Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners, anyone here like2maintain V2 FAQ thread?

slickz
post Dec 11 2007, 01:34 AM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

this is the FAQ thread lah. No one is selling any PS3 here.

Added on December 11, 2007, 9:30 amah crap I missed the download perioud for GT5 HD! sad.gif is there any other way I can get it? I already signed up for the Japan PSN account but cant find it

This post has been edited by slickz: Dec 11 2007, 09:30 AM
slickz
post Dec 12 2007, 10:18 AM

2,149 posts

one question about the folding at home method

Do we have to delete the game we downloaded using the F@H method , before we can use the F@H method again to download another different game?

This post has been edited by slickz: Dec 12 2007, 10:18 AM
slickz
post Dec 12 2007, 03:03 PM

2,149 posts

awesome. that was fast!

We can rename our downloaded packages rite? All the program needs is just a .pkg file to replace the F@H file?
slickz
post Dec 12 2007, 08:03 PM

2,149 posts

thanks again. another really simple but critical question, say in the future when and if my ps3 crashes for whatever reason, I reboot it by holding down the power button at the front of the console for two seconds, then press it again for five seconds ?

How exactly do we reboot? I know it is bad for the console if we switch off the back switch while the LED is green.

This post has been edited by slickz: Dec 12 2007, 08:04 PM
slickz
post Dec 15 2007, 01:59 AM

2,149 posts

I have no idea, just make sure it has HDCP support otherwise you can forget about that monitor.

Anyways, how the heck do I open a new tab when I enter an address manually in the PS3 web browser? I dont know how to open a new empty tab, is there even such a function? Typing this from my ps3 now.
slickz
post Dec 16 2007, 11:17 AM

2,149 posts

well about the only complaint about the ps3 now is that the browser tends to run out of memory pretty easily. You cant open a video flash, some websites even refuse to load up. Saddest case is www.ps3fanboy.com. Website for ps3 but cant even load with a ps3 browser. tongue.gif
slickz
post Dec 29 2007, 08:11 PM

2,149 posts

I use 16:10 LCD screen here and I don't see any stretching.
slickz
post Jan 3 2008, 07:41 PM

2,149 posts

ok a friend of mine is wondering if he can connect his ps3 to celcom 3g broadband. Is it possible man? I doubt it is possible.
slickz
post Jan 8 2008, 09:24 PM

2,149 posts

I cant get my portable hard disk to be recognized by my 40 GB PS3. Any ideas? I connected both usb plugs already.
slickz
post Jan 11 2008, 11:34 AM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Jan 11 2008, 09:28 AM)
haha Morning brother,

im having black lappie, black lcd, black psp, black mouse, black wallpaper hehe
Couldn't be i get white suddenly looks wired haha. Now my workstation looks elegant haha

COD4 is nice to play leh but hard to control too many buttons to remember~ haha
Tonight i will try to connect wireless form the PS3 see how it goes. Difficulties occur i might messege here again  tongue.gif  whistling.gif

Really no need to sleep liow...eyes bengkak ...dream also playing COD4  doh.gif
congratz on your purchase. You have the same ps3 setup as me. Don't listen to the white fans, go what goes well with your setup! mine is black as well biggrin.gif Black's cooler than white brows.gif
slickz
post Jan 17 2008, 01:34 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(Ninja @ Jan 17 2008, 12:00 PM)
You need to buy something like this:

the cable in the pic appears to be a DVI-I Single Link cable. I had no idea which type of DVI to buy so I just took a risk sweat.gif didnt really believe what the storekeeper said. My HDMI-DVI cable is a bit different from the one in the pic.

the one I bought from All IT Hypermart is the 4th one from the top and it works just fine.

This post has been edited by slickz: Jan 17 2008, 01:36 PM
slickz
post Jan 17 2008, 08:19 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(Ninja @ Jan 17 2008, 02:03 PM)
Alamak.. got different type ke? sweat.gif You bought the RM70 DVI-HDMI cable, slickz? I think there's only one type sold at All IT Hypermarket.
yea I bought the RM60 one (1 meter, a little long) at All IT. I think possibly the ps3 can accept most hdmi-dvi cables. But anyway just to be safe do go for the ones we have shown here wink.gif DVI-D stands for DVI Digital Only and DVI-A is DVI Analog only.

This post has been edited by slickz: Jan 17 2008, 08:23 PM
slickz
post Jan 22 2008, 03:31 PM

2,149 posts

heheh you faced the same problem as I did to get all the necessary parts. It is like a quest I tell you! Look for it in hardware shops, not computer shops. Under cables section. Ace hardware, jaya jusco home improvement centre, homelife one utama . places like that should have.
slickz
post Jan 23 2008, 09:45 PM

2,149 posts

maybe the program runs with 32 bit .net frame work only
slickz
post Jan 25 2008, 12:56 AM

2,149 posts

If my 40GB PS3 can't play PS2 games, then why does it have a PS/PS2 memory card utility?
slickz
post Jan 25 2008, 10:31 AM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(K-End @ Jan 25 2008, 01:13 AM)
it for PS1 game...it's too bothersome to edit the XMB just to remove the PS2 memory card utilities. they just using the standard XMB for all PS3
geez. Oh well, I was hoping they would enable backwards compatibility in a future firmware update or something.
slickz
post Jan 27 2008, 01:56 AM

2,149 posts

short answer is no, long answer is possibly yes with a hardware hack using some little known DVI-HDMI interface. Most probably unavailable in malaysia anyway.
slickz
post Feb 1 2008, 09:32 PM

2,149 posts

you got to make sure you entered the right ip address. check if you assigned your pc the correct ip address, as well as the proxy server on ur ps3.
slickz
post Feb 2 2008, 10:25 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(khyron @ Feb 1 2008, 10:13 PM)
Rename it already still cannot.  cry.gif
Keep on getting the f@h 50mb.

Help i still can't install the demos on to the PS3.  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif

Added on February 2, 2008, 6:54 pmGuys how to install demo games using storage media?

Added on February 2, 2008, 7:44 pmThis is what i put on the tab:

http://www4.snapfish.com.au/slideshow/Albu...47/t_=118449647

Added on February 2, 2008, 8:05 pmAnybody pls help!!!!  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
I'm not near my proxy server pc to confirm this, but I think the address you entered shouldnt have that /..../ part. The full address must be used. the /..../ part is just shortform for a longer URL address.
slickz
post Feb 2 2008, 10:27 PM

2,149 posts

Well Trend Micro doesnt seem to think so. They released antivirus for the ps3.

http://www.afterdawn.com/news/archive/11853.cfm

more linkies from horsies mouthies

Tekan Lepas (Press Release)
http://us.trendmicro.com/us/about/news/pr/...1108022645.html

Main page
http://webclassify.trendmicro.com/index.aspx

This post has been edited by slickz: Feb 2 2008, 10:31 PM

0.0389sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled