball 2 and do the same thing. So on and so forth.

I believe this helps with agility as well (Ability to switch directions well, ability to turn well, ability to change your height as you run as well)

Hey a lot of times, understanding the CONCEPT of each move (Theory) ;technique is MORE CRUCIAL than just being able to do it!

Why you think Malaysian national team so lousy? Cause on the field they think they know how to do moves, but they don't understand CONCEPTS enough to vary and adjust accordingly during play!

Intelligence low. Decision Making Low. Composure Low. INTELLIGENCE LOW.
Belphegor
post Dec 2 2007, 12:36 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

You mentioned Intelligence low twice.. sweat.gif
Yaozz
post Dec 2 2007, 03:44 PM

544 posts

I can play but i suck with those cones training etc .Why ah
Belphegor
post Dec 2 2007, 03:45 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Lack of training. tongue.gif
SUSHaunkiem
post Dec 2 2007, 10:18 PM

526 posts

long distance running mixed with shorts sprints .

practice kicking a ball against a wall with BOTH feet - a great way to practice passing , shooting , chipping etc and controlling the ball too.
spikeee
post Dec 3 2007, 11:40 AM

2,924 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Dec 2 2007, 12:36 AM)
You mentioned Intelligence low twice.. sweat.gif
haha that was the point hehe

yeah long distance running + short sprints here and there is good as well!
blinky
post Dec 3 2007, 12:07 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(ImanAzlan @ Nov 29 2007, 11:07 AM)
yeah, I would like to know if there's any training that can make myself balanced while dribbling...
Sorry for the late replies.

Anyway I will try to help as much as I can and try to put it to layman terms.

To ImanAzlan, interesting question there. Honestly, dribbling is very much the biggest part and interest of my game. I started out as a left winger when I played for the Selangor League (I was 18 then and the youngest player in the whole team or even maybe the league). Obviously, it was a problem for me because I was on the skinny side and frustratingly all the opponents' right backs are big huge Africans or Indians.

Nothing racial here, but being a Chinese, I hate the way Chinese play football. I always think Indians - Brazilians, Malays - Argentinians and Chinese - English. Chinese here very often lack the technical and creative aspect of the game, which I'd say lacking of flair. Hence, I've been working on it since at a very young age.

First, boots. If you want good balance, you have to get yourself a good pair of boots. If you're heavy, get yourself something light and vice versa. It's quite difficult when you're big in size and you still play with heavy boots. Try Puma, I personally like Puma boots a lot, they give very good balancing during the game.

Next, confidence. You have to be confident in yourself when you dribble. Don't think too much about "what if I lose the ball?" or "what if he breaks my leg?", convert those thoughts into "what do I do after I nutmegged him?" or "who do I pass to after I get pass this defender?". You cannot have negativity during a game, that is the most important part.

Third, think ahead. Always visualise what is going to happen and what do you want to do next in the game. Don't leave it to the last minute. Usually, when my defenders are having the ball, I'll start to visualise how I'd want the next move to be executed or even how the next goal to be scored. Pick up the ball, run through several defenders and hit the net? Pick up your striker with a long ball? Shoot from the midway line? Up to you. Just think ahead.

Fourth, when you dribble, look at the ball, not at your feet. You have to know where are you standing in the pitch before you dribble. Dribbling takes a lot of concentration and you cannot afford to worry where the touchline is or where the goal is when you execute your skills. So you have to "feel" where is the goal and where is the touchline, where are your team mates and where are your oppositions.

Fifth, Joga Bonito. Watch some videos from Cristiano Ronaldo or Ronaldinho. Learn the moves, and use it during a friendly game. It's okay to be ridiculed when you fail, but just keep trying and you'll perfect them. I once overhead-flicked the ball pass a gigantic Kiwi-ian defender and rounded the 'keeper to score. You have no idea how that felt, especially you're playing in a professional stadium during the night. So just keep trying, nothing wrong.

I've always liked dribbling. And even now I stopped playing in the League, I still perform tricks during my social Sunday morning games of futsal. It's fun and thoroughly satisfying. Try juggling the ball for a start if you're really bad at dribbling, having good ball control immensely improves your balance and dribbling. I've personally reached 580 juggles of the ball without touching the ground, and I'm still looking for ways to improve.

QUOTE(Doctor Who? @ Nov 29 2007, 11:15 AM)
Shooting, of course is also the biggest part of a striker's game.

My tip for this will be very simple - ACCURACY OVER POWER.

I have always believed in shooting accurately rather than booting the ball and pray for a goal. Shooting with power applies more to midfielders. However, I hope I still can give some pointers.

ACCURACY SHOOTING - Simpler than it sounds. Aim, predict where the keeper will diver, and use the inner side of your foot to slot the ball in. Takes a lot of practice. I used to book a futsal court for myself to practice my shooting. First, try passing the ball into the net from short range, then go further and all the way until the other end of the court. Then, try shooting with your eyes closed. Why? Because in the game, when you're crowded with defenders and so little time, you're as good as shooting without vision. So it's always good to try shooting accurately without actually looking at the goal. You have to know where the goal is, you just have to feel it.

POWER SHOOTING - Practice. That's all I can say. Always use the top of your feet to power them in. Hit the top side of the ball to shoot a grounder or hit the bottom to rocket them up the net. Up to you. But lots and lots of practice and do eat more if you're on the weak side.

Always remember, with more POWER, your ACCURACY decreased and vice versa. As a striker, I've always preferred to pass the ball into the net. I only use power when I'm in the midfield position.

