358 posts

Between SD and MM may I know which has
-higher demand?
-difficulty?

zalmerox
post Oct 29 2008, 03:23 PM

358 posts

Was told by one of my seniors who took the SD, the instructor from Genovate said, SD is one of the easiest.. -.O

In addition, I've scout around in jobstreet and jobsdb, I usually see more job positions for MM compared to SD. Which is why, I'm quite confused right now.

This post has been edited by zalmerox: Oct 29 2008, 03:24 PM
zalmerox
post Oct 29 2008, 03:38 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(sting79 @ Oct 29 2008, 03:32 PM)
Hmm... maybe different people different perception. Should ask those who really have real hands-on and implementation experience on both areas to give a good answer, I'm actually more into MM and doing some SD support only.

It actually boils down to why you want to ask this question, are you deciding on which path to join?
Yeah, I'm currently deciding between MM and SD. I'm already SAP certified(BP-ERP), now just choosing which to specialize.
zalmerox
post Mar 24 2009, 03:43 PM

358 posts

In SAP ABAP exam, do they use same question every year? coz I heard this from my friend when he repeat the exam, he got same question with the one he take previously.. could someone enlighten me? unsure.gif

It's something like your * Undang * Driving test.. They basically have an exam bank with loads of questions(and answers) in the system, and the questions you'll be getting would be random (separated by the respective topics). So if you've taken the exam before, there's a likelihood you'll see the same question.

zalmerox
post Apr 22 2009, 11:31 AM

358 posts

How does one know when the economy recover? -_O
zalmerox
post Dec 17 2009, 04:55 PM

358 posts

I heard of SCAT.. not CATS .. O_o
zalmerox
post Feb 8 2010, 11:48 AM

358 posts

The problem remains if you're fresh from no-where without the cert, there are very few companies who would bother to look at you.

One way to put it , the cert gives you an edge over those without and looking into entering the SAP market. However it's definitely a NO GUARANTEE of a job placement. So if you have money to burn and really keen into entering the SAP market, by all means go for it.

Another point to take into account, even if you have 1239128391 years of exp in that industry and if you're a first timer in the SAP field, be prepare to receive an entry-level pay. Probably around the figure of 2.4k-3.8k (depending on the company you apply for).

Luck and timing plays a huge factor here.
zalmerox
post Mar 18 2010, 03:14 PM

358 posts

SAP Job Camp?

The one I took was sponsored by MDeC, it was an IQ Test. Too easy by my standards. Simple SPM level calculation, pattern recognition as well as a little touch of calculus. That was last year though. Free training but the exam fees(RM 1,800.00) is under you. The exam is optional, but I highly recommend it, if you want to enter the SAP Market. What's RM1,800 compared to RM33,000+ ?? smile.gif

Added on March 18, 2010, 11:28 amstart searching in SAP so late...miss out a lot SAP Cadet and Job Camp for year before 2010...

There should be another coming up soon(as in 2-3 months), it's usually every 6 months. Look out for the one from HCL-Axon in JobStreet, they provide you with training as well as a confirm position right after completion.

Anyone company is hiring for SAP ABAPER without knowledge and experience

Doubt it. But you can look on the first page on the list of companies to spam your resume. The SAP Market is pretty cruel to newbies/unexperienced people.

This post has been edited by zalmerox: Mar 18 2010, 03:19 PM
zalmerox
post Mar 20 2010, 02:20 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(soonlhs @ Mar 19 2010, 04:08 PM)
Actually I still thinking should i change my career path to SAP ABAP if got chances...
Because I got 5 yrs working experince in .net and the paid is 3k++ and if I got a SAP ABAP post offer, i think it will less than my current paid...
Lol, no need to think. Definitely lower.

Question 1
Will abaper can get a high jump after few yrs experience and still can get high paid like last time???
Around 6-8k after completion of 2 full life-cycle project implementation. (Do note the emphasis of full life cycle)
(Project Preparation -> Business Blueprint -> Realization -> Final Preparation -> Go Live & Support ) = This is 1 Life Cycle.
One full life cycle could be as short as 3 months to as long as 2 years.

