Importing A Vehicle To Malaysia

hankeymeal
post Sep 16 2010, 11:59 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(leslieng @ Aug 31 2010, 12:28 AM)
Dear all,

It comes to a time for me to relocate to Malaysia after 20 years in UK. I have asked this question last year and now its for real. I have two cars and due to current economy downturn, there is no resale value for my cars; Honda S2000 and Honda Jazz both five years old.

I need to make a decision to import to Malaysia. Please correct me if I am wrong;

For Honda s2000, according to page 31 of the akta kastam 1967, after 5 years it valued at 25,000 approx. so consider the worse case senario at 222% tax, it will cost me MY 55500. correct? excluding feight and insurance.

For Honda Jazz, after 5 years will be 9500 and add 222% will be around 25,000, correct?

Both of the cars in my wife name, does it means that only she can bring one car in? And I cannot?

Lastly, can anyone direct me to the procedure of importing cars please.

Millions thanx!!!! Cheers
Honda S200 tax will be around RM39,585 after appeal.
Honda Jazz 1.3 tax will be around RM14,688 after appeal.
Honda Jazz 1.5 tax will be around RM16,807 after appeal.

Added on September 16, 2010, 12:05 pm
QUOTE(kapalterbang_737 @ Sep 14 2010, 09:21 PM)
My friend is in US right now, will finish his study next year and he's thinking of bringing a superbikes home using his student AP..i;ve read somewhere that if we bought bikes that aged 5 years and above the tax is lower..is it true?
and how do we know the docket price of a bikes?he's planning on bringing a 2nd hand year 2005 bike...he bought it for RM15k  vmad.gif
the docket price is determined on new price or used price?
Please provide me the model,chassis number,cc and year to calculate the tax.

Added on September 16, 2010, 12:18 pm
QUOTE(nocplfs @ Jul 1 2010, 07:15 AM)
Dear All Tax Sifu,

i'm still quite confuse about the latest car important tax thing,can someone please help,?
just brought a used celica t sport (GTS) reg 2002 car.brought used for GBP 5650, the car original price when new was about GBP 20,000
currently the car is 8 years old. In Net total, how much do i need to pay for TAX when i ship it back?

i saw the AP checklist part it say "Returned to Malaysia permanently".
i have a 3 years migrant visa but only used one year so far,decide not to carry on staying and plan to come back malaysia for good.so basically i still have extra 2 years if should i want to use it,will this affect my AP application?

Please help...thank you.
Regards,
noc
Toyota Celica tax will be around RM21,690 after appeal

This post has been edited by hankeymeal: Sep 16 2010, 12:18 PM
hankeymeal
post Sep 22 2010, 10:47 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(alextanhl @ Sep 21 2010, 09:44 PM)
hi guys,

I am helping my sister to get a car back from UK, the car is 5 years old.
318ci convertible valued at 30k pound when its new. According to the paultan's docket price its RM103,050. I have tried to enter these no into the kastam tax calculator and its show RM32,153.33 to be paid. Is this correct??

appreciate the help and thanks in advance
Please provide me the chassis number and cc to calculate the tax.
hankeymeal
post Oct 19 2010, 07:33 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(alextanhl @ Sep 21 2010, 09:44 PM)
hi guys,

I am helping my sister to get a car back from UK, the car is 5 years old.
318ci convertible valued at 30k pound when its new. According to the paultan's docket price its RM103,050. I have tried to enter these no into the kastam tax calculator and its show RM32,153.33 to be paid. Is this correct??

appreciate the help and thanks in advance
Tax approx RM35,808

Added on October 19, 2010, 7:36 pm
QUOTE(keii-kun @ Oct 17 2010, 02:18 PM)
if you do live far from KL, except sarawak or sabah, it is better you do it yourself.
with complete document it will only take you 2hr to submit the document. no big deal. agents charges are ridiculous!
1 day leave will settle to submit.

maybe someone could add on the 1st page. just submit an application last friday.

Added on October 17, 2010, 2:27 pm

kanz,
the taxes should be about that. japanese car taxes are quite a lot right now. no escape on that.

based on my survey with local AP importer car seller, the taxes for the following car is approximately as below

wish - 2005/06 : not more than rm20,000
estima - acr-50 2006 : not more than rm50,000.

i was like whatttt???
Wish approx RM19,174.00
Estima ACR50 approx RM39,171.00

This post has been edited by hankeymeal: Oct 19 2010, 07:36 PM
hankeymeal
post Nov 4 2010, 06:45 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Bedok @ Oct 22 2010, 09:03 AM)
Open APs are awarded to some importers (you would be surprised at how many people actually get this service) and you can get them to import the car for you. You can  also buy the AP from them and bring back any car you desire. I do have a friend that works for grey importers company and they normally charge between 50-100k for these open AP depending on the cars the customer wanted.