Anyway, hope that helps. I currently play for Saintz FC and we're a futsal team. I'm the youngest player and the lone striker of the team and I've scored more than 200 goals for the club. If you guys are interested for a friendly, we do play at Sports Barn every Sunday and Samba Futsal every Thursday night. Drop me a message if you want a game smile.gif

p/s: In case you guys are wondering, I quit the Selangor League because I started smoking and it has affected my game (or so the coach says). I'm 22 now so that was 4 years ago.
Doctor Who?
post Dec 3 2007, 01:33 PM

339 posts

@blinky

when you mean the top of your feet,where exactly do you mean?sorry,i am a little bit dumb..... blush.gif
blinky
post Dec 3 2007, 03:56 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(Doctor Who? @ Dec 3 2007, 01:33 PM)
@blinky

when you mean the top of your feet,where exactly do you mean?sorry,i am a little bit dumb..... blush.gif
The top, um... means the top of your toes, where your toenails are.
Doctor Who?
post Dec 3 2007, 05:15 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Dec 3 2007, 03:56 PM)
The top, um... means the top of your toes, where your toenails are.
erm do i need to have my pointing toes down?cause i read somewhere that i have to lock my ankle(pointing toes down) when shooting........ blink.gif
SUSHaunkiem
post Dec 3 2007, 05:35 PM

526 posts

If kick with your foot where the nails are , you will hurt yourself. what kind of league people play ??

If you are shooting LOW then use your instep ( where laces are ) , ankle firm, HEAD OVER BALL will keep the shot low , follow through as in complete the whole motion unless you are blocked by someone.

standing foot I like right next to the ball .

don't try to force the power , try to get a good clean connection and momentum , then it will come .

again use a wall to practice .
blinky
post Dec 3 2007, 05:47 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(Haunkiem @ Dec 3 2007, 05:35 PM)
If kick with your foot where the nails are , you will hurt yourself. what kind of league people play ??

If you are shooting LOW then use your instep ( where laces are ) , ankle firm, HEAD OVER BALL will keep the shot low , follow through as in complete the whole motion unless you are blocked by someone.

standing foot I like right next to the ball .

don't try to force the power , try to get a good clean connection and momentum , then it will come .

again use a wall to practice .
Haha, I think you misunderstood me. I did not ask him to shoot with nails. He asked me which side is the top, so I told him the top is where the nails are. The top of the foot. Which is, you're right, where the laces are.

And remember, don't force yourself to shoot hard, you might get injured.

Just relax, point your feet down and hit it.
Doctor Who?
post Dec 3 2007, 06:35 PM

339 posts

oh ok,thanks guys!i will see what i can really do with your advices biggrin.gif
spikeee
post Dec 3 2007, 07:20 PM

2,924 posts

Yups top = instep
SUSHaunkiem
post Dec 3 2007, 08:14 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Dec 3 2007, 05:47 PM)
Haha, I think you misunderstood me. I did not ask him to shoot with nails. He asked me which side is the top, so I told him the top is where the nails are. The top of the foot. Which is, you're right, where the laces are.

you can't tell the difference between your toe and your instep ?

and you played competitive football before ?

sounds real weird .

TSImanAzlan
post Dec 3 2007, 08:58 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Dec 3 2007, 12:07 PM)
Sorry for the late replies.

Anyway I will try to help as much as I can and try to put it to layman terms.

To ImanAzlan, interesting question there. Honestly, dribbling is very much the biggest part and interest of my game. I started out as a left winger when I played for the Selangor League (I was 18 then and the youngest player in the whole team or even maybe the league). Obviously, it was a problem for me because I was on the skinny side and frustratingly all the opponents' right backs are big huge Africans or Indians.

Nothing racial here, but being a Chinese, I hate the way Chinese play football. I always think Indians - Brazilians, Malays - Argentinians and Chinese - English. Chinese here very often lack the technical and creative aspect of the game, which I'd say lacking of flair. Hence, I've been working on it since at a very young age.

First, boots. If you want good balance, you have to get yourself a good pair of boots. If you're heavy, get yourself something light and vice versa. It's quite difficult when you're big in size and you still play with heavy boots. Try Puma, I personally like Puma boots a lot, they give very good balancing during the game.

Next, confidence. You have to be confident in yourself when you dribble. Don't think too much about "what if I lose the ball?" or "what if he breaks my leg?", convert those thoughts into "what do I do after I nutmegged him?" or "who do I pass to after I get pass this defender?". You cannot have negativity during a game, that is the most important part.

Third, think ahead. Always visualise what is going to happen and what do you want to do next in the game. Don't leave it to the last minute. Usually, when my defenders are having the ball, I'll start to visualise how I'd want the next move to be executed or even how the next goal to be scored. Pick up the ball, run through several defenders and hit the net? Pick up your striker with a long ball? Shoot from the midway line? Up to you. Just think ahead.

Fourth, when you dribble, look at the ball, not at your feet. You have to know where are you standing in the pitch before you dribble. Dribbling takes a lot of concentration and you cannot afford to worry where the touchline is or where the goal is when you execute your skills. So you have to "feel" where is the goal and where is the touchline, where are your team mates and where are your oppositions.

Fifth, Joga Bonito. Watch some videos from Cristiano Ronaldo or Ronaldinho. Learn the moves, and use it during a friendly game. It's okay to be ridiculed when you fail, but just keep trying and you'll perfect them. I once overhead-flicked the ball pass a gigantic Kiwi-ian defender and rounded the 'keeper to score. You have no idea how that felt, especially you're playing in a professional stadium during the night. So just keep trying, nothing wrong.

I've always liked dribbling. And even now I stopped playing in the League, I still perform tricks during my social Sunday morning games of futsal. It's fun and thoroughly satisfying. Try juggling the ball for a start if you're really bad at dribbling, having good ball control immensely improves your balance and dribbling. I've personally reached 580 juggles of the ball without touching the ground, and I'm still looking for ways to improve. 
Shooting, of course is also the biggest part of a striker's game.

My tip for this will be very simple - ACCURACY OVER POWER.

I have always believed in shooting accurately rather than booting the ball and pray for a goal. Shooting with power applies more to midfielders. However, I hope I still can give some pointers.

