127 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Bottom

Nokia [Nokia(tm) N95 8GB Official Thread], Its what improved computers have become!

leekweehui
post Jan 30 2008, 09:25 AM

130 posts

sometimes it drain fast sometimes slow, regardless of rotateme. i suggest you test it 1 week with rotateme and 1 week without. then count how many times you have to charge. lol.
JoshuaLee
post Jan 30 2008, 11:02 AM

417 posts

well...
being in a line of work where you need to have your phone charged up for all kinds of unexpected things....
I charge my phone everyday... it has flipsilent and rotateme(deactivated) in the back. If i use wifi / GPS, by the time i get home around 12am... it would have 3-4bars left... if it is just normal text-ing and about total of one hour call, 12am should have about 5-6 bars...

that day while taking bus down to melaka(2 hours trip), i text, listen to music via bluetooth stereo headsset, and had flipsilent, rotateme on... at the same time i was GPS-ing... started the trip with 6 bars, then listen to music via BT for about an hour... ended up with about 2 bars...

i think, you can set the flipsilent to not run on every flip you do... i deactivated the flip over = silent mode... i just set flip over = silent ringer... rotateME is on but deactivated, would on it if i need to see pics or etc etc...

on average of one day... with about an hour of call, about 15 text, some pics... i have 3-4 bars left at the end of the day... which i don't dare to keep until the next day as i don't want to have the situation where i've no battery the following evening / night

"Expect the unexpected, prepare for what you hope not to happen"

pigcat
post Jan 30 2008, 01:00 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(JoshuaLee @ Jan 30 2008, 02:51 AM)
pictures pictures.... i've some to share but then... i am quite lazy to post  it because it takes time and it is sooo slow... smile.gif
tried taking night shots of sceneray... even with +5 contrast, high iso, and +0.5 to +1.0 exposure... it doesn't give me the pic it want...
it looks sooo good on the screen(display) but when it takes the photo(processed, and saved)... the picture comes out entirely different le... not as sharp / color toning and etc... anyone can help me with this??
Night shots is what you should avoided with N95, simply because of the poor details at high ISO, the higher the ISO, the more blur it is (especially at long exposure, ala Night Mode, blur until dunno how to describe sweat.gif ). There's too much noise reduction and make the whole picture looks blur. Anything below ISO800 is still acceptable, and try to choose better lighting condition to take photos. There's really no point to take night scenery shots with N95... sweat.gif

And if lighting not good, always better stick to contrast +3 enough. Like the 2 recent photo I posted all only contrast +3. Oh and I almost always choose "fluorescent" for indoor pictures. nod.gif

I honestly think N95 processing is "under-contrast" la, take any colourful picture and use photo editor to set negative contrast, you'll see the colour very similar to N95's photos (grey'ish and washed out). sweat.gif So by setting contrast +3 it's sort of like calibrating the colour, I think +3 is definitely what Nokia should have set as default. Also more contrast between colours/black/white, you can definitely see the details are clearer (like the flower, although macro mode but it's at ISO-800, still can see some details).

Also I noticed the LCD screen on N95 8GB is actually yellowish (surprise eh), when you see the picture looked natural, it's actually purple'ish. So if you see the picture a little yellow'ish, then it's normal. And don't worry about overdoing the contrast, if it looked a little (just little ah) over, then it should looks good on PC monitor. Just do more trial and errors you can sort of judge the colour already. biggrin.gif

Added on January 30, 2008, 1:03 pmBy the way, my phone's battery life now maintained 3 days average. Take about 20 photos each day, 10mins~15mins call each day, some SMSes. Last time only lasted 2 and 1/2 days, now average can tahan up to 3 days. biggrin.gif

I set network to GSM only, brightness at lowest, and no WiFi scanning/BT/accelerometer. Kinda maximum power saving liao...If use 3G I think still can last 2 days... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by pigcat: Jan 30 2008, 01:15 PM
JoshuaLee
post Jan 30 2008, 01:15 PM

417 posts

same... i got set to flurorescent each time i take indoors... smile.gif
hahaha
got contrast +3 also

thanks for your advice...

but then... if use 3 days of battery like that... i rather not use the phone already...
no wifi, no BT, no accelerometer... if no 3g also...
seriously, it defies the whole purpose of getting this phone...
if you think your battery life is short... just go charge it every night... afraid of spoiling the battery??? (a battery is not that expensive to replace) and if you're that power saving, get a nokia 1110 or whichever phone that doesn't run on color screen... smile.gif if a phone can be fully utilized and last for a day... i believe it is being fully utilized... if i am trying to save battery so i can last 3 days... i find no purpose in getting this phone... i would rather buy a digital camera with 10MP and can take nicer shots... and get a decent looking phone with BT so i can talk while driving... both added together... still cheaper than this phone...

so...
food for thought

"Having but not using, using when it is not yours"
pigcat
post Jan 30 2008, 01:54 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

I must be retard to answer such a retarded post...