Hankey, could you please find out whats the tax for 2003 Range Rover 3.0 TDV6?
Sorry. Customs Port Klang dont have the docket price.
hankeymeal
post Nov 9 2010, 03:43 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(es-lai @ Nov 9 2010, 11:44 AM)
Hi, anyone can help me to count the import tax for 2007 Mercedes-Benz S Class S320, 2987 cc, from UK, price £28,995. thanks!
Approx RM138,308.
hankeymeal
post Nov 11 2010, 12:00 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(punei @ Nov 10 2010, 12:35 PM)
if i want to bring back this car next year, how much tax i need to pay?

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/adv...cSummaryContent
You can get it here around RM10k-RM20k
hankeymeal
post Nov 12 2010, 10:33 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(punei @ Nov 12 2010, 09:30 AM)
are u sure?can u gimme any link to proof?fyi honda ej 4 door year 99 rm40k++ already lor..2 door more expensive i think
http://www.mudah.my/Honda+Civic+1+6Vti+EK3...+99-7357224.htm
hankeymeal
post Nov 16 2010, 09:59 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(schizopain @ Nov 16 2010, 01:54 AM)
why dont u send your car particulate and vin number to kastam online help and ask them to quote it for you?

i have ask them about honda civic 2.0 type r gt year 2007 and guess what they quote me? rm 40500 estimated and might be more if the guy taxing me at the port is not in a good mood. that is nearly the same amount of money i pay for the car here in uk and half of the retail price of the car here. and not forgetting that the insurance needed for the car is around 5k pound for a year which is half of car's price..  rclxub.gif

so basically to import my car i think i have to pay at least 120k.. but a type r in msia cost much more than that  sweat.gif

anyway, anybody have an idea how the kastam estimated my tax?
Is this the same model?
http://www.mudah.my/Honda+Civic+Type+R+Man...Red-7415032.htm
hankeymeal
post Nov 29 2010, 11:49 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(inc.louis @ Nov 26 2010, 12:50 AM)
I plan to get this car, im a student study in Uk for 1 year, next year july i will be graduating, can i send the car back for student free AP? and how much total tax + importation fee will be charge? Anyone help me out please?

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/adv.../true?logcode=p
6 years old approx RM89,202.00
hankeymeal
post Jan 15 2011, 01:19 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(spacecasy @ Jan 13 2011, 02:09 PM)
I had a proposition from an acquaintance
He was keen on selling his car to me.
Below is quoted text from him.
------
The car is located in United Kingdom but is still registered in My and has My documents. I would like to use a shipping company for this deal because we are very busy at work and we cannot come back in the country to sell the car. The process is very easy and I have just bought a 2007 Ford Focus and this is why I know how it works.This company will handle the delivery of the car and also they will handle all the registration papers. I will pay the delivery taxes and you will receive the car directly at your home address.
Let me explain you the whole process:
- First of all i need your name, address and phone number ( Then i will go to the shipping company to make the arrangements )
- After the car is in their custody they will send you a confirmation and also payment instructions. You must deposit the money the shipping company.
- In 7-10 days, you will receive the car and from that moment you will have 7 days to inspect it.
-  After the 7 days period is over the shipping company will come to you and if you decided to keep the car you will transfer the documents on your name and after the car is registered on your name, they will release the payment to me.
If you decide not to buy the car they will send you a full refund of the deposit and will get the car back to me without any cost from your side.

What do you guys think of this? no mention of customs tax, excise duties...etc...
Scam written all over??? or is there really a possibility?

