Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners, anyone here like2maintain V2 FAQ thread?

Tctf
post Aug 12 2008, 08:45 PM

248 posts

60gb is the best, if u can buy...
since it read ps2 games..
SSJBen
post Aug 12 2008, 08:51 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(kikopi @ Aug 12 2008, 09:21 AM)
Hi All,

A noob here on many levels...;p, I tried to connect my PS3 thru my amp via the HDMI cable but the picture comes out but no sounds. I then tried to use the AV cable and connect it to the amp but still no sound. I went to XMB , sound settings and tried to set it there and still no sound.

I was told to get the Digi output? cable and connect it to the amp, is this true?

Help please, playing with sound from tv is not that fun.

And my PS3 browser language and the small box on the top right corner is in japanese, how do I change it to English?

Thanks!

Sorry if this was covered in the earlier pages, but going thru 120+ pages is tedious. smile.gif

Appreciate the feedback guys.

Your amp needs a A/V receiver.

QUOTE(metalslayer @ Aug 12 2008, 08:34 PM)
hi everyone , can i noe which one better and wat is mean 40gb, 60gb and 80gb is memory izit.. but which is better to use in malaysia.
wat is the diff between jp region or us region and how long can ps3 last i mean in hours went play coz i saw in youtube the ps3 can cook the meat and the egg in a min .sori to ask coz
i am noon anythings about ps3 at all.
i really need u guys help thankue so much .
All the questions you asked is already answered on the very first post of the very first page of this thread.

cynicks
post Aug 14 2008, 12:20 AM

91 posts

1 question , I might missed the post. When I copied an .avi file to my thumbdrive, it doesn't detect the file.

How do I play avi files ?
oni-kun
post Aug 14 2008, 01:35 PM

QUOTE(cynicks @ Aug 14 2008, 12:20 AM)
1 question , I might missed the post. When I copied an .avi file to my thumbdrive, it doesn't detect the file.

How do I play avi files ?
In your thumbdrive you need to have folders. If you put ur video file in the root, the PS3 will not be able to detect.

You need to create a folder in your thumbrive like below, all in capital letters :

X:\VIDEO

You should check the first page of this post, it will answer your questions later if your video cannot watch.

This i learn from bro SSJBEN hehehehhee, correct me if i am wrong.
xphossis
post Aug 16 2008, 01:06 AM

Me Gusta!
878 posts

Hi guys, just got a PS3 recently and got a few question.

How and where do I download game demos?

And normally how do u guys charge the controller? Must leave the PS3 on when charging? Can use PC usb to charge? How many hours to fully charge?
aiyish
post Aug 16 2008, 01:48 AM

Ryan Gosling
1,537 posts

QUOTE(xphossis @ Aug 16 2008, 01:06 AM)

And normally how do u guys charge the controller? Must leave the PS3 on when charging? Can use PC usb to charge? How many hours to fully charge?
signup for PSN and access their Playstation Store for game demos and much more.

To charge the controller, u need a plug into a running PS3. Also u can use USB on a pc to charge (charging mine now). But make sure that ur pc is turn on first.
GamersFamilia
post Aug 16 2008, 09:02 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,804 posts

QUOTE(xphossis @ Aug 16 2008, 01:06 AM)

same here , me bought mine on 12 of august 2008 ( last tuesday )...anyway u can charge ur controller while ur playing the games..it took 2 hours for the controller fully charge...or like aiyish said u can use pc usb to charge it.
xphossis
post Aug 16 2008, 03:34 PM

Me Gusta!
878 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Aug 16 2008, 09:02 AM)
same here , me bought mine on 12 of august 2008 ( last tuesday )...anyway u can charge ur controller while ur playing the games..it took 2 hours for the controller fully charge...or like aiyish said u can use pc usb to charge it.
Does charging and playing the same time reduce the battery life span?
jsc_tidus
post Aug 16 2008, 04:00 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

any solution to revive a ps3 that cant detect disc?
SSJBen
post Aug 16 2008, 04:53 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(xphossis @ Aug 16 2008, 03:34 PM)
Does charging and playing the same time reduce the battery life span?
No it doesn't.

Sony actually encourages you to recharge and play at the same time if need be.

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Aug 16 2008, 04:00 PM)
any solution to revive a ps3 that cant detect disc?
Changing your PS3's blu-ray lens is one of the ways, PM tot31 if you need info on that.

Other ways which you can try at the moment though(slim chances of working however):

1. Re-format your PS3's HDD.
2. Go to Settings > BD/DVD Settings > BD Internet Connection > Set to Confirm
3. Disable Media Server Connection under Network Settings
4. Go to Network > Information Board > Press Triangle > Do Not Display
5. Disable Remote Play

Thats about it, I hope it helps but the chances of it working is slim to none. Good luck! wink.gif
cynicks
post Aug 16 2008, 05:20 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(oni-kun @ Aug 14 2008, 01:35 PM)
In your thumbdrive you need to have folders. If you put ur video file in the root, the PS3 will not be able to detect.