Real-life example:
Friend of mine (Age 27) is getting 8K USD basic (with 4+ life cycles, certified in ABAP as well as HR module). His company is located in Malaysia, but he's usually in the overseas 80% of the time. He was lucky back then as SAP was highly in demand and some companies were willing to train them for free(even without bond). He started as an ABAPer, now he's in functional doing HR.

With regards to other exp like support, I'm afraid I do not know the answer.

Question 2
Like start from now:
if I work another 2 yrs in .net i can get paid 5k...
how about if i got 2 yrs of abap working experience how much the paid for it?
Refer to the answer in question 1.

Question 3
How much the paid for a person got sap abap certified but don't have working experience in it?

No difference. You will still get a freshie salary 2.5-3.5k(depending on the company scale.) Without actual experience, they look at you like a "trained newbie" but with better chances (to get an interview) considering you know "some" of the stuffs. Nothing beats actual project experience. You can start bargaining with the cert , when you have actual experience. (that's from my understanding based on my discussions with my trainer & seniors)

If you're strictly you going for the $$, I would have to tell you honestly it would be a gamble. This is because luck, timing and "your connections" plays an important role(as mentioned in earlier postings) in securing any "worthy" SAP position..

In a way, the difficulty of entering SAP is a blessing and a curse, in the sense that your salary won't be affected that much in the long run as there isn't much supply(hard to enter for newbies).. Anyway, my SAP trainer calls it the "SAP Eco-system" . Another example of this "Eco-system" is the certification, where SAP reduces the number further, by their crazy certification fees which indirectly reduces the amount of certified consultants. Thus, you won't see many certified SAPpers compared to people with Cisco, Oracle, Microsoft, etc certification.... [ Which also explains the current "high" salary, and the main reason why YOU would like to enter. ]

Anyway..... good luck to you ..if you still want to enter.

This post has been edited by zalmerox: Mar 20 2010, 02:25 AM
zalmerox
post May 24 2010, 12:34 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(sexualpower @ May 19 2010, 02:41 PM)
I agree, nothing is great about SAP anymore, there are open sourced ERP now and that is wayyyy cheaper and even better when it comes to support and maintenance~ not to mention, same readiness for integration~
a few million and to be more accurate, 1mil for the smallest SAP implementation due to SAP catering for companies which needs a few systems like Customer Relationship Management (CRM), Supplier Chain Management, Fixed Asset Management, and Warehousing Management, just to name a few, which all adds up to be known as Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP)~

whatever it is, the trend now is moving towards Malaysian-based and Malaysian-developed ERP because of cost and support as well as the same readiness for integration~

this way, any size of growth for any company can implement systems in stages~ expenditure and results of implementation is in stages and can easily be evaluated~ I know of a few large corporations as well as an SME implementing in stages~

in conclusion, if u're looking only for a financial system to take care of your company, I advise u to discuss and clearly see what are the necessary functions that you need and it is a good idea to separate them into several phases so that you can implement the value adding modules first and then the cost saving ones later~ expenditure is also spread out~

I can advise u a consultant if u're interested~
Don't want to burst your "business opportunity" but:

SAP Business One = 5-6 digit (Meant for SME - Small Medium Enterprises)
mySAP ERP = 7 digit+ (Large Corporations)

Prices depends on the module you take as well as the implementors which you've contracted/outsourced to.

I agree, nothing is great about SAP anymore, there are open sourced ERP now and that is wayyyy cheaper and even better when it comes to support and maintenance~ not to mention, same readiness for integration~

OpenSourced ERP is not really on the "high side" as there aren't exactly many developers yet as it's quite new but I can fore-see potential in the long run for the SME market. With regards to support, I highly doubt it. The SAP community is much better compared to the OpenSourced for now.
Give it another 3-5 years, and we'll see how it goes.

It might overtake SAP & Oracle in the SME market, but for large enterprises..Definitely a big NO. Why??
Simply because of the tremendous customization and investment which has been done. (Applies to Oil&Gas, Production, Chemical & most of the Fortune 500 companies) . In addition, most managers/CEO follows this phrase..."If it's not broken, why fix it? "

Would Oracle over-take SAP in the ERP market?

