4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Sodium iron car battery, gooding ar?, Byk ringan, but expensive

MaKiMo
post Jul 8 2026, 11:21 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jul 8 2026, 11:12 AM)
some youtuber did a poke test, it is not safer than lifepo4.
Both are quite safe, but NA-Ion a bit safer, youtubers will do anything to catch attention.
Take a look at the attachment.

zerorating
post Jul 8 2026, 11:23 AM

Miskin Adab
991 posts

Male
QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jul 8 2026, 11:06 AM)
thats why the cca stays the same? but they claim 3000 to 4000 cycle

but still expensive, ns40l which my car uses cost like near rm500
high cca doesnt mean high capacity. it just tell how much current can be draw when cranking.
that charge cycle can be honest as sodium ion could go as high as 15000cylces, but they need to limit the upper voltage to do so, limiting the capacity even mor.e
MR_alien
post Jul 8 2026, 11:26 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,606 posts

Male
QUOTE(zerorating @ Jul 8 2026, 09:36 AM)
3 times the price of my water lead acid battery. so yeah good luck, hopefully that bms could tahan.
so far i only saw 1 person use it...that also because he showed me
it's 3X the price of a normal battery but the warranty he told me is 5 years or 7 years

if you can afford it, it's worth it
the size is twice as small and it's insanely light...i can lift using my palm(he is using it on a saga BLM)
BL98
post Jul 8 2026, 11:26 AM

786 posts

Male
QUOTE(MaKiMo @ Jul 8 2026, 11:02 AM)
Ok, let me give you my story. Recently my Varta AGM DIN80 gave me the indication that it's dying. Mind you only used for roughly 30months. And it wasn't cheap, bought it for RM900+ last time. So at first wanted LifePO4 but cannot get one that was ideal (too expensive or no reviews).

So did my research and decided to go for the AESON NA-ION LN4 (DIN80), it has 3 years warranty and price after Shoppee voucher is also around RM900+, CCA is 900+. Even since installation, no issues at all, even my Start-Stop function is ok now (although I disable it everytime).

No brainer at all, since yes, the purchase price is higher but can last at least 5-7 years (according to the dealer), so average price per year of usage is much lower than lead acid batts.

P.S. The Varta weighs 31kg, and the AESON weighs only around 7kg.
if compare to AGM battery, then Na-ion battery makes sense

if compared to normal MF without AGM, then the price difference is higher.

normal NS40 MF camel brand is RM130, but AESON NS40 is RM380
zerorating
post Jul 8 2026, 11:29 AM

Miskin Adab
991 posts

Male
QUOTE(MaKiMo @ Jul 8 2026, 11:21 AM)
Both are quite safe, but NA-Ion a bit safer, youtubers will do anything to catch attention.
Take a look at the attachment.
manufacturer will claim anything but wont highlight its limitation. who knows if it will have something similar to lithium dandrite. sure its electolyte tahan?
at the moment it still too early to judge, we dont have much real life experience on it. but hey if it cheap, who cares.
zerorating
post Jul 8 2026, 11:31 AM

Miskin Adab
991 posts

Male
QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 8 2026, 11:26 AM)
so far i only saw 1 person use it...that also because he showed me
it's 3X the price of a normal battery but the warranty he told me is 5 years or 7 years

if you can afford it, it's worth it
the size is twice as small and it's insanely light...i can lift using my palm(he is using it on a saga BLM)
doubt, aeson battery only give 3 years battery. it is difficult for manufacturer to give long warranty on those electronic parts(bms)
COOLPINK
post Jul 8 2026, 11:34 AM
C
3,758 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jul 8 2026, 09:53 AM)
Feel like trying this on my ev but sked the BMS got issue since not using alternator
Alternator or not its not a problem for the BMS as long as the charging voltage is within 13.5-14.8V.

In fact EV has better voltage regulation than ICE alternator.
boonwuilow
post Jul 8 2026, 11:34 AM

Diesel rocks
3,842 posts

Male
QUOTE(BL98 @ Jul 8 2026, 11:26 AM)
if compare to AGM battery, then Na-ion battery makes sense

if compared to normal MF without AGM, then the price difference is higher.

normal NS40 MF camel brand is RM130, but AESON NS40 is RM380
If compare scrap value, lead acid still king because due to the weight, especially AGM.
zerorating
post Jul 8 2026, 11:36 AM

Miskin Adab
991 posts

Male
QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Jul 8 2026, 11:34 AM)
If compare scrap value, lead acid still king because due to the weight, especially AGM.
meanwhile kedai battery that i visit only give rm10 trade in value biggrin.gif
COOLPINK
post Jul 8 2026, 11:38 AM
C
3,758 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jul 8 2026, 11:31 AM)
doubt, aeson battery only give 3 years battery. it is difficult for manufacturer to give long warranty on those electronic parts(bms)
Engine bay heat is another factor.
Batteries do not like heat.