This post has been edited by pigcat: Jan 30 2008, 03:15 PM
mstr583
post Jan 30 2008, 03:59 PM

Twinkle-Twinkle little Star...
2,644 posts

Anyone using Flip type leather case for N95 8GB?

leekweehui
post Jan 30 2008, 04:46 PM

130 posts

freeze!!

Added on January 30, 2008, 4:58 pmpigcat: how many MP you set?

This post has been edited by leekweehui: Jan 30 2008, 04:58 PM
mstr583
post Jan 30 2008, 05:12 PM

2,644 posts

QUOTE(leekweehui @ Jan 30 2008, 04:46 PM)
freeze!!

Added on January 30, 2008, 4:58 pmpigcat: how many MP you set?
the image abit blur... hmm.gif
pigcat
post Jan 30 2008, 05:20 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(leekweehui @ Jan 30 2008, 04:46 PM)
freeze!!

pigcat: how many MP you set?
Nice picture!! Looks yummy... drool.gif

Of course I always set to max resolution which is 5MP. Your image looks blur cause the lighting condition is not good and dumb Nokia set your ISO to 800 hence blur photo (the flower under street lamp photo is also ISO-800). At such situation you can force the camera to take low ISO photo, set ISO to med (200) or high (400), so the shutter speed will open longer a bit to compensate for more lights but still maintain more details. Or simply use night mode but no macro mode.

Very troublesome, obviously, as a point and shoot camera N95 is still not quite there yet, it always set priority to shutter speed rather than low ISO. sweat.gif
leekweehui
post Jan 30 2008, 06:02 PM

130 posts

nop.. because i force resize. the original pic is too big to post. and the knife.. of course it is blur bcoz it is moving. i shouted freeze and they quickly stop.
HolyCross
post Jan 30 2008, 06:05 PM

356 posts

errr...how to set my MP to lower?? tongue.gif
ddww
post Jan 30 2008, 06:51 PM

~DoDy~
908 posts

QUOTE(HolyCross @ Jan 30 2008, 06:05 PM)
errr...how to set my MP to lower?? tongue.gif
in camera mode, go to Options > Settings > Picture Quality
doesn't hurt to explore pal...
HolyCross
post Jan 30 2008, 07:17 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(ddww @ Jan 30 2008, 06:51 PM)
in camera mode, go to Options > Settings > Picture Quality
doesn't hurt to explore pal...
oh i see..thanks smile.gif
pigcat
post Jan 30 2008, 09:36 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(leekweehui @ Jan 30 2008, 06:02 PM)
nop.. because i force resize. the original pic is too big to post. and the knife.. of course it is blur bcoz it is moving. i shouted freeze and they quickly stop.
You have to use the full resolution and resize them in order to make full use of the extra megapixel. Compare a 2MP picture and 5MP picture resize to 1024x768 you'll probably notice huge difference. smile.gif

lol freeze... laugh.gif
likwei
post Jan 31 2008, 05:42 PM

59 posts

i cant sign up symbiamsign.com ... how to sign those symbian software? sad.gif
mstr583
post Jan 31 2008, 05:49 PM

2,644 posts

QUOTE(likwei @ Jan 31 2008, 05:42 PM)
i cant sign up symbiamsign.com ... how to sign those symbian software?  sad.gif
Need private email to sign up symbiansign.com......Yahoo mail, Hotmail & etc all cannot...
likwei
post Jan 31 2008, 05:50 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(mstr583 @ Jan 31 2008, 05:49 PM)
Need private email to sign up symbiansign.com......Yahoo mail, Hotmail & etc all cannot...
sad.gif anyone know to signed symbian software here?
mstr583
post Jan 31 2008, 05:54 PM

2,644 posts

QUOTE(likwei @ Jan 31 2008, 05:50 PM)
sad.gif anyone know to signed symbian software here?
Me... laugh.gif
leekweehui
post Jan 31 2008, 06:06 PM

130 posts

sign once rm1 please.
mstr583
post Jan 31 2008, 08:44 PM

2,644 posts

QUOTE(leekweehui @ Jan 31 2008, 06:06 PM)
sign once rm1 please.
Wat software u wan to sign?

127 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:01 AM