It's hard to say. They have 2 tremendous task to overcome:-
1. Firstly they have to integrate their existing 3 ERPs (Peoplesoft (More towards CRM solution), JD Edwards (focuses on Financial), "their own, can't remember the last one"). And this isn't exactly simple considering the processes and customization of each of this ERP contradicts one another. Although there are contradictions, there are pros and cons for each of the contradictions . Hence it's a major headache to find the best process and customization to fit for all.

2. Secondly, they would have to convince the large players to migrate from SAP to Oracle. The cost of this migration will be a "bomb", and even the ROI (return on investment) is not even certain if you're able to switch. Unless you tell me large corporations like BAT, Shell, ExxonMobil, Samsung, Petronas, BP, BASF, KWSP(yes, they are currently using SAP) and etc has recently switched to a "full Oracle Product Suite", then NO.. Oracle still doesn't stand a chance at the moment. Give it another 10-20 years, then we'll talk about it again.

But as of now, as long as Oracle hasn't integrated the 3 ERP solutions, SAP > Oracle in terms of ERP that is.

And for all those confused ppl out there.. SAP can't compete with Oracle in terms of size...
The company direction for both is extremely different, but SAP is a competitor to Oracle in the ERP market.
SAP = Focuses on ERP solution
Oracle = Provides full solution (Database (Their bread and butter. And I have to admit, it's one of the fastest databases I've played with. Even DB2(Database from IBM) is only 70-80% of it's potential..(of course this is dependent on the configuration as well)), ERP (peoplesoft(crm), JD Edwards), etc(they've also recently purchase SUN Microsystems (there's where your MySQL, Java comes from))

This post has been edited by zalmerox: May 24 2010, 12:56 AM
zalmerox
post May 30 2010, 06:43 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(townguy @ May 25 2010, 07:47 PM)
hai everyone,

currently i am undertaking SAP SD course, lots of reading. Looking for SAP certification example questions to test myself.
Is there any place/website i can get example SAP SD certification example questions please??  smile.gif
Here you go..

Just register an account there..

http://sapcertifications.ol-edu.com/

Do note the actual difficulty = x2 of what you see there.. But it's a good brain teaser of what you left out...
In other words, if you can't get through that ... Delay your examination first.

Side Note:
1. You won't be able to get exactly 100% similar questions as SAP usually purge/remake 50% of their questions in a quarterly basis. Thus, assuming you fail ("touch wood"), you should be taking the exam again within 2-3 months before they(SAP) purge the existing one. (Quoted from my Trainer).
2. Please go through every section of the book at least 2-3 times. Eat/Digest the Solution Manager if possible. It's a free 10% marks (Only 3-5 questions there).

This post has been edited by zalmerox: May 30 2010, 06:50 PM
zalmerox
post Jun 6 2010, 04:37 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(alexis_wll @ Jun 6 2010, 03:10 PM)
for those who studied SAP, please PM me.

i saw the SAP in the job fair, and they insist that i only need to pay 10k-18k+ for different module, no matter i can absorb the course or not, they will still give the certificate.

i want to know, which company(training center? ) that provide this course, and please roughly tell me how much it cost + duration of the course ok?

i didn't read 58 pages to get this answer, sorry.
- It's the self-learning course (done online). The one with a trainer cost at least 25-38k ringgit depending on the module.
- Only covers "attendance cert". Not recognizable outside Malaysia. If you want to be SAP certified you have to sit for the exam in SAP Malaysia HQ which will cost another additional RM 1,800.00 (last i checked).
- KnowledgeCom is currently providing the self-learning course. (10k-18k). Duration: 1 month full-time , 6 months part time.
With trainer (under Genovate), 1 month full time, 3 months part time. There are other institutions and companies like (HCL Axon) which provides the training as well. The details on the other hand, well ..all I can say is ..."Google" is your friend.