ACCURACY SHOOTING - Simpler than it sounds. Aim, predict where the keeper will diver, and use the inner side of your foot to slot the ball in. Takes a lot of practice. I used to book a futsal court for myself to practice my shooting. First, try passing the ball into the net from short range, then go further and all the way until the other end of the court. Then, try shooting with your eyes closed. Why? Because in the game, when you're crowded with defenders and so little time, you're as good as shooting without vision. So it's always good to try shooting accurately without actually looking at the goal. You have to know where the goal is, you just have to feel it.

POWER SHOOTING - Practice. That's all I can say. Always use the top of your feet to power them in. Hit the top side of the ball to shoot a grounder or hit the bottom to rocket them up the net. Up to you. But lots and lots of practice and do eat more if you're on the weak side.

Always remember, with more POWER, your ACCURACY decreased and vice versa. As a striker, I've always preferred to pass the ball into the net. I only use power when I'm in the midfield position.
Anyway, hope that helps. I currently play for Saintz FC and we're a futsal team. I'm the youngest player and the lone striker of the team and I've scored more than 200 goals for the club. If you guys are interested for a friendly, we do play at Sports Barn every Sunday and Samba Futsal every Thursday night. Drop me a message if you want a game smile.gif

p/s: In case you guys are wondering, I quit the Selangor League because I started smoking and it has affected my game (or so the coach says). I'm 22 now so that was 4 years ago.
nice, I'm going to try it at the first LYN Football Club practice smile.gif

Btw, You miss a great opportunity to become the next star as you start smoke sad.gif No offense but I can smell victory in you smile.gif
blinky
post Dec 4 2007, 10:25 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(Haunkiem @ Dec 3 2007, 08:14 PM)
you can't tell the difference between your toe and your instep ?

and you played competitive football before ?

sounds real weird .
Haha, if he doesn't even understand what does "the top of the foot means", I doubt he'd understand what's instep. I was looking for the easiest explanation for him.

Anyway, I don't have to prove to you what I've done in football before, because it's the past and it doesn't harm me if you don't believe smile.gif

So cheers smile.gif

QUOTE(ImanAzlan @ Dec 3 2007, 08:58 PM)
nice, I'm going to try it at the first LYN Football Club practice smile.gif

Btw, You miss a great opportunity to become the next star as you start smoke sad.gif No offense but I can smell victory in you smile.gif
Nah, I wouldn't want to go far in football anyway. This is Malaysia, not England or Italy. I'd rather have a proper job smile.gif
SUSHaunkiem
post Dec 4 2007, 06:57 PM

526 posts

calling the toe the instep is easy ?

very weird .
TSImanAzlan
post Dec 4 2007, 10:56 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Dec 4 2007, 10:25 AM)
Haha, if he doesn't even understand what does "the top of the foot means", I doubt he'd understand what's instep. I was looking for the easiest explanation for him.

Anyway, I don't have to prove to you what I've done in football before, because it's the past and it doesn't harm me if you don't believe smile.gif

So cheers smile.gif
Nah, I wouldn't want to go far in football anyway. This is Malaysia, not England or Italy. I'd rather have a proper job smile.gif
Hmm... yeah, I forgot... If only this is Italy...
MADReaLJL
post Dec 4 2007, 11:02 PM

4,050 posts

no offense, but those type of mentality is sweat.gif
spikeee
post Dec 5 2007, 12:31 AM

2,924 posts

GOSH, give blinky a break. are you guys really picking on the instep/toe issue? Come on, get a life la.

MADReaLJL - so would YOU get a professional career in football here in Malaysia?

SUSHaunkiem
post Dec 5 2007, 02:14 AM

526 posts

dont make " this is not Italy / Uk blah blah blah " as an excuse , if you good enough and have the heart , you will always find a way .

Why start here and then go to HK / SG / China / Indo etc .

In SG a decent player makes btwn SGD4-7k per month not including endorsements . Not bad for kicking a ball ! and the SG league is easy to play in !

I'd rather do that than work for some faggot boss in a " company " .

No career prospect my L** .
blinky
post Dec 5 2007, 03:25 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(Haunkiem @ Dec 5 2007, 02:14 AM)
dont make " this is not Italy / Uk blah blah blah " as an excuse , if you good enough and have the heart , you will always find a way .

Why start here and then go to HK / SG / China / Indo etc .

In SG a decent player makes btwn SGD4-7k per month not including endorsements . Not bad for kicking a ball ! and the SG league is easy to play in !

I'd rather do that than work for some faggot boss in a " company " .

No career prospect my L** .
You can only play competitive football till mid 30s.

So what am I supposed to do after that? If I were to go into competitive football then, I wouldn't have continued my studies.

What am I suppose to do when I retire at say... 35? With no education?

So how long will those SGD4-7k per month going to last me? from 35 to say... 80 years old?

Use your brains a little, kid.
TSImanAzlan
post Dec 5 2007, 11:08 AM

957 posts

@blinky
yeah, but hey, do you think anyone would accept us to be a coach after we retired? juz wondering though...
Belphegor
post Dec 5 2007, 11:13 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Dec 5 2007, 03:25 AM)
You can only play competitive football till mid 30s.

So what am I supposed to do after that? If I were to go into competitive football then, I wouldn't have continued my studies.

What am I suppose to do when I retire at say... 35? With no education?

So how long will those SGD4-7k per month going to last me? from 35 to say... 80 years old?

Use your brains a little, kid.
Bro, didn't try to blast back at your comment. But hey, think about those pro footballer. If they were like what you said then why they are playing it now? There's always an alternative job to become after you retired as footballer. Guess you're not really into football then. hmm.gif Can't think of anyone? Okay here's some examples.

Michel Platini - Plays for France. Currently a UEFA President
Gianfranco Zola - Plays for Italy, Currently u21 Italy coach
Zico - Plays for Brazil, managed a couple of big clubs around the globe.

