Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners, anyone here like2maintain V2 FAQ thread?
Ninja
Dec 12 2007, 10:35 AM
[PBMY]™ Supreme Commander
QUOTE(slickz @ Dec 12 2007, 10:18 AM) one question about the folding at home method Do we have to delete the game we downloaded using the F@H method , before we can use the F@H method again to download another different game? Nope. No need. After game installation, the file will be gone already, and you can start downloading the next demo through F@H.
Ninja
Dec 31 2007, 11:00 AM
QUOTE(casablanca2 @ Dec 31 2007, 10:55 AM) it's been 5 days since i got my ps3 but i still cant create an account everytime i wanna go register, it will ask me go update 1st. but everytime connection failed when i am trying to do system update  What your PS3 region? You can use the following direct download link to download the update file: (Asian Region) http://dsa01.ps3.update.playstation.net/up...58/PS3UPDAT.PUPPut the PS3UPDAT.PUP inside your thumbdrive/Memory Stick under PS3/UPDATE folder. Then, on your PS3 select System Update through Storage Device.
Ninja
Dec 31 2007, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(casablanca2 @ Dec 31 2007, 11:12 AM) i dont know wat's the region..  how to check? it's ceramic white one.. thanks for the link btw, does it make any different wit the region?  Nope, not exactly. You can use US update on Asian or Japan PS3. No difference. Well, I guess most Ceramic White PS3 sold here are Asian region.
Ninja
Dec 31 2007, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(casablanca2 @ Dec 31 2007, 11:17 AM) but wat region mostly ppl will use here? i dont want mess up later.. if i update wit US region, is tht mean i need to create acc wit us address and the other way round?  Most people use Asian update, the one that I just posted. And, it does not effect your PSN account registration. In fact, you can create multiple accounts; whether its Asian account or US account. You can use any region to logon and play online multiplayer. No restriction.
Ninja
Jan 17 2008, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(antimatterMY @ Jan 17 2008, 11:46 AM) I want to get a HDMI to DVI for my PS3 so that I can play in my room Any standard that I need to be aware of? DVI-D??? what it is? Also is it male to male cable? You need to buy something like this:
Ninja
Jan 17 2008, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(slickz @ Jan 17 2008, 01:34 PM) the cable in the pic appears to be a DVI-I Single Link cable. I had no idea which type of DVI to buy so I just took a risk  didnt really believe what the storekeeper said. My HDMI-DVI cable is a bit different from the one in the pic. the one I bought from All IT Hypermart is the 4th one from the top and it works just fine.  Alamak.. got different type ke?  You bought the RM70 DVI-HDMI cable, slickz? I think there's only one type sold at All IT Hypermarket.
Ninja
Jan 22 2008, 03:33 PM
'Trouble Patching Game' thread merged.
Ninja
Jan 24 2008, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(kyle9 @ Jan 24 2008, 11:06 AM) Can i ask pro here how do i edit psn id? I wan to change name. And also how do i enter US Store? Currently i onli register under SG You cannot edit your PSN ID. You need to create a new one to enter PSN US. Just use a fake address with country set to United States.
Ninja
Jan 25 2008, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(Raiko @ Jan 25 2008, 02:53 AM) Do PS Eye compatible with PC ?? Not at the moment. But, I think they will release PC drivers for it sometime in the future.
Ninja
Feb 1 2008, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(khyron @ Feb 1 2008, 08:49 PM) I need help on installing game demos on my PS3!!. I have done all the steps on this link http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...entry14620968 still no go. Keep on getting the 50mb f@h. Help!!!! Help!!!!  Have you entered your PC IP address in your PS3 Connection Setup under Proxy Server?
Ninja
Feb 1 2008, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(khyron @ Feb 1 2008, 09:09 PM) What's your PS3 region? Did you put the appropriate FAH link that match your PS3 region?
Ninja
Feb 1 2008, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(khyron @ Feb 1 2008, 09:17 PM) Asia. Put in this on the first box. (http://dhk01.ps3.download.playstation.net/.../hk/fah/fah.pkg) Okay, on the 2nd box, I'm assuming that you set to game fah.pkg file, right? Thats weird.  Should be okay. Have you click the 'Start' button to start the proxy server?
Ninja
Feb 1 2008, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(khyron @ Feb 1 2008, 09:30 PM) Yes have started it. I can even see logs registered under the logs tab. My com ip: 192.168.2.2 PS3 ip: 192.168.2.5 Any ideas? Any other way to install demos besides this. When you start downloading from FAH menu, what did you see on the Logs tab?
Ninja
Feb 1 2008, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(khyron @ Feb 1 2008, 09:38 PM) Okay... that means the proxy server is working, coz there's log for url sniffing. What did u put for the following tab?
Ninja
Feb 1 2008, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(khyron @ Feb 1 2008, 09:58 PM) Do i have to rename the demo pkg files to a shorter name? rename it to fah.pkg. Do not use the long default file name.
Ninja
Feb 2 2008, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(khyron @ Feb 1 2008, 10:13 PM) I noticed something.. why did u rename your file to f oh.pkg.. it should be fah.pkg QUOTE(sirnevio @ Feb 2 2008, 10:18 PM) can ps3 effected by virus. ?...i scared if i put thumdrive, then it will effect it Nope, ps3 is virus free.. will not be affected.. This post has been edited by Ninja: Feb 2 2008, 10:27 PM
Ninja
Feb 2 2008, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(slickz @ Feb 2 2008, 10:25 PM) I'm not near my proxy server pc to confirm this, but I think the address you entered shouldnt have that /..../ part. The full address must be used. the /..../ part is just shortform for a longer URL address. yeah... i think thats the problem. URL address not correct.
Ninja
Feb 12 2008, 07:39 PM
QUOTE(tape23 @ Feb 12 2008, 07:34 PM) guys...would just like to ask...i just bought a sata2 320gb with cooler master external. i put it in the usb jack n in couldnt detect.. how do i format it in fat32? thanks. Connect your HDD to your PC and install/use the following software to format it to FAT32. http://www.compuapps.com/download/Swissknife/swissknife.htm
Ninja
Feb 12 2008, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(tape23 @ Feb 12 2008, 07:43 PM) thanks ninja. u da man. Added on February 12, 2008, 7:49 pmbtw..apa beza dia..format ntfs n FAT32? Well, let just say NTFS is the new file system that is used under Windows system, and FAT32 is the old one.
Ninja
Feb 12 2008, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(tape23 @ Feb 12 2008, 10:20 PM) ninja...i did use swissknife..... sh1t man...now my hardisk cannot work...it always hang when i connect to the pc... when i formatted it to fat32 just now...it pops up a blank window... sigh i hope the people in imbi can refund my hdd. Uihh.. what happen? Can you go to Control Panel > Administrative Tool > Computer Management > Disk Management; and see whether your HDD is displayed on the list?