You need to create a folder in your thumbrive like below, all in capital letters :

X:\VIDEO

You should check the first page of this post, it will answer your questions later if your video cannot watch.

This i learn from bro SSJBEN hehehehhee, correct me if i am wrong.
Thanks friend.. works like a charm now. Didn't know its the same as the PSP
jsc_tidus
post Aug 16 2008, 06:56 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

it looks like i can confirm my ps3's lens is dead.. i did everything i can already.. (swap different disc, games @ movie, restore setting, what SSJBen tell me to do also done, and lastly i did the restore PS3 System which is basically formatting the whole system and still no life for it..)

i bought it at GS, and they say i got 3 option:

1- sent back to GS, pay RM350, they'll sent my ps3 to singapore, wait bout 8 month
2- i go to singapore myself, no payment, got the system on the same day
3- sent back to GS, bay RM300, they'll change the lens, but this will void the warranty

which one i should choose...!!! aahh..! pening.. i cant go to singapore, dont even have a transport!
GamersFamilia
post Aug 16 2008, 08:50 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,804 posts

well 8 month? too long meh...i think the best way send to gamers solution and let them change the lens...
Coconut
post Aug 16 2008, 09:37 PM

1,268 posts

Is it a must to split and convert the mkv files in order to play it in ps3? Is there any new ways of getting around it?

Tanakwagu_noh
post Aug 17 2008, 12:35 AM

Photographer
866 posts

I just bought new lcd tv LG30 Series at Senq.

Can somebody teach me step by step how to connect ps3 thru hdmi cable to LG30 LCD TV pls.

I been trying connect hdmi cable and push ps3 power button 2 nd beep but still the picture keep flickering to say yes or no.

pls sifu help me.. rclxub.gif
earthdome
post Aug 17 2008, 12:47 AM

kato rosa
715 posts

QUOTE(Tanakwagu_noh @ Aug 17 2008, 12:35 AM)
I just bought new lcd tv LG30 Series at Senq.

Can somebody teach me step by step how to connect ps3 thru hdmi cable to LG30 LCD TV pls.

I been trying connect hdmi cable and push ps3 power button 2 nd beep but still the picture keep flickering to say yes or no.

pls sifu help me.. rclxub.gif
choose yes and yes again
FaLLeN-786
post Aug 17 2008, 01:59 AM

100 posts

aisehman...
help needed..
changed my ps3 (40gb SG set) hdd to seagate 320gb 5400 rpm..
did as per instruction..
when i start my ps3 , initially it says connect controller to USB and press PS button..
after that this is what came out:

"the system software cannot be run correctly. Press the PS button to try and restart the system.

If the system cannot be restarted, the system partition of the hard disk must be reformatted and you must reinstall the system software.
insert storage media that contains update data of version 2.30 or later, and then press START and SELECT buttons at the same time.
For information on how to obtain update data, refer to the SCE Web site... bla x3"

i thought the ps3 will reformat the new hdd automaticaly??
tried pressing the start select buttons at same time... all it did was checking and then said nothing found..
aaaa panicking...
aphrael
post Aug 17 2008, 02:16 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(FaLLeN-786 @ Aug 17 2008, 01:59 AM)
aisehman...
help needed..
changed my ps3 (40gb SG set) hdd to seagate 320gb 5400 rpm..
did as per instruction..
when i start my ps3 , initially it says connect controller to USB and press PS button..
after that this is what came out:

"the system software cannot be run correctly. Press the PS button to try and restart the system.

If the system cannot be restarted, the system partition of the hard disk must be reformatted and you must reinstall the system software.
insert storage media that contains update data of version 2.30 or later, and then press START and SELECT buttons at the same time.
For information on how to obtain update data, refer to the SCE Web site... bla x3"

i thought the ps3 will reformat the new hdd automaticaly??
tried pressing the start select buttons at same time... all it did was checking and then said nothing found..
aaaa panicking...
You need to download the latest firmware (at least 2.30 or later) onto a thumbdrive. Make sure that the firmware is the same as what was on your 40GB hdd, if not your save games might not be readable. You can search this thread for firmware download links http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/700496 (hint: it's on the 1st page tongue.gif ). Then, just insert the thumbdrive and then press START and SELECT when prompted. Make sure you save the firmware in PS3>UPDATE folder or it won't detect the firware.

This post has been edited by aphrael: Aug 17 2008, 02:23 AM
FaLLeN-786
post Aug 17 2008, 02:27 AM

100 posts

a thumdrive wit fat32 format?
im using new hdd, no savegame or anything.. if i just use the latest firmware can aa? cuz i duno the firmware on my 40gb hdd..
aphrael
post Aug 17 2008, 02:35 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(FaLLeN-786 @ Aug 17 2008, 02:27 AM)
a thumdrive wit fat32 format?
im using new hdd, no savegame or anything.. if i just use the latest firmware can aa? cuz i duno the firmware on my 40gb hdd..
Any thumbdrive/pendrive will do. They are usually already in FAT. In your case, just download the 2.42 firmware and follow the on screen instructions.

126 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 >Top

0.0358sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:16 AM