127 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Nokia [Nokia(tm) N95 8GB Official Thread], Its what improved computers have become!

tracyjz
post Nov 23 2007, 05:04 PM

-Jay Jay-
1,059 posts

the dictionary suitable for all the nokia symbia phone rite?
pigcat
post Nov 23 2007, 05:36 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(reevephon @ Nov 23 2007, 05:02 PM)
Normally, just come here to download again then install into your phone. http://www.nokia-asia.com/A4429895

I appreciate your (and chicaman) info to download the dictionary, however noticed the filename "N95_SimplifiedDictionaryDB.zip", DB stands for database. Moreover I've already downloaded it last night and it's only the database which still need the core application to run. I could be wrong but I've extracted to the flash memory which won't be deleted due to firmware upgrade, and it's not there...

So, still no way to install it. I believe it's a built in app came with the firmware. wink.gif

This post has been edited by pigcat: Nov 23 2007, 05:37 PM
missgeek
post Nov 23 2007, 05:43 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Nov 23 2007, 05:36 PM)
I appreciate your (and chicaman) info to download the dictionary, however noticed the filename "N95_SimplifiedDictionaryDB.zip", DB stands for database. Moreover I've already downloaded it last night and it's only the database which still need the core application to run. I could be wrong but I've extracted to the flash memory which won't be deleted due to firmware upgrade, and it's not there...

So, still no way to install it. I believe it's a built in app came with the firmware. wink.gif
Yes.. it's only database, not the dictionary application. I've checked there is NO FREE dictionary so far, but cracked version got lah.
Hmm pigcat, try update your catalogs in the phone... usually they have the pre-installed applications there. I've checked mine, dont have.... but catalogs are based on regions, firmware and locality... u have new firmware now, try la.

-------------------------------

Hmmm.... did u back up ur phone memory? or u just choose few folders only?
I thinkif u restore all folders in the phone memory... ur dictionary shud have mah. Provided u backup all folder for phone memoryla (settings, bookmarks, gallery, etc etc). I could be wrong tho blush.gif

This post has been edited by missgeek: Nov 23 2007, 05:49 PM
pigcat
post Nov 23 2007, 05:56 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Nov 23 2007, 05:43 PM)
Yes.. it's only database, not the dictionary application. I've checked there is NO FREE dictionary so far, but cracked version got lah.
Hmm pigcat, try update your catalogs in the phone... usually they have the pre-installed applications there. I've checked mine, dont have.... but catalogs are based on regions, firmware and locality... u have new firmware now, try la.

-------------------------------

Hmmm.... did u back up ur phone memory? or u just choose few folders only?
I thinkif u restore all folders in the phone memory... ur dictionary shud have mah. Provided u backup all folder for phone memoryla (settings, bookmarks, gallery, etc etc). I could be wrong tho  blush.gif

Hmm I've checked the catalogs, hmm no dictionary can be downloaded...I don't think it can be restored via backups and stuffs like that. If it really can re-installed by user I'm sure Nokia will provide the download.

That said I've been given an impression that this is a built in app that came with the firmware so I think there must something missing with this firmware package. I can live with that at the moment anyway so I'm no in a hurry for a dictionary, but I definitely love to have it around cause it saved me many times for understanding strange words haha (I mean my old E70). wink.gif

xpresside
post Nov 23 2007, 06:01 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(HolyCross @ Nov 23 2007, 03:18 PM)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Changelog:

Changes/improvements made from MCU SW v10.0.018 to v11.0.026:

- Telephony
- Improvements to packet data establishment after changing to roaming
network
- Improvements to number grouping
- Improvements to missing calls and new message notifications
- Audio routing improvements
- Say callers name volume increased to match ringing tone volume
- Call reliability improvements

- SIM / U-SAT
- SIM certificates supported
- SIM card registration improvements

- Camera
- Video recording starts faster
- Video stabilization improvements
- Exposure improved
- Lens shading improved
- Video sharpness and noise improved
- Capture tone synchronized with capture moment

