Importing A Vehicle To Malaysia

kanz1986
post Aug 11 2009, 07:12 PM

108 posts

very neat calculator. thank you.

but seriously, how do u guys find the original car price way back 5years ago?
kanz1986
post Oct 7 2010, 01:37 PM

108 posts

hellow there guys,

i'm planning to ship back a 2003 DC5R 1998cc back to Malaysia from the UK, next year 2011. I have done the calculation according to the formula on earlier. Hope some sifus could help to double check incase there is any misscalculation.

Price in Year Manufactured (Yen) : 2,590,000 - (took from a website in earlier post)
Price in Year Manufactured (RM) : 97,500 - (Subject to currency rate)

(-) Peralihan 15% : 82,875.00

(-) Depreciation 03-08, 70% : 24,863.00
(-) Depreciation 08-09, 10% : 22,377.00
(-) Depreciation 09-10, 10% : 20,140.00
(-) Depreciation 10-10, 10% : 18,126.00

FOB Value : 18,126.00
Freight Fare (+1700) : 1,700.00
Insurance 1.5% of FOB : 272.00
CIF : 20,098.00

-20% Custom Selangor Discount : 16,079.00
-10% Custom Putrajaya Discount : 14,471.00

( + Import Duty 30% + Excise Duty 80% + Sales Tax 10% ) = RM 22,777.00

sweat.gif

kanz1986
post Oct 7 2010, 03:59 PM

108 posts

i see. Thank you very much BeastX. Btw, any idea what are the chances of getting the discounts? is it still available?
kanz1986
post Jan 19 2011, 09:55 PM

108 posts

Hi guys,

I'm on a verge to purchase a DC5 in UK and plan to bring it back by end of the year. Have calculated the costs of the car and AP but the car insurance in UK will be a bullet in the pocket.

I would like to ask, if anyone knows, the car insurance requirement/documentation to obtain the AP can be ignored or bypass?

To purchase the insurance for the DC5 in UK is quite costly as i'll be using my international driving licence, I'm trying to figure out ways to cut down the overall costs. The car will be registered, tax and MOT under my name by the dealer for a year, hence I would only need the insurance to drive around but I wont really be using the car, would not be using it at all if I could save on the insurance.

I have read previous posts to purchase online insurance from Aviva, but the car isn't registered in their online system, hence unable to do so.

Any suggestion?

A worst case scenario, I would just have to pay for the insurance.
kanz1986
post Feb 26 2012, 04:23 PM

108 posts

hi guys, does anyone have an idea how long will it take for the AP application to submit? i've already submitted mine, and they mentioned it takes 7 working days but it has already been 10 working days and counting.
kanz1986
post Feb 27 2012, 10:40 PM

108 posts

got it : )
kanz1986
post Feb 28 2012, 09:00 PM

108 posts

hi guys. can anybody clarify on the rayuan for the tax? read the previous posts before, some mentioned that the rayuan can be made twice, 20% at Kastam Putrajaya and 10% at Kastam Selangor. are they both still applicable?
kanz1986
post Mar 1 2012, 07:14 PM

108 posts

hi guys. can anybody clarify on the rayuan for the tax? read the previous posts before, some mentioned that the rayuan can be made twice, 20% at Kastam Putrajaya and 10% at Kastam Selangor. are they both still applicable?

Hi guys. I was just being explained in regards to the discount by my forwarder and Kastam Officer and for your future references, after the car has been evaluated by the Kastam Port Officer at the warehouse/port, the tax being imposed has already been given a 25% discount if the car is being used for less than 12 months and 35% discount if being used for more than 12 months. For the 2nd appeal which must be done at Kastam Putrajaya, a discount of 5-10% will be given, depending on the Kastam and it will take 7 days/working days to process.
kanz1986
post Mar 10 2012, 04:18 PM

108 posts

you can't. Without work/study in Japan, you won't be entitle to apply for the Approved Permit (AP) to bring out the car from the port and register in Malaysia.
kanz1986
post Mar 14 2012, 10:37 PM

