AMD can deliver hundreds of thousands of Phenoms i

TSncool15
post Nov 17 2007, 02:53 AM, updated 19y ago

Hazardous
1,119 posts

AMD's Director of Business Development for Consumer in Europe, Middle East and Africa, Vincenzo Pistillo has confirmed that AMD plans to ship hundreds of thousands of Phenom CPUs in 2007.

We know that the number is larger than a few hundred thousand, but smaller than a million, and at this point AMD doesn't expect any shortages. The CPUs should be announced at some point next week and they will be widely available.

Dresden FAB is up and running and producing these CPUs and there is no expectations of any shortages. So, whatever AMD launches will be readily available.

Source : http://www.fudzilla.com/
phunkydude
post Nov 17 2007, 02:59 AM

2,403 posts

ah``.. no wonder barcelona in serious shortage during its launch~
major productions concentrated on phenom.. i guess`
jinaun
post Nov 17 2007, 07:10 AM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

few hundred 'k' units for worldwide launch.. that seem to be too little..

This post has been edited by jinaun: Nov 17 2007, 02:21 PM
X.E.D
post Nov 17 2007, 09:59 AM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

^
lol RTFAplz. laugh.gif
empire23
post Nov 17 2007, 01:14 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Phenom = PhenomenalPhailure in terms of supply. It's like the PE cards all over again.
phunkydude
post Nov 17 2007, 01:16 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Nov 17 2007, 07:10 AM)
few hundred units for worldwide launch.. that seem to be too little..
hmm`, not sure whether... few hundreds thousands units.. are little or not since it's a pre-launch productions..`
might be five hundred thousands -> 500,000 units... or 6 , 7 ,8..???
don^don
post Nov 17 2007, 02:40 PM

(#‵′)凸
1,930 posts

daily? weekly? monthly? yearly? there's no exact manufacture figure. d`oh~!

any benchmark of this phenomenal yet? or mayb i'l juz wait for penryl?
skyliner
post Nov 17 2007, 09:22 PM

aku orang
627 posts

just how long people have to wait laaa... intel keep pawning them before they even launch!
rainingzero
post Nov 17 2007, 09:26 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

its not the matter of pawning or not. maybe AMD got different marketing target for their product. not everyone will buy highend procs or other hardwares. just like they did to their ATI gc lines...nod.gif
Hornet
post Nov 18 2007, 11:21 AM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(don^don @ Nov 17 2007, 02:40 PM)
daily? weekly? monthly? yearly? there's no exact manufacture figure. d`oh~!

any benchmark of this phenomenal yet? or mayb i'l juz wait for penryl?
Yep, I think this is the benchmark you're talking about
http://www.ocworkbench.com/2007/gigabyte/G...90FX-DQ6/b1.htm

The Core 2 Q in this benchmark is a little handicapped at 230 instead of 266 FSB

This post has been edited by Hornet: Nov 18 2007, 11:25 AM
almostthere
post Nov 18 2007, 03:03 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

OWH gawd...why does anyone even read what the FUD says anyway? Look, Phenom maybe cool but in comparison to what? A soon to be phased out stepping of C2Q? Come on man. New generation pit it against the new generation, not some bumped up front side bus stepping version of good old Conroe. Let's see what they have to say when Penryn really hits the streets. And as for marketing strategy and whatchamacallit targeted group, weak excuse judging by the last few quarterly financial reports
riku2replica
post Nov 18 2007, 04:11 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

amd and intel uses different strategies in marketing...zzz
almostthere
post Nov 18 2007, 04:17 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Nov 18 2007, 04:11 PM)
amd and intel uses different strategies in marketing...zzz
and what would that be? Do share with us your insight
smokey
post Nov 18 2007, 05:56 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

phenom is launching tomorrow is it? 19th of nov or later?
fcuk90
post Nov 18 2007, 06:22 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Nov 18 2007, 05:56 PM)
phenom is launching tomorrow is it? 19th of nov or later?
19nov 2007 tongue.gif cannot wait to see how it perform
Alexes
post Nov 19 2007, 12:10 AM

-=alx=-
1,314 posts

really looking forward...

if not high perform, hopefully can giv some value to money thing...
cyew86
post Nov 19 2007, 12:47 AM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

i have always been supportive of amd since i dun do overclocking (heck, as if we can see any difference wen we compare both intel and amd side by side at stock speed) and i dun think i wanna pay extra (much extra) for the stuff that i do not utilize

it's good if phenom can win intel in term of performance this time round, but i rather they lose out a bit but give good pricing for their processors wink.gif
Hornet
post Nov 19 2007, 01:43 AM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Nov 19 2007, 12:47 AM)
i have always been supportive of amd since i dun do overclocking (heck, as if we can see any difference wen we compare both intel and amd side by side at stock speed) and i dun think i wanna pay extra (much extra) for the stuff that i do not utilize

it's good if phenom can win intel in term of performance this time round, but i rather they lose out a bit but give good pricing for their processors wink.gif
Actually there is ever since Conroe (Core 2 Dou) was release. If not, why did you think AMD priced their CPU so low? If it was same at stock speed, the price would have been same too.

