Importing A Vehicle To Malaysia
graham_flag
Sep 26 2009, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(takuntung @ Sep 25 2009, 04:44 PM) yup, we pay a lot for car tax and many malaysians still dun realize this.. what to do , we live in this boleh land which have this kind of mentality "if u dun wan to pay toll, u boleh naik lembu kereta" , so same goes here, if u dun wan to pay car tax, u boleh naik lembu juga.. btw, i dun mind to pay this tax actually as long we have clean & transparent gomen, where the money really-really goes back to rakyat, like free highway(UK), free water (eire) free education (germany), etc.... arrghh stop dreaming. oitt takuntung, damn i agree with you 100%..i hate the times when they suddenly come out with a so-called brilliant idea (actually its lame and retarded), especially the f1 team wtf..better spend on education and infrastructure.. opss sorry out of scope =p
takuntung
Sep 27 2009, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(kamen87 @ Sep 26 2009, 05:41 PM) hello there. how about bring back the motorcycle <100cc??is it the same procedure and price?? i also plan to bring back mini moto 50cc, dunno got to apply AP or not
mystvearn
Sep 27 2009, 04:34 PM
I heard you can "sell" your AP. Heard its going for RM20k or £5k. Any buyers interested
BeastX
Sep 28 2009, 09:22 AM
QUOTE(mystvearn @ Sep 27 2009, 04:34 PM) I heard you can "sell" your AP. Heard its going for RM20k or £5k. Any buyers interested  Can, been done, However the car will have to be under the AP applicant's name for 2 years after import before transfer of car ownership can occur. There might be a high risk for the AP applicant for the quick buck (if the car usage is give to others without transfer of ownership)
kamen87
Sep 28 2009, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(takuntung @ Sep 27 2009, 05:31 PM) i also plan to bring back mini moto 50cc, dunno got to apply AP or not anyone know about bring back the <100cc motorcycle??i wanna bring back honda benly 90cc to malaysia..hehe This post has been edited by kamen87: Sep 28 2009, 08:04 PM
takuntung
Sep 28 2009, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(mystvearn @ Sep 27 2009, 04:34 PM) I heard you can "sell" your AP. Heard its going for RM20k or £5k. Any buyers interested  £5k AP to bring back mini moto, mmmm, maybe u can buy 10 units of mini motos in Msia
mystvearn
Sep 28 2009, 09:41 PM
QUOTE(BeastX @ Sep 28 2009, 09:22 AM) Can, been done, However the car will have to be under the AP applicant's name for 2 years after import before transfer of car ownership can occur. There might be a high risk for the AP applicant for the quick buck (if the car usage is give to others without transfer of ownership) Nevermind. Let my name be on some Ferrari or whatever which is kept in the garage. 2 years will pass by easily  I rather get RM20k/£5 and spend on other stuff. This post has been edited by mystvearn: Sep 28 2009, 09:44 PM
insignia
Sep 30 2009, 04:38 PM
Hi Guys, Is it true that a car that has been registered in a South East Asia Country cannot be re-registered into another SEA country.
For example you can register a car from Singapore in Malaysia even with an AP?
mystvearn
Sep 30 2009, 04:42 PM
So where to sell the AP?
BeastX
Sep 30 2009, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(mystvearn @ Sep 30 2009, 04:42 PM) So where to sell the AP? It's illegal to sell... It'll be off the books/no-tax declaration... This post has been edited by BeastX: Sep 30 2009, 06:59 PM
D22S
Sep 30 2009, 08:27 PM
Hey could anyone help me do the calculation here ? will much appreciate ...So here what if i bought my car in 2009 August , it was (2008) Mini Cooper S JCW $AUD45,000 And planning to bring it back in after 2 years or 3 years time..what will be the amount of tax to pay and other fees to bring it back to East Malaysia.. 45,000 AUD x 3 = already RM135,000 .
And i heard rumours abt student studying in Aussie and got a car there for 2 years will be getting tax free when importing our car from aussie back to Malaysia..is this true?
Thanks!
BeastX
Sep 30 2009, 09:34 PM
QUOTE(D22S @ Sep 30 2009, 08:27 PM) Hey could anyone help me do the calculation here ? will much appreciate ...So here what if i bought my car in 2009 August , it was (2008) Mini Cooper S JCW $AUD45,000 And planning to bring it back in after 2 years or 3 years time..what will be the amount of tax to pay and other fees to bring it back to East Malaysia.. 45,000 AUD x 3 = already RM135,000 .