Anyway..good luck.
zalmerox
post Jun 12 2010, 02:05 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(mariochuah @ Jun 11 2010, 12:49 PM)
Hi, does anyone realize that Taylor's college is offering SAP course?
http://www.taylors.edu.my/courses/computin...ding.php?id=130
but the course fee is RM5k, which is much cheaper  compare to other training centres.
Does anyone of have more details about it ??
Thx =)
Taken it before when I was in Taylors.

It's basically:-
mySAP Best-Practices for Medium Size Enterprise
- It covers all end-user parts for all modules (FI, CO, MM, SD, QM, LE, WM, HR, etc)
- The main focus in this course would be the different Organizational Units, Master Data, Business Processes Best Practices (Which is basically SAP suggested "process flow")..
- Outside is approximately 12-18k. Hence, if you have the additional $$$ and interested in entering SAP, it's a good bargain as it will give you an edge over "normal fresh graduates" who wishes to enter into SAP as well.
- Do note that, this certification is catered more to SAP B1 (SAP's answer for the SME(Small Medium Enterprise) Market) and is no means a "guaranteed opportunity" to secure a SAP position.
- And yes, it's recognized world-wide (provided you pass the certification) and not just "sitting on your ass" the entire 2 weeks (they still provide you with an attendance cert). But again, I have to emphasize, it's more towards the "Overview of SAP and catering more towards SAP B1 market". But whatever it is, it's a good opportunity if and only if you have the additional $$$ to spare.

Additional Notes:
> The price of the examination is RM 1,800 if I'm not mistaken(when I last took my MM certification on Jan 2010), I'm not sure if the 5K covers the exam as well, please check with Mr.Maha (I believe he's still instructing the class) with regards to this.
>
Possible Question :  Is the business processes from this BP-ERP course applicable to ( R/3 or mySAP system)?

Yes. That I can assure you, as they literally just taken out 2 chapters of every module(HR,SD,FI,MM,QM,etc) and "slotted' it into the BP-ERP course.
> However, you will NOT be learning the main configurations (which is the bread of butter of any SAP functional consultants) but you will be exposed to the end-user side of all modules and it's business processes(which is still good, if you're into the ERP(Enterprise Resource Planning) market).
> If you're interested in joining the SAP consulting firms, try to ensure that your CGPA is at least 3.0 as it's the minimum requirement for most of the these firms.

This post has been edited by zalmerox: Jun 12 2010, 02:33 AM
zalmerox
post Jun 21 2010, 11:01 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Jun 21 2010, 08:34 PM)
go for it while you're at it. after u masuk industry u malas liao. like me i said wanna get certified since last year til now i still haven't even touch the material.
+1
zalmerox
post Aug 5 2010, 01:05 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(starfen @ Aug 5 2010, 12:57 AM)
HELP !!!
I am a fresh grad, applied for an IT job few days ago in a medical MNC.

Today, I went for the interview. Instead they offered to send me (which I assume is sponsor) to take a SAP course - training 5weeks in KL (ABAP) and I am required to pass the exam.
The thing is, passing the exam would not guarantee a job in there. He stated that they will call when they need me...  shocking.gif
Some questions here.. I know that SAP field has a very high entry barrier. A certificate passing the course gives nothing but a slight advantage over fresh grads.  What I want to make clear is that :
1. Is the 5week training course actually the ABAP bootcamp thing posted in here earlier? If so, given the bright prospect of this field, I assume there would be tough competition in getting a place in the program sponsored. Why is the company actually offered me SAP when I applied for the other job? It doesnt make sense...Am I lucky enough or something is wrong?

*They told me they are actually planning to send quite a few fresh grads to take the course. I just wonder would a company spend nearly 100k just like this, and not even planning to hire all of them after finishing it??
In fact, I have other job offer which is quite satisfactory. However, this program really gives me a better chance to enter this lucrative field. I think this is a very rare opportunity. 5week is not long.  The problem is the other job offer is actually the only job that allows me to work in my hometown ( small state, only that company can provide me the job, even the salary is low). Rejecting the offer means I have to work outside in case I passed the exam and not getting hired to do SAP. Dilemma ar....
SAP seniors, please do help me... notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
If I'm not mistaken, if the company is an MSC status(and some other bla bla(as long as they HIT the MDeC target), they are able to get free sponsorship on training and etc(expat intake permit perks, etc).

