Importing A Vehicle To Malaysia

mystvearn
post Aug 25 2009, 06:30 AM

6,639 posts

I want to know what is the actual cost of living with a beemer. Lets say I can get a used E90-93 around £6k. But I actually am not sure about the cost of owning a car. And to make it slightly harder, I will be based in Kelantan. Where to service the car there? I know Merc cars are easier since there are dealers almost every state. Not too sure there is a BMW service centre in Kelantan. and I don't like mercs. The only merc I do like is the new C-class, but thats more expansive than the current beemer (not the new facelift model). So, I really can see the point of importing if you just want the badge. If not, I'm happy to save money and buy a new entry level Honda city.

Mind sharing your experience. Cause the way I see, the cost of importing a car back is not really as cheap as people say it is. There are loads of taxes and that living cost.

Thinking of a brining back a 320d from UK age <5 years old

mystvearn
post Sep 3 2009, 11:41 PM

6,639 posts

wow, you can afford RM3.6k>> road tax....
mystvearn
post Sep 8 2009, 06:59 AM

6,639 posts

Dear BeastX,

How much is the tax for a 2005 BMW 320i which cost £8k?
mystvearn
post Sep 10 2009, 01:32 AM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Sep 8 2009, 01:48 PM)
You'll need to know the retail price in 2005...
Retail going for £24,465
mystvearn
post Sep 12 2009, 04:56 AM

6,639 posts

That is quite a lot actually.
mystvearn
post Sep 12 2009, 01:20 PM

6,639 posts

might as well save money and buy car back in Malaysia
mystvearn
post Sep 27 2009, 04:34 PM

6,639 posts

I heard you can "sell" your AP.

Heard its going for RM20k or £5k. Any buyers interested tongue.gif
mystvearn
post Sep 28 2009, 09:41 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Sep 28 2009, 09:22 AM)
Can, been done, However the car will have to be under the AP applicant's name for 2 years after import before transfer of car ownership can occur. There might be a high risk for the AP applicant for the quick buck (if the car usage is give to others without transfer of ownership)
Nevermind. Let my name be on some Ferrari or whatever which is kept in the garage. 2 years will pass by easily laugh.gif

I rather get RM20k/£5 and spend on other stuff.

This post has been edited by mystvearn: Sep 28 2009, 09:44 PM
mystvearn
post Sep 30 2009, 04:42 PM

6,639 posts

So where to sell the AP?
mystvearn
post May 27 2010, 11:27 PM

6,639 posts

I just got bad news:

Since Najib came in, there are even more strict procedures to bringing back a car. Unless you are not some bigshot with thick cable, better buy the used car in Malaysia. Long run will save you time, hassle and patients.

Another thing, there are hidden forms which are not detailed here but you need to produce once you get back to customs. I have few friends where the car are still at dock months now because incomplete documents. Also, while your car is at dock, you have to pay storage fees. Cheapest is RM8/day (no roof, open air)

Another thing I found out is that the AP runners in UK buying off AP from students going back about Rm 7k/AP and they will only use the AP's to put on new cars with at least RM80k profit. Meaning your average C-class will not be brought back with the AP cause there is no use as its already being CKD'ed in Pekan.

Based on feedback of people who did bring cars back themselves, I can safetly say that I am not joining them. Its like, its not worth it. Even the Malaysian working with a shipping company did not bring back a car, cause the hassle, pain, patients not worth it. He brought back cash and plan to buy in Malaysia. Hidden chargers are the one that makes it not really worthwhile.

Before you guys decide to PM me to sell my AP, I am giving it to my relatives with cables which I don't have. So don't bother.

If anyone just shipped a car back, please share their experience. Only new experience counts. New as in Jan 2010 onwards. Before that, old rulling, not that strict.
mystvearn
post Jul 11 2010, 03:39 PM

6,639 posts

Anyone tried shipping car to other ports aside from Port Klang?

Say Kertih Port, or Melacca port or Kemaman port. Maybe smaller ports are less of a hassle?
mystvearn
post Sep 18 2011, 07:30 PM

6,639 posts

Ok, people, I got the latest pekeliling from MITI regarding importing cars to Malaysia for students/professionals dated 27 July 2011.

I'll upload the files later here but the gist for you to qualify to get AP is:

1. Kna apply AP sendiri-get the forms from MITI etc, go there in person. Cannot use agent anymore to apply. In fact illegal. I know first hand two people. One person kereta tak lepas kastam, the other one go to court sebab forge//palsu documents. The agent lepas tangan say not my fault. Spouse does not have AP rights. Only student studying has an AP even though the spouse does the driving. This is more relevant when the person studying is the wife and husband tag along. New addition to the 27th July ruling.

