Choosing car Insurance - Etiqa or P&O, share experience or difficulties faced

TSws0125
post Jan 15 2026, 03:20 PM, updated 4w ago

27 posts

Etiqa Cashback by Driving Less VS P&O Promilej

Ayam used online quote, both around same price after calculate potential cashback from Etiqa vs Promilej package.

Guys can share review if you are using them? If have claim experience with them is bestest.
zero5177
post Jan 15 2026, 03:33 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,565 posts

I travel less km thus I use etiqa, the drive less save more cut about 20% for me.

Sorry no experience on claim.
chiewkit
post Jan 15 2026, 03:35 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(ws0125 @ Jan 15 2026, 03:20 PM)

Ayam used online quote, both around same price after calculate potential cashback from Etiqa vs Promilej package.

Guys can share review if you are using them? If have claim experience with them is bestest.
Forget the rubbish insurance P&O... just go for Etiqa.
Autocountstick
post Jan 15 2026, 03:41 PM

689 posts

PO still higher price compared with etiqa. when i add on windscreen the price different. you may try RHB saver
dudester
post Jan 15 2026, 04:03 PM

1,252 posts

MSIG
ktek
post Jan 15 2026, 06:51 PM

小喇叭
13,261 posts

etiqa limit daily drive below 42km
i over liao. zero saving.
still advantage @supported many panel workshop compared to other popular brands
ayamxxx
post Jan 15 2026, 08:06 PM

4,109 posts

Etiqa anyday. U can call any workshop that repair accident car, they will more than happy to take Etiqa customer cz good payment record. P&O, purchased last time, when claim windscreen under insurance ask 6 shops, only 2 able to provide the service, others reject cz said P&O bad payment

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jan 16 2026, 12:42 PM
Icehart
post Jan 16 2026, 12:17 AM

14,913 posts

Etiqa. No issue with any of their claims whatsoever.
TSws0125
post Jan 16 2026, 09:52 AM

27 posts

Sweetttt, thank you guys for feedback. Seems like P&O have such bad reputation among users and workshop. Will go for Etiqa when time come to renew

Keeping tered open for any other feedbacks or recommendations
SportyHandling
post Jan 16 2026, 10:07 AM

632 posts

I'm not sure what can classify a car insurance company as poor or bad. All are the same to me. I always choose based on the lowest premium.

As for claim experience, I previously had a claim rejected by Takaful Ikhlas although it's a genuine claim. Apparently it's a nuthead loss adjuster who rejected the claim, and the boss of the workshop who is assigned to the repair mentioned it's laughable that the claim was rejected. To cut a story short, the claim eventually went through after a follow-up by the workshop but it's unnecessary problem created by the guy who handled the case.

That's the single experience of a claim rejected by the insurance company, Takaful Ikhlas about 3 years ago.
SportyHandling
post Jan 16 2026, 10:09 AM

632 posts

By the way, I recently renewed the car insurance with Takaful Ikhlas as it's the cheapest. Have used various companies before which include Zurich, Liberty, Lonpac, Etiqa to name a few.
ayamxxx
post Jan 16 2026, 12:53 PM

4,109 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jan 16 2026, 10:07 AM)
I'm not sure what can classify a car insurance company as poor or bad. All are the same to me. I always choose based on the lowest premium.

As for claim experience, I previously had a claim rejected by Takaful Ikhlas although it's a genuine claim. Apparently it's a nuthead loss adjuster who rejected the claim, and the boss of the workshop who is assigned to the repair mentioned it's laughable that the claim was rejected. To cut a story short, the claim eventually went through after a follow-up by the workshop but it's unnecessary problem created by the guy who handled the case.

That's the single experience of a claim rejected by the insurance company, Takaful Ikhlas about 3 years ago.
Past experiences back in 2019, had some rear hit collision and send my car to Honda Body and Paint center. At that time under Takaful Malaysia insurance, so as norm, send car, SC shown what items need to replace or repair, and insurance adjuster will come, verify and approve for it. In my case adjustor ok.

What surprise me is the SA at Sg Long 4S Kajang Body and Paint told me, if Im under Etiqa, for quotation less than rm20k, Etiqa will approve without need an adjustor.

Im not sure how legit it is cz never had accident claim right after. 2020 onwards all my cars with Etiqa, only one time during MCO under P&O
ayamxxx
post Jan 16 2026, 12:55 PM

4,109 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jan 16 2026, 10:09 AM)
By the way, I recently renewed the car insurance with Takaful Ikhlas as it's the cheapest. Have used various companies before which include Zurich, Liberty, Lonpac, Etiqa to name a few.
Cheapest for me always the P&O but capped 5k or 10k km capped. But if hitting more mileage, the price to top up not really cheap
SportyHandling
post Jan 16 2026, 01:27 PM

632 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jan 16 2026, 12:53 PM)
Past experiences back in 2019, had some rear hit collision and send my car to Honda Body and Paint center. At that time under Takaful Malaysia insurance, so as norm, send car, SC shown what items need to replace or repair, and insurance adjuster will come, verify and approve for it. In my case adjustor ok.

What surprise me is the SA at Sg Long 4S Kajang Body and Paint told me, if Im under Etiqa, for quotation less than rm20k, Etiqa will approve without need an adjustor.

Im not sure how legit it is cz never had accident claim right after. 2020 onwards all my cars with Etiqa, only one time during MCO under P&O
Rear hit collision, I assume it's not your fault but the other party who is fault so you only claim the other party's insurance?