I know that you must be thinking "hey, those are specific cases. not everyone getting those chances". Of course not everyone have the chance to manage a club but hey, then what are those coach, scout, physio for? They are formerly players as well. But btw, in case you didn't know, during your football year you still can pursue your education. Frank Lampard does that. If you still thinks that way, then Wayne Rooney is going to be dead after his football year finished. smile.gif Cause he did not achieve any GCSE.

This post has been edited by Belphegor: Dec 5 2007, 11:21 AM
blinky
post Dec 5 2007, 11:29 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(ImanAzlan @ Dec 5 2007, 11:08 AM)
@blinky
yeah, but hey, do you think anyone would accept us to be a coach after we retired? juz wondering though...
Coach? Haha I really don't know. As far as I know, it's not easy to get into soccer in South East Asia because the future is always uncertain.

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Dec 5 2007, 11:13 AM)
Bro, didn't try to blast back at your comment. But hey, think about those pro footballer. If they were like what you said then why they are playing it now? There's always an alternative job to become after you retired as footballer. Guess you're not really into football then. hmm.gif
I don't mean to sound rude or ignorant, but you do realise that most professional footballers in our countries come from rural areas or poor families right? Most of them did not even finish or get tertiary education. So, earning the few thousand by playing football is like a dream come true for them. If I were to be a Kampung boy, between being an office clerk and playing professional football, the choice will be quite clear. But sadly, that's not my case.

I cannot afford to get into professional soccer because my mum paid for my school, colleges and varsities fees. I don't want to be earning just the few thousand for the next 15 years and then get stuck at a crossroad in life when I should be enjoying it. I don't want to go "What should I do now?" when I'm only 40. I have to factor in a lot of other risks like career-ending injuries, corruption (yes, Malaysian football is corrupted) or even falling out of favour when I'm still young. In places like UK it's different, players earn much more to cover their expenses when they retire. In Asia, you only earn as much as a senior executive. The only difference is, a senior executive has much more chances of landing the CEO position than you getting signed by Liverpool.

Sorry-lah, but I'm more of a realist. I've never regretted leaving competitive football. I still love and enjoy football as much as I did, just that I play it socially now smile.gif I'm at a win-win situation now, my day job is something I really wanted to do (I'm a writer for advertising) and I still get to play football at least twice per week. At least when I grow older I can look back and say "hey, I've played professionally before". No regrets, it was a great experience, to travel across states, playing in big stadiums and meeting all sorts of different people.

Oh by the way, footballers in our countries don't even earn RM4k. They earn much less than that. Highest paid player is Indra Putra, earning about RM8k? That is if you're the best in the country.

I'm fine with you guys asking questions or having interest in my past experience with football, but don't tell me how I should lead my life, I think that's not too nice smile.gif

Added on December 5, 2007, 11:32 am
Bro, didn't try to blast back at your comment. But hey, think about those pro footballer. If they were like what you said then why they are playing it now? There's always an alternative job to become after you retired as footballer. Guess you're not really into football then. hmm.gif Can't think of anyone? Okay here's some examples.

I know that you must be thinking "hey, those are specific cases. not everyone getting those chances". Of course not everyone have the chance to manage a club but hey, then what are those coach, scout, physio for? They are formerly players as well. But btw, in case you didn't know, during your football year you still can pursue your education. Frank Lampard does that. If you still thinks that way, then Wayne Rooney is going to be dead after his football year finished. smile.gif Cause he did not achieve any GCSE.
It's different when you're playing in WORLD stage.

It's different when you're just a KL boy playing football in Malaysia.

Like it or not, you CANNOT GO FAR PLAYING FOOTBALL IN MALAYSIA.

Look at how many sportsmen from our country went into bankruptcy and financial problems. Read: Rashid Sidek.

Added on December 5, 2007, 11:35 amPlus, you do understand than being a Chinese, no matter how bloody good you are, your chances are minimal over here right?

I experienced that type of biasness and corruption even when I played for my high school team. smile.gif

This post has been edited by blinky: Dec 5 2007, 11:35 AM
spikeee
post Dec 5 2007, 11:40 AM

2,924 posts

Belphegor, u're in CFC yourself and i don't want to come across so strongly.

BUT you make it sound easy. You make it sound like it's the best option for everyone.

I'm lazy to type anymore, BUT i'd sure like to see You and HaunKiem take this path yourselves before you have the right to impose your little GUILT trip on others.

I would like you two to change the malaysian football industry with your change in mindset. Please. i really do .

for goodness sake, leave blinky alone.
blinky
post Dec 5 2007, 11:46 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(spikeee @ Dec 5 2007, 11:40 AM)
Belphegor, u're in CFC yourself and i don't want to come across so strongly.

BUT you make it sound easy. You make it sound like it's the best option for everyone.

I'm lazy to type anymore, BUT i'd sure like to see You and HaunKiem take this path yourselves before you have the right to impose your little GUILT trip on others.

I would like you two to change the malaysian football industry with your change in mindset. Please. i really do .
for goodness sake, leave blinky alone.
Hey, no worries man smile.gif

I guess they're just trying to voice their opinions. It's cool smile.gif

Just that the HaunKiem got a little defensive and rude, that's all.

Thanks anyway.
vreis
post Dec 5 2007, 11:46 AM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

Care to name Malaysian that made it big after they retired rolleyes.gif
The study to get the paper (read: Cert) & I doubt that they will be others employee. Worst comes the becomes their own boss.
In Malaysia, the pay is low compare to UK so I doubt that you can be your own boss after retirement. Even if you have degree, who would want to employ thirty something freshie?
How many times do you see retired former greats in our country end up bankrupt? I've read about those loads of time.