Added on January 13, 2011, 2:11 pmrefer above post smile.gif
also the shipping company
www.easylogistics.t35.com
SCAM
hankeymeal
post Jan 17 2011, 08:07 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(Edward K @ Jan 16 2011, 09:55 AM)

Added on January 16, 2011, 10:03 amDear Bedok,
Thank you for your very comprehensive guide. It is very useful. Incidentally I like the way you approach each subject with a great sense of detail and rationality.
I have an AP for a C240 2002 mercedes and my car is now sitting in Port Klang and the custom assessor who looks like Madam Hitler insisted that her calculation for a docket price of Eur 27,700 and duty of RM30,981 is correct. I nearly had a heart attack as I am returning back to Malaysia after 39 years in the uk to offer my expertise back to Malaysia. I am still a malaysia passport holder. Here you have the Government begging for the expertise to come back to this country and we have the Kastam telling you FO. This is very frustrating. Do you have the docket price in Deutsche Marks for the Mercedes C240 2002 as Euro was not brought in as the Docket price yet and the DM was devalued.
Help !!!
Edward K

Added on January 16, 2011, 10:04 amDear Bedok,
Thank you for your very comprehensive guide. It is very useful. Incidentally I like the way you approach each subject with a great sense of detail and rationality.
I have an AP for a C240 2002 mercedes and my car is now sitting in Port Klang and the custom assessor who looks like Madam Hitler insisted that her calculation for a docket price of Eur 27,700 and duty of RM30,981 is correct. I nearly had a heart attack as I am returning back to Malaysia after 39 years in the uk to offer my expertise back to Malaysia. I am still a malaysia passport holder. Here you have the Government begging for the expertise to come back to this country and we have the Kastam telling you FO. This is very frustrating. Do you have the docket price in Deutsche Marks for the Mercedes C240 2002 as Euro was not brought in as the Docket price yet and the DM was devalued.
Help !!!
Edward K rclxub.gif  unsure.gif
Edward K,

The custom is right about docket price in Euro. 2002 and above must use GBP or EURO. Even C200 elegance tax is about RM26k.

Did the gov ask you to bring back your car? No, right? It is up to you. You must research first before do anything. Dont blame others. C240 2003 here can get this price http://www.mudah.my/Mercedes+Benz+C240-8199034.htm

hankeymeal
post Jan 24 2011, 05:27 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Jan 24 2011, 05:22 PM)
i called sakura forwarding last week and inquire for tax for several cars.after deduct the student AP tax,which is 25%,2009 Mini cooper JCW tax is MYR69000.so i just plus this amount,and the price of the car i gonna buy ? is that really high the tax ?
2009 model of course the tax is high. go buy 2003 model and you can get 20k.
hankeymeal
post Feb 27 2011, 11:03 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Ratez @ Feb 26 2011, 05:14 PM)
Hi I'm new to the forum but discovered this thread and needed some help.  Me and my parents currently live in New Zealand (10 years already) and planning to buy two cars soon.  One for myself and one for them.  So we currently have 3 APs but only using 2.  Graduating end of this year so now is a good time to buy a car and have it for 9 months.

Here are the few questions I have, some may seem stupid but just want it very clear before I get two cars from Japan:

So if I'm not wrong, currently I have to own the car for 9 months and have it insured under my name for 9 months?
Yes, you must register the car under your name and insured min 9 months before your flight back to Malaysia

It is only worth importing cars that are 6 years old+? 
This is subjective. You must know Malaysia market price. But older car will be lower tax.

When is the age of the car measured, at the day I submit my JK69 form or the day it arrives in Malaysia?
The day you submit form for tax calculation at customs

Rx8 with a CC of 1300 will have a road tax of only $70 per year as Malaysia only take CC into account?
RM70

Yep thanks. He should qualify as he had been working part-time and full-time.
Must work full-time and have working visa
hankeymeal
post Feb 28 2011, 09:16 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Ratez @ Feb 28 2011, 02:29 PM)
Regarding that, as long as he had worked full time for atleast a year, he is eliglble no?  I mean, we have permanent residence which is a step above working visa.

Or else shall ask him go study diploma for a year  rclxms.gif
PR visa no problem.
hankeymeal
post Apr 8 2011, 12:09 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(Time-Interval @ Apr 3 2011, 11:54 AM)
Hi guys,

I'm studying in Australia and I believe I will be entitled t a student AP right?

Now in this scenario, I'm bringing back Mersc S 350 L, the latest model. I need to own it for 9 months in Australia before bringing back, and I'm eligible for it since I'm here for 1.5 years. Is it correct?

Well, this car is sold for AUD 190k here, after converting it to MYR, it's now MYR 570k. According to this http://www.floristhut.com/taxkastam4.htm , I've got the amount needed to pay is MYR325792.76 . Thus summing up, it will be MYR895,792.76 which is so much more expensive than getting it from Mercedes Malaysia, MYR 830,967.