Anyway, to me the insurance company doesn't matter but of course there are some companies which have slightly better claim procedure as you have mentioned. We would all want to avoid any form of accidents whether it's minor or major, not only to avoid getting the vehicle repaired and claimed under insurance which would be a hassle, but also to avoid having the NCD getting to 0% if claiming under your own insurance, and most importantly to ensure the occupants inside the vehicle are safe from any injury. To me, the reason we buy vehicle insurance is not so much about thinking of the ease of the claim process in case of an accident but because it's mandatory under the law. If one is entitled, there is no reason the company, or more appropriately the staff assigned to the case will reject the claim unless he's a nutcase just like what I have encountered. In the end it will be approved, just more hassle.

I guess everyone would want to avoid an accident but sometimes it's inevitable. I don't have many cases which require the vehicle to be repaired and claimed under my own insurance as it's mostly under the other party's insurance. Two cases where my vehicle was hit from the rear many years ago. It's only the latest case where I claimed under my own insurance, but it was an error on my part. If I could turn back time I would have just repaired the vehicle without using the insurance as the cost of the repair is around RM6k only. I earlier thought it would be more than RM10k. As a result, I lost the NCD and it's back to 0% once claimed under insurance. With a costly new car, the insurance premium is high with 0% NCD.

In summary, to avoid all the hassle of an insurance claim for a vehicle which may cause the NCD to be completely lost if under your fault, drive sensibly. In the event of an accident, if it's not your fault and a major repair is required to your vehicle the NCD will be intact. Nevertheless, best is not to be involved in any form of accident especially a major one as the vehicle won't be in its perfect original state after repair. FWIW the workshop handling the repair works is more important than the insurance company to me. Select a good workshop and not some unknown shoddy workshops which are notorious for poor workmanship and delayed delivery of the vehicle.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Jan 16 2026, 01:39 PM
ktek
post Jan 17 2026, 02:38 PM

小喇叭
13,261 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jan 16 2026, 01:27 PM)
Rear hit collision, I assume it's not your fault but the other party who is fault so you only claim the other party's insurance?

Anyway, to me the insurance company doesn't matter but of course there are some companies which have slightly better claim procedure as you have mentioned. We would all want to avoid any form of accidents whether it's minor or major, not only to avoid getting the vehicle repaired and claimed under insurance which would be a hassle, but also to avoid having the NCD getting to 0% if claiming under your own insurance, and most importantly to ensure the occupants inside the vehicle are safe from any injury. To me, the reason we buy vehicle insurance is not so much about thinking of the ease of the claim process in case of an accident but because it's mandatory under the law. If one is entitled, there is no reason the company, or more appropriately the staff assigned to the case will reject the claim unless he's a nutcase just like what I have encountered. In the end it will be approved, just more hassle.

I guess everyone would want to avoid an accident but sometimes it's inevitable. I don't have many cases which require the vehicle to be repaired and claimed under my own insurance as it's mostly under the other party's insurance. Two cases where my vehicle was hit from the rear many years ago. It's only the latest case where I claimed under my own insurance, but it was an error on my part. If I could turn back time I would have just repaired the vehicle without using the insurance as the cost of the repair is around RM6k only. I earlier thought it would be more than RM10k. As a result, I lost the NCD and it's back to 0% once claimed under insurance. With a costly new car, the insurance premium is high with 0% NCD.

In summary, to avoid all the hassle of an insurance claim for a vehicle which may cause the NCD to be completely lost if under your fault, drive sensibly. In the event of an accident, if it's not your fault and a major repair is required to your vehicle the NCD will be intact. Nevertheless, best is not to be involved in any form of accident especially a major one as the vehicle won't be in its perfect original state after repair. FWIW the workshop handling the repair works is more important than the insurance company to me. Select a good workshop and not some unknown shoddy workshops which are notorious for poor workmanship and delayed delivery of the vehicle.
good workshop chances they are panel of good insur.
shoddy workshop chances they are panel of shoddy insur
ayamxxx
post Jan 17 2026, 02:50 PM

4,109 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jan 16 2026, 01:27 PM)

Too many high risk heading to outside repair shop, insurance panel included. I always send to manufacturer body and paint center for accident repair. Not just use genuine parts, not scam people by swap existing other part and consistent for timeline to complete.

Outside workshop told 1 month siap, end up 3 months to complete due to suddenly too many accident car needs to repair on that time

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jan 19 2026, 08:49 AM
19 Degree South
post Jan 18 2026, 11:37 PM

1,708 posts

i am on berjaya sompo safe something. limit 10k mileage per policy year.only down side is they forced u to put a tracking device in your car which is knn irritating to operate! lol
SKY233
post Jan 28 2026, 04:34 PM

u x sukak u keluar
877 posts

I go with Etiqa bcs can use 0% installment for 6mths (Mbb credit card user)

GamersFamilia
post Jan 30 2026, 08:56 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
18,161 posts

Etiqa definitely the best choice, ive been with etiqa for long time, previously claimed due to some minor accident, the bodywork shop help me to claimed it, all they want just the cover note of the insurance 😻
max_cavalera
post Jan 30 2026, 09:26 PM

rebirth
5,622 posts

Etiqa is under Maybank. A bank.

And they no hanky panky here and there when deal with panel workshop. Oayment all cantik and fast. Almost all workshop more than happy to repair your car if your vehicle insurance is etiqa.

0.0158sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th February 2026 - 05:57 PM