Belphegor
post Dec 5 2007, 12:02 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Wait, now are we talking about Malaysia or Singapore? Some talking about SGD, suddenly talk about Malaysia.. I'm messed up. rclxub.gif

@Blinky, I know Malaysian football is corrupted. I'm a Chinese myself I can see the Chinese seldom got picked for Malaysia squad and I can see frustration there.

This post has been edited by Belphegor: Dec 5 2007, 12:03 PM
blinky
post Dec 5 2007, 12:03 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Dec 5 2007, 12:02 PM)
Wait, now are we talking about Malaysia or Singapore? Some talking about SGD, suddenly talk about Malaysia.. I'm messed up. :dizzy:
All the same. smile.gif
TSImanAzlan
post Dec 5 2007, 12:29 PM

957 posts

Yeah, lots of Chinese did not picked for Malaysia's squad... but hey, I hope it would've change under Sathianathan smile.gif Btw, stop talking bout races and careers, I want to know, why I can't seem to succeed in doing chipped shot?
blinky
post Dec 5 2007, 12:31 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(ImanAzlan @ Dec 5 2007, 12:29 PM)
Yeah, lots of Chinese did not picked for Malaysia's squad... but hey, I hope it would've change under Sathianathan smile.gif Btw, stop talking bout races and careers, I want to know, why I can't seem to succeed in doing chipped shot?
Biggest rule in getting a chip shot - bend your body backwards and strike the bottom of the ball.

Quite hard to explain in words, why not you join my team for a round of futsal? Maybe we can talk from there smile.gif
TSImanAzlan
post Dec 5 2007, 12:32 PM

957 posts

futsal? I dont have any futsal shoes lol... Quite miskin I can say lol... I'm sure you have a pair of boots... why dont you come to LYN football club? lol tongue.gif
blinky
post Dec 5 2007, 12:34 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(ImanAzlan @ Dec 5 2007, 12:32 PM)
futsal? I dont have any futsal shoes lol... Quite miskin I can say lol... I'm sure you have a pair of boots... why dont you come to LYN football club? lol tongue.gif
Haha didn't know there's a LYN football club. Sure I'll take a look there smile.gif
Belphegor
post Dec 5 2007, 05:48 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Omg? The thread is there since like duno how many weeks ago. shocking.gif anyway, join us! smile.gif

This post has been edited by Belphegor: Dec 5 2007, 05:54 PM
TSImanAzlan
post Dec 5 2007, 11:57 PM

957 posts

err... guys, I have a damned prob... How do I collect a seriously paced ball? When the ball travelling, I just can't tahan it properly...
SUSHaunkiem
post Dec 6 2007, 02:15 AM

526 posts

Lot of jokers here . footsal is now meant to be competitive football ? why not try the real deal the full size pitch.

Defensive ? since when is asking a question defense ? what cr** . today's people are super sensitive.

" oh I don't want to go here , i don't want to go there < oh I am Chinese but I can't speak Chinese , so I can't go China/HK , oh can't play past 25 "

Well , who said the world owe you a living ? Who said everyone who touches a ball is guaranteed a living ?

Everyone has choices to make . Once made then you have no right to complain .

------------------------------------------------------------

If you want to trap / control a ball that is BLASTED at you with your foot - You must cushion the ball with the inside ( not instep or toe ) of you foot to the ground GENTLY.

By that I mean track the ball as it is in the air and time , and TIME the tracking movement of you foot with the ball so it takes the pace out of the ball and cushions it to the ground.

the harder the shot the less chance of you controlling it , but this will give you the best chance

This post has been edited by Haunkiem: Dec 6 2007, 02:36 AM
any1else87
post Dec 6 2007, 02:16 AM

310 posts

People at my place play damn well. The africans. OMG, their body is freaking muscular
spikeee
post Dec 6 2007, 11:08 AM

2,924 posts

i like that, haunkeim - futsal has now become competitive football? lol. full field is the only way to go
chypher
post Dec 6 2007, 11:34 AM

859 posts

guys, futsal and football is two different thing...

even a basketball can play well in futsal.. It is so small..

Football is way different.. Trust me.. I know people who can play well in futsal but sucks like s#it in football
TSImanAzlan
post Dec 6 2007, 12:06 PM

957 posts

@haunkiem
err, the best chance to..?
spikeee
post Dec 6 2007, 01:15 PM

2,924 posts

i believe it's the best chance TO control the ball

Added on December 6, 2007, 1:15 pmyes chyper, u're absolutely right. even basketballers can play futsal

This post has been edited by spikeee: Dec 6 2007, 01:15 PM
TSImanAzlan
post Dec 6 2007, 01:38 PM

957 posts

hm... When i tried your way, the ball bounce off my foot and the opposition got my ball lehh... how do I make the ball stick to my foot like those EPL guys?
SUSHaunkiem
post Dec 6 2007, 05:32 PM

526 posts

spkiee / cypher :

yeah that's right . futsall is quite different from the real deal , it will give only partial skills for the full game .

but like you say once you go on the big pitch , things become very different , that's where stamina plays a big part .

Iman :

very difficult to ' show ' technique on the net , but you have to PRACTICE.
cant get good overnight.

WALL WALL WALL = BALL BALL BALL .
Doctor Who?
post Dec 6 2007, 07:46 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(chypher @ Dec 6 2007, 11:34 AM)
guys, futsal and football is two different thing...

even a basketball can play well in futsal.. It is so small..

Football is way different.. Trust me.. I know people who can play well in futsal but sucks like s#it in football
have to agree with that,i remembered that last time in my secondary school days,me and my friends keep losing to another team in futsal but when it comes to playing football on the pitch,we completely dominate them biggrin.gif
blinky
post Dec 7 2007, 10:20 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(Doctor Who? @ Dec 6 2007, 07:46 PM)
have to agree with that,i remembered that last time in my secondary school days,me and my friends keep losing to another team in futsal but when it comes to playing football on the pitch,we completely dominate them biggrin.gif
As much as stamina plays a part, the most prominent factor that divides futsal from football is the tactics and formation.

