What's your experience with uHome 5G?

TScontestchris
post Dec 17 2025, 10:05 AM, updated 17h ago

5,582 posts

My Time Fiber contract is ending and they're not giving me any offer, so my 200mbps plan goes back to RM99/month.

I've used Time Fiber for 5 years, no issues. But recently I came across 5G plans from YES and Umobile and am considering moving to them in a bid to save RM30/month or so.

I am aware that the performance may not be as consistent as home fiber, but the truth is I only use Wifi at home casually on my PC and TV. No serious gaming, even WFH is rare these days.

In general though, on my current Maxis 5G plan, I get minimum 50mbps at peak hours, but usually close to 100mbps.

Should the uHome 5G speeds be better? Even excluding the second ULTRA5G network, is it fair to assume that the router will get better 5G speed than the phone because it has got larger antennas etc?

Also, how are the latest stock routers (especially the Huawei model), compared to aftermarket routers?

Please do share your experiences folks!

TScontestchris
post Dec 17 2025, 11:10 AM

5,582 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Dec 17 2025, 11:09 AM)
You try submit application to cut your TIME fibre. Pretty sure they'll come back with promo
It's already cut and I also called them just to check. Memang none.

I also surprised they don't bother to retain, maybe cause I'm on the cheapest plan.
TScontestchris
post Dec 17 2025, 11:34 AM

5,582 posts

QUOTE(milolauda @ Dec 17 2025, 11:22 AM)
I am using the ZTE router , many users claimed that it was a lousy router.

I think UM have upgraded it cause I can choose between Only 4G/4G+ or 5GSA/5G4G or 5G non SA

going strong for 12 mths ady

btw, only uHome 5G sim plan can be use with the supplied router, other UM plans like postpaid also cant use with that router , quota is 1TB/mth
How is the ZTE router performance, any stability issues?

Are you in landed or high-rise?
TScontestchris
post Dec 17 2025, 11:54 AM

5,582 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 17 2025, 11:51 AM)
Always buy a sim to check your place's speed first
If speed is good thn you can proceed

I'm now already using u home 5G for all my internet, when I go out, the sim card comes with me
Sim card comes with you but not the device?

Also, my logic is that my Maxis 5G on my phone is using DNB which is same as Umobile. ULTRA5G meanwhile can only be better (a plus). So do I really need to test a Umobile sim?
TScontestchris
post Yesterday, 02:17 PM

5,582 posts

I pulled the plug and received the router + SIM today.

These are my results from my PC via Wifi.

How to know if I am getting ULTRA5G, am on SA/NSA etc?

Existing - Time 200mbps (router is in next room)

New - Umobile Uhome 5G (router is in same room)

This post has been edited by contestchris: Yesterday, 02:18 PM
TScontestchris
post Yesterday, 02:39 PM

5,582 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 19 2025, 02:28 PM)
the only way is to plug the sim card into your phone and see on top got say "ultra 5G" or not
there are no other ways

but then again, there are only a few areas in klang valley that is listed as ultra 5G(you can google for the news as well)
On my S25, when I insert the sim, on the top left hand corner it says U Mobile. So I suppose it is DNB network?

Makes sense cause Maxis 5g on my phone is also around 200-300mbps today.
TScontestchris
post Yesterday, 03:02 PM

5,582 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 19 2025, 02:56 PM)
in simple term = yes
but the more correct way is to use app to see what "mhz" you're on

but for the sake of peace of mind, just refer U mobile = DNB, ultra 5G = 2nd 5G network lah
Interestingly, both the Uhome 5g and Maxis 5g sim gets around 150-200mbps on my phone, but when doing speedtest on my phone via Wifi using the same Uhome 5g sim placed in the Umobile router, the speed is consistently around 300mbps.

Is it because the router is able to absorb the signal more strongly?
TScontestchris
post Yesterday, 03:27 PM

5,582 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 19 2025, 03:10 PM)
like i said before, the chipset matters a lot...not the device
So the Chipset in the Huawei H155-383 router is more powerful than the chipset in the S25? I suppose it makes sense sinc the routers sole purpose is to capture 4g and 5g signal and transmit it as wifi

0.0136sec    0.99    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:13 AM