2. Ada lesen malaysia. No malaysian license BEFORE going overseas-forget it. You do not have AP to bring back a car-regardless you spend 5 years overseas. MITI reasoning cause if you don't have malaysian license, how come you can drive car when you go to release the car. New addition to the 27th July ruling.

3. Ada lesen at the country you are studying at SEPANJANG memiliki kereta di negara tersebut. Meaning, if you are in Egypt, or Japan, you need to have a Egypt, Japan driving license in order to qualify to get an AP. This is the NEW addition to the 27th July pekeliling. A lot of people who were planning to buy a car stuck at this part even though they can get country of studying/working license, it will still be less than 9 months. New addition to the 27th July ruling.

4. Proof insurance kenderaan tersebut 9 bulan seblum balik. Previously, a lot of Malaysians tipu by getting the car one week before going back and the car agent here will backdate the date of the car purchase. Does not work anymore. This one I know first hand friend bring back merc told to backdate to qualify the 9 months, then car kna compound with Customs. Customs allowed him to buy back the car at RM 400k. He bought the merc for £3k only. Langsung malu nak cakap kat kawan-kawan lain keta tak keluar and senyap-senyap gitu jer. This one OLD rule, but due to abuse, customs/MITI now work with the JPJ with the country where the car comes from. They will investigate on their side. They also know more about the car then you, so if wrecked car or half-cut car they will know. BTW, if your car is half-cut or chasis number does not match, they will rampas your car.

Failure to meet any of the four listed criteria means you do not qualify to have AP and the customs will are more than eager to impound your car.

** TAKE NOTE: Rayuan tak akan dilayan. Tiada wujud ruang untuk pelajar/professional rayu pasal kereta. This one very very OLD law in place. The customs do give you first dibs to buy back the car before being auctioned off, but the price customs will quote you is at at least 150-200% of the price of the NEW car in Malaysia. My friend brought back an 2001 C class, for £3k, got stuck customs say you can have your car but at RM400k!

The new laws are brought about because:
1. Students sell AP to car dealers. So to curb abuse. The person who was brought to court/caught in the act was a student in Japan. Sold AP to dealer, then dealer got in trouble at Port Klang, delaer lepas tangan so student being brought to court for his action. Case still ongoing. So if you have AP remember that you CANNOT sell it to a dealer nor can you BUY an AP from a person you know. If you son has AP want to gift to you, that is fine, but the he still needs to do all the donkey's work of securing the car.

2. The current government has no money. This is also the main reason why the new rules are in place. Individual AP lower rate compared to franchise AP. Governemnt needs to make money, so they will tax you a lot. BTW, if you have the March/August 2011 cukai kenderaan list-that list DOES NOT APPLY to individual AP's. It only applies to franchise AP's. Individual AP's up to customs official how much to charge. My friends kena this part. Got charged more!

Due to the new rulling, some car dealers in Malaysia have tremendous loss- buying student AP's just to find out that student does not have license to drive a car in the country where they are studying. More than 90% fall in this category. The rest don't even have Malaysian license to begin with-so jangan harap can drive.

If anyone has has questions regarding student AP, let me know. Few people I know who were planning to bring back the car now

Forgive my rojak language, I just decided to copy paste this summary and edit as I go.
mystvearn
post Sep 20 2011, 05:38 AM

6,639 posts

as promised:

Sorry low quality-that is the highest quality I have
mystvearn
post Sep 21 2011, 03:35 AM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(bigfatant @ Sep 20 2011, 07:47 AM)
Is this an additional requirement to owning the vehicle for 3 years in the foreign country? Or does that not apply anymore

Anyway, good informative post! Well done.
9 months prior to bringing car back. If there is a 3 year rule, then I also don't know about this.

QUOTE(BeastX @ Sep 20 2011, 10:27 AM)
I suppose you can still circumvent pekeliling No. 4..... International License valid for a year and only 9 months of ownership is required. Your're required to stay more than a year to qualify.

Added on September 20, 2011, 10:29 am
I suppose it's still (for a long time already) owning the car at least 9 months and staying for more than a year abroad.

