What's the best camera setting for street photo?, Newbies here. pls give me tips :P

TSclivengu
post Nov 18 2007, 10:17 PM, updated 19y ago

1,850 posts

Just got my first dslr a few weeks ago, A100, but im too bz with my job..so only can test my camera from my own room ... here are a few shot i did. ..yet to go out to explore more with it. rolleyes.gif Please comment notworthy.gif

mount on tripod and test Shuttle priority for few second... my problem is with focusing. I hav to manually Agak agak adjust.. not sure any better way? And this photo can see clearly the distortion of the lens at wide angle.

expose for 10 seconds. guess sm1 might able to tell where i stay from this photo tongue.gif

test maximun zoom at 70mm. nothing particular bout this photo.. just d lamp post and lighting effect. but i like this.

taken from my room.. a bit blur though i mount on tripod. Forgotten to off my Supersteady shot. Can see the glass corner joints line doh.gif

My guitar. Test close up shot... using my ikea light to create dramatic shadows. and since my room r not a good background i just fill up my whole frame with this. whistling.gif

go midvalley Garden yesterday. take this shot... of the atrium.

My last shot of d day.. stop by security sweat.gif havent take the crossing bridges i wan to take...

This post has been edited by clivengu: Dec 2 2007, 09:52 PM
goldfries
post Nov 18 2007, 10:20 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

ahh see, good to check with security first. biggrin.gif

anyway I love some of your shots. Keep up the good work!
R a D ! c 4 L
post Nov 18 2007, 10:20 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

i see potential in you smile.gif i specially like the 1st and the guitar shot. smile.gif its moody smile.gif Keep it up!
goldfries
post Nov 18 2007, 10:22 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

2 3 4 are nice also. a little bit of cropping, leaving the city skyline - nice!
wlcling
post Nov 18 2007, 10:36 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

if there was a shadow on the first pic, it would be awesome... a shadow with claws or something.. but nice pic anyway! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by wlcling: Nov 18 2007, 10:37 PM
TSclivengu
post Nov 18 2007, 10:40 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Nov 18 2007, 10:20 PM)
i see potential in you smile.gif i specially like the 1st and the guitar shot. smile.gif its moody smile.gif Keep it up!
Glad to hear tat biggrin.gif i'll keep it up!

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 18 2007, 10:22 PM)
2 3 4 are nice also. a little bit of cropping, leaving the city skyline - nice!
Thanks for the comment goldfries. will try more in the next few weeks. Now i need to go out and try some outdoor shot. perhaps with human and daylight. thumbup.gif
goldfries
post Nov 18 2007, 11:24 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

understand your camera - that's important.

in your case, the Alpha A100 has onboard IS so learn to make use of that!
r4ydc24
post Nov 19 2007, 12:11 AM

Level of Noobness
1,067 posts

i vote for pic 1,4,5 rclxm9.gif
travis_ckf
post Nov 19 2007, 12:20 AM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

Lovely 1st shots. At least there no lens caps! tongue.gif Looking forward for ur pics clivengu thumbup.gif !
shinchan^^
post Nov 19 2007, 07:31 AM

K66
21,256 posts

not bad
maybe u group ur pics in different genre and post will be more organized
piscesguy
post Nov 19 2007, 07:45 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

Looks good!
TSclivengu
post Nov 20 2007, 12:53 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(r4ydc24 @ Nov 19 2007, 12:11 AM)
i vote for pic 1,4,5 rclxm9.gif
THanks for viewing rclxm9.gif hahaa

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Nov 19 2007, 12:20 AM)
Lovely 1st shots. At least there no lens caps! tongue.gif Looking forward for ur pics clivengu thumbup.gif !
no lens caps? wat is that means? thank you laugh.gif

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Nov 19 2007, 07:31 AM)
not bad
maybe u group ur pics in different genre and post will be more organized
dont hav time to take proper photos..so this few are my only photos i took around me.. a bit rojak.. cant be organized tongue.gif Will find a day really go out with d purpose of TAKING PHOTOGRAPHS brows.gif thumbup.gif

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Nov 19 2007, 07:45 AM)
Looks good!
Thank you! lots more to learn n try out notworthy.gif
quick_shaq
post Nov 20 2007, 03:06 AM

872 posts

wow...nice picture u took there...love a few of it
night photography is not that easy...
with what u did... rclxms.gif
TSclivengu
post Dec 2 2007, 04:05 AM

1,850 posts

I went to Bukit Bintang to test my shot and camera for the fullday today. The results are quite bad. Instead of having my sweet time installing my tripod and test every single scene with plenty of shoots (like the photos i first post in this forum-night scene), street photography requires me to make quick decision (on setting) and taking good composition. doh.gif

What I want to discuss here is on "setting"... cause i think im having most of the time spending on testing d right setting today. Composition is useless if setting are done badly. sweat.gif So I hope all Sifus here can guide me....PIcture by picture....

if sifus r the one taking each of the photos i posted, Wat setting will you straight away think of and use it right away? notworthy.gif btw..im using Alpha 100 with kit lens 18-70mm F3.5-5.6. no more others.