- Browser
- Improvements in images visibility in browser
- General stability improvements for browser
- Refreshing web page functionality improvements
- ROP memory handling improvements
- Browser out of memory improvements

- Messaging
- Out of memory improvements

- VOIP
- Improvements to automatic redial

- WLAN stability improvements
- Product name included for USB mass storage mode
- Improvements to SD backup
- Stability improvements to BT connectivity
- Localization improvements
- Screen saver default value changed from 5min to 1min
- Chinese language typing improvements
- Startup settings updated
- USB stability improvements
- General stability improvements
- Multimedia menu stability improvements
- Multimedia menu startup time improved
- Maps stability improvements
- Barcode reader icon changed

thumbup.gif
that is n95 changelog not n95 8gb changelog doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
http://www.smartphonearena.com/forum/showthread.php?t=4309
post date 25-05-2007, 07:50 PM
pigcat
post Nov 23 2007, 06:14 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

According to the thread at hardwarezone, I think it's Nokia that's left out the dictionary lol, even phone purchased from Nokia store also the same...

Guess I'll just wait... biggrin.gif
ddww
post Nov 23 2007, 06:17 PM

~DoDy~
908 posts

@pigcat, missgeek,

aiks.. found out wats the thing goyang goyang edi.. funny, its my battery, it doesnt 100% fit in the back of my phone... aiks.. now i'll need to find something neat to stuck it in.. any idea wat to use? i mean wat to stuck??
pigcat
post Nov 23 2007, 06:18 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

@missgeek - I've ready about the product code of N95 8GB, it seems that SingTel did put in their own product code so that explained why yours cannot update hmm...Even the SingTel users also cannot update...

Added on November 23, 2007, 6:21 pm
QUOTE(ddww @ Nov 23 2007, 06:17 PM)
@pigcat, missgeek,

aiks.. found out wats the thing goyang goyang edi.. funny, its my battery, it doesnt 100% fit in the back of my phone... aiks.. now i'll need to find something neat to stuck it in.. any idea wat to use? i mean wat to stuck??

You can put a paper between the battery and the cover so that'll keep the battery down and fit snugly. However if it's rattling horizontally, I guess you have a wrong battery...

Check if the battery is the correct one (BL-6F)...?

Shouldn't be wrong battery I think, it'll be quite scary to use the wrong battery...Could be something else? blink.gif

This post has been edited by pigcat: Nov 23 2007, 06:22 PM
ddww
post Nov 23 2007, 06:41 PM

~DoDy~
908 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Nov 23 2007, 06:18 PM)
@missgeek - I've ready about the product code of N95 8GB, it seems that SingTel did put in their own product code so that explained why yours cannot update hmm...Even the SingTel users also cannot update...

Added on November 23, 2007, 6:21 pmYou can put a paper between the battery and the cover so that'll keep the battery down and fit snugly. However if it's rattling horizontally, I guess you have a wrong battery...

Check if the battery is the correct one (BL-6F)...?

Shouldn't be wrong battery I think, it'll be quite scary to use the wrong battery...Could be something else? blink.gif
yeah.. its BL-6F (checked before i pay) its shaking verticaly.. im currently using a small piece of paper to tahan it first... but i need something neat la... i think i'll try some double-sided tape... non of you all have this problem ah??? vmad.gif guess im just unlucky then... mad.gif
BlueBerry~
post Nov 23 2007, 06:50 PM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

QUOTE(ddww @ Nov 23 2007, 06:17 PM)
@pigcat, missgeek,

Wahkau. How come like that? Mines ok o.
pigcat
post Nov 23 2007, 07:33 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(ddww @ Nov 23 2007, 06:41 PM)
yeah.. its BL-6F (checked before i pay) its shaking verticaly.. im currently using a small piece of paper to tahan it first... but i need something neat la... i think i'll try some double-sided tape... non of you all have this problem ah??? vmad.gif guess im just unlucky then... mad.gif