Actually there is no cost associated to personal AP (hence people abusing it, instead of paying commercial AP). I've always advocated that you work with in the set rules and DYI. These new gov steps punished the few stucked in customs now. Removing the source of income for the agents, but also may reduce importation of used cars but may increase purchase of new cars.......
^ I cannot agree with this though.. there should be guide-lines and law. If you fulfil all the criteria the should be a fixed depreciation rate where value and tax is calculated. Equal tax to all parties, commercial or personal, A "suka-hat" tax calculation is ... scalping/abuse of power/immoral. But is it not the tax calculation e-mail reply by Kastam recently posted within this thread still comparable with the tax calculation as before. I would think your friend was fined rather unfairly for not following the rules.... in a way say Rm340k for a "Commercial" AP for a 10 year old car.
Correct. Because few people abuse/tamak those who play by the law suffer. Well, technically guideliness are in place, but my friends kena the "suka-hati" tax rate... so I don't know what to expect on the tax rate. I have heard people in power being charged RM1 for new S-class, so I am inclined to say this is suka hati...

Before I went overseas, I was sooo into buying a car, bringing back home. Then while overseas, listening to other people's woes about their cars, made me reluctant. Come this new ruling, then leceh. Terus tutup hati on AP. I'd rather use myvi than merc cause easier to maintain.
mystvearn
post Sep 27 2011, 04:04 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(Them_Me_You @ Sep 27 2011, 09:35 AM)
Does it mean that if I got International license issued by malysian JPJ, I will pass the requirement of having license at the country where I reside?
No idea. Just to take note. In UK, malaysia international license only laku once per passport. Last time people used to go back to malaysia to renew their MIL every year. Now that does not work
mystvearn
post Sep 30 2011, 06:52 AM

6,639 posts

You can try apply as a professional to get that exemption
mystvearn
post Oct 24 2011, 12:24 AM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(orangkampung @ Oct 21 2011, 03:24 AM)

Added on October 21, 2011, 3:33 amHi there,

#1,2,3 ok very straight forward. But for #4, how does MITI check with for eg. DVLA UK about the registration date?If the applicat has its original backdate V5C form and original invoice from the car dealer in the UK, what will happen then? Second, regard the insurance, base on UK rules, all insurance policy that being cancelled and changed, the policy cover note must be returned. then the applicat only can bring home the xeroxed or scanned copy. There is a possibility of editing by the application on the policy insurance.:-). Third, i belief most cases are due to applicat using agent, i heard lots of cases car stranted at port because of AP application being submitted by agents and agents in Malaysia can duplicate the exact V5C form, insurance and invoice.

#4 How does MITI check with DVLA?
Easy: Now in UK car year registration form based on colour-coded forms. Like the old malaysian roadtax. Lets say 2011 form is blue, 2010 is red, you say you bought your car in 2010 but the form is blue colour, so MITI will know that itself is a lie. Thats how. I think its the V5 doc which is colour coded. (I don't know any more details since I don't have a car here and only hear problems from my friends with cars). If you got a backdated document with or without your knowledge, be prepared for your car being impounded by customs when you have shipped your car. Better be safe than sorry.

Yes a lot of people use agent cause don't want to do it themselves. Now you cannot use agent, must do it all yourself.

(BTW, I don't know any more info than the one I have mentioned here. Please don't pm me asking about stuff which I don't know like tax calculation, and situations which do not meet the AP requirements like <9 months, new car etc. If you read the document and think you don't meet the requirement then most probably you don't meet the requirement meaning you do not qualify to have an AP- If you got cable etc then that is a plus on your side cause the you can bend the rules. Normal people like me must follow the rule to the letter. I have no idea how customs will treat SORN vehicles.

I also will no longer answer PM's related to AP & cars since I have no plan to bring one back. If I know something I will explain here. If I don't reply here means I too don't know any more info:x )

mystvearn
post Apr 4 2013, 02:41 AM

6,639 posts

latest pekeliling I heard from MITI is that dependent spouse who follow along with you can also get AP. I am not sure how true this is. Anyone else heard about this?
mystvearn
post Jun 2 2013, 07:04 PM

6,639 posts

Can I suggest someone else who is active, make a new thread? In fact I suggest mods start thread.

TS has not been active on Lyn since 2008!. Hard to update thread.

Here methods from miti.
http://www.miti.gov.my/cmspreview/content....a18370-955a9d52

Also, latest I heard, spouses also can get AP.

I don't know much-since I decided not to bring back car, or decided to use my AP. Please don't PM me regarding buying AP, cause it is illegal by law to transfer student AP.
mystvearn
post Nov 12 2013, 08:58 AM

6,639 posts

Found this on fb

https://www.facebook.com/notes/akeed-azmi/u...152068262358304

0.0441sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:56 AM