And i heard rumours abt student studying in Aussie and got a car there for 2 years will be getting tax free when importing our car from aussie back to Malaysia..is this true?
Thanks! Not tax free, with the 2006 tax law in place now... You may hope for a revision of the tax structure in the span of 2 to 3 years.. 3 years, you are looking at about 100k in taxes. Unless you r a returning professional (through application you can get tax free). Cabotage, you may need to pay RM3 to 5k more for shipment to E.Malaysia This post has been edited by BeastX: Sep 30 2009, 09:46 PM
D22S
Oct 1 2009, 09:31 AM
QUOTE(BeastX @ Sep 30 2009, 09:34 PM) Not tax free, with the 2006 tax law in place now... You may hope for a revision of the tax structure in the span of 2 to 3 years.. 3 years, you are looking at about 100k in taxes. Unless you r a returning professional (through application you can get tax free). Cabotage, you may need to pay RM3 to 5k more for shipment to E.Malaysia Wow like this mean my car will roughly cost me about RM250k afterall to reach east Msia? Haha better sell in aussie and go back Malaysia buy new car..right ? And it take up so much time for the document and all ..
dr.is
Oct 10 2009, 04:38 PM
Dear Mr BeastX, Say I will bring back a 2004 Subaru Legacy 2.0 GT from Hong Kong in 2011, how much the estimate total tax I need to pay? I have tried the calculation by myself here, It was bought for HKD120,000 (MYR52,000), but I have checked from http://media.paultan.org/pricelist.pdf, the Cost Insurance Freight value (CIF) is MYR87,784 for Subaru Legacy 2.0 GT, so should I follow MYR52,000 or MYR87,784?? Assuming I just follow MYR87,784, and refer to http://www.floristhut.com/taxkastam3.htm, the depreciation would be 70%. So the total tax i need to pay is MYR 27,149.87??? Is that right? Please advice. Many thanks. Regards...
BeastX
Oct 10 2009, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(dr.is @ Oct 10 2009, 04:38 PM) Dear Mr BeastX, Say I will bring back a 2004 Subaru Legacy 2.0 GT from Hong Kong in 2011, how much the estimate total tax I need to pay? I have tried the calculation by myself here, It was bought for HKD120,000 (MYR52,000), but I have checked from http://media.paultan.org/pricelist.pdf, the Cost Insurance Freight value (CIF) is MYR87,784 for Subaru Legacy 2.0 GT, so should I follow MYR52,000 or MYR87,784?? Assuming I just follow MYR87,784, and refer to http://www.floristhut.com/taxkastam3.htm, the depreciation would be 70%. So the total tax i need to pay is MYR 27,149.87??? Is that right? Please advice. Many thanks. Regards... Yes the RM 87.7k value 70%.... RM 27k but effective tax is at 157.4% of CIF... so tax will be RM 42.5k... but there is a big chance of the change in tax rate before 2011 ...
dr.is
Oct 11 2009, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(BeastX @ Oct 10 2009, 08:00 PM) Yes the RM 87.7k value 70%.... RM 27k but effective tax is at 157.4% of CIF... so tax will be RM 42.5k... but there is a big chance of the change in tax rate before 2011 ... many thanks for the reply Mr BeastX .. by the way, may I know how to calculate "effective tax is at 157.4% of CIF"? and where you get that figure from? thanks again:)
BeastX
Oct 11 2009, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(dr.is @ Oct 11 2009, 02:58 PM) many thanks for the reply Mr BeastX .. by the way, may I know how to calculate "effective tax is at 157.4% of CIF"? and where you get that figure from? thanks again:) refer to my post no.66....
mingdynasty
Oct 18 2009, 04:35 PM
worth it to bring in a 2003/2002 civic ep3 type r ?? here seling about 25k aud.. i'll be here another year or 2... cant find the price in mas.. but new type r is 200k right ?
emanresu
Oct 18 2009, 08:50 PM
is it possible to get imported 2009 model (any) cheaper than market price.
JUST WONDERING
Oct 26 2009, 06:54 AM
i own a 1998 isuzu rodeo..so its like aabt 12 yrs old already..currently living in canada m a pr here...looking into moving back to malaysia...how do i go with the importing of the car back there...the value of the suv is around 3000 CAD at the moment and i purchased it at 1500 CAD...wats the taxes like on bringing it back?