Importing A Vehicle To Malaysia

Na-Ra
post Jan 17 2014, 11:53 PM

14 posts

Dear Sifus,

-Visa expires Sept 2014 (1 Year visa)
-Planning to go travelling for a month starting from Sept before going back to Malaysia (from another country)
-Want to buy a ducati monster that is around £3k in February.

From what I've read, you can only apply for student AP 3 months after your visa expires. You also need to own the vehicle at least for 9 months.

So if I buy the bike in February this year and completed all the necessary procedures (V5 forms and insurance) in the same month, I can only apply for student AP in December when I am already back in Malaysia. Right?

But since I am starting my travelling somewhere in September, I plan to leave it with my friend and only going to settle the shipping procedures in January next year when I go back to London for my graduation.

Is this plan doable? Course I don't want to step on any of the customs' toes and get my monies worth. Not planning to pay extra bucks to these people where it isn't necessary, if you get my drift.

Appreciate if you can give your opinions since buying a decent good quality imported vehicles in Malaysia will burn a pretty beautiful hole in anyone's pockets.

0.0320sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:49 AM