Serious Talk buying a house...

billytong
post Nov 23 2007, 01:19 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Nov 23 2007, 01:42 AM)
this I disagree. One should always consider opportunity-cost prior committing to any form of long-term investment. Why worry about the 5% mortgage interest p/a when you could potentially buy Maybank or PBB shares for less than RM2 at the right opportunity & timing?

When u are in financially tight as what TS said or limited knowledge I would not recommend to buy share you are a risk of losing you capital.

This post has been edited by billytong: Nov 23 2007, 01:22 PM
Pai
post Nov 23 2007, 03:58 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

QUOTE(a6meister @ Nov 23 2007, 11:12 AM)
This is a good theory, and everyone should learn. I am using standard chartered bank MI mortgage as well, besides have to 10 per month for mantainance acc. bu good for long run and also spare cash.
same here, buddy thumbup.gif

Love the convenience and feature, albeit paying slightly higher rates compared to normal loans. Liquid cashflow is extremely important, especially during times like this where opportunities are abundance.

Added on November 23, 2007, 4:00 pm
QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Nov 23 2007, 07:44 AM)
the r many uncertain factors also, but i think it is an opportunity worth grabbing, plan fast entry n fast exit b4 the economy turn down n more ppl r forced into renting house/room, then buy condo/aptment for to renting.
I see smile.gif

Well, im pretty sure you've done your homework, so good luck in flippin' mate. Do update us the outcome if u dont mind wink.gif

Added on November 23, 2007, 4:02 pm
QUOTE(billytong @ Nov 23 2007, 01:19 PM)
When u are in financially tight as what TS said or limited knowledge I would not recommend to buy share you are a risk of losing you capital.
Sorry mate, I was under the impression that TS is cash rich ( after all the BMW & Merc talk blush.gif ), hence recommended flexiloan for him.

Perhaps TS should go for the fixed 3 or 5 years loan, to minimze his risk should BLR goes up.

This post has been edited by Pai: Nov 23 2007, 04:02 PM
yewkhuay
post Nov 23 2007, 06:03 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Nov 23 2007, 03:58 PM)
same here, buddy  thumbup.gif

Love the convenience and feature, albeit paying slightly higher rates compared to normal loans. Liquid cashflow is extremely important, especially during times like this where opportunities are abundance.

Added on November 23, 2007, 4:00 pm
I see  smile.gif

Well, im pretty sure you've done your homework, so good luck in flippin' mate. Do update us the outcome if u dont mind  wink.gif

Added on November 23, 2007, 4:02 pm
Sorry mate, I was under the impression that TS is cash rich ( after all the BMW & Merc talk  blush.gif  ), hence recommended flexiloan for him.

Perhaps TS should go for the fixed 3 or 5 years loan, to minimze his risk should BLR goes up.
Pai,

like i said b4 i m looking for high risk high return for this coming years to boost up my capital b4 turning into stable steady return, this would be the lowest (among high risk) tht i can find (afford?)now. still, calculated risks are there coz we donno wats gonna happen next yr altho the developers said next few yrs r still good years for real estates....look at all the new projects in the newspapers , it is really crazy....

btw, anyone plan to attend the SMART Investment & International Property Expo 2007 in KL Convention Centre this sat-sun?
i hav registered but may not be able to attend.

howey
post Dec 3 2007, 04:14 PM

24 posts

hi brader..i think you should do more survey..
for instance..the condos' in gold coast..

1.Putra Place
2. GOld Coast Resort
3. Putra Marine

PP starting price 150k
GOld Coast starting Price 220k
Putra Marine starting price 300k
(buy before the condo is built)

after OC obtained

PP = 260k
GC=350k
PM=450-600k

you do the calculation..u pay 1 year before the condo is built..of course..risk is there..but..u get cheap..and u sell expensive..this is the best investment..
jz my 2 cents
Deja Vu
post Dec 11 2007, 04:33 PM

1,864 posts

QUOTE(Edi8888 @ Nov 20 2007, 09:27 AM)
my locations is at penang,
currently im thinking to buy a house, so far i see a condo quite nice, but the house is small, 670sqf and 1 bed room only, the price is 150k, do u guy think it worth?
currenty i have 2 choice in my mind,
1st: 670 sqf with 1 bed room only, price is rm150k

2nd: 1030sqf with 4 bed room, price is rm200k

i know it is better to get the bigger house....but the extra rm50k will cost me tigh evermonth....sad.gif
i seek those people who already buy house can help me on some advice... base on your experince and maturity...
another one, im only 23 years old, so is it posible that i can have my loan for 40 years?
serious talk only
Choosing which unit depends on what u want d hse for. I'll only choose d single R if its a stepping stone for a bigger unit in future without breakin too much sweat, or working n wan a own private place to call home.

Dun compare wit ur frens who r already spending on 'prestige' goods n its never too early to invest a property since d value will appreciate overtime especially in Pg which has among d fastest property growth in M'sia.

I'm only 25 n i just bought a hse at Prai area. No regrets. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Deja Vu: Dec 11 2007, 04:33 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0131sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:58 AM