108 posts

Msian, you make an enquiry to custom.gov.my using this format.
if you don't have any idea about the CIF value (like docket price)

Senarai Semakan Permohonan Lesen Import Kenderaan Persendirian (Bekerja/Belajar)
1.Jenama:
2.Model:
3.Body:
4.Chassis/VIN Number:
5.Kapasiti Silinder Enjin (cc):
6.Pacuan:
7.Seat:
8.Bahan api:
9.Spesifikasi:
10.Tahun Pembuatan:
11.Tarikh/Tempat Pendaftaran Asal:
12.Tarikh Dimiliki:
13.Jangkaan tarikh import:

just email the custom, u'll get more or less the exact import duty for your car. they'll reply in 3 working days. done it before, easy n reliable.

btw, the price of the car (10k) is irrelevant in the import duty calculation. The docket price or initial price of the car when it first came out is the one that matters.
kanz1986
post Mar 14 2012, 10:51 PM

108 posts

http://www.customs.gov.my/index.php/bm/hub...n-kastam-online

later on, they reply and give a format of the required information which they need. such as below

1. Manufacturer: MERCEDES BENZ 5. Engine Cylinder Capacity (cc): 1796
2. Model: C200 KOMPRESSOR 6. Drive train: 2WD
3. Body: 4 door Saloon 7. Seat: 4
4. Chassis/VIN Number: WDC2030422R499XXX 8. Fuel: Petrol
9. Specification: 6-speed manual gearbox, Cruise Control
10. Year Manufactured: 2006
11. Date/Place of First Registration: 06.02.2007 United Kingdom
12. Date Acquired: 26.08.2008
13. Expected Date of Import: 27.07.2011

once u have fill the particulars of your car, they will then provide the estimated breakdown for the import duty.
kanz1986
post Mar 14 2012, 11:11 PM

108 posts

your car's chasis number.
kanz1986
post Mar 14 2012, 11:15 PM

108 posts

i'm not sure. you could try, i guess and see what their feedbacks are but try to provide as much information as possible.
kanz1986
post Mar 16 2012, 12:08 AM

108 posts

personally, it would say that it depends on your luck. initally, i was confident to use the international driving license for tha AP but then i heard stories of application being rejected or questioned for not having the license from the country of origin. to be safe, its better to have the local driving license of the country. in my case, i've submitted both license to MITI, international and local.

btw, is ireland license same as uk license? is it under DVLA too? if its uk, u can do the conversion from msia license to hongkong license and then to uk license. there's no direct conversion from msia license to uk. it will cost you around 300 pounds.
kanz1986
post Mar 16 2012, 01:57 AM

108 posts

pm-ed you.
kanz1986
post Mar 18 2012, 08:56 PM

108 posts

waaa. koyak...
kanz1986
post Mar 19 2012, 01:20 AM

108 posts

hi there,

I believe you could bring one back under the Malaysia As My Second Home Scheme

( http://www.mm2h.gov.my/incentive2.php )

and the other one under your wife's name, assuming she's working or studying abroad. she need to apply for an AP and fulfill its criteria

( http://www.miti.gov.my/cms/content.jsp?id=...768357#eligible )

hope that helps.
kanz1986
post Mar 19 2012, 05:02 AM

108 posts

if that's the case, I believe you are not eligible to bring them back to Malaysia.
kanz1986
post Mar 20 2012, 11:31 AM

108 posts

Customs have their own value and system on how to valuation will be based. I've seen the list of cars and price being based from my forwarder. As mention in previous post, it is best if you email Customs the details of your car and they will calculate for you.
kanz1986
post Apr 4 2012, 06:08 PM

108 posts

Hi guys, have anybody done a speedometer conversion from miles to kilometres? If yes, may I know which workshop offers the service and how much do they charge? Thanks.

0.0424sec    0.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:00 AM