6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Can you live in Malaysia without knowing BM?

koja6049
post Dec 14 2025, 04:00 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Dec 14 2025, 03:31 PM)
I am seeing more Malay kids speaking to their parents in English when out shopping.
those type i know, somemore speaking american slang. that's why there's a perception that BM is B40 language, it's not cina who caused that perception whistling.gif
nothomobutsuper

25 posts

Boleh je .tapi Jangan mintak macam2 la .

Later kena sideline boleh cry perpaduan , kami suda duduk sini lama .

This post has been edited by nothomobutsuper: Dec 14 2025, 04:11 PM
DarkNite

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(MalcomShorten @ Dec 14 2025, 02:36 PM)
In Japan or Korea, it's going to be super difficult to live there if you don't know their language, especially if it is outside of the main city.

China is even harder if it is not the key cities and even if it is, you might still struggle. Same goes for Vietnam.

In Malaysia, how hard is it to live here without knowing any BM?
You obviously living under the tempurong.
20% of China population doesn't know Mandarin, thus vast linguistic diversity remains, especially among older generations and ethnic minorities who often speak local dialects like Cantonese, Shanghainese, or regional tongues, highlighting a rich tapestry of languages alongside the national standard.
dest9116
post Dec 14 2025, 04:01 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 14 2025, 03:28 PM)
Probably too ignorant or living with own kind for generations.

My tire mechanic also same previously. Zero BM. I told to brush up and learn as it might be good for business. Myself also spoke BM with him all the time. Eventually, he gotten so good at it and received more businesses from Malay customers. Now he can joked easily with them to some sales.
Ya reality is you living in Malaysia, not prc not toc Taiwan. The Malays are now 80+% population, you sure you don't want to tap into that market? Among malays there's always a perception that Chinese mechanics are better and more skilled, but just worry get slaughter.
DarkNite
post Dec 14 2025, 04:03 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Dec 14 2025, 04:00 PM)
those type i know, somemore speaking american slang. that's why there's a perception that BM is B40 language, it's not cina who caused that perception  whistling.gif
Sorry most B40 speak local dialect and rempit.
A Malay from Johor will have difficulty understanding Kelantan logat.
SUSKelefeh
post Dec 14 2025, 04:03 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Dec 14 2025, 03:57 PM)
Evan bangla can cakap bahasa within 3 months, even though it is bahasa mangla, at least can understand
that's why they able to steal your job and your awek brows.gif
ended up they got no difference than those that can only speak malay

superbike
post Dec 14 2025, 04:06 PM

224 posts

Yes if they only living in their own bubble and not mixing around.
youngblood29us
post Dec 14 2025, 04:09 PM

565 posts

Those living in balakong cheras are doing well without knowing BM..was in Balakong ystrday..was like a mini china there..
70U63
post Dec 14 2025, 04:09 PM

95 posts

Malay 80% of the population?

Inb4, NOT a SINGLE fxck is given to those S&S native?

(Orang Asli hiding behind the scene, coz no one care whistling.gif )

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Dec 14 2025, 04:01 PM)
Ya reality is you living in Malaysia, not prc not toc Taiwan. The Malays are now 80+% population, you sure you don't want to tap into that market? Among malays there's always a perception that Chinese mechanics are better and more skilled, but just worry get slaughter.
superbike
post Dec 14 2025, 04:10 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Dec 14 2025, 03:01 PM)
Some expats have been living in Malaysia relying solely on English
English is fine since a substantial amount of people here speak English. Even our rempit and ah being at least speak very broken English.

As for Indians and Dayaks, I have never met Indians and Dayaks that can't speak English.
dagnarus
post Dec 14 2025, 04:15 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(Kelefeh @ Dec 14 2025, 04:03 PM)
that's why they able to steal your job and your awek  brows.gif
ended up they got no difference than those that can only speak malay
Only matter of time curi Amoi pula? Minachi also?
DarkNite
post Dec 14 2025, 04:16 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(youngblood29us @ Dec 14 2025, 04:09 PM)
Those living in balakong cheras are doing well without knowing BM..was in Balakong ystrday..was like a mini china there..
Those Myanmar living in Selayang and other parts of the Peninsula Malaysia also doing fine?
Same too are those in Rohingya Kampungs?
SUSKelefeh
post Dec 14 2025, 04:18 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(dagnarus @ Dec 14 2025, 04:15 PM)
Only matter of time curi Amoi pula? Minachi also?
yea if they can speak chinese than there might be possibility

but chances are much lower maybe because their mindset different with awek
burn22
post Dec 14 2025, 04:19 PM

398 posts

in another country, like Japan, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, or China...
first, pakai mobile translation. then start learning simple words to speak. slowly, you will learn. if malas, boleh berambus...

superbike
post Dec 14 2025, 04:20 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(nothomobutsuper @ Dec 14 2025, 04:00 PM)
Boleh je .tapi Jangan mintak macam2 la .

Later kena sideline boleh cry perpaduan , kami suda duduk sini lama .
Seeing the some of the same replies here are crying that UEC not recognized here and said BM is not necessary.

Doing the bare minimum also don't want and yet demand this and that. Oh well ~
youngblood29us
post Dec 14 2025, 04:21 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Dec 14 2025, 04:16 PM)
Those Myanmar living in Selayang and other parts of the Peninsula Malaysia also doing fine?
Same too are those in Rohingya Kampungs?
You ok or not? As per thread yes can live in Malaysia without knowing Bm..depending on area..
Chowda
post Dec 14 2025, 04:21 PM

98 posts

Yes, you can. I have met at least 1 every day
alfiejr
post Dec 14 2025, 04:22 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

Can, sign language is there for a reason
post Dec 14 2025, 04:27 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

Big city like KL Sgor no problem lah. Speak BM to them they are like WTF and reply you in Engrand.

dagnarus
post Dec 14 2025, 05:17 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(Kelefeh @ Dec 14 2025, 04:18 PM)
yea if they can speak chinese than there might be possibility

but chances are much lower maybe because their mindset different with awek
Can share mindset for understanding purposes?

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:09 AM