Anyone bought lenovo yoga slim 7 14IMH9?

TSFLampard
post May 4 2026, 04:06 PM, updated 2w ago

598 posts

just my review

i went to lenovo shop looking to get a thinkpad but sales ppl convincend me to get this instead.

around 5k, Core Ultra 7 155H processor 32 gb ram 1tb storage

i used this for 6 months. very much regret it.

1) no real sleep function. The sleep it has is not real sleep. I can tell because my other laptop when you sleep it goes cool, this one, even after sleep its still running hot
2) hot like fuck, i burnt my finger more than once trying to hold it. you can literally fry an egg on it when its running hot.
3) when it gets too hot it will throttle your performance, making it suddenly lag . which means there is only 1 way to put it, up right so the heat can disippate easily.

anyone here can corroborate if their experience is the same?
nebula87
post May 4 2026, 04:31 PM

Fg = mg
1,453 posts

Male
1. Is it the power management there no put close lid = sleep?

2. Cut cost no fans?

3. Must put external fan to cool it down?
COOLPINK
post May 4 2026, 04:34 PM
C
3,751 posts

Slim if you prioritize portability and light usage.
Other than that thinkpad FTW.

As for your heat problem, try adjusting the power plan to low performance / better battery life.
Also turn off the processor boost mode.

Honestly its not designed for heavy usage.

This post has been edited by COOLPINK: May 4 2026, 04:44 PM
COOLPINK
post May 4 2026, 04:35 PM
C
3,751 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ May 4 2026, 04:31 PM)

2. Cut cost no fans?

No fan not because of cut cost but because of portability.

This post has been edited by COOLPINK: May 4 2026, 04:45 PM
aepock
post May 4 2026, 04:39 PM

182 posts

every year change motherboard failure, i trade in for asus asfter 2nd motherboard failure, even the onsite repair was great and prompt but i cant bear with the downtime and the future if warranty expired. hate the side power button, easily accidntal touch.
lawrencesha
post May 4 2026, 05:11 PM

885 posts

Male
Har? Still got ppl consider CISC?
TSFLampard
post May 4 2026, 05:34 PM

598 posts

2. Cut cost no fans?

i chatgpt already, that model mmg dont have the kind of sleep other laptop have. even if click start -> sleep, its not really the sleep like other laptop
TSFLampard
post May 4 2026, 05:35 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ May 4 2026, 04:34 PM)
Slim if you prioritize portability and light usage.
Other than that thinkpad FTW.

As for your heat problem, try adjusting the power plan to low performance / better battery life.
Also turn off the processor boost mode.

Honestly its not designed for heavy usage.
kena con by sales ppl.... i also dunno what kind of jampi i kena because i went to the shop with a very clear intention to buy THINKPAD, walk out with something else pulak
TSFLampard
post May 4 2026, 05:36 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(aepock @ May 4 2026, 04:39 PM)
every year change motherboard failure, i trade in for asus asfter 2nd motherboard failure, even the onsite repair was great and prompt but i cant bear with the downtime and the future if warranty expired. hate the side power button, easily accidntal touch.
OH THIS TOO. i forgot to add this

so fcking many times i accidentally click it when holding
COOLPINK
post May 4 2026, 05:38 PM
C
3,751 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ May 4 2026, 05:35 PM)
kena con by sales ppl.... i also dunno what kind of jampi i kena because i went to the shop with a very clear intention to buy THINKPAD, walk out with something else pulak
Yeah i understand what you went through.
Never again for me.
Once i do my research and set my mind in it, no salesperson can change my mind anymore.

I found out long time ago they push the sales for their own interest and not the customers.
TSFLampard
post May 5 2026, 12:06 PM

598 posts

2. Cut cost no fans?

user posted image the kind of sleep this laptop has is actually fake sleep

it doesnt have the kind of deep sleep other desktop / laptp uses
nebula87
post May 5 2026, 01:28 PM

Fg = mg
1,453 posts

Male
QUOTE(FLampard @ May 5 2026, 12:06 PM)
user posted image the kind of sleep this laptop has is actually fake sleep

it doesnt have the kind of deep sleep other desktop / laptp uses
Ok. got it. thanks for the info.
drmundo
post May 5 2026, 01:35 PM
D
28 posts

understand your feeling bro. even microsoft is no doing a good job, their surface pro 11 with snapdragon really gg. very much regret of buying this junk.
andrekua2
post May 6 2026, 10:13 AM

13,636 posts

Male
Looks like you dont know what you are buying.