Hence, theoretically speaking MDeC(The government, your tax money) is sponsoring you for the exam and not the Company at all.

Whether it's worth taking or not, you have to ask yourself..Is this a risk worth taking... No one other than yourself, should be walking that door/cliff/window.
zalmerox
post Aug 13 2010, 02:17 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(beckhowen @ Aug 12 2010, 01:48 PM)
cant see any SAP functional freshies in jobstreet from accenture...tongue.gif
when was it posted?
Go to their main site and register an account there. It's listed there periodically.
They use their own "recruitment site", it's quite rare for them to post in JobStreet unless, they really want a large pool.
zalmerox
post Aug 29 2010, 06:39 PM

358 posts

As quoted by my previous trainer,

Having common sense for processes and $$ [ ((online)RM 12k or (trainer)RM 32k) + RM 1.8k(exam fees) ]..

This post has been edited by zalmerox: Aug 29 2010, 06:40 PM
zalmerox
post Oct 13 2010, 01:01 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(CyberTroop @ Oct 9 2010, 12:50 AM)
Thanks alot for this reply, it really does help.

I just have one last question I want to ask, I foresee that my career ahead of me involves around SAP FICO.

I recently got another internship offer from Deloitte under the SAP department. Should i go for PwC System, Process Assurance, or Deloitte SAP?

Sorry to be asking so many questions in this section, I'm really facing a huge dilemma.
PwC sold their SAP consulting arm to IBM and they signed a non-compete agreement. Probably expired recently, but there's no news of them entering the SAP consulting industry.

So to answer your question, NO you career will not revolve around SAP FICO if you were to enter under PwC.

On the other hand, for Deloitte SAP:
Yes, if you're under their SAP consulting division and IF AND ONLY IF they assigned you to a FICO role.

QUOTE(badzeugene @ Oct 13 2010, 12:45 AM)
any company would u like to introduce me? smile.gif

but BP is stands for best practice, it doesnt mean any specific modules although we learnt many modules during the course.
http://www.sap.com/malaysia/partners/direc...es/services.epx

That cert isn't sufficient in the sense you do not touch on customization but rather the general outline the best practices of business processes. Nevertheless, it's an "edge" compared to other non-certified freshies who wish to enter the SAP Market.

Perhaps you can try ObTech or Croseus IT as this BP-ERP cert caters more towards SAP B1 (smaller scale of SAP). Do note that the $$ of SAP is in the mySAP or for some old industries the R/3 market.

This post has been edited by zalmerox: Oct 13 2010, 01:11 AM
zalmerox
post Oct 13 2010, 10:19 AM

358 posts

No, it will not. BASIS is a totally different thing completely.

It's easier for an ABAPer to become functional, than a BASIS to become functional. This coming from a guy who did BASIS(User Authorization & Security) [ A super small section of BASIS, but a lot of work] for a year. Fortunately I manage to get into the MDeC job camp and obtain a functional cert (MM-Materials Management).

Remember: BASIS is basically a section/module by itself. The pay is not bad as well, but most of the BASIS jobs out there are on shift as you will be most likely supporting European countries.

P.S:
Axon Solutions/ HCL Axon is currently recruiting for newbies in functional module. Just do a search in the jenjobs/jobsdb/jobstreet. The pay isn't exactly the top of the line, but it's an extremely good starting point for any newbies.

This post has been edited by zalmerox: Oct 13 2010, 10:31 AM
zalmerox
post Nov 25 2010, 05:24 AM

358 posts

Support/Call Center wise = ITIL .

Project wise = PMP & Prince2 would be better.

Not exactly relevant, but processes and methodology is still applicable.

P.S = Do note that, the main point of this is to make your resume "sparkle".

This post has been edited by zalmerox: Nov 25 2010, 05:26 AM

0.0402sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:57 PM