I'm not saying you shouldn't buy AMD (without user like you, AMD would probably closed down long ago). But at the same time, we shouldn't be ignorant of what's really going on out there. To say that both CPU compared at stock speed has no difference is very ignorant.

linkinstreet
post Nov 19 2007, 08:22 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

Teh fact that non OC usually liked intel and OC'ers liked AMD which means that your statement that you liked AMD because you don't like to overclock is really weird...
fcuk90
post Nov 19 2007, 09:58 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Nov 19 2007, 08:22 AM)
Teh fact that non OC usually liked intel and OC'ers liked AMD which means that your statement that you liked AMD because you don't like to overclock is really weird...
oc'ers like intel more smile.gif see the pentium e series....can push until so high...but some like amd because amd price more attractive and oc a bit to get decent performance smile.gif he memang pelik biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by fcuk90: Nov 19 2007, 09:59 AM
daniel_lyw
post Nov 19 2007, 01:26 PM

436 posts

i highly doubt it...
they are having problem with getting high clocks on it...

lets just hope it will come out more...
but wanna know you guys will buy it a not??
timljh
post Nov 19 2007, 03:35 PM

150 posts

for ur information, there is no native quad-core by Intel yet, C2Q is juz 2 dual-core joined together its not native quad(tats the mis perception Intel trying to confuse consumer with the marketing again, "i am the 1st to launch quad core", same to the Pentium D during dual core time) the 1st to launch a true native dual core is actually AMD on May 31, 2005 compared to the native from Intel on July 27, 2006. Pricing for processor can be differed even though its the same performance for reason like brand, marketing campaign n so on...

For the comparison of thermal, i dont think it will be much difference,

The TDP numbers for Penryn desktop quad-core parts will be 95 and 130 watts,
with desktop dual-core parts coming in at a 65W TDP.

The TDP numbers for Agena desktop quad-core parts will be 89 and 125 watts,
with desktop dual-core parts coming in at a 45W/65W/89W TDP.

The TDP numbers for 45nm the Xeon will be 50W/80W/120W, depending on clockspeed.
For dual-core, the numbers are 40W/65W/80W.

The TDP numbers for the Barcelona will be 68W/95W/120W, depending on clockspeed.

This post has been edited by timljh: Nov 19 2007, 04:24 PM
dualshock
post Nov 19 2007, 04:40 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

look at both phenom reviews...one say phenom is cheaper than intel...one say phenom is more expensive...which is which...

Tom's Hardware

Anandtech

whichever it is...it's really a not so happy or encouraging time for AMD as competitor...
almostthere
post Nov 19 2007, 05:03 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(timljh @ Nov 19 2007, 03:35 PM)
for ur information, there is no native quad-core by Intel yet, C2Q is juz 2 dual-core joined together its not native quad(tats the mis perception Intel trying to confuse consumer with the marketing again, "i am the 1st to launch quad core", same to the Pentium D during dual core time) the 1st to launch a true native dual core is actually AMD on May 31, 2005 compared to the native from Intel on July 27, 2006. Pricing for processor can be differed even though its the same performance for reason like brand, marketing campaign n so on...

For the comparison of thermal, i dont think it will be much difference,

The TDP numbers for Penryn desktop quad-core parts will be 95 and 130 watts,
with desktop dual-core parts coming in at a 65W TDP.

The TDP numbers for Agena desktop quad-core parts will be 89 and 125 watts,
with desktop dual-core parts coming in at a 45W/65W/89W TDP.

The TDP numbers for 45nm the Xeon will be 50W/80W/120W, depending on clockspeed.
For dual-core, the numbers are 40W/65W/80W.

The TDP numbers for the Barcelona will be 68W/95W/120W, depending on clockspeed.
that is not truly relevant as only a small percentage of users would truly be able to utilise the general nature and strengths of a native quad core. The rest would be concerned about it's clockabillity, usable performance, and energy efficiency. And as to TDP, it is only a general indicator rather then an accurate measure of energy usage. What is more relevant is the general usage current draw of the processor when they conduct ther day to day business and judging by the numbers Anand put forward, it may be quite of a worrying issue. Phenom as a whole may (For now) be doomed from the start unless AMD revises their pricing structure as well as put forward a credible DDR3 performance
timljh
post Nov 19 2007, 05:26 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(dualshock @ Nov 19 2007, 04:40 PM)
look at both phenom reviews...one say phenom is cheaper than intel...one say phenom is more expensive...which is which...

Tom's Hardware

Anandtech

whichever it is...it's really a not so happy or encouraging time for AMD as competitor...
v won't actually know which is correct until it really reaches here since some of the review sites had some bias, lets wait till it reach malaysia then v will know =P

This post has been edited by timljh: Nov 19 2007, 07:44 PM

0.0179sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:08 PM