In futsal, you pretty much don't have formation or tactics, your position rotates and tactics change over minutes.
TSImanAzlan
post Dec 7 2007, 12:20 PM

957 posts

@blinky
yeah, like the total football...
Belphegor
post Dec 7 2007, 12:23 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Keep possession is the major key to win the game. tongue.gif
vreis
post Dec 7 2007, 12:26 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Dec 7 2007, 12:23 PM)
Keep possession is the major key to win the game. tongue.gif
Wrong, Keeping possession is the major key not to lose a game
Belphegor
post Dec 7 2007, 12:28 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Dec 7 2007, 12:26 PM)
Wrong, Keeping possession is the major key not to lose a game
This should be depends on if you're goal ahead or need to score a goal. tongue.gif
SUSHaunkiem
post Dec 8 2007, 12:50 AM

526 posts

If you dont have stamina , no matter what tactics you have it wont matter , you'll still be blowing out of your a** after 30 mins.

Try for yourselves , you might like..... it. ha ha .

some teams are very good at closing down the game even though they may not have a lot of possession , and it can be very successful .

Again you need stamina for this . Chasing , covering and tackling non stop is not for unfit players . full stop.
eaststyler
post Dec 8 2007, 01:23 AM

67 posts

first u must fit for the game. injury can occur if u not fit enough whistling.gif
Belphegor
post Dec 10 2007, 10:04 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Question: How to make head the ball without any pain? Whenever people cross the ball to us, we tend to avoid using head, cause sometimes it does very hurt. So. How should one head the ball without causing any pain?

This post has been edited by Belphegor: Dec 10 2007, 10:06 PM
blinky
post Dec 11 2007, 11:10 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Dec 10 2007, 10:04 PM)
Question: How to make head the ball without any pain? Whenever people cross the ball to us, we tend to avoid using head, cause sometimes it does very hurt. So. How should one head the ball without causing any pain?
Keep your eyes on the ball, and pull your head back before knocking it with your upper forehead.

The problem I see is people tend to use the top of their heads and they ALWAYS, ALWAYS close their eyes. That is the biggest mistake.
Belphegor
post Dec 11 2007, 12:35 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Isn't that is natural reflex?
Doctor Who?
post Dec 11 2007, 04:20 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Dec 11 2007, 12:35 PM)
yea well i guess you just gotta have courage tongue.gif
blinky
post Dec 11 2007, 05:52 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Dec 11 2007, 12:35 PM)
That means you have not perfected it yet .
TSImanAzlan
post Dec 11 2007, 09:26 PM

957 posts

lol, btw, I have problem when turning, I mean like, whenever my teammates pass the ball from behind, I need to turn back, then I need to turn in front again, however, I always failed turning front, when I turned in front, the ball will runaway lol! How to overcome this prob??
SUSHaunkiem
post Dec 11 2007, 11:44 PM

526 posts

Dont know what you mean by this.

but I guess you mean you are facing with your back to goal and your mates pass to you .

what you must do is control the ball 1st , then if you want to driblle past your marker , swerve the body 1 way and then go with the ball the other.

the key is keeping the ball in control before you swerve unles your name is Ronaldinho.

heading : use your forehead , eyes open and on the ball ( not very difficult - agian practise ! ) .

For a flat straight on header , move your hips forward slightly, shoulders + head back and then reverse the motion timing it when you head the ball .

Like a hammer .

If you're side on to the ball when it comes then you have to use a shoulder / hip flick : ball comes , track the ball . if you are facing the ball with your right side , then you want to meet the ball as if you are turning your head all the way across to see past your right shoulder .

Use your whole body to turn , the faster the turn the more power you get but the important thing here is a good connection , normally the cross ball will have plenty of power in it.
and wherever you are need to jump to head the ball, then do it !

Trident
post Dec 12 2007, 12:22 AM

353 posts

Ok guys i have 2 questions

How do you make a free kick much more accurate?
I think im getting the power , now the accuracy

What is the correct way to pass a ball ?
Belphegor
post Dec 12 2007, 12:27 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Accuracy, basically there's only one and only method to get better accuracy. Practice. There's no way you can have better accuracy by doing something else other than practice.

As for the correct way to pass a ball, is to use the side of your foot.
nik0ns
post Dec 12 2007, 12:41 AM

Ingenium
1,302 posts

experience also will build confidence when you pass the ball, you will know when to pass and know which type of pass that hard to be intercept by defender
TSImanAzlan
post Dec 12 2007, 12:42 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(Haunkiem @ Dec 11 2007, 11:44 PM)
Dont know what you mean by this.

but I guess you mean you are facing with your back to goal and your mates pass to you .

what you must do is control the ball 1st , then if you want to driblle past your marker , swerve the body 1 way and then go with the ball the other.

the key is keeping the ball in control before you swerve unles your name is Ronaldinho.

heading : use your forehead , eyes open and on the ball ( not very difficult - agian practise ! ) .

For a flat straight on header , move your hips forward slightly, shoulders + head back and then reverse the motion timing it when you head the ball .

Like a hammer .

If you're side on to the ball when it comes then you have to use a shoulder / hip flick : ball comes , track the ball .  if you are facing the ball with your right side , then you want to meet the ball as if you are turning your head all the way across to see past your right shoulder .

Use your whole body to turn , the faster the turn the more power you get but the important thing here is a good connection , normally the cross ball will have plenty of power in it.
and wherever you are need to jump to head the ball, then do it !
What is swerve one way? don't understand lor... sorry...
ky_khor
post Dec 12 2007, 01:36 AM

No.22
894 posts

i played football for more than 10 years before my first tme into futsal court. by that time i felt that futsal is piece of cake.

now i suck big time in football. probably bcoz the decline of stamina and eyesight. haiz. sad.gif of course lack of practice too. 9-5 working life sux.