Australia has taxed part of it, and Malaysia taxes it again. So, if we're to bring the car back to Malaysia, will the Australia goment rebate the tax for us? If it's so, according to docket price + the amount needed to pay, it will only be MYR573.292.76 .

Sifus, please help me out. My dad's planning for this. Thanks in advance.

And... is there any runner doing this? do u guys have the contact?
Your tax estimation base on EU4.3 exchange rate is RM282k
hankeymeal
post Apr 13 2011, 07:43 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Apr 11 2011, 10:44 PM)
beastx / hankey,

need your knowledge and opinion.
i brought in a car via UK as below
honda civic coupe
chassis - ej6
manufacturer in honda usa (north america honda plant)

is it right for custom to still charge me the docket price and tax based on japan model/price when this model is not produced in japan?
Yes, base on Japan price. Same like Mercedes manufactured in South Africa. They don't use South Africa price.

Added on April 13, 2011, 7:47 pm
QUOTE(vX-2 @ Apr 12 2011, 12:56 PM)
hmm... I'm not in Japan, but kinda in a difficult situation to explain.
I'm in the states. However according to the AP rules, if I go back M'sia I can buy a car and bring-it-in. It's stated somewhere in the AP (*. pdf). (becuz the states is a left-handed drive car, so I can't bring it in, thus, am allow to re-purchase from somewhere and bring the car into the country -- that's roughly what it says)

How much did you pay for your car? (you mentioned u paid 800k yen for your car, tat means usd8,000 for me)?

Would you still be staying long in JApan? I will need someone's help to get me a right-hand side car.

EDIT:
Alil xtra info about me, I don't know if this would help, but anyways;
I've been driving my RX-8 (the one I own) in the states, since July 2008. I will still be working in the states for a few more years, it's just that, I am thinking to buy the car now, and bring it back so that I will have something to drive when I go back m'sia for my summer vacation leaves. I graduated at the end of Dec 2008 with my Bachelor degree, obviously I do not qualify for the 'return to home program' since it hasn't been 6 years.

So, just wondering how to re-connect the dots to tell the kementerian that I have my car in the states, and becuz it's a left-handed drive, I will buy a car from Japan, and have it ship in and show them that's my car? Just proof of purchase? Is that all I need? What are the other requirements to buy a car in Japan? (insurance and stuff, would require a local japan identification + driving license??)
Only 1 solution. You need to import RHD car to USA. Use for 9 months and bring it to Malaysia. Dont waste your time search through internet. Thats the only solution.

Or if you dont mind use LHD car in Malaysia, you can send your RX-8.

This post has been edited by hankeymeal: Apr 13 2011, 07:49 PM
hankeymeal
post Apr 15 2011, 07:42 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(vX-2 @ Apr 14 2011, 11:43 AM)
Only the state of Virginia would allow a RHD to be registered in the States. I'm not living there, so that's probably not going to be happening.

Is it really possible to import LHD car and drive it in Malaysia? Of course, I don't mind driving it on the wrong side of the road. Just abit of a hassle, but is it even legitimate to get it register? hmm.gif  hmm.gif

EDIT ADD: May I have a name or two of the 'forwarding agents' that you guys are talking about? I have no clue what/ who they are. PM me if necessary ^^ Thanks~!
Yes, you can register LHD in Malaysia.
hankeymeal
post Apr 18 2011, 08:55 PM

74 posts

Type R 10 years old exchange rate 3.60 tax including appeal RM20,747
Type S RM16,839
hankeymeal
post Apr 19 2011, 12:16 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Apr 18 2011, 11:24 PM)
thanks for the reply bro. meaning my calculation is wrong ar? hmm.gif
Yup
hankeymeal
post Oct 19 2011, 09:04 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(IpohLad @ Oct 2 2011, 03:14 AM)
Hi every Malaysian brother,

I'm a newbie here. I'm sure some have ask this question before but sadly I cant find any anwser for it. I am planning to import a 2009 toyota prius next September and come back to Malaysia for good after 20 yrs(I miss Assam Laksa) tongue.gif . Now I know that Malaysia Gov is try to promote Hybrid with tax exempt. Is the tax exempt only apply to new vehicle or secondhand as well I'm confuse.

My brother in KL seem to cant find any info at all.

Thanks for advance for any info.

Ipoh Lad
Tax estimation for 24-29 months old Prius RM49,431.00. Used hybrid car same tax as used petrol car. Only new hybrid can get tax exempt.

0.0415sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:43 AM