Is this the REASON WHY YOU GUYS WANT UEC, di IKTIRAF?

loserguy
post Dec 12 2025, 10:27 PM

500 posts

No. That facebook post is very narrow minded and viewed through a racial lens.

Many fair minded Malaysians are concerned about brain drain as well. And that because of this non-recognition we are losing these guys to other countries. That is not good.

How is it that we can offer entry for foreign students, but neglect our own homegrown talents?

What we really should do is look at how we can have this UEC while retaining certain requirements and parity with the STPM. This isn't about ego, race, politics or whatever justification.

The bottom line should be we want the students to be able to adapt to their classes and integrate well into campus life. We want these students to study well, graduate and then give back to the country. To do that Dong Zong and MOE needs to sit down and discuss this properly, make sure they are on the same page.

Otherwise, the racists win.

This post has been edited by loserguy: Dec 12 2025, 10:30 PM
loserguy
post Dec 12 2025, 10:33 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(keybearer @ Dec 12 2025, 10:31 PM)
It is the interpretation. If you post something, without putting your own spin on it, then fine.

But read through his words.
loserguy
post Dec 12 2025, 11:58 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(brkli @ Dec 12 2025, 11:54 PM)
dun recognize UEC only la. heck should just standardize, dun recognize A-levels too.

best is just STPM will do, matriculation also just scrape it.

jaguh kampung ftw..
It is part of globalization after all. Unavoidable trend.

Universities, I suspect, also want to take students from other countries. Murica and Engrand universities are earning big bucks from this.
loserguy
post Dec 13 2025, 09:03 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(jinggothegreat @ Dec 13 2025, 08:44 AM)
UEC is not regulated by ministry of education/higher education.

it has ALL THE REASON to cultivate unpatriotic, ungrateful and anti-nationalism people.
That view only works if we are the only universities in the world. Universities world wide WANT students from other countries. If ours do not, then they should!

These students will be studying subjects from their own countries. They may be studying about how India gained independence or how Pakistan was formed. They will be conversant in their own mother tongues. None of these students will be taking courses regulated by our MOE.

What universities in other countries do, is require courses or language proficiency to be demonstrated. They may require certain subjects to be taken. The main aim is for these students to be able to understand their classes and adapt to campus life.

The question is, if you can do that for students from other countries, why can you not do that for students from your own country? That old narrative used to foster fake nationalism will ultimately harm our country more than anything else.
loserguy
post Dec 13 2025, 09:47 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(Kelefeh @ Dec 13 2025, 12:12 AM)
why they don't ask sabah sarawak recognise UEC?
Since it is against constitution

Meaning Sabah Sarawak committed act that goes against constitution?
Then why no one kena tangkap since what they did already violated constitution?
Sabah and Sarawak have some special rights in the constitution.

Also Sarawak has their own state supported universities, so it is less of an issue there.
loserguy
post Dec 13 2025, 10:07 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Dec 13 2025, 10:02 AM)
Actually I also don’t agree with IGCSE allowed for direct intake. IGCSE exams are too easy compare to SPM with their straightforward questions. Any Tom, Dick & Harry can score in IGCSE exams.
That one you need ministry people to sit down, benchmark and decide. If they say can, then can lor.

This is just for general intake, I suspect they will also have to look into details of subjects like Mathematics or the hard sciences for specific technical courses.
loserguy
post Dec 13 2025, 10:11 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(Jv8888 @ Dec 13 2025, 10:05 AM)
U mean UEC no BM syllabus?
There is, but the question is, is it sufficient or equivalent to SPM or STPM standards? They (Dong Zong and MOHE) really should sit down together, look through, and come to an understanding. Just treat this as a credit transfer exercise. If enough, settle, not enough, require extra courses.

This post has been edited by loserguy: Dec 13 2025, 10:12 AM

0.0157sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:32 AM