* all my photos are loaded without editing to leave it for comment. Although white balance + and brightness can b adjust in photoshop... but i think is better to be honest here in order to learn d right way icon_rolleyes.gif flex.gif

Aperture Priority. 18mm F3.5. 1/20sec. Photometry mode: Spot. Iso 100. WB: Auto...

I use spot mode cause the bright skylight will make the interior underexposed. So I test with Spot ..focus on the building ceiling.. before recompose to center of the skylight. I cant remember why i use Aperture priority by d way. sweat.gif

Program AE. 22mm F4. 1/50sec. Photometry mode: Spot. Iso 400. WB: Auto...

Building Exterior Under exposed~. what to do?

Same setting as previous photo.... but exposure correction + 2.0 EV
exterior looks okey now but INTERIOR OVEREXPOSED.. give up.. move on. LOL

shuttle speed priority. 18mm F13 1/2sec. Photometry mode: multipattern. ISO 400. WB:AUto

ChRIstmas trees!! try many shoots but can get a sharp and nice one. still looks a bit blur n underexposed. Now i cant figure why is it on F13... I think im trying to get everything sharp in the photo.. erm....failed.

Built in FLASHED SUCKS... mayb there are some setting for my flash that i havent know tongue.gif

Aperture PRiority. 70mm F5.6 1/15 sec. Photometry mode: multipattern. Iso 400. wb: auto

I used aperture priority bcause thinking to make the background blur. Looks like is not working because when im zooming in at 70mm. F 5.6 is the lowest F number it can get. nevertheless the photo still look a bit blur. (she is a static figure..)

Aperture PRiority. 60mm F5.6 1/20 sec. Photometry mode: multipattern. Iso 800. wb: auto

Look like no choice.. I have to increase Iso up to 800.. Usually the highest i'll go is 400.. Iso 800 in Alpha 100 looks quite horrible. ups.. at this stage.. i havent notice my WB are wrong...

Aperture PRiority. 35mm F5.6 1/15 sec. Photometry mode: spot. Iso 800. wb: auto

Few photos i took at that moment are very underexposed.. (due to the light background) so again i set to spot. Focus on the clown face.. n recompose. Result are .. the shop behind looks like on fire! whistling.gif

Aperture priority. 50mm F5.6 1/10 sec. Photometry mode: spot. Iso 800 Wb: auto.

One thing i notice that the program did not record is my Focusing setting. My focusing in this photo is correct. the boy in d middle are my focus..while d girl should be out of focus. I hope is my setting correct.. and not bcause it happens to be d boy din move and d girl move at that moment. sweat.gif

Aperture priority. 35mm F5.6 1/10 sec. Photometry mode: spot. Iso 800 Wb: Incadescent

Finally i realise my wb are way too yellow.. so set to incadescent/ tungsten light. shuttle speed still not fast enough.. cant capture movement at all..

Aperture priority. 35mm F5.6 1/10 sec. Photometry mode: spot. Iso 800 Wb: Incadescent

One of my favourite shot of the day. Although composition wise can be better. Disturbing background..and blurring clown hand. If all this are solved and the girl and the clown hand are closer...i will love this shot the best. The little girl has been waiting patiently for the clown for quite a long time until finally is her turn. nod.gif

Aperture priority. 60mm F5.6 1/2 sec. Photometry mode: spot. Iso 800 Wb: Incadescent

Very quickly she happily turned away and walked into Pavilion with her parents. I tried to capture that moment..but when my camera turn n face the interior of the mall.. My shot are messed up (VERY BRIGHT INTERIOR BACKGROUND). Argh...horrible shakehead.gif This are example of One chance Shot. There is no time for me to think of my setting like this. doh.gif

Program AE. 35mm F5.6 1/15sec. Photometry mode: Multipattern. Iso 100 +1.0 EV wb: auto

My last shot of the day. looks sharp in the small photo.. but actually not when zoom in.. all the faces of the fellow choir are quite blur. I think is the lighting that mess up the focusing ... not sure rclxub.gif

That's all for today. Thank you very much for Viewing.. and reading.. I know i Write a lot.. hehe.. just hope I can get some guide and advice from sifu here. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
skyancient
post Dec 2 2007, 10:06 PM

681 posts

i prefer the 1st batch of photo.. can feel the "heart" u putting in tongue.gif especially the guitar..... looks like Jay movie... "secret" wink.gif

This post has been edited by skyancient: Dec 2 2007, 10:08 PM
kenzio
post Dec 5 2007, 10:11 PM

241 posts

Try to use imageshack or photobucket to upload a larger pic instead of attaching it via the forum server....it would be more easier and pleasant to look at....and most important is hassle free...no need to click on the image to load it again.... smile.gif
TSclivengu
post Dec 6 2007, 10:47 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(kenzio @ Dec 5 2007, 10:11 PM)
Try to use imageshack or photobucket to upload a larger pic instead of attaching it via the forum server....it would be more easier and pleasant to look at....and most important is hassle free...no need to click on the image to load it again.... smile.gif
haha.. thanks. donno how to do that..will try next time. i hav very little knowledge with internet things. I dont even know how to put my signature.. blush.gif
couleur
post Dec 6 2007, 11:02 PM

188 posts

the white balance is all out. trigger the custom white balance before you move on

0.0225sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:05 AM