Pay attention to the processor next time. All those letters for Intel chip matters. H series is a high performance laptop chip drawing slightly less power than desktop counterpart (heck, most of them are considered desktop replacement with some portability). You should buy a U series at the very least, if not, then just buy one equipped with a Lunar Lake processor (2x6V or 2x8V) which offer power savings comparable to ARM SoC. Lunar Lake has fewer cores but good performance when on battery but it suffered compared to these power hungry H/HX chip (having more cores) when plugged in.

Right now the best Intel has to offer is Panther Lake (3xx series). This series has 2 ultra low power core which I guessed will be used to keep the system up when it is in sleep or idle mode to save power. It was able to achieve Lunar Lake idling power draw while delivery high performance when it was needed.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: May 6 2026, 10:17 AM
soonwai
post May 8 2026, 12:40 PM


11,533 posts

Male
QUOTE(FLampard @ May 4 2026, 04:06 PM)
just my review

i went to lenovo shop looking to get a thinkpad but sales ppl convincend me to get this instead.

around 5k, Core Ultra 7 155H processor  32 gb ram 1tb storage

1) no real sleep function. The sleep it has is not real sleep. I can tell because my other laptop when you sleep it goes cool, this one, even after sleep its still running hot
2) hot like fuck, i burnt my finger more than once trying to hold it. you can literally fry an egg on it when its running hot.
3) when it gets too hot it will throttle your performance, making it suddenly lag . which means there is only 1 way to put it, up right so the heat can disippate easily.

Just ordered Lenovo Yoga Slim 7i Ultra Aura Edition (what a name)

It was either Panther Lake or X2E but sked software compatibility so stay with x86.

This post has been edited by soonwai: May 8 2026, 12:40 PM
TSFLampard
post May 11 2026, 06:34 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ May 8 2026, 12:40 PM)
Just ordered Lenovo Yoga Slim 7i Ultra Aura Edition (what a name)

It was either Panther Lake or X2E but sked software compatibility so stay with x86.
let us know if its the same issue with mine slim 7!
andrekua2
post May 12 2026, 02:52 PM

13,636 posts

Male
QUOTE(FLampard @ May 11 2026, 06:34 PM)
let us know if its the same issue with mine slim 7!
Bro,

Panther Lake has long battery life... build on Intel newest 18A.
Savor_Savvy
post May 14 2026, 01:20 PM

2,785 posts

Female
QUOTE(FLampard @ May 4 2026, 04:06 PM)
just my review

around 5k, Core Ultra 7 155H processor  32 gb ram 1tb storage

I almost went in for this.

Guess I would need to consider something else.
andrekua2
post May 14 2026, 03:54 PM

13,636 posts

Male
QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ May 14 2026, 01:20 PM)
I almost went in for this.

Guess I would need to consider something else.
I guess people really buy laptop based on brands and not specs huh...
Savor_Savvy
post May 14 2026, 04:44 PM

2,785 posts

Female
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ May 6 2026, 10:13 AM)
Looks like you dont know what you are buying.

Pay attention to the processor next time. All those letters for Intel chip matters. H series is a high performance laptop chip drawing slightly less power than desktop counterpart (heck, most of them are considered desktop replacement with some portability). You should buy a U series at the very least, if not, then just buy one equipped with a Lunar Lake processor (2x6V or 2x8V) which offer power savings comparable to ARM SoC. Lunar Lake has fewer cores but good performance when on battery but it suffered compared to these power hungry H/HX chip (having more cores) when plugged in.

Right now the best Intel has to offer is Panther Lake (3xx series). This series has 2 ultra low power core which I guessed will be used to keep the system up when it is in sleep or idle mode to save power. It was able to achieve Lunar Lake idling power draw while delivery high performance when it was needed.
Thank you. This is really helpful.

0.0146sec    0.55    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th May 2026 - 08:49 PM