This post has been edited by ky_khor: Dec 12 2007, 01:37 AM
Belphegor
post Dec 12 2007, 03:25 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Jog? They say jog can regain stamina. But I don't really think so. sad.gif Not really effective to me.
TSImanAzlan
post Dec 12 2007, 10:59 AM

957 posts

Don't jog lahh, sprint... That's much better, in football you'll sprint most of the 90 minutes... right?? biggrin.gif
SUSHaunkiem
post Dec 14 2007, 03:19 AM

526 posts

QUOTE(ImanAzlan @ Dec 12 2007, 12:42 AM)
What is swerve one way? don't understand lor... sorry...
1st get a ball , pratice swerving with the ball .

Control the ball in front of you then take and swerve with it to you right or left and then straight , if you can do this w/o losing control of the ball , then you are half way there .

After you have mastered that : Then same start position , ball at your feet , pretend opponent is behind you. Now fake a swerve 1 way , then take the ball and go the opposite way.

Free kicks : I'll stick to the power one and not the bending kick.

this is the same technique as long range power shooting , to do a grounder see my previous posts .

For the rising power shot ( dead ball ) : take a fairly long run up , not too long . Run up to the ball , not full speed but a nice natural fastish pace , as you come nearer , you will have to break your stride and adjust due to the changing distance , use small almost baby steps , then suddenly regain normal strides on the last 2/3 steps - strike with the instep , firm ankle , head slightly tipped back , and the foot angle slightly up ( foot will be at almost complete right angle to ball for a grounder ) say 120 degrees to give the lift .
Concentrate on getting a nice clean contact and a good momentum , don't force your actions , smooth flow and folow through with the foot naturally .

Play with the head and foot position angles to get the right effect.

gry
post Dec 14 2007, 04:53 AM

Red Warriors
780 posts

the easiest way is u need to start playing football since kids because if u started to play football only now, it hard for u to play well. Besides that, when u watch football match, try to see the player u like and follow and the way he played because it good for u. For example, why beckham always great when he pass ball to others player? That`s was skills.technique. Yes u can learn from tv, book but sometimes we must got talent. To be honest, i like football since kids then i grow up and i fanatic fans of beckham. Many frends or people said i can pass ball accurated like beckham. I dont have professional training, never played for state, school but when u have passion, desire, u can do it. By the way i am fat but i love football and i can easily past my opponent because football is easy when u enjoy it..hehehe
ky_khor
post Dec 14 2007, 04:56 AM

No.22
894 posts

Lock your ankle, passing/shooting/punting/juggling accuracy and power has to do with your angle of ankle.

there's even a tool for it
jason18689
post Dec 15 2007, 02:50 AM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

waow......information from ky_khor is great....haha..
lock ur ankle....hmmmm.....a great keyword for football starters...
Doctor Who?
post Dec 26 2007, 07:13 PM

339 posts

wow,do they have those in malaysia? shocking.gif
munky
post Dec 26 2007, 07:23 PM

1,971 posts

Lock the ankle ? Ive never thought about locking the ankle before lol
TSImanAzlan
post Dec 26 2007, 10:17 PM

957 posts

Yeah, locking ankle can make great power and accuracy... I've seen van persie crossing without locking his ankle just after he recovered from injury... crossing without locking the ankle make his ball a disaster... plus, those long shooting guys such as fabregas and nedved really lock their ankle to the fullest... just watch one of their game and you'll realize it...
aero
post Dec 26 2007, 10:39 PM

116 posts

hmmm.. jus found this thread, cool info. Good for footballer. As for me long time didnt play football already.. now feel like wanna join back, any football kaki around pj that i can join? Prefer saturday or sunday as i not working these days rclxm9.gif .

Belphegor
post Dec 26 2007, 11:00 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

click my siggy
chronic_blade
post Dec 27 2007, 10:47 AM

1,099 posts

sorry for replies to super early posts.. just found it interesting tho

QUOTE(Doctor Who? @ Nov 29 2007, 11:47 PM)
erm,how to strike the ball with swift accuracy? smile.gif
how i do it would be to look at the ball and watch your feet strike it(like follow through with your eyes, not feet) then strike it quick for a more pace shot, follow through with your feet usually if u curl the ball. make sure your body is over the ball and not leaning backwards if you want to shoot and (unless you want to cross then leaning backwards would get the ball to go higher). Think like playing pool (you aim with your cue where you want to hit it.) For the swift part, hit the ball quick lke slapping it rather than kicking and "pushing" through with your feet. Power shots are hit with a quick feet action before striking the ball. the faster you strike the ball instead of harder the more powerful your shot.

i do have a question tho. how does one strike a ball with pace without the ball spinning? those shots move fast and straight and also has good dip - quite deceiving to the keeper too. I also have trouble shooting with my outside foot esp with power and pace. any tips ? =] i either opt to shoot with instep only, pass into the net or chip and would like to add more dimension to shooting and passing.

This post has been edited by chronic_blade: Dec 27 2007, 10:49 AM
Doctor Who?
post Dec 27 2007, 04:09 PM

339 posts

anybody knows the skill that Ricardo Quaresma always does?the Trivela:hitting the ball with outside of the foot.....any tips on that? smile.gif
TSImanAzlan
post Dec 27 2007, 08:43 PM

957 posts

@Doctor Who?
Well, shooting and passing with outside of the boot is easy when you can bend your feet a bit when shooting/passing... Its hard to explain in text, but if you watch how do I did it, you'll find that the skill is pretty tough...

P.S: I got 8A for PMR! lol...
Doctor Who?
post Dec 27 2007, 09:05 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(ImanAzlan @ Dec 27 2007, 08:43 PM)
@Doctor Who?
Well, shooting and passing with outside of the boot is easy when you can bend your feet a bit when shooting/passing... Its hard to explain in text, but if you watch how do I did it, you'll find that the skill is pretty tough...