Hmm if yours is AP, you're out of luck... ohmy.gif

Haiz today I dropped my phone also, put it into the pouch and trying to zip it suddenly slipped off and dropped, luckily the pouch can protect a bit...Everything seems ok but feels like the slider got loose a little bit, maybe illusion gua... sweat.gif

norazwan79
post Nov 23 2007, 07:44 PM

i love fullHD
1,414 posts

tomorow nokia service centre open or not? what time? im going to flash new firmware... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by norazwan79: Nov 23 2007, 07:45 PM
pigcat
post Nov 23 2007, 07:52 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(norazwan79 @ Nov 23 2007, 07:44 PM)
tomorow nokia service centre open or not? what time? im going to flash new firmware...  biggrin.gif

I think got but you have to be early, best go there before 12pm haha...

Weekdays open until 7pm, allow 2hours for them to do the firmware update (cause they said so)...

Mr.Lonely
post Nov 23 2007, 08:16 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

i heard someone saying after firmware update lost the dictionary ?
if like tat when tis coming thursday i get my phone i dun update firmware lo.... later my dictionary gone xD....
or it only apply to AP set? or both original and ap set effected with latest firmware?
xpresside
post Nov 24 2007, 12:29 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Nov 23 2007, 08:16 PM)
i heard someone saying after firmware update lost the dictionary ?
if like tat when tis coming thursday i get my phone i dun update firmware lo.... later my dictionary gone xD....
or it only apply to AP set? or both original and ap set effected with latest firmware?
mine doesnt come with dictionary in the first place, well not like i need it anyway
btw, any way to change the font on the phone? after the update mine become really small icon_question.gif
dgtel2
post Nov 24 2007, 01:14 AM

966 posts

Is the new firmware can view Youtube / flash-based websites?
chicaman
post Nov 24 2007, 01:17 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

wrong post....

This post has been edited by chicaman: Nov 24 2007, 01:26 AM
pigcat
post Nov 24 2007, 02:11 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

Here's more about the built quality that i'll like to check with you guys (yeah i know i'm silly blush.gif but you can treat it as a report anyway)...

1. I've noticed the upper right, side-panel seems loose a bit and can press inwards, just the upper right corner though, all other corners seems firm.

2. When slider in close position, put thumb on the d pad and apply slight pressure and move up and down it'll produce clicky sound.

3. When press on the earpiece it'll also felt clicky.

Overall still isn't impressed with the built quality (or was it due to the dropping earlier today?? A bit worry liao) compared to my E70 which built like a tank, but it was above my expectation...
Reventon
post Nov 24 2007, 05:46 AM

2,921 posts

i think this N95 8GB build alot better than my N95 ( using both N95 and N95 8GB )
Mine are the first batch N95 , perhaps this is the cause la.. because my slider are loose and when you slide down , you actually can press down around 1 mm !! mad.gif mad.gif
The N95 8GB slider are solid , so as the overall . well build indeed, but i get two set of this from AP also.. so nothing can complaint...
ddww
post Nov 24 2007, 07:30 AM

~DoDy~
908 posts

hmm.gif @pigcat, just FYI

1. I've noticed the upper right, side-panel seems loose a bit and can press inwards, just the upper right corner though, all other corners seems firm.
--> you mean the place close to the secondary camera part? checked mine and its all fine...

2. When slider in close position, put thumb on the d pad and apply slight pressure and move up and down it'll produce clicky sound.
--> when slide is in close position it tends to move up by +-1mm... nothing clicky... and how clicky do you mean?

3. When press on the earpiece it'll also felt clicky.
--> only when you press it really hard rite?? blink.gif and yet its not actually clicky eh... erm.. donno how to describe la... hahaha go try yours...

127 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:58 AM