News Sunway Square Mall: No more pets

junky_man
post Today, 01:39 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

Do you really think the mall was forced to not allow pets anymore?

Let me tell you one thing: money talks.

If the majority does not want to go to a mall that allows pets inside, you think the mall will survive?

If a pet friendly mall can bring money, we would have it all over Malaysia already.

But reality is, this decision is just business.
junky_man
post Today, 01:48 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(Szzz @ Dec 19 2025, 01:44 AM)
Ng Suee Lim straight up said it himself

Sunway also said its Selangor government directive, then removed the posting probably due to pressure

Now NSL come out say not he do?

Want ban have more balls la next time

Original post from Sunway Square Mall
New edited version
Soooooo......if no directive, why still wanna ban?

As i said, money talks. You wanna welcome a few or welcome all patrons?

Of course we consumers have choice to go to any mall. But does the mall operator wants less consumers or more consumers?

Hence money talks.
junky_man
post Today, 01:55 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(Szzz @ Dec 19 2025, 01:50 AM)
you believe theres no directive, like that I got house to sell you la
You can sell, but who is buying?

Same lor for the mall operator. If "got" directive, how come other pet friendly malls from the same operator within the same state is ok to be pet friendly?

Money talks my friend.

junky_man
post Today, 02:04 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(Szzz @ Dec 19 2025, 01:56 AM)
Nobody even disagreeing with you man

Question is why government is intervening

People want boycott mall, boycott la. Government mall issit
All good, it's a healthy conversation.

I mean, at one stage there was a supposed directive, but now putar say no directive.

So the mall operator, would be within their right, to u-turn the decision, no?

So why haven't the mall operator change back its stance to be pet friendly again?

One can assume that being a pet friendly mall is not a good business model.

Hence my earlier statement: money talks.

junky_man
post Today, 11:16 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(wolfx @ Dec 19 2025, 10:21 AM)
Its too troublesome to be embroiled in politics when the politicians themselves seem to be unsure on the laws and keep uturn on their words. So better play it safe for now and do something with the least resistance instead of keep uturn here and there making everyone confused.

Money talks, yes. I'm sure Sunway already did their market research and saw that making it pet friendly is still lucrative. The crowds on opening week is testament to this. Also, the gang terpaling Muslim are actually a minority and most Muslim don't really mind going to that mall, also as evidenced by the malay crowd after mall opened. Most ppl who bising are those from out of state who don't even come Selangor before.
While your assumption may be true, do you think the direction is based on political pressure or business sense?

I would believe the latter. Political pressure may have some weight, but if it affects the business due to this pet friendly stance, this would be the ultimate tie breaker on this policy.

Another way to word this, if a mall can be sure shot profitable being pet friendly, would all malls do this?
junky_man
post Today, 12:26 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(wolfx @ Dec 19 2025, 11:32 AM)
Political pressure. And its not an assumption because I know what happened behind closed doors.  cool2.gif

Money talks, and money talked way before this circus happened. But as you know, some people care more to live in poverty as long as their place in heaven is guaranteed, and often these are the loudest voices despite not being the most contributing.

As an answer to your second question, why not? There are actually more pet friendly malls coming up and planned in the klang valley but this recent stunt by Selangor state exco may make them rethink their strategy.
So you are saying you have privy of what had happened behind closed doors, and the direction was really from the state government? Then.........why there are other pet friendly malls within the same state that still have the pet friendly policy?

I mean, if that is the case, where is the consistency from the state government?

junky_man
post Today, 01:26 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Dec 19 2025, 12:37 PM)
This is a very good point. The rules should be clear to avoid confusion and endless debate.
Supposedly our friend here has insider knowledge. If so, why this particular mall and not other existing malls within the same state? Surely he has the answer.

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Dec 19 2025, 12:37 PM)
Viral + complaints/threat of boycott from puak terpaling suci

GE nearing mang, mesti tunjuk gomen buat kirija
I mean, that could be the case. But if the state goverment wants more brownie points, why no state ban on pet friendly malls? Why this particular mall only?

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Dec 19 2025, 12:41 PM)
Go for middle ground, introduce pet friendly zones in malls/parks

The whole mall doesn't have to be pet friendly

But idk mang, got some Malaysian pawrents really irresponsible af, let their pets pee/shit everywhere
To be fair, this mall has designated pet friendly areas, its just outside the mall.

junky_man
post Today, 01:43 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Dec 19 2025, 01:36 PM)
This mall had the worst luck of being the trigger point

It was never an issue before

Case in point, timah beer, pork sold in pasar malam, muslim choice label, alcohol in gov post events
Huhu, maybe. But im thinking more likely a business decision that did not panned out well. Hence the U-turn in the pet friendly policy.
junky_man
post Today, 02:25 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(wolfx @ Dec 19 2025, 01:56 PM)
Which other same state pet friendly malls have indoor pet friendly policies? My understanding is that Sunway Square Mall is the first in Malaysia to do so.....so they are the first to get ban hammered. And now NSL seems to be shirking all responsibility saying it wasn't a ban and he was misquoted. (lol typical)
Then you should ask the question back to yourself, why other pet friendly malls can be so, money or political? Surely if its such a bad business decision, these malls should not exist?
So Desa Park City does not allow pets indoor? Meaning the pet owners and pets are not allowed to bring their pets to patron at restaurants over there? Im not sure, haven't been there in a while.

Ok, we can argue Desa Park City is in KL. But then your statement that Sunway Square Mall is the first in Malaysia to have pet indoors? The other pet friendly malls does not allow pets indoors is it?

I am not sure. Hence the questions I have.

junky_man
post Today, 07:29 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Dec 19 2025, 06:26 PM)
Some restaurants there do allows dogs but only the outdoor patio portion facing the park.

There are some small malls that are pet friendlyand allow dogs inside but they are small n not well known like the mall inside megah rise at taman mayang.  Jayaone mall also has a alfresco bar section where the starbucks is located that has been dog friendly for years.

Way back years ago ikano mall in early 2000s had pet friendly policy where dogs were allowed to enter but had to go thru a special lift.

Don't think they are the first but certainly the biggest and highest  profile one and that's why it attracts the wrong attention
Thanks for this info. Does provide some context how "pet friendly" the malls are currently.

QUOTE(wolfx @ Dec 19 2025, 06:54 PM)
Source: https://www.malaymail.com/news/life/2025/12...are-mall/201911

Its marketed as such. DPC is an open mall so i guess they don't regard it as an indoor pet friendly mall.
Thanks for this info as well. The mall operator should just revert back to the pet friendly approach, even for indoors. Can still claim to be the first in Malaysia still.

But i guess irrespective of the supposed direction currently, probably this "pet friendly mall" business model won't be sustainable to have this mall be profitable.

Consumers can go other malls, but do mall operators want consumers go to other competitors' mall?

0.0137sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:42 PM