P.S: I got 8A for PMR! lol...
lol,but how does Quaresma hits it with power and curls it?i tried it myself many times but my shots kept getting lower blush.gif

btw congrats on your 8As! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Doctor Who?: Dec 27 2007, 09:12 PM
TSImanAzlan
post Dec 27 2007, 11:46 PM

957 posts

Yeah, its freaking hard, but my captain at kampong subang makes it really easy...

Maybe need to practice more as I'm not as good as him...
Belphegor
post Dec 28 2007, 12:21 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

I can! But cannot curve. tongue.gif
Trident
post Dec 28 2007, 12:39 AM

353 posts

really ,

i understand the mechanics of bending the ball now
i imagine a motion of kicking the ball in a sideways motion
thats how i curve the ball
TSImanAzlan
post Dec 28 2007, 01:16 AM

957 posts

@trident
Its easy to curve by inside boot... but damn hard to curve outside boot lol...
arrowhead
post Dec 28 2007, 11:36 AM

840 posts

I think if you kick tonjol but slight with the outside of the foot then you can do an outside-ball-curve... lol...
TSImanAzlan
post Dec 28 2007, 09:37 PM

957 posts

tonjol can make the ball go straight... but like arrowhead said, you can do outside curve ball, however, the power will totally out... plus, tonjol will make your toe hurts, plus, it can make a very stupid sound... stupid enough for everyone laugh at you lol...
Doctor Who?
post Dec 28 2007, 10:53 PM

339 posts

just finished watching a Ricardo Quaresma Trivela compilation,thought it would be nice to share with you guys tongue.gif http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kNoFJTOEUPg
boundaries
post Dec 29 2007, 11:33 PM

85 posts

it's dat difficult with it on the field... but futsal not a good place to it.... u need power and the outside curve it relates to ur entire leg swing method....unlike inside curve, ur foot swing out.... for outside u need to swing ur leg inwards... try size 5 ball 1st... much easier to do wan..
Belphegor
post Jan 1 2008, 07:02 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Anyone can do a cross field pass? brows.gif From left/right flank to the other side.

This post has been edited by Belphegor: Jan 1 2008, 07:02 PM
ponomariov
post Jan 2 2008, 04:08 PM

432 posts

well you need weight training to do outside of the foot.

2nd you should realise it is not driving, it is a curling lob motion

Idea is to slice the ball with the top of ur foot, carry the ball and end with a toe flick. all in on motion. Sounds difficult.

The ball the automatically follow ur leg as you slice it. The toe flick is essential to make the curl. problem with this kick is .. you have to be so use to doing it to make it fall where you want.
ameer47
post Jun 22 2008, 11:44 PM

172 posts

lol..

unactive threads ??

the last post was on 2nd of january..

well.. im late i guess...
taor3n
post Jun 23 2008, 12:00 AM

937 posts

watch more christiano ronaldo...on youtube...u can actually..learn alot...
ameer47
post Jun 23 2008, 10:10 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(taor3n @ Jun 23 2008, 12:00 AM)
watch more christiano ronaldo...on youtube...u can actually..learn alot...
can also..
go youtube.. type ''how to play soccer''

got alot vids 1
aaron1kee
post Jun 23 2008, 03:22 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

Old thread revive! Nice!
Btw, you can google it in the youtube, can get lolnaldo dribbling skills easily.
disco333
post Jun 23 2008, 07:16 PM

453 posts

Just learn to juggle. When you reach about 70-80 then you are sure you have sound technique. There's nothing like a good first touch, believe me I have played in the center for my school the past two years and a good first touch along with decent ball control saves me a lot of time thus I can play a pass without rushing or take a shot without the hassle of being pressured by some ****.

Skill gets you no where if have a poor touch, also turning when you receive a ball is important. If your first touch allows you to completely turn you save plenty of time.
ameer47
post Jun 24 2008, 12:02 AM

172 posts

wah...

juggling... can make so much dif???

i can oni do abt 5-15 times le tongue.gif tongue.gif

nid practice ddd

Added on June 24, 2008, 12:03 amwah...

juggling... can make so much dif???

i can oni do abt 5-15 times le tongue.gif tongue.gif

nid practice ddd

lets revive some old thread ya!

This post has been edited by ameer47: Jun 24 2008, 12:03 AM
monosyllabic
post Jun 24 2008, 12:29 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(disco333 @ Jun 23 2008, 07:16 PM)
Just learn to juggle. When you reach about 70-80 then you are sure you have sound technique. There's nothing like a good first touch, believe me I have played in the center for my school the past two years and a good first touch along with decent ball control saves me a lot of time thus I can play a pass without rushing or take a shot without the hassle of being pressured by some ****.

Skill gets you no where if have a poor touch, also turning when you receive a ball is important. If your first touch allows you to completely turn you save plenty of time.
I agree - juggling plays a huge part in ball control and first touch. When you receive the ball, it will not always be a perfect pass. It can bounce awkwardly on the pitch or even bounce off a defenders knee/head/body. From juggling practice, you learn to anticipate how hard you have to kick/touch the ball when receiving it and also takes a certain amount of ability to judge where the ball is going to land and where you should run.

ameer47
post Jun 24 2008, 10:29 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(monosyllabic @ Jun 24 2008, 12:29 AM)
I agree - juggling plays a huge part in ball control and first touch. When you receive the ball, it will not always be a perfect pass. It can bounce awkwardly on the pitch or even bounce off a defenders knee/head/body. From juggling practice, you learn to anticipate how hard you have to kick/touch the ball when receiving it and also takes a certain amount of ability to judge where the ball is going to land and where you should run.
wa...
then i nid to train my jugling d..

eii... me and my frens want to join PKNS football training..

is PKNS good??

This post has been edited by ameer47: Jun 24 2008, 11:36 AM

0.0562sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:50 PM