Also its this reason why our cars lead acid batteries die faster compared to cooler climate countries.

WH4CockcooBird
post Jul 8 2026, 11:39 AM
W
206 posts

Just go find out optimum charging voltage for sodium battery and compare to your car’s alternator charging voltage of ~14.4v.

No one stopping you splurging on such IQ tax.

😬
gobiomani
post Jul 8 2026, 11:42 AM

756 posts

I plan to buy this when the time comes to replace my DIN55. Price is about double of lead acid battery but I think it can last for 5 years or more compared to only 2 years max for lead acid.
zerorating
post Jul 8 2026, 11:44 AM

Miskin Adab
991 posts

Male
QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jul 8 2026, 11:38 AM)

Also its this reason why our cars lead acid batteries die faster compared to cooler climate countries.
and those ev lovers have the audacity saying EV battery last long2 here because mat saleh in cold county showing their old ev battery health is good.
do you guys didnt own phone or laptop or many other device that use lithium battery?

This post has been edited by zerorating: Jul 8 2026, 11:44 AM
boonwuilow
post Jul 8 2026, 11:48 AM

Diesel rocks
3,842 posts

Male
QUOTE(zerorating @ Jul 8 2026, 11:36 AM)
meanwhile kedai battery that i visit only give rm10 trade in value biggrin.gif
kena water fish by your battery shop already, market rate for wet battery is rm3.2 / kg and rm4.2 / kg for AGM. NS40 alone 1 eye close paling kurang also can get rm30.
zerorating
post Jul 8 2026, 11:53 AM

Miskin Adab
991 posts

Male
QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Jul 8 2026, 11:48 AM)
kena water fish by your battery shop already, market rate for wet battery is rm3.2 / kg and rm4.2 / kg for AGM. NS40 alone 1 eye close paling kurang also can get rm30.
you probably right, surat khabar lama people offer rm20 for my gs yuasa ns40zl battery last time.
MR_alien
post Jul 8 2026, 11:56 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,606 posts

Male
QUOTE(zerorating @ Jul 8 2026, 11:31 AM)
Not sure what brand, it was orang colour
The warranty is for the battery only
For me if it's for 5 years warranty by the shop, it's worth it because I don't have to worry about it
zerorating
post Jul 8 2026, 11:59 AM

Miskin Adab
991 posts

Male
QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 8 2026, 11:56 AM)
Not sure what brand, it was orang colour
The warranty is for the battery only
For me if it's for 5 years warranty by the shop, it's worth it because I don't have to worry about it
usually that kind of warranty tnc are going to be questionable.
like 1-3 years 1-to-1, 4 years 30% value, 5 years 10% value.

macam recon car warranty la, dont cover 100%, but the repair price on you macam full price because bengkel markup.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Jul 8 2026, 12:00 PM
boonwuilow
post Jul 8 2026, 12:07 PM

Diesel rocks
3,842 posts

Male
QUOTE(zerorating @ Jul 8 2026, 11:53 AM)
you probably right, surat khabar lama people offer rm20 for my gs yuasa ns40zl battery last time.
Then they go back open the cap fill it to the brim with water to add weight, then only resell to larger scrap dealer. See how they buy in unit from you, but they resell in KGs. How i know? Cause i also do the same thing devil.gif
netflix2019
post Jul 8 2026, 12:25 PM
N
461 posts

QUOTE(MaKiMo @ Jul 8 2026, 11:02 AM)
Ok, let me give you my story. Recently my Varta AGM DIN80 gave me the indication that it's dying. Mind you only used for roughly 30months. And it wasn't cheap, bought it for RM900+ last time. So at first wanted LifePO4 but cannot get one that was ideal (too expensive or no reviews).

So did my research and decided to go for the AESON NA-ION LN4 (DIN80), it has 3 years warranty and price after Shoppee voucher is also around RM900+, CCA is 900+. Even since installation, no issues at all, even my Start-Stop function is ok now (although I disable it everytime).

No brainer at all, since yes, the purchase price is higher but can last at least 5-7 years (according to the dealer), so average price per year of usage is much lower than lead acid batts.

P.S. The Varta weighs 31kg, and the AESON weighs only around 7kg.
So how many years liao?
BL98
post Jul 8 2026, 12:26 PM

786 posts

Male
QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jul 8 2026, 11:38 AM)

I only use my car once every 2 weeks. the battery just one year already show signs of weakness when start.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0173sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th